Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the John Powell Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1935-1963
Creator: Powell, John (1914-1971)
Extent: 3.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0678
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Historian. Correspondence and preliminary drafts of his writings. Iowa Author Mss.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photograph negative in Box 7.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Mr. Powell began giving his papers to the University of Iowa in 1950.

Preferred Citation: John Powell Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

John H. Powell, 1914 -- 1971, was born in Ottumwa, Iowa. Educated at Swarthmore College and the University of Iowa, he later taught history at Iowa State University and the University of Delaware. Powell also served as the research director of the Free Library of Pennsylvania, 1945 -- 1949.
 
Powell wrote many historical works, including Richard Rush, Republican Diplomat and Bring Out Your Dead, a work concerning the yellow fever epidemic of 1793. He authored numerous articles for such magazines as the Saturday Review of Literature, Reader's Digest, and South Atlantic Quarterly. John Powell died January 1, 1971.

The John H. Powell papers include approximately three linear feet of material and consist primarily of correspondence and material involved with his various writings. The correspondence series includes letters from historians such as Catherine Drinker Bowen, Julian Boyd, Lyman Butterfield, and Caroline Robbins. The writings series includes notes and various drafts of his works and two unpublished plays. The American Philosophical Society Library also has a collection of John H. Powell's papers, primarily those concerning Powell's biography of John Dickinson.
The American Philosophical Society Library also has a collection of John H. Powell's papers, primarily those concerning Powell's biography of John Dickinson.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Rush, Richard, 1780-1859

Occupations:
Historians

Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Prose Writers
Writers Archive at Iowa
Prose Writers