Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Charlton Laird Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1951
Creator: Laird, Charlton (1901-1984)
Extent: 1.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0646
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Author who wrote extensively on language. This collection contains the manuscript and correspondence for one of his novels. Iowa Author collection.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Charlton Laird in 1951.

Preferred Citation: Charlton Laird Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Charlton Laird was born in Nashua, Iowa, in 1901. He attended the universities of Iowa, Columbia, and Stanford. In 1943 he went to the University of Nevada as head of the Department of English. Aside from his work as a lecturer and author, Laird was a member of the Modern Language Association of America and of the National Council of Teachers of English. He wrote extensively on language acquisition, use, and teaching.
 
Laird wrote two novels, Thunder on the River and West of the River, which both appeared in the early 1950s, in addition to other books and textbooks. Charlton Laird died in 1984.

Manuscripts and correspondence concerning Laird's book Thunder on the River make up this collection.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Sub-Series: Writings and clippings
  • Box 1:
  • English at Iowa in the Twenties by Charlton Laird, undated with editing marks
  • Newspaper clippings - 1948-1984
  • Sales promotion for Iowa Legends of Buried Treasure
  • Sub-Series: Thunder on the River
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence (Laird and Wormer) - 1951
  • First draft (with revisions, outlines and notes) -- titled Pyesa
  • Second draft (with revisions and notes) -- titled Caleb
    2 folders
  • Box 2:
  • Third draft (with revisions) -- titled Red Feather, White Son
    2 folders
  • Fourth draft (working copy with revisions) - titled Red Feather, White Son
    2 folders
  • Box 3:
  • Fourth draft (carbon) -- titled Red Feather, White Son
    2 folders
  • Fourth draft (carbon with revisions) -- titled Red Feather, White Son
  • Galley proofs

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Novelists, Story Writers, & Poets