Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Marjorie Holmes Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1943-1970
Creator: Holmes, Marjorie (1910-2002)
Extent: 9.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0626
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Author of numerous short stories, several novels and radio scripts. One story, The General Comes Home, was sold to MGM.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Miss Holmes, 1947 -- 1970.

Preferred Citation: Marjorie Holmes Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Marjorie Holmes (1910-2002) was born in Storm Lake, Iowa and graduated from Cornell College. She worked in the College of Education, State University of Iowa following graduation and met her first husband there. One of her stories, The General Comes Home, was bought by MGM. She wrote newspaper columns and radio scripts as well.

Correspondence, manuscripts of novels and stories, galley proofs, and notes.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Novelists, Story Writers, & Poets