Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Gar Osten Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1951 - 1989
Creator: Osten, Gar
Extent: 7.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0672
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Astrologer. Papers include correspondence, interviews, tape recordings, astrological charts, and materials relating to a number of criminal investigations in which Osten participated as well as his writings.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Boxes 2, 14; Audiotapes: Boxes 1, 5-7, 12; VHS tapes: Boxes 1, 2, 7.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Gar Osten donated his papers to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1980.

Preferred Citation: The Papers of Gar Osten, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The Gar Osten collection is not completely processed, and this inventory does not reflect the entire collection. Unprocessed material is currently unavailable for research.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: 1980 ADDENDUM
Series 3: 1982 ADDENDUM
Series 4: 1983 ADDENDUM
Series 5: 1984 ADDENDUM?
Series 6: 1985 ADDENDUM
Series 7: NOVEMBER 1985 ADDENDUM
Series 8: 1987 ADDENDUM
Series 9: 1988 ADDENDUM
Series 10: APRIL 1990 ADDENDUM
Series 11: OVERSIZED FOLDER

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Sub-Series: Lectures and interview
  • Box 1:
  • Lectures - 1979-1980
  • Radio-Television Interview - 1972-1977
    Scripts
  • Sub-Series: The Astrological Chart of the United States from 1776 to 2141
  • Box 1:
  • Early typescript -- with revisions and multiple page and chapter drafts
    3 folders
  • Original typescript submission
  • Original typescript submission
    2 folders
  • Sub-Series: Sun-Sign Books
  • Box 1:
  • Typescript
  • Typescript of graphs
  • Typescript corrections
  • Series 2: 1980 ADDENDUM
  • Box 1:
  • "Chart of Jimmy Carter"
    Typescript
  • Radio Interview, February 18 - 1975
    Typescript
  • Tape. Psychic reading - 1977
  • Tapes. Television interviews: "The Last Word" - 1972-1975
  • Television Interview, March 9 - 1975
  • Series 3: 1982 ADDENDUM
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous
  • Box 1:
  • Audiotape, KCRG radio - 1980
  • "Theatre in the United States: An Astrological History and Prediction," September - 1980
  • Sub-Series: Videotapes
  • Box 1:
  • "New Age Presentation," August 14 - 1977
  • "Extremities" with Starla Smith, July 7 - 1981
  • "Iowa Edition: Astrology"
  • Series 4: 1983 ADDENDUM
  • Box 1:
  • Audiotapes: Brian O'Brian interview with Gar Osten. KCRG Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    2 folders
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence - 1973-1982
  • Correspondence with Lynda Benglis - 1974-1982
  • "Lynda Benglis … " Soho News, May 21 - 1980
    page 15
  • Photographs
  • Pincus-Witten, Robert, "Lynda Benglis: The Frozen Gesture." Artforum, November - 1974
    pages 54-59
  • Series 5: 1984 ADDENDUM?
  • Box 2:
  • "Current Astrological Findings and Conclusions" by Gar Osten, March 18 - 1983
  • Raymond Gombach lecture delivered at Gar Osten's home, May 23 - 1983
  • Biographical note
  • Correspondence - 1972-1982
    Including letters from Harold E. Hughes, Alf M. Landon, George C. Wallace, Norman Rockwell, Margaret Chase Smith, Jonas Salk, Thomas F. Eagleton, Aldai Stevenson III, Olivia de Havilland, William Proxmire, Ferdinand E. Marcos, Edmund Muskie, Hubert H. Humphrey, Edward M. Kennedy, Walter E. Mondale, John C. Culver, H.R. Carter, Princess Grace de Monaco, Robert T. Anderson, Robert D. Ray, Billie Ray, Howard H. Baker, Terry E. Branstad, Roger W. Jepsen, and Roxanne Conlin.
