Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Julie McDonald Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1970 - 1990
Creator: McDonald, Julie
Extent: 1.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0651
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Newspaper Editor and writer, this collection contains material related to two novels (Amalie's Story, 1970 and Petra, 1978), a play (Eyes of Sky; a Play in Six Scenes) and a biography (Ruth Buxton Sayre: First Lady of the Farms, 1980).

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Mrs. McDonald, beginning in 1970.

Preferred Citation: Papers of Julie McDonald, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Julie McDonald is an alumna of the University of Iowa and has taught journalism at St. Ambrose College. She lives in Davenport, Iowa, and had by 1985, published 16 books.

Manuscripts for three of her works and papers relating to resignation as chairman of the Iowa Arts Council, 1973.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Papers relating to resignation as chairman of the Iowa Arts Council - 1973
    18 items of correspondence and clippings
  • Newspaper clippings - 1970-2000
  • Publicity materials
  • Amalie's Story, a novel; published - 1970
    Two drafts. (1) Typescript, with autograph corrections. 322 l. 28 and 32.5 cm., with 11 autograph notecards and 1 page of notes. (2) Publisher's proofs, with corrections. 80 l. 63cm. With a folder of correspondence and reviews
  • Eyes of Sky; a Play in Six Scenes, unpublished
    Typescript., with autograph corrections. 34 l. 28cm.
  • Petra. Printer's copy of a novel published by the Iowa State University Press in - 1978
    329 l.
  • Ruth Buxton Sayre: First Lady of the Farms. Printer's copy of a biography published by the Iowa State University Press in - 1980
    402 l.