Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Grace R. Hebard Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1823-1951; and undated
Creator: Hebard, Grace R. (1861-1936)
Extent: 6.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: MSC0624
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Hebard was born in Iowa but spent most of her life in Wyoming, where she started the Hebard collection on western history at the University of Wyoming. She wrote several histories of Wyoming and the west. This collection contains many photographs for the book Sacajawea: Guide of the Lewis and Clark Expedition, including some images that were not used in the book. Iowa Author Manuscript.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs make up the vast majority of the collection.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Grace R. Hebard Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Grace Hebard was born in Clinton, Iowa, on July 2, 1861. She took her B.S. at the University of Iowa in 1882 and her M.A. at the same institution in 1885. A paper in the collection states that she was the first woman to be graduated from the Civil Engineering Dep(artment) of the University. She received her Ph.D. from Illinois Wesleyan in 1893. She subsequently spent over forty years at the University of Wyoming, much of this time as librarian and Head of the Department of Political Economy. She collected on the topic of Wyoming history, and on her death in 1936, she bequeathed her collection to the University of Wyoming at Laramie. She also wrote on the topic of Wyoming history. Her works include The Bozeman Trail, The Government of Wyoming, The Pathbreakers, Sacajawea, and Washakie.

The collection consists of four folders that largely contain photographs, letters, drawings, and manuscripts. This material served as actual or potential illustrations for Hebard's research on Sacajawea and the Lewis and Clark Expedition, which she conducted for her book Sacajawea: Guide of the Lewis and Clark Expedition, which was published in 1933.

Folder 1 contains material that was not used as illustration. Folder 2 is the typed manuscript, including a bibliography and corrections. Folder 3 consists of copies while Folder 4 contains the respective originals. For the most part, these illustrations were used in the book.
Most of Hebard's letters are in the American Heritage Center at the University of Wyoming.

There are letters between Levi Leonard and Miss Hebard in the Leonard collection. MsC0159

Anderson, Irving W. "Probing the Riddle of the Bird Woman." Montana, 23:4 (Autumn 1973, pp. 2 -- 17

Brown, Larry K. "In Old Wyoming: Grace Raymond Hebard." Wyoming Annals, 66:3 (Fall 1994), pp. 6 -- 7

Fleck, Richard F. and Robert A. Campbell. "A Selected Literary Bibliography of Wyoming." Annals of Wyoming, 45 (Spring 1974), pp. 75 -- 112. Includes five items by Hebard

Wenzell, Janell M. "Dr. Grace Raymond Hebard as Western Historian." M.A. thesis, American Civilization, University of Wyoming, 1960