  • Lecture: Given at University of Evansville, October 15 - 1980
  • Lecture: "Spiritual Frontiers Fellowship," March 18 - 1983
  • Newspaper clippings - 1979-1981
  • Videotape: "Beyond the Five Senses" - 1981
  • Videotape: Mary Lou Varnum interview with Gar Osten. WOI-TV, Ames, Iowa, circa - 1978-1979
  • Series 6: 1985 ADDENDUM
  • Box 2:
  • Bequet, Russell. Correspondence - 1971-1977
  • Correspondence: January-April - 1941-1943
  • Correspondence: May-December - 1943
  • Correspondence - 1944
  • Correspondence - 1945
  • Correspondence - 1946
  • Press, radio, and television. Correspondence - 1972-1983
  • Take One. Videotape of interview, IPBN - 1984
  • Worrall, Olga. Correspondence - 1974-1979
  • Box 3:
  • Afinson, Mary Ann - 1979
  • Agnew, Spiro T. - 1972
    Printed material
  • Australia. Correspondence - 1977-1982
  • "Between Heaven and Hell"
    Typescript of manuscript, based on Osten's army experiences
  • Bonomo Books - 1976-1980
  • Clippings, undated
  • Correspondence - 1960-1979
  • Correspondence - 1983
    Including letters from Charles Grassley, Roger Jepsen and Neal Smith
  • Correspondence - 1984-1985
    Including letters from Charles Grassley, Roger Jepsen and Neal Smith
  • Correspondence, undated
  • Box 4:
  • Cotter, Michael - 1978-1985
  • Design work appearing in magazines by Osten
  • "Front Lines" (re: Larry Jordan) - 1981-1982
  • Gomback, Raymond and Jayne. Photograph - 1981
  • Hellyer, Mary Beth - 1978
  • Hoffman Murders - 1978-1979
  • International Management Group - 1975-1979
  • Lectures - 1984-1985
  • Legal Contracts - 1975-1979
  • Mozena, Mary - 1977
  • Osten, Gar: Family history - 1851-1977
  • Osten, Gar: Photo album
  • Osten, Gar: Photographs
  • Box 5:
  • Otten-Hall Murder Case - 1974-1985
  • Parsons School of Design. Costume Drawings
    2 folders
  • Rutgers University Chart Study - 1980-1981
  • Savitch, Jessica - 1981-1985
  • Spoelberch, Jacques de - 1974-1980
  • Stein and Day - 1974-1982
  • Thompson, James H.W. - 1968-1985
    Including an audiocassette tape
  • Wagner Disappearance Case - 1973-1985
  • Series 7: NOVEMBER 1985 ADDENDUM
  • Box 6:
  • Acheampong, Ignatius Kutu - 1979
  • Afinson, Mary Ann. Disappearance case - 1979-1980
  • Atlanta Child Murders - 1981-1982
  • Chiles, Connie. Audiotape, trance reading - 1980
  • Delvallet, Thomas. Disappearance case - 1979
  • Faidy, Diana Hubert - 1983
  • Ford, Arthur. Audiotapes, lectures - 1964, 1966
  • Goetz, Donald Gerald. Murder case - 1980
  • Governor Branstad, Governor Ray, and Mrs. Ray - 1979
  • Hoffman, Robert. Murder case - 1976-1980
  • Kriegel, Dawn and Daniel. Murder and bank robbery case - 1979
  • McCoy, David and Frank Small. Murder/suicide case - 1975
  • Marcus, Drs. Stewart and Cyril. Suicide case - 1976
  • Melham, T. Joseph - 1977-1979
  • Miscellaneous astrological charts and readings - 1973
  • Audiotapes: Past lives through hypnotic regressions - 1976
  • Box 7:
  • Transcripts of past lives: Hypnotic regressions - 1976
  • Reading by Connie Chiles concerning Osten's health - 1981
  • Ratliff, Helen. Missing persons case - 1980
  • Steiger, Brad - 1972-1974
  • Savitch, Jessica. Audiotape, undated
  • Streckenbach, Anke. Disappearance case - 1979-1983
  • Suskiewich, Thomas E. - 1980
  • Touchstone interview. Videotape, May 4 - 1984
  • Box 8:
  • Correspondence - 1945, 1970-1979
    Including letters from Charles E. Grassley, Dick Clark, John Culver, Edward Mezvinsky, Harold E. Hughes, Robert T. Anderson, and Norman Rockwell
  • Correspondence - 1980-1984
    Including letters from Roxanne Conlin and Charles E. Grassley
  • Correspondence: January-July - 1985
    Including a letter from Tom Harkin
  • Correspondence: August-December - 1985
    Including a letter from Charles E. Grassley
  • Correspondence: January-March - 1986
  • Correspondence: April-July - 1986
  • Correspondence: August-December - 1986, 1987
  • Correspondence, undated
    Including a letter from Eugene Olson (Brad Steiger)
  • Eychaner, Rich - 1983-1984
    Correspondence, charts, and clippings
  • Gosch, Johnny and Eugene Martin - 1983-1986
    Correspondence, charts, and clippings relating to their disappearance
  • Gregory, Melissa Lynn and Steven Joe Fisher - 1984-1986
    Correspondence and charts relating to the double murder case
  • Heckle, Guy - 1973-1974
    Correspondence and charts relating to his disappearance
  • Huntly, Barbara and Luis Sandoval - 1971-1972
    Correspondence and charts
  • Jarrod, Sandy - 1975-1976
    Correspondence and charts relating to his disappearance
  • LeSage, Robert - 1983-1984
    Charts and clippings relating to his murder confession
  • Martinko, Michelle - 1980
    Correspondence, sharts, and clippings relating to her murder
  • Milius, Paul Lloyd - 1968, 1974-1975
    Correspondence, charts, and clippings relating to his MIA case
  • Moore, James - 1971-1978
    Correspondence and chart
  • Mould, Eric - 1974-1975
