Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Charles Paul May Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1969 - 1972
Creator: May, Charles Paul
Extent: .75 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0656
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Notes, source materials, drafts and proofs for two non-fiction books: Bats. (1969) and Stranger in the Storm (Abelard-Schuman, 1972). Original title: Birds Flying High.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were gifts of Charles May 1972-1974.

Preferred Citation: Papers of Charles Paul May, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

May was born in Bedford, Iowa and attended several institutions, obtaining a BA from Drake University and an MA at Oklahoma State University. He was a teacher, editor and writer.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Sub-Series: Stranger in the Storm. Abelard-Schuman. Original title: Birds Flying High.
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence with editors
  • "A Most Surprising Meal," story in which hominy idea was first used. The Children's Friend, January - 1950
  • First draft with corrections and revisions
    46 pages
  • First version submitted to publisher with corrections.
    Original and carbon, 53 pages
  • First version, May - 1968
  • Second version with corrections, July - 1969
    Carbon, 61 pages
  • Revised, September 4 - 1970
  • Printer's copy
    61 pages
  • Galley proofs
  • Sub-Series: Bats. Non-fiction book.
  • Box 1:
  • Notes and other research materials
  • Short version, first attempt
  • Short version, second attempt
  • Long version
    Typescript and carbon
  • Long version, first draft and revisions for publisher
  • Printer's copy
  • Charts and materials relating to photographs
  • Two sets of galley proofs - 1969
  • Box 2:
  • Bats, miscellaneous
  • 2d set with photo keys
  • Page proofs
  • Index on cards
  • Correspondence
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous
  • Box 2:
  • Miscellaneous materials

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
May, Charles Paul

Topics:
Authors, American

Occupations:
Authors

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Drafts (Documents)
Manuscripts for publication

Title:
Bats
Stranger in the storm

Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Prose Writers