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: MANUSCRIPT, SACAJAWEA: GUIDE OF THE LEWIS AND CLARK EXPEDITION

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Clippings and publicity
  • Hebard letters in the Levi O. Leonard collection: an index
  • Series 2: MANUSCRIPT, SACAJAWEA: GUIDE OF THE LEWIS AND CLARK EXPEDITION
  • Box 1:
  • Illustrations not used in published edition
  • Photo of Maggie Baptiste Meyers, daughter of Baptiste, son of Sacajawea. March 28 - 1925
  • Photo of Andrew Bazil, son of Bazil, son of Sacajawea, March 28 - 1925
  • Photo of Quantan Quay
  • Photo of Sage Weetchie, great-grandson of Sacajawea
  • Photo of Andrew Bazil and Maggie Baptiste Weejans, "grandchildren ? Sacajawea"
  • Photo of Shoshone moccasins
  • Photo of "the graves of Sacajawea; Bazil, her son; and Barbara Baptiste Meyers, daughter of papoose of the Lewis and Clark Expedition"
  • Photo of the cemetery in which Sacajawea is buried
  • Photo of Bishop Randall Chapel
  • Photo of burial record of Sacajawea, August 19 - 1873
  • Photo of record of the baptism of four great-grandchildren of Sacajawea, April 9 - 1884
  • Photo of bronze tablet in memory of Reverend George Maxwell Randall [?]
  • Photo of Fred Laiga, great-grandson of Sacajawea
  • Typed manuscript with corrections
  • 401 typed leaves
  • Bibliography
  • Copies of photos used as illustrations in the published edition
  • Photo of Reverend John Roberts and Andrew Bazil at grave of Sacajawea
  • Reproduction of drawing of Fort Supply. Photo of Bazil, adopted son of Sacajawea (extreme left, standing) and Chief Washakie (mounted, ?)
  • Photo of Sacajawea's "comanche kinfolk." Includes Hi-we-nah's eldest daughter and her family
  • Photo of painting of "Prince Paul, Baptiste, and the Indians." Reproduction of painting "Reunion of Sacajawea and her Shoshone People"
  • Reproduction of Indian drawing of the Custer battle dated June 15, 1876. Photo of WE-SE-PAIE, George KO-WE-NA and wife, and HI-WE-NAH, descendants of Sacajawea. - 1876
  • Reproduction of map of Washakie National Forest, Wyoming [drawn by the author]
  • Photo of letter from William Clark requesting a passport for Prince Paul
  • Facsimile of original De Smet manuscript, describing the meeting on the Oregon Trail of Prince Paul, September 1951. Facsimile of Boggs' manuscript describing Baptiste and his half-brother "Tessou," 1845
  • Reproduction of a map of a section of the Lewis and Clark expedition. The sources of the Missouri River and the meeting place of the white men with the Shoshone Indians. Sketched by Laura Tolman Scott
  • Reproduction of painting of statue of Sacajawea by Henry Altman - 1905
  • Facsimile of letter to General William Clark from Prince Paul requesting a passport to ascend the Missouri River, May 5 - 1823
  • Reproduction of original drawing by [Heinrich Balduin] Moellhausen of "Race of the Cheyenne Maidens," dated October 26, 1851. Reproduction of sketch by Moellhausen of the attack on Prince Paul, October 26, 1851, by the Kiawas. - 1851
  • Photo of Susan Perry (friend of Sacajawea) and the author
  • Illustrations partially used in published edition (originals)
  • Photo of Reverend John Roberts and Andrew Bazil at grave of Sacajawea
  • Reproduction of drawing of Fort Supply
  • Photo of Sacajawea's "Comanche kinfolk." Includes Hi-we-nah's eldest daughter and her family
  • Photo of We-se-paie, mother-in-law of Tah-cu-tine, Sacajawea's Comanche grand-daughter
  • Photo of George Ko-we-nah, first cousin of Tah-cu-tine
  • Photo of Andrew Bazil and his cousin Barbara Baptiste Meyers
  • Photo of Bazil, adopted son of Sacajawea (extreme left, standing) and Chief Washakie (mounted, ?)
  • Reproduction of Bogg's manuscript describing Baptiste and his half-brother "Tessou" - 1845
  • Photo of letter from William Clark requesting a passport for Prince Paul
  • Reproduction of letter from Prince Paul to General William Clark requesting a passport to ascend the Missouri River, May 5 - 1823
  • Map of Washakie National Forest, Wyoming [drawn by the author]
  • Photo of original De Smet manuscript, describing the meeting on the Oregon Trail of Prince Paul, September - 1851
  • Map of a section of the Lewis and Clark expedition. The sources of the Missouri River and the meeting place of the white men with the Shoshone indians. Sketched by Laura Tolman Scott
  • Photo of Susan Perry (friend of Sacajawea) and author
  • Photo of manuscript of Prince Paul recalling pleasant remembrances of "B. Charbaneau, whose mother was a 'Schoschone'," written August 10 - 1850
  • Photo of manuscript of Father De Smet, describing meeting with Prince Paul of Wuertemberg on "La Platte" - 1851
  • Photo of translated manuscript of Father De Smet's Life, Letters, and Travel (sample page)
  • 1 leaf with instructions on how illustrations should be included in text
  • 4 leaves on how particular individual photographs will be organized on 4 pages in text

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Prose Writers
Prose Writers