Guide to the Frank Miller Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1951 - 1983
Creator: Miller, Frank
Extent: 9.25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0659
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Editorial cartoonist for the Des Moines Register. 100 original drawings, cartoons with over-lays and color processes, engraving printing plates, correspondence, photos and other papers.

Administrative Information

Access: This collection is open for research. Copies of materials cannot be made without the express written permission of a representative of the Des Moines Register, except in cases of dissertation, thesis, or other scholarly work.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by the Des Moines Register in 1985.

Preferred Citation: The Papers of Frank Miller, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Biographical Note

Frank Andrea Miller was born in Kansas City, Missouri in 1926. He drew cartoons for the Kansas City Star and the Des Moines Register. He won the Pulitzer Prize in 1963 for a cartoon portraying the aftermath of nuclear war. Miller died of a heart attack in Des Moines on February 17, 1983.


Content Description

The papers of Frank Miller, editorial cartoonist for the Des Moines Register are organized into four series: I: correspondence and related documents; II: a group of editorial cartoons with color overlays; III: a large number of actual (metal) engraved printing plates for Miller's cartoons; and IV: a group of printed cartoons (mostly 8 x 10 inches and larger) listed on a linked page.

Three indexes accompany this collection: A list of Library of Congress subject headings used to describe the cartoons in this collection; a list of personal names of persons appearing in the cartoons; and a chronological list of cartoon titles and captions that have been fully or partially dated to publication.

The first index should be read as follows: Title / Date (YYMMDD) / Published in / Description / Notes / SUBJECTS(S).

Related Materials

Frank Miller: Cartoons As Commentary : Three Decades at the Register. Des Moines, Iowa: Des Moines Register, 1983. Location: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Iowa Authors Collection No call number

MAIN Library F621 .M46 1983

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Miller, Frank, 1926-1983

Topics:
Caricatures and cartoons

Occupations:
Editorial cartoonists

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Des Moines

Genre/Form of Materials:
Oral histories (Document genres)
Archives
Editorial cartoons
Indexes (Reference sources)
Printing plates
Clippings (Information artifacts)
Correspondence

Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Cartoonists & Comic Strip Writers