Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Harry F. Olson Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1938-1966
Creator: Olson, Harry F. (1901-1982)
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0670
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Acoustical engineer for RCA, author of several books on music, acoustics and engineering. Articles, publicity, and biographical material relating to Olson and his career.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The Harry F. Olson papers were donated by his family in 1983.

Preferred Citation: Harry F. Olson Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Harry Ferdinand Olson (1901 -- 1982) was born in Mount Pleasant, Iowa. He attended the University of Iowa and received his B.E. in 1924, his M.S. in 1925 and his Ph.D. in Physics in 1928.

Olson went to work for RCA and became head of acoustical research in 1934. He held over 100 patents for devices in the acoustical field such as the Electronic Music Synthesizer. He was also the author of several books relating to music, acoustics, and engineering.

The papers of Harry F. Olson consist of Olson's articles concerning acoustics and engineering in addition to biographical materials and photographs. There is also a folder relating to the publicity surrounding some of his projects.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Prose Writers