Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Frances Lynch McGuire Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span:
Creator: McGuire, Frances Lynch (1869-1947)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0652
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Wagon to a Star, a collection of stories about life on an Adair County farm in the 1870s.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated by the children of Frances Lynch McGuire in 1954.

Preferred Citation: Papers of Frances Lynch McGuire, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Frances Lynch McGuire was born April 18, 1869, in Escanaba, Michigan, where her father, a Civil War veteran, was working in the lumber camps. News of the wonderful Iowa prairie country came from an uncle who had already settled there. The Lynch family moved in 1877 to a farm near the little town of Adair, Iowa.

She graduated from Adair County Normal School, and afterwards taught at the Chestnut County School until her marriage to Patrick Henry McGuire. Four children were born to them: Eugene, Nicolete, Gertrude, and James. While living in Des Moines, Mr. McGuire became very ill, and Mrs. McGuire obtained a position with the Iowa Homestead, a farm paper. In 1906 she purchased the Iowa Farmer, for which she wrote the editorials, acted as business manager, and contributed material. When her husband had regained his health, she sold the magazine in 1914.

The McGuires moved to Los Angeles, but it was difficult to stay away from children, grandchildren, and friends in Des Moines, and the McGuires returned to make it their permanent home. Mrs. McGuire died in 1947.

Wagon to a Star was illustrated by the McGuire's daughter, Gertrude Williamson.

Excerpted from the dusk jacket of Wagon to a Star.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: WAGON TO A STAR

  • Series 1: WAGON TO A STAR
  • Box 1:
  • Publisher's typescript -- with revisions
  • Galley proofs
  • Page proofs
    2 folders
  • Dummy of book
  • Newspaper article - 1951
  • Book jacket