Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Rose Mary Lawrence Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1949
Creator: Lawrence, Rose Mary
Extent: 1.00 folders.
Collection Number: MSC0641
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: The manuscript of this national prize-winning short story by a twenty-two year old Davenport native.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Miss Lawrence in 1949.

Preferred Citation: Papers of Rose Mary Lawrence, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Miss Lawrence, twenty-two years old and a recent graduate of Marycrest College in Davenport, Iowa, won a national short story contest in 1949 with her entry, Dragon's Tail. This manuscript and the announcement in The Catholic Messenger comprise this collection.

Miss Lawrence, twenty-two years old and a recent graduate of Marycrest College in Davenport, Iowa, won a national short story contest in 1949 with her entry, "Dragon's Tail." This manuscript and the announcement in The Catholic Messenger comprise this collection.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: "DRAGON'S TAIL"

  • Series 1: "DRAGON'S TAIL"
  • Box 1:
  • Ribbon copy
  • Carbon copy of an earlier version
  • Announcement of the winners in The Catholic Messenger of June 16, 1949

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Lawrence, Rose Mary

Topics:
Women authors

Occupations:
Authors

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Carbon copies
Drafts (Documents)
Clippings (Information artifacts)
Manuscripts (Document genre)