Guide to the Guy Howard Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1948-1950
Creator: Howard, Guy (1891-)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0629
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Itinerant preacher and writer. This collection consists of manuscripts from two of his books and various clippings. Iowa Author Mss.

Administrative Information

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Reverend Guy Howard in 1948 (Walkin' Preacher of the Ozarks) and in 1950 (Give Me Thy Vineyard).

Preferred Citation: Guy Howard Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Biographical Note

Guy Howard was born in 1891 in Lucas County, Iowa. He worked on a farm for the first years of his adult life, then he moved to the Ozark Mountains, where he became an itinerant preacher. He walked an average of four thousand miles a year and served dozens of communities as pastor. His salary averaged fourteen dollars a month. He wrote about his experiences in The Walkin' Preacher of the Ozarks in 1941 which brought him national notoriety. He followed this with several novels, including Give Me Thy Vineyard (1949) and Wings of the Dawn (1953).


Content Description

This collection consists of drafts and correspondence concerning two of Howard Guy's books, Give Me Thy Vineyard and Walkin' Preacher of the Ozarks.

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Novelists, Story Writers, & Poets