Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Robert Bernard Martin Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span:
Creator: Martin, Robert Bernard (1918-1999)
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0655
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This manuscript was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Mr. Martin in 1988.

Preferred Citation: The Papers of Robert Bernard Martin, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Robert Bernard Martin was born September 11, 1918, in La Harpe, Illinois, to Carl and Maggie Martin. He lived in Iowa from 1923 until he left for the Army in 1944. He graduated from high school in Davenport and received his A.B. summa cum laude from the University of Iowa in 1943. During World War II he served in the U.S. Army Air Corps in Italy and France. After the war he received a Master's degree at Harvard and a B.Litt. in English at Oxford University, where he was a Fulbright scholar.

He taught in the English department at Princeton from 1951 to 1975. After his retirement he moved to Oxford, England, where he became a writer. He published ten books about the Victorian era, including biographies such as Tennyson, the Unquiet Heart in 1980 and A Very Private Life in 1991. He also published four mystery novels as Robert Bernard. He wrote more than 150 reviews and articles for such publications as the New York Times Review of Books, the London Review of Books, and TLS.

Robert Martin died in Madison, Wisconsin, on November 29, 1999.

Source: Press Citizen obituary, December 3, 1999.

This collection contains only the manuscript for With Friends Possessed: A Life of Edward Fitzgerald.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: MANUSCRIPT

  • Series 1: MANUSCRIPT
  • Box 1:
  • With Friends Possessed: A Life of Edward Fitzgerald
    Typescript with corrections and revisions (2 folders)