Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the William Wister Haines Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1947 and undated
Creator: Haines, William Wister (1908-1989)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0617
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Novelist and screenwriter. This collection contains the manuscript and correspondence for the novel [i]Command Decision.[/i]

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by William Wister Haines in 1947. Guide posted to Internet in August 2004.

Preferred Citation: William Wister Haines Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

William Wister Haines was a novelist and movie playwright who was born in 1908 in Des Moines, Iowa. He was a member of the Author's Guild and the Dramatists Guild of Authors League of America. His writings include Slim (1934), The Honorable Rocky Slade (1955), and Target (1964). Many of his books were made into Hollywood movies with such stars as Henry Fonda and John Wayne. He also contributed various articles and stories to magazines. Haines died in 1989 while on a cruise.

The collection contains a printer's typescript and correspondence regarding Haines' novel Command Division. Additional newspaper and magazine clippings are included.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Novelists, Story Writers, & Poets