Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Carl Glick Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1915-1971
Creator: Glick, Carl (1890-1971)
Extent: 21.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0611
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Story writer, playwright and film script writer, author of books for adults and children, Glick is best remembered for his books about the Chinese in America.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Boxes 1, 2

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Mr. and Mrs. Glick 1947-1971.

Preferred Citation: Carl Glick Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Carl Glick was born in Marshalltown, Iowa, in 1890, the son of a manufacturer of gasoline engines and furnaces. He graduated from Northwestern University in 1915. During his freshman year, he played bit parts for the Donald Robertson players at the Chicago Art Institute, for which he was paid fifty cents a performance. He supported himself during his junior year in college by writing moving picture scenarios. He left college for one year to travel with a repertory theatre troupe, an adventure which ended with his being stranded in a small town when the troupe disbanded. After graduating from Northwestern, Glick returned to Iowa to start one of the first community theatres in Iowa, in Waterloo. After this he directed little theatres in San Antonio, Texas, and Sarasota, Florida. Between productions, he wrote plays and short stories. During this time he wrote the plays The Police Matron, It Isn't Done, Outclassed, The Fourth Mrs. Phillips, Suncold, and Ten Days Later, among others. Between 1919 and 1922 he wrote many short stories for such magazines as Saucy Stories, Fascinating Fiction, Parisienne and New Parisienne, Black Mask Magazine, and 10 Story Book, some of them using various pseudonyms. In 1932, not finding any more little theatres to direct, he moved to New York.
 
In New York, he was sent to Chinatown by the Emergency Works Bureau as athletic director of a boys club for the Church of All Nations. Here he became fascinated with the Chinese in America and found a topic for his writing talent. His books Shake Hands with the Dragon, Three Times I Bow, Double Ten, and Oswald's Pet Dragon all arose from his acquaintance with and respect for the Chinese in America. During the research and writing of Double Ten, he met and became friends with A. E. O'Banion, with whom he wrote two children's books, Mickey, the Horse That Volunteered and Mickey Wins His Feathers. As well as writing about the Chinese in America, he wrote mysteries (Laughing Bhudda, Death Sits In), about community theatre in America (Curtains Going Up), and produced a chatty autobiographical work (I'm a Busybody). His play, The Unconquered, was the first play produced with WPA funds.
 
A man of diverse talents, he was sometimes a professor at universities and colleges such as the Universities of Colorado and Montana, New York University, and California Western University; sometimes a director of theatre; and sometimes a playwright and author. His last appointment was as professor of English and Drama at California Western University in San Diego, from which he retired in 1961. During his lifetime he published seventeen books and nine plays, as well as many short stories and magazine articles. He died on March 8, 1971.

This collection comprises twenty-one linear feet and contains correspondence, photographs, programs, prints of articles and short stories, manuscripts, galley proofs, brochures, and newspaper clippings covering the years 1915 to 1971. Correspondence about stories, articles, and books are filed with the manuscript, where one exists.
Sound recording of Glick speech, at the Vincet Voice Library, Michigan State University Libraries.

See also Chautauqua brochure.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical and Personal, including photographs
    For more photographs, see the writer's conference folder in Box 2
  • Clippings - 1937-1999
  • Correspondence
  • Allen, Jay
  • Appel, David
  • Bixby, Lawrence
  • Blizard, L.W.
  • The Chinese Historical Society of America
  • Corbett, Scott
  • Correspondence about a book about Homer Lea arising from interest in Double Ten
  • Correspondence resulting from Glick's writing books about the Chinese in America
  • Fan Mail, General
  • Hoegh, Mrs. Leo A.
    Iowa's First Lady
  • Hong, Shengua
  • Larned, William E.
  • Lee, Orient
  • Lim, Frank
  • MacKaye, Percy
  • McKown, Robin
  • Miscellaneous persons
  • Moore, William
  • Muir, Peter
  • O'Banion, A.E. - 1944
  • O'Banion, A.E. - 1945-1950
  • O'Banion, A.E. - 1951-1962
  • Poole, William
  • Powers, Joshua B.
