Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Bruce Gould Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1929-1968
Creator: Gould, Bruce
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0614
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Journalist and editor at the Ladies Home Journal, 1935-1960. Typescripts of a play and two short stories comprise this collection.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: The Papers of Bruce Gould, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Bruce Gould was born in the Clayton county village of Luana, Iowa. His family moved to Des Moines when he was four. After graduating from East Des Moines High School, he attended the University of Iowa where he wrote for its student newspaper, The Daily Iowan.

After graduation in 1922, Gould spent the next nine years working on the staffs of several major newspapers. He was successively a writer for the Des Moines Tribune, the New York Sun, and the New York Evening Post. He left the newspaper business in 1931 to write a series of successful short stories. Returning to journalism in 1935, Gould was asked to take the editorship of the Ladies Home Journal. His wife, Beatrice Blackmar Gould, later joined him as co-editor of the journal, which they continued to co-edit for the next 25 years.

Both Mr. and Mrs. Gould were presented the Distinguished Service Award of the University of Missouri School of Journalism in 1946. In 1968 the Goulds' co-wrote a joint autobiography called American Story, published by Harper and Row.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Newspaper & Magazine Editors & Publishers