Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Evelyn Harter Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1930-1999
Creator: Harter, Evelyn (1903-1999)
Extent: 1.00 linear foot.
Collection Number: MSC0622
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Harter was born in Keokuk, Iowa. Completing a BA at the University of Iowa in 1925, she moved to New York City where she shared an apartment for a time with Ruth Suckow. Primarily a typographer and book designer, she worked for publishers such as Cape and Smith, Smith and Haas, and Random House. Her first novel, Dr. Katherine Bell (Doubleday, 1950) is partially set in Iowa City. She gave a corrected typescript and a set of corrected galleys just after the novel was published.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The manuscripts for the book were donated by the author shortly after their publication; the remainder of the collection was donated by her son, William Glick.

Preferred Citation: Evelyn Harter Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Evelyn Harter was born in Keokuk, Iowa where her father was a doctor. She completed a BA at the University of Iowa in 1925, and moved to New York City where she shared an apartment for a time with Ruth Suckow. Primarily a typographer and book designer, she worked for publishers such as Cape and Smith, Smith and Haas, and Random House. Her husband, M.B. Glick, designed for the Viking Press.

Harter's first novel, Dr. Katherine Bell, was published by Doubleday in 1950. It is partially set in Iowa City. She gave a corrected typescript and a set of corrected galleys just after the novel was published.

In 1984 she wrote an article for Books at Iowa 41, "The Life or the Work," which discusses inter alia, her life as a student and her later work, including a number of stories and novels which made use of her experiences in India.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: ADDENDUM TO THE EVELYN HARTER COLLECTION, GIFT OF WILLIAM J. GLICK, JULY 2002

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Dr. Katherine Bell: TMS with author's holographic corrections, pages 1-200
  • Dr. Katherine Bell: TMS with author's holographic corrections, pages 201-430
  • Dr. Katherine Bell: Galley proofs - 1950
  • Clippings and articles
  • Series 2: ADDENDUM TO THE EVELYN HARTER COLLECTION, GIFT OF WILLIAM J. GLICK, JULY 2002
  • Sub-Series: By Evelyn Harter and M. B. Glick
  • Box 1:
  • Evelyn Harter and M.B. Glick. "Building the Book Beautiful." The Junior Bookshelf II:4, July - 1938
    Tear sheets
  • A Book Production Planning Guide. United States Information Service, Karachi, Lahore, Dacca - 1960
    Pakistani revision
  • Printing Design and Production from Seven Countries Singapore to Instanbul Selected and Exhibited by the American Institute of Graphic Arts - 1963
    New York. Catalog based on the Glicks' 1961-1962 trip under U.S. State Department and AIGA auspices
  • Sub-Series: Evelyn Harter Stories and Articles in Books and Periodicals
  • Box 1:
  • "The Black Razor." Kansas Quarterly
    Photocopy, date not noted
  • "Bosom of the Family." The Virginia Quarterly Review 42:2, Spring - 1966
  • "The Circus on the Stairs." The Residence Reporter, December - 1988
    Photocopy
  • "A Congenial Deity." Northwest Review 11:1, Fall - 1970
    Photocopy
  • "Dear Krishnan." The Illustrated Weekly of India
    Photocopy, date not noted
  • "A Drift of Incense." Kansas Quarterly
    Photocopy, date not noted
  • "An Exhibition of Books Made for Children." The Horn Book XVIII:2, March-April - 1942
    Photocopy
  • "The Flirtation." Transatlantic Review 46/47
    Photocopy
  • "Forty-Niners Go East." Story III:15, October - 1933
  • Box 2:
  • "Full Trim" (monthly commentary and criticism of bookmaking) and other articles published in Publishers' Weekly - 1931-1936
    Approximately 57 articles, 200 pages. Tear sheets
  • "Greet You with Garlands." Southwest Review LII:4, Autumn - 1968
  • "In My Next Incarnation." The North American Review, New Series II:5/6, November - 1965
    Photocopy
  • "An Interview With The Eminent Professor Hugo K. O. Muttonquad." Bookmaking on the Distaff Side. New York, - 1937
    Photocopy
  • "Kay Boyle: Experimenter." The Bookman, June-July - 1932
    Photocopy
  • "A Kingly Exit." Prairie Schooner, Fall - 1966
    Photocopy
  • "The Landlady." Southwest Review 60:1, Winter - 1975
    Photocopy
  • "Next Summer in Bangkok." The Virginia Quarterly Review 54:1, Winter - 1978
  • "And Now Good Morrow." The Illustrated Weekly of India XCIX:44, November 19-25 - 1978
    With additional photocopy
  • "Odor of Sandalwood"
    Tear sheets. Source and date not noted
  • "Paradise Lost." The Illustrated Weekly of India XCVII:51, December 19-25 - 1976
  • "Publication Day Party." South Dakota Review, Summer - 1975
    Tearsheets
  • "The Red Dot." Southwest Review, Autumn - 1970
    Tearsheets
  • "Renegade." The Antioch Review XXVI: 3, Fall - 1966
  • "The Stone Lovers." Southwest Review LV:1, Winter - 1970
  • "Tell Me to Go On Living," The Minnesota Review II:2, Winter - 1962
  • "Till All Can Enter Paradise." The Texas Quarterly, Winter - 1975
    Offprint
  • "Windmill Memsahib." The Illustrated Weekly of India XCVIII:41, October 23-29 - 1977
  • "The Wink." The Illustrated Weekly of India
    Photocopy. Date not noted
  • "The Wink." The Seattle Review V:1-2, Fall - 1982
  • "The Life or the Work"
    First draft (photocopy) of an article that appeared in Books at Iowa (1984), circulated to Harter's family

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Novelists, Story Writers, & Poets