  • Sutherland, Howard and Lorraine
  • Tyson, Cordell
  • Wong, Anna May
  • Correspondence with publishers and agents
  • 10 Story Book
  • Action Stories
  • The China Monthly
  • Coronet Magazine
  • Correspondence with agents, General
  • Correspondence with moving picture companies
  • Thomas Crowell and Company
  • Dodd, Mead and Company
  • Detective Tales - Mystery
  • Mencken, H.L.
    Typescript transcriptions (Glick sold the originals for the signatures.)
  • New York Times Book Review
  • Neale - Saucy Stories
  • The Rotarian
  • The Smart Set
  • Smith's Magazine - Young, C.H.
  • Strassman, Toni
  • Story Digest
  • Your Life
  • Interviews
  • Radio and TV interviews, Correspondence and some scripts
  • Box 2:
  • Lectures
  • Contracts and business letters
  • Correspondence
  • Luncheon Lectures and other engagements
  • "The Origins of the Drama"
  • Visit to hometown of Marshalltown, Iowa, 1946. Correspondence
  • Miscellaneous
  • A.E. O'Banion: Photographs, Clippings, Expense Sheets
  • Booth, Clare
  • Contracts with Publishers
  • Demolition of Old Chinatown
  • Ell, Christine
  • Glick's Notes
    Sent with the collection
  • The Great Seal of China
  • Masonic Materials
  • Miscellaneous
  • Publication of Glick's Books in China
  • Statistics on Juvenile Crime in Chinatown
  • Tribute to Roland Holt
  • Teaching
  • California Western University
  • Fundamentals of Drama
    Course
  • Great Novels
    Course
  • John Hoy Whitney Foundation
  • Lecture Notes
  • New York University
  • Short Story
    Course
  • University of Colorado
  • University of Montana
  • Writers' Conference, 1958
  • Writers' Conference, 1959
  • Writers' Conference, 1960
  • Writers' Conference, Correspondence
  • Writers' Conference, Publicity and Promotion
  • Box 3:
  • Theatre Materials
  • Correspondence concerning Gold in the Hills
  • Little theatres with which Glick worked
  • Mohawk Drama Festival: "Even Comedy Has Meaning." Mohawk Drama Festival Magazine, Vol. 6, No.2, p. 7
  • Mohawk Drama Festival: "Little Theatres in Shakespeare's Day." Mohawk Drama Festival Magazine, p. 7, August 20 - 1940
  • Mohawk Drama Festival: "Mrs. Wiggs Really Lived," Mohawk Drama Festival Magazine, Vol. 6, No.1, p. 7
  • Mohawk Drama Festival: "A Playwright Writes His Own Review," Mohawk Drama Festival Magazine, Vol. 6, No. 4, p. 7
  • Mohawk Drama Festival: "Reveals 'Smilin' Through' Author," Mohawk Drama Festival Magazine, Vol. 6, No. 5, p. 5
  • Mohawk Drama Festival: "A Second Night for George du Maurier," Mohawk Drama Festival Magazine, Vol. 6, No. 3, p. 4
  • Mohawk Drama Festival: "Theatre's Meeting Ground," Mohawk Drama Festival Magazine, Vol. 6, No.5, p. 6
  • Mohawk Drama Festival: "'Workers Theatre' in Shakespeare's Day," Mohawk Drama Festival Magazine, Vol. 6, No. 7, p. 10-11
  • Portable/Little Theatres
  • Theatre: Correspondence and other materials
  • Waterloo Drama League
  • Writings: Books
  • Curtains Going Up: Correspondence
  • Death Sits In: Typescript Manuscript
  • Death Sits In: Correspondence
  • Double Ten: Printer's Copy with Revisions
  • Double Ten: Galley Proofs
  • Double Ten: Correspondence and other materials
  • Double Ten: Correspondence with A.E. O'Banion
  • Double Ten: Fan Letters
  • Double Ten: Proposal for a Screenplay
  • Double Ten: Donald W. Crocker: "Within the Vale of Annandale"
    Reprints a photograph from Double Ten
  • Every Thursday Evening: Typescript Manuscript
  • The Golden Skull: Typescript Manuscript and Carbon Copy
  • I'm a Busybody: Printer's Copy with Revisions
  • Box 4:
  • Writings: Books (cont.)