    Correspondence and charts relating to his disappearance/ kidnapping
  • Murphy, Kathleen - 1980, 1986
    Correspondence, charts, and clippings relating to her murder
  • Myers, Dolores - 1983
    Past life reading for Gar Osten
  • Njus, Camille - 1980
    Correspondence, chart , and clippings relating to her murder
  • Osten, Louise Lena (Gar Osten's mother) - 1934-1965
    Birth certificate, driver's license, and baptismal certificate
  • Osten, Gar - 1960-1987
    Birth certificate and passports
  • Perry, Corinne - 1984-1986
    Correspondence, charts, and clippings relating to her murder
  • Photographs, family and friends
  • Reyhons, Joyce M. - 1982
    Character reading from Gar Osten's palm print
  • Robbins, Shawn - 1972-1973
    Correspondence, chart, and clipping
  • Thompson, Jim - 1981
    Correspondence and chart relating to the charge of murder
  • Triggs, Michael L. and Janet C. Lindstrom - 1983-1985
    Correspondence and charts
  • Wagstaff, Sam - 1974-1980
    Correspondence and charts
  • Wycoff, Steven - 1976, 1981, 1986
    Correspondence and clippings
  • Series 8: 1987 ADDENDUM
  • Box 9:
  • The Astrological Chart of the United States, by Gar Osten
    Photocopy of the original outline
  • Bartlett, Bob - 1986
    Correspondence and charts relating to the Charles Manson and son of Sam murders
  • Bontemps, Alain - 1985-1986
    Correspondence and chart of France
  • Bosek, Matthew. Murders at the Esoteric Fraternity - 1973-1986
    Correspondence, 2 folders
  • Newspaper clippings - 1974
  • Carman, Mary Lou - 1980
    Correspondence relating to a disappearance
  • Cayce, Edgar. Readings
  • Chase, Rod - 1973
    Correspondence, charts, and clippings
  • Clippings - 1972-1986
  • Series 9: 1988 ADDENDUM
  • Box 10:
  • Clippings - 1987, 1988
  • Correspondence - 1973-1986
  • Correspondence: January-August - 1987
  • Correspondence: September-December - 1987
    Including letters from Tom Harkin, Charles E. Grassley, and Neal Smith
  • Correspondence: January-May - 1988
    Including letters from Neal Smith and Tom Harkin
  • Correspondence: June-September - 1988
    Including letters from Edward M. Kennedy and Mother Teresa, M.C.
  • Correspondence, undated
  • Series 10: APRIL 1990 ADDENDUM
  • Box 11:
  • Autograph Album. Including autographs of Walt Disney, Mickey Rooney, Shirley Temple, Clark Gable, Christopher Morely, J. Edgar Hoover, and Jeanne Dixon
  • Biography, undated
  • Cameron, Montgomery F.: Correspondence - 1966-1989
  • Cameron, Montgomery F.: Miscellaneous materials including obituaries, newspaper clippings, as trological charts, etc. - 1965-1989
  • Cameron, Montgomery F.: Photographs
  • Cameron, Montgomery F.: The Ugly Woman
  • Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Astrological chart and analysis
  • Clippings - 1967, 1978, 1985-1990
    Including letters from Charles Grassley, Roger Jepsen, Luis Sandoval, William Randolph Hearst, and Mother Theresa
  • Box 12:
  • Correspondence - 1973, 1980-1987
    Including letters from Terry Branstad and Lloyd Bentsen
  • Correspondence - 1988
    Including letters from Charles Grassley and Tom Harkin
  • Correspondence - 1989
  • Correspondence, undated
  • The Dali Lama - 1987-1989
    Miscellaneous materials including photographs and program from his visit to Indiana University
  • The "Dr. Bob Show" - 1988
    Background material and audiotape
  • "The Future of the Theater in the United States." Drama Review - 1980
    Typescript with corrections and deletions
  • Box 13:
  • Gandhi, Mahatma. Astrological chart
  • Higgenson, Harriet - 1979-1989
    Correspondence, astrological charts, and interpretations for the United States and the New York Stock Exchange
  • L'Ame Francaise: Cycles Et Archetypes (The French Soul: Cycles and Archetypes)
  • Translation of paper on the astrological chart of France - 1985-1987
  • "Lottery Winners." Jupiter Magazine - 1988-1989
    Correspondence, typescript of article, background material, notes and astrological charts
  • Meredith/Burda Des Moines welcomes Jupiter Magazine - 1989
  • NASA Lecture - 1962-1989
    Background materials, typescript of speech, and astrological chart
  • Photographs. Including photos of Dwight and Maimie Eisenhower, Eleanor Roosevelt, and autographed photos of Robert Redford, Marlena Dietrich, Victor Mature, and Jeanne Dixon
  • Salk, Jonas. Correspondence, astrological chart, and analysis
  • Space-Time Forecasting. Newsletter about the financial markets - 1979-1989
  • Swatch of Dwight Eisenhower's bedspread and drapes at the Gettysburg Farm, undated
  • Travel Brochures
  • Series 11: OVERSIZED FOLDER
  • Box 14:
  • Photographs
  • Gar Osten, undated
  • Shawn Robbin (psychic) and Gar Osten, New York City, February - 1972
    Taken by Barbara Seiler
  • Gar Osten, Hurley, MO, summer of - 1976
    Taken by National Enquirer photographer Deborah Borin

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Prose Writers
Writers Archive at Iowa
Prose Writers