Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the [Steven] Dow Mossman Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1966 - 1972
Creator: Mossman, Steven Dow
Extent: 5.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0663
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Writer born in Cedar Rapids. Collection includes extensive pre-publication materials for Mossman's highly regarded novel, The Stones of Summer (1972) as well as drafts written while a student in the Writer's Workshop.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Dow Mossman gave these papers to the University of Iowa in 1971 and 2000.

Preferred Citation: Papers of [Steven] Dow Mossman, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Born in Cedar Rapids, Mossman studied at Coe College for two years but finished college at the University of Iowa and completed a MA from the Writers' Workshop in 1969. His novel, The Stones of Summer, was published by Bobbs-Merrill and Popular Library in 1972.

This collection consists of papers from Mossman's academic career, early drafts of The Stones of Summer and materials related to or used in the book, and the heavily edited typescript used to typeset the published version. The papers have been left largely as foldered by Mossman, and such Mossman notes on folders as existed have been transcribed to this inventory. The papers have been placed in chronological order as best that could be determined; it is unlikely, however, that a full chronological sequence has been established, particularly for the many overlapping drafts of portions of the novel, most of which were created in a relatively brief period 1969-1971. It may be possible to further order the materials by carefully noting the author's general method of composition: a handwritten draft, typically marked up, on loose sheets, often on varied kinds of paper; the annotated draft transferred to a fair text in a note or theme book, often again annotated; then typescript, usually with carbon copies. The typescripts in some cases undergo mutliple edits and retypings.

This collection consists of papers from Mossman's academic career, early drafts of The Stones of Summer and materials related to or used in the book, and the heavily edited typescript used to typeset the published version. The papers have been left largely as foldered by Mossman, and such Mossman notes on folders as existed have been transcribed to this inventory. The papers have been placed in chronological order as best that could be determined; it is unlikely, however, that a full chronological sequence has been established, particularly for the many overlapping drafts of portions of the novel, most of which were created in a relatively brief period 1969-1971. It may be possible to further order the materials by carefully noting the author's general method of composition: a handwritten draft, typically marked up, on loose sheets, often on varied kinds of paper; the annotated draft transferred to a fair text in a note or theme book, often again annotated; then typescript, usually with carbon copies. The typescripts in some cases undergo mutliple edits and retypings.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.