  • I'm a Busybody: Galley Proofs
  • I'm a Busybody: Correspondence
  • Mickey, the Horse that Volunteered: First Version, Final Version
    Typescript Manuscript and Carbon Copy
  • Mickey, the Horse that Volunteered: Printer's Copy
  • Mickey, the Horse that Volunteered: Galley Proofs
  • Mickey, the Horse that Volunteered: Radio Broadcast Script and Correspondence
  • Mickey Wins His Feathers: Printer's Copy with Corrections, Typescript Manuscript
  • Mickey Wins His Feathers: Galley Proofs
  • Correspondence about the Mickey Stories
  • Mrs. Brown's Magic Garden (With Sue Ann Wilson): Carbon Copy of Typescript Manuscript (Not published?)
  • The Mystery of the Laughing Buddha: Carbon Copy of Typescript Manuscript, Revised
  • Oswald's Pet Dragon: Chidren's Digest, December 1956, p. 61-68, and Correspondence
  • The Secret of Serenity: Page Proofs
  • The Secret of Serenity: Galley Proofs
  • The Secret of Serenity: Typescript Manuscript of Final Draft, Revised
  • The Secret of Serenity: First Draft and Discarded Pages
  • The Secret of Serenity: Publisher's Publicity
  • The Secret of Serenity: Dummy Proof of Front Matter
  • The Secret of Serenity: Typewritten Layout of Front Matter
  • The Secret of Serenity: Carbon Copies of Partial Content in Nine Chapters
    Published as magazine articles under different titles.
  • The Secret of Serenity: "Something Borrowed," Your Life, (June) - 1951
    Published under the title I"s This Your Key to Happiness?"
  • The Secret of Serenity: "Four Short Words," The Rotarian, (December) - 1949
    Reprinted in Literary Cavalcade, December 1949.
  • The Secret of Serenity: "Unwind the Clock," Your Health Magazine (Fall) - 1949
    Published under the title "Kwong's Cure for Insomnia."
  • The Secret of Serenity: "Why Not Success?" Your Life (December) - 1951
    Published under the title "Build on Success - Not Failure."
  • The Secret of Serenity: "Be Your Age," The Journal of Living (March) - 1950
    Published under the title "It's Fun to Grow Old - Chinese Style."
  • The Secret of Serenity: "Whose Fault Is It?" The Rotarian (August) - 1949
  • The Secret of Serenity: "Be Straight By Bending," Journal of Living (September) - 1950
    Published under the title "Give In and Win."
  • The Secret of Serenity: "There's Always Tomorrow," Pageant (May) - 1949
  • The Secret of Serenity: "Paint That Poem," The Rotarian (March) - 1951
    Published under the title "Great-Uncle Paints a Poem."
  • The Secret of Serenity: Correspondence
  • Shake Hands With the Dragon: Reader's Digest condensation, reprint
  • Shake Hands With the Dragon: Correspondence
  • Box 5:
  • Writings: Books (cont.)
  • Shake Hands With the Dragon: Excerpt, Reader's Scope, p. 61-65 (March) - 1946
    Published under the title "Grandma Is Boss."
  • Shake Hands With the Dragon: Excerpt, Photostat and Correspondence
    Published under the title "The Dragon Dances." For proposed book from Holt, Rinehart, and Winston.
  • Shake Hands With the Dragon: Chapter XXI reprinted in Freedom Speaks, Correspondence
    Published under the title "The Pith of Bamboo."
  • The Story of Our Flag: Typescript Manuscript
  • The Story of Our Flag: Carbon Copy of Typescript Manuscript
  • The Story of Our Flag: Contract
  • The Story of Our Flag: Correspondence
  • The Story of Our Flag: Correspondence with Publishers
  • The Story of Our Flag: Research
  • The Story of Our Flag: Fan Mail
  • Swords of Silence: Printer's Copy with Revisions
  • Swords of Silence: Page Proofs with Revisions
  • Swords of Silence: Galley Proofs
  • Swords of Silence: Photographs of Chinese characters used in the book
  • Swords of Silence: Proofs and Dummy Sheets Title Page, Copyright Information, Dedication Page, etc.
  • Swords of Silence: Printer's Copy of Title Page, Table of Contents, etc.
  • Swords of Silence: Correspondence
  • Three Times I Bow: Typescript Manuscript
  • Three Times I Bow: Incomplete Typescript Manuscript
  • Three Times I Bow: Galley Proofs
  • Three Times I Bow: Discarded Pages
  • Box 6:
  • Writings: Books (cont.)
