Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Edward Gorman Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1990 -
Creator: Gorman, Edward
Extent: 3.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0613
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Author of mysteries (the Tobin and Jack Dwyer series), westerns (as Leo Guild), and horror novels under several pseudonyms. Former advertising executive. Preliminary drafts of his writings.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Ed Gorman has given the University of Iowa Libraries his books and literary manuscripts over a period of years, beginning in 1990.

Preferred Citation: Edward Gorman Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Ed Gorman is a life-long resident of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. He is the owner and president of the advertising firm, Media Consultants. Gorman writes mysteries, westerns, and horror novels using his own name as well as the pseudonyms David Ransom, Will McLennan, and Robert Davis Chase. He is the editor/publisher of Mystery Scene magazine and contributes articles to many other newspapers and journals. He is married to fellow writer and Iowan, Carol Gorman.

Ed Gorman's papers measure three linear feet and are arranged alphabetically by folder title. Included are various drafts and page proofs of his novels, beginning with Daddy's Little Girl, published in 1985; biographical articles; and copies of Mystery Scene.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Articles about Ed Gorman
  • Anderson, Richard. "A Conversation With Ed Gorman." Cemetery Dance Magazine, v. 6, n. 4   - 1995
  • Braumbeck, Gary A. "The Grim Sensitivity of Ed Gorman." The Time Machine [n.d.].
  • Pronzini, Bill. "Introduction: A Renaissance Writer: Ed Gorman." The Collected Western Stories of Ed Gorman, pp. 1 - 4
  • Books by Ed Gorman
  • The Babysitter - (Daniel Ransom) - Editor's Draft.
  • Blood Game - Editor's Draft.
  • Blood Night - (Daniel Ransom) - Typescript Draft [A].
  • Box 2:
  • Books by Ed Gorman (continued)
  • Blood Night - (Daniel Ransom) - Typescript Draft [B].
  • Daddy's Little Girl - Uncorrected Proof.
  • Dark Trail - Editor's Draft.
  • Death Ground - Page Proof.
  • Box 3:
  • Books by Ed Gorman (continued)
  • Guild - Editor's Draft.
  • The Last Chance of Donny Perdew - Typescript Draft.
  • Murder in the Wings - Page Proof and Typescript Draft.
  • Murder on the Aisle - Typescript Draft.
  • Box 4:
  • Books by Ed Gorman (continued)
  • Murder Straight Up - Typescript Draft.
  • New, Improved Murder
  • - Typescript draft.
  • - Second draft.
  • - Page proofs, pp. 163 - 180.
  • Night of Shadows - Typescript Draft.
  • Box 5:
  • Books by Ed Gorman (continued)
  • Pity the Stranger (Daniel Ransom) - Typescript Draft.
  • Rough Cut
  • - Fragments of typescript draft.
  • - First draft.
  • - Second draft.
  • Box 6:
  • Books by Ed Gorman (continued)
  • Rough Cut - Page Proof.
  • What the Dead Men Say - Editor's Draft.
  • Edited and published by Ed Gorman:
  • Mystery Scene 28 - January - 1991
  • Mystery Scene 29 - April - 1991
  • Aricles about Ed Gorman
  • Brutus, No. 364 (May 15, 1996), King Features Syndicate, pp. 35 - 36. (Review of Night Kills) - 1996
  • Books by Ed Gorman
  • The Poker Club
  • - Dust jacket
  • - Publicity
  • What Dead Men Say
  • - Paperback cover
  • Edited and published by Ed Gorman
  • Mystery Scene, Vols. 63, 65, 66
  • Newspaper Clippings

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Novelists, Story Writers, & Poets