Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Katinka Loeser Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span:
Creator: Loeser, Katinka (1913-1960)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0649
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Author, poet, and editor born in Iowa. Drafts of her poetry and short stories, a master proof of A Thousand Pardons, and an unpublished novel, Everyday China.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The Katinka Loeser Papers were donated to the University of Iowa by two of Ms. Loeser's children Jan DeVries and Derek DeVries in 1996 and 1997.

Preferred Citation: Papers of Katinka Loeser, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Katinka Loeser was born in Ottumwa, Iowa, on July 2, 1913. She grew up and went to school in Chicago and graduated from the University of Chicago in 1936. In the early 1940s, some of her poems began to appear in Poetry and in 1943 she won that magazine's Young Poet's Prize. The same year she became an associate editor of Poetry and in 1946 a contributing editor. On October 16, 1943, she married the writer Peter DeVries. After 1948, the family lived in Westport, Connecticut. They had four children: Jan, Peter Jon, Emily, and Derek. Emily died of leukemia in September 1960.

Ms. Loeser published three collections of short stories, most of which appeared in The New Yorker: Tomorrow Will Be Monday (1964), The Archers at Home (1968), and A Thousand Pardons (1982). She died on March 6, 1991, and an obituary can be found in The New York Times, March 8, 1991, Section A, page 22.

The collection consists mainly of unpublished manuscripts.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Novelists, Story Writers, & Poets