  • Three Times I Bow: Excerpt, Senior Scholastic. Vol. 44, No.5, pp. 21-22, 29 (March 6-11) - 1944
  • Three Times I Bow: Excerpt in The Philadelphia Enquirer, Sunday, March 26 - 1944
  • Three Times I Bow: Correspondence
  • A Treasury of Masonic Thought: Correspondence
  • A Treasury of Masonic Thought: Fan Mail
  • Writings: Short Stories and Essays
  • "One Day in April," Saucy Stories (December), P. 52 - 1920
  • "A World With the Bishop," Saucy Stories (January), p. 31-40 - 1921
  • "What They Don't Know," The New Parisienne (March), p. 47-56 - 1921
  • "One Hundred Thousand Dollars," Smith's Magazine (October), p. 871-880 - 1921
  • "She Ain't No Pollyana," Telling Tales (June), p. 142 - 1922
  • "The Bad, Bad Girl" (Under the name of Charles Glendon.) Fascinating Fiction. July, pp. 91 -- 102. - 1920
    Published under the name Charles Glendon.
  • Collected Short Stories: Volume Two, Lockport and Small Town Stories - 1920-1922
  • "Mrs. Grainger Does Her Duty" Saucy Stories. November, pp. 65 -- 77 - 1920
  • "Mrs. Anthony and the Waiter" (Uunder the name of Charles Glendon) Saucy Stories. August, pp.111 -- 115. - 1920
  • "The BlasŽ Mrs. Dade" Parisienne. February, pp. 105 -- 114. - 1921
  • "The Third Mr. Hopper" Parisienne. December, pp.89 -- - 1920
  • "One of Three" (Under the name of Charles Glendon.) Saucy Stories. May, pp. 109 -- 119. - 1921
    Published under the name Charles Glendon.
  • "The Black Leather Wallets" (Under the name of Charles Glendon.) Saucy Stories. June, pp. 67 -- 76. - 1921
  • "For Men Only" Follies. January, pp. 29 -- 36. - 1922
  • "The Queen Is Dead" Saucy Stories. August, pp. 65-70. - 1920
  • "The Prize Beauty" Saucy Stories. January, pp. 53 -- 62. - 1922
  • "The Adventuress and Mrs. Jones" Fascinating Fiction. May, pp. 49 -- 58 - 1922
  • "Buried Treasure" Saucy Stories. July 1, pp. 73 -- 80. - 1922
  • Svolume One:hort Stories
  • "Wanted: A Happy Ending" Saucy Stories. July, pp. 57 -- 62. - 1920
  • "Insouciance" Parisienne. August, pp. 117 -- 119. - 1920
  • "Preferring Things Risque" (Under the name of Roger Wade.) Saucy Stories. August, pp. 23 -- 28. - 1920
    Published under the name Roger Wade.
  • "That's for Remembrance" Parisienne. October, pp. 87 -- 96. - 1920
  • "The Silver Cigarette Case" (Under the name of Charles Glendon.) Parisienne. October, pp. 107 -- 112. - 1920
    Published under the name Charles Glendon.
  • "The Unspoiled Girl" (Under the name of John Herrick." Parisienne. October, pp. 121 -- 126. - 1920
    Published under the name John Herrick.
  • "The Brazen Gargoyle" Saucy Stories. October, pp. 45 -- 52. - 1920
  • "Fireflies" (Under the name of Charles Glendon.) Saucy Stories. November, pp. 29 -- 34. - 1920
    Published under the name Charles Glendon.
  • "A Count in the Family" (Under the name of H. Murray Goodwin?) Parisienne. November, pp. 93 -- 100. - 1920
    Published under the name H. Murray Goodwin.
  • "Chorus Girls and Debutantes" (Under the name of John Herrick.) Saucy Stories. December, pp. 83 -- 90. - 1920
    Published under the name John Herrick.
  • "The Pawn Shop" (Under the name of Charles Glendon.) Saucy Stories. December, pp. 31 -- 40. - 1920
    Published under the name Charles Glendon.
  • Volume Two: Short Stories - 1921
  • "One Man Among a Thousand" (Under the name of Charles Glendon.) Saucy Stories. January, pp. 71 -- 80. - 1921
    Published under the name Charles Glendon.
