Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the R.A. Lafferty Manuscripts

Collection Overview

Date Span:
Creator: Lafferty, Raphael Aloysius (1914-2002)
Extent: 1.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0645
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Prize-winning author of science fiction stories and novels. Typescripts and page proofs for several stories and novels, including the printer's copy of Okla Hannali (1972).

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa by Mr. Lafferty in 1979.

Preferred Citation: R.A. Lafferty Manuscripts, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Raphael Aloysius Lafferty was born on November 7, 1914, in Neola, Iowa. He attended the University of Tulsa in 1932-1933, and the International Correspondence School from 1939-1942. He served in the military from 1942 -1946, as a staff sergeant and received a New Guinea Campaign Star.
 
Lafferty worked in the electrical supply business for 35 years, before devoting himself to his writing career in 1960. Much of Lafferty's writings focused on the realm of science fiction. He received the Pheonix award in 1971 and was also awarded the Hugo award in 1973, for the year's best short story. R.A. Lafferty's novels include: Past Master, Arrive at Easterwine, The Flame Is Green, and many others. Lafferty has also published collections of his short stories as well as being a contributor of some 150 short stories to magazines and other publications.

The collection contains drafts of Lafferty's stories, longer writings, and correspondence. A larger collection of Lafferty's manuscripts is held by the University of Tulsa.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Novelists, Story Writers, & Poets