Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Laura Hinkley Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1946-1947
Creator: Hinkley, Laura (1875-1949)
Extent: 1.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0625
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Writer and biographer of writers. This collection contains manuscripts for two of the author's books, Ladies of Literature and The Stevensons: Louis and Fanny. Iowa Author Mss.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Laura Hinkley and her sisters between 1947 and 1953.

Preferred Citation: Laura Hinkley Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Laura Hinkley was born in Marcus, Iowa, in 1875. She earned a B.A. at Cornell College and then worked as an author. She died in 1949.

Notes and Manuscripts regarding Hinkley's books Ladies of Literature and The Stevensons: Louis and Fanny.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: LADIES OF LITERATURE
Series 2: THE STEVENSONS: LOUIS AND FANNY

  • Series 1: LADIES OF LITERATURE
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1946-1947
  • Notes
  • First draft typescript with revisions
    2 folders
  • Index. Typescript and galley proof with revisions
  • Printer's typescript with revisions
    2 folders
  • Box 2:
  • Printer's typescript carbon
  • Galley proof, August 4 - 1946
  • Galley proof (duplicate), August 4 - 1946
  • Galley proof, September 27 - 1946
  • Series 2: THE STEVENSONS: LOUIS AND FANNY
  • Box 3:
  • Notes
  • First typescript with revisions
    2 folders
  • Publisher's typescript with revisions
    2 folders
  • Draft of front material
  • Dummy proof of front material

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Prose Writers