  • "The Letter of Calamity" (Under the name of Oliver Marsh.) Saucy Stories. January, pp. 111 -- 119. - 1921
  • "He Really Lives" Saucy Stories. February, pp. 41 -- 49. - 1921
  • "The Chorus Man" (Wth Henry Robinson.) Saucy Stories. February, pp. 105 -- 112. - 1921
  • "The Shot in the Dark" Black Mask Magazine. February, pp. 88 -- 94. - 1921
  • "The Woman of Gold" (Under the name of Edward Condlon.) The New Parisienne. March, pp. 63 -- 90. - 1921
  • "She Tried to be Wise" (With Hazlett Kessler.) Saucy Stories. March, pp. 37 -- 47. - 1921
  • "Corinne and the Detective" Saucy Stories. March, pp. 97 -- 104. - 1921
  • "He's Better Off in Jail" Saucy Stories. April, pp. 41 -- 49. - 1921
  • "Champagne and a Walking Stick" The New Parisienne. June, pp. 109 -- 114. - 1921
  • "The Perfumed Cigarettes" aucy Stories. June, pp. 109 -- 118. - 1921
  • "No Clew" Saucy Stories. July, pp. 99 -- 107. - 1921
  • "The Naughty Epigram" Follies. August, pp. 69 -- 75. - 1921
  • "The Damning Evidence" (Under the name of Arthur Hastings.) Saucy Stories. September. pp. 51 -- 61. - 1921
    Published under the name Arthur Hastings.
  • Volume Two: Short Stories - 1922
  • "The Abduction of Bambi" Saucy Stories. February, pp. 3 -- 29. - 1922
  • "Hokum" (Under the name of Alex Henry Washburn. ) Saucy Stories. February, pp 65 -- 68. - 1922
    Published under the name Alex Henry Washburn.
  • "Margot and the Bored Young Man" (Under the name of Charles Glendon.) Fascinating Fiction. March. pp. 119 -- 122.
    Published under the name Charles Glendon.
  • "Helene the Shameless" Saucy Stories. March, pp. 67 -- 73. - 1922
  • "Night Hawks" "Night Hawks" Saucy Stories. April, pp. 3 -- 24. - 1922
  • "The Ten of Spades" (Under the name Arthur Hastings.) Saucy Stories. April, pp. 97 -- 104. - 1922
    Published under the name Arthur Hastings.
  • "Please- One More Fling" (Under the name of Charles Glendon.) Saucy Stories. April, pp. 45 -- 51. - 1922
    Published under the name Charles Glendon.
  • "The Woman Always Tells" Fascinating Fiction. April, pp. 43 -- 47. - 1922
  • "From Midnight to Dawn" Saucy Stories, May, pp. 95 -- 102. - 1922
  • "The Scandal at Hilcrest" Saucy Stories. June, pp. 65 -- 75. - 1922
  • "The Man Who Wished to Be Murdered" Fascinating Fiction. July, pp. 37 -- 43. - 1922
  • "The Lost Heiress" (Under the name of Roger Wade.) Saucy Stories. August 1st, pp. 117 -- 122. - 1922
    Published under the name Roger Wade.
  • "The Compromising Letter" Droll Stories. May, pp. 345 -- 352. - 1923
  • "In the Grey Dawn" Black Mask. May 15, 1923, pp. 49 -- 59. - 1923
  • "Epilogue" (Loose bound with volume two.) Town Topics. June 1, pp. 17 -- 19. - 1922
    Loose bound with Volume Two
  • "Two Years Later" (Loose bound with volume two.) Town Topics. March 17, pp. 25 -- 26,43. - 1921
    Loose bound with Volume Two
  • Volume Three: Short Stories
  • "Swan's Feathers" Saucy Stories. September 1920,pp. 3 -- 29. - 1920
  • "Lost to Bohemia" Breezy Stories. January 1916,pp. 64 -- 67. - 1916
  • "Young Adonis" Breezy Stories. February, pp. 29 -- 34. - 1916
  • "It Might Happen to You" Live Stories. November, pp.41 -- 47. - 1919
  • "Rainbows and Rustics" Breezy Stories. December, pp. 80 -- 84. - 1923
  • "The Underside of Respectability" 10 Story Book. June, pp. 51 -- 57. - 1919
  • "The Girl in the Case" Mystery Magazine. September 1, pp. 3 -- 18. - 1922
  • "You Can Get Away With It" Mystery Magazine, May 15, pp. 20 -- 26. - 1922
  • "The Woman Next Door" 10 Story Book. December, pp. 21 -- 23. - 1921
  • "Hand Mirror" 10 Story Book. July, pp. 56 -- 58. - 1921
  • "Early One Evening" 10 Story Book. July, pp. 16 -- 20. - 1919
  • "Find the Woman" Action Stories. October, pp. 43 -- 49. - 1921
  • "From the Slave Market" 10 Story Book. June, pp. 39 -- 42. - 1919
  • "The Sinister Host" Top Notch Magazine. Janaury 1st. pp. 55 -- 67. - 1926
  • "He Who Gets Laughed At" Saucy Stories. July 15, pp. 112 -- 122. - 1923
  • "An Introduction Is Necessary" Telling Tales. Second January Number. 1924, pp. 354 -- 358. - 1924
  • Volume Three: One-Act Plays
  • "Outclassed" Smart Set. September. pp. 83 -- 93. - 1918
  • "The Fourth Mrs. Philips" Parisienne, October. pp.59 -- 75. - 1913
  • "Words, Just Words" Smith's Magazine, February. pp. 791 -- 795. - 1920
  • "An Evening at Home" 10 Story Book. pp. 610 -- 618.
  • "Blackmail" 10 Story Book., pp. 17 -- 19. - 1924
  • "Suncold" Poet Lore, Summer Number, pp. 280 -- 293. - 1926
  • "Prologue" Poet Lore. Winter Number, pp. 553 -- 562. - 1922
  • Stories of Real Life
  • "I Believe in Fate" The New Parisienne. March, pp.21 -- 23. - 1921
  • "On the Great White Way" - 1921-1922
    Theatre reviews and news. Published under the name Peter Holbrook.
  • "The Best New Mystery Books/The New Mystery Books"
    Published under the name Captain Frank Cunningham.
  • The Bookman
    Contains essays by Glick.
  • "Advising Budding Authors" The Writer. Vol XXXIV:no.7 (July), pp. 98 -- 99. (Bound with The Bookman.) - 1922
    Bound with The Bookman
  • "Charles Arlington Smith" The Bookman. Vol. LI:no. 5 (July), pp. 513 -- 517 - 1920
  • "Discovered: A New Literary Form!" The Bookman. Vol. LI:no. 5 (July), pp. 542 -- 544. - 1920
  • "Discovered: A New Literary Form!" The Writer. Vol.XXXI (July), pp. 97 -- 98. (Bound with The Bookman.) - 1919
  • "A Literary Secret" The Writer. Vol. XXXII (January -- December), pp 178 -- 179. (Bound with The Bookman.) - 1920
  • "On Receiving a Rejection Slip" The Bookman Vol. XXXIV: no.11 (November), pp. 161 -- 162. - 1922
  • Poet Lore
    Contains two essays by Glick.
  • "Art For God's Sake: The Secret Problems of a Little Theatre," Poet Lore Vol. XXXIV Summer, p. 247-253 - 1923
  • "But on the Other Hand," Poet Lore, p. 96-100. Spring - 1925
  • "The Immortal: A Play in One Act." With Bernard Sobel. Poet Lore. Vol. XXXIV. Pp. 441-453. Summer - 1923
  • "Prologue: A Play in One Act." Poet Lore. Vol. XXXIC (Summer), pp. 553 -- 562. - 1923
  • Box 7:
  • Short Stories and essays continued
    Some of these entries are followed by the phrase "See Glick book." Some of the reprints from old magazines are so brittle that the Special Collections. For those titles followed by the word "Correspondence" we have correspondence only, no manuscript or reprint. The text of some of these stories can be found in the three volumes of reprints Glick has commercially bound. Where there is correspondence as well as a manuscript or reprint, the letters are filed with the manuscript or reprint.Department has photocopied them and placed them in a book in the Iowa Authors collection. If you only need the contents of the story, and not the physical magazine reprint, we ask that you look at the story in this book, in order to minimize handling of the fragile copies.
  • "The Abduction of Bambi." Saucy Stories. Vol. XII: no. 1, pp. 3 -- 29. (See Glick book.)
