Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Emerson Hough Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1902-1975
Creator: Hough, Emerson (1857-1923)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0628
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Journalist, editor of Forest and Stream, and novelist of the West. Includes letterpress book, 1902-1912 and 34 letters 1912-1923 to Mr. and Mrs. Fred Bigelow.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 2.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Emerson Hough Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Emerson Hough was born in 1857 in Newton, Iowa where his parents, Joseph B. and Elizabeth Hough had moved from their native Virginia in 1852. After graduating from Newton high school in 1875 Hough taught in a rural school and then entered the State University of Iowa. He received a bachelor's degree in philosophy in 1880 and pursued the study of law with a firm in Newton. Looking for a new start, Hough moved west to White Oaks, New Mexico where he opened a law firm and worked as a reporter for The Golden Era, the White Oaks newspaper. After returing to the midwest in 1886 Hough worked on newspapers in Iowa, Kansas, and Ohio as well as contributing freelance articles to hunting and fishing magazines. He was hired by Forest and Stream in 1889 and later worked for Field & Stream and the Saturday Evening Post. Hough became known as a avid outdoorsman and was dedicated to conserving Western wildlife. After spending time in Yellowstone in 1893 and seeing herds of buffalo decimated, Hough wrote several articles influencing Congress to take action. In 1897 Hough secured the reputation of being a Western author with the publication of The Story of the Cowboy. Hough would eventually become the author of more than twenty-one works focused on frontier life and the American west. Hough served as a captain in the Army Intelligence Division during World War I and became engaged in regular correspondence with President Roosevelt, a fellow conservationist and outdoorsman. Two of his novels, The Covered Wagon (1922) and North of Thirty-Six (1923), were turned into screenplays by Hough and became enormously popular silent films, making him one of the first Western authors to enter into the motion picture industry.

He married Charlotte Chesebro of Chicago in 1897 and made Chicago his home. Hough died in 1923 from heart failure following an operation. He is buried in Evanston, Illinois.

The papers of Emerson Hough consist of essays and articles written by and about Hough, photographs, advertising and promotional materials, several letterpress books, and miscelleneous materials.
See Emerson Hough's American West by Carole M. Johnson.

There are seven letters from Hough to Alice Applegate Sargent, dated March 1, 1920 through Mary 4 1921 in the Southern Oregon Historical Society in Jacksonville, Oregon.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Novelists, Story Writers, & Poets