  • "The Adventures and Mrs. Jones. Fascinating Fiction. pp. 49 -- 58.
  • "Advising Budding Authors." The Writer. Vol. XXXIV:no.7 (July), pp. 98 -- 99. - 1922
  • "Amateur Theatre." Life Magazine. May 29, pp. 68 -- 74. No author credit. Glick's book Curtains Going Up is mentioned. See box 6 for the magazine. - 1939
  • "Art For God's Sake. The Secret Problems of a Little Theatre." Poet Lore. Summer - 1923
  • "A Banner Year Ahead for Little Theatres."Frederick B. Ingram Publications Bulletin. Vol.3:no.3 (January) - 1927
  • "Beware of Strangers."The Woman Correspondence.
  • "The Blasz Mrs. Dade." Parisienne. March, pp. 105 -- 114. (See Glick book.) - 1922
  • "The Brazen Gargoyle."Saucy Stories. October, pp. 45 -- 52. (See Glick book.) - 1920
  • "The Challenge of Personal Problems."Your Life. July -- August, pp. 36 -- 40. - 1955
  • "Champagne and a Walking Stick."New Parisienne. June, pp. 109 -- 114. (See Glick book.) - 1921
  • "Chinatown Prepares for War."Look Magazine. Correspondence. (Not published?)
  • "A Chinese New Year Celebration." InNew Reading: An English Course for Schools. London: Reader's Digest Educational Department - 1956
  • "The Chinese Way."Sales Review December, pp. 15 -- 16 - 1957
  • "Chorus Girls and Debutantes." By John Herrick (pseudonym).Saucy Stories. December, pp. 83 -- 90. (See Glick book.) - 1920
  • "The Chorus Man." With Henry Robinson. Saucy Stories. February, pp. 105 -- 112. (See Glick book.) - 1921
  • "Citizen Kwong." Common Ground Autumn. Correspondence. - 1943
  • "The City of Brothers From Overseas." Typescript manuscript and correspondence with the Writer's War Board.
  • "Congratulations." Your Life. September, p.11 - 1949
  • "The Damning Evidence." By Arthur Hastings (pseudonym). Saucy Stories. January, pp. 51 -- 61. - 1920
  • "The Discourtesies of Justice." Correspondence.
  • "Discovered: A New Literary Form!" The Bookman. Vol. L:no. 6 (February), pp. 542 -- 544. Also The Writer. Vol.XXXI:no.7 (July 1919), pp. 97 -- 98. - 1920
  • "The Dragon Goes to Press."Coronet. October. pp. 79 -- 83. - 1942
  • "Early One Evening." 10 Story Book. [July 1919], pp. 16 -- 20. (See Glick book.)
  • "Eggs From the Sky." With Sheng Hua Hong. East Wind. September, pp. 2 -- 4. Also: "Carl Glick: A Glimpse." - 1947
  • "Fireflies." By Charles Glendon (pseudonym). Saucy Stories. November, pp. 29 -- 34. (See Glick book.) - 1920
  • "A Football for the Baby." Part One. Junior World. Vol. LXIV (June 15, 1941), p. 186.
  • "A Football for the Baby." Part Two. Junior World. Vol. LXIV (June 22, 1941), p. 196.
  • "Footlight Fever." Delineator. October, p. 10, 59. See box 6 for magazine.
  • "For Men Only." Follies. January, 1922, pp. 29 -- 36. (See Glick book.) Foreword. The Chinese Community in New York. 1950. p. 9.
  • "Four Short Words." The Rotarian. December, p 18. - 1949
  • "From the Slave Market." 10 Story Book [June], pp. 39 -- 42. (See Glick book.) - 1919
  • "Fraternizemos com o Dragao." Selecoes do Reader's Digest. June, pp. 99 -- 114.
  • "Good Lady." This Week. Foreword. The Good Luck Horse. By Chi Yi and Plato Chan. Correspondence.
  • "Great Uncle Paints a Poem." The Rotarian. March, pp. 6 -- 7. - 1951
  • "Great Uncle's At It Again." This Week. January 30, pp. 9, 17, 22. See also box #6 for magazine. - 1949
  • "Greek Theatre at California Western University." Curtain Call. Typescript manuscript. - 1956
  • The Greenwich Gourmet. Clementine Wheeler, Ed. New York: Bryan Publications, Inc. (Glick contributed a recipe for Dragon's Eye Gelatine.)
  • "He Really Lives." Saucy Stories. February, pp. 41 -- 49. (See Glick book.) - 1921
  • "Helene the Shameless." Saucy Stories. March, pp. 67 -- 73. (See Glick book.) - 1922
  • "He's Better Off In Jail." (Published as "Justice on a Joss Stick." Typescript manuscript.
  • "Ho Sai Gui." Coronet December , p. 21. - 1943
  • "I Believe in Fate." (Stories of Real Life.) Parisienne. p. 21 -- 23. - 1920
  • "Insouciance." Parisienne. August, pp. 11 -- 12. (See Glick book.) - 1920
  • "Irfan Wants a Wife." Esquire. February, pp. 46 -- 47. See also box #6 for magazine. - 1945
  • "It Might Happen to You." Live Stories. November. Correspondence. - 1919
  • "It's a Man's World." Correspondence.
  • "It's Fun to Grow Old - Chinese Style." Journal of Living. March, pp. 35 -- 39. - 1950
  • The Laugh Book. Charley Jones, Ed. Correspondence.
  • "The Letter of Calamity." By Oliver March (pseudonym). Saucy Stories. January, pp. 111 -- 119. (See Glick book.) - 1921
  • "Letter to Santa Claus." The Cleveland News
  • "Li Tsang's First Party." Delineator. May, p. 34 -- 35, 83, 85. See also box 6 - 1935
  • "Li Tsang's First Party." Fiction Parade. August, pp. 411 -- 418. - 1935
  • "A Literary Secret." The Writer. Vol. XXXII:No. 12 (December), pp. 178 -- 179. - 1920
  • "The Little House That Walked Away." Christian Science Monitor. Wednesday, August 10, 1961, p. 14c. Typescript manuscript. - 1961
  • "Little Theatre: Medium for Dramatic Self-Expression. Bright Scrawl. January, pp. 3, 11. - 1930
  • "Lost to Bohemia." Breezy Stories. Correspondence.
  • Foreword. The Magic Monkey. By Plato and Christina Chan. Correspondence.
  • "Make a Mistake." This Week. June 19. See also box #6 for magazine. - 1949
  • "Make Up Your Mind." Your Life July -- August. Typescript manuscript. - 1955
  • "Margot and the Bored Young Man." By Charles Glendon (pseudonym). Fascinating Fiction. March, pp. 119 -- 122. (See Glick book.) - 1922
  • "Mickey's Double."McClurg's Book News. Spring, p. 58. - 1948
  • "Mrs. Grainger Does Her Duty." Saucy Stories. November, pp. 65 -- 77. (See Glick book.) - 1920
  • "My Song Yankee Doodle." This Week. pp. 12 -- 15. Various other publications -- correspondence.
  • "My Song Yankee Doodle." Proposed book. Correspondence.
  • "News is a Day Late." Typescript manuscript.
  • "Night Hawks." Saucy Stories. Vol. 87 (April ). Proof copy. - 1920
  • "No Unions - No Strikes." Ken. May 11, pp. 12 -- 14. - 1939
  • "Number One Bad Boy." This Week. February 6, pp. 6,24 (Reprinted several times as "As the Chinese Twig is Bent.") - 1938
  • "On Receiving a Rejection Slip." The Writer. Vol. XXXIV:no. 11 (November), pp. 161 -- 162. - 1922
  • "One Day in April." Saucy Stories. December, pp. 53 -- 64. (See Glick book.) - 1920
  • "One Man Among a Thousand." By Charles Glendon (pseudonym). Saucy Stories. January, pp. 71 -- 80. (See Glick book.) - 1921
  • "One Of Three." By Charles Glendon (pseudonym). Saucy Stories. May, pp. 109 -- 120. (See Glick book.) - 1921
  • "One Thousand Voices." This Week. September 30, p.15. See also box #6 for magazine. - 1945
  • "Opera Explained in One Easy Lesson." In Laugh Book. September Typescript manuscript. - 1951
  • "Oswald's Pet Dragon." Bright Scrawl. September 8, pp. 5 -- 6, 24. - 1940
  • "Oswald's Pet Dragon." Part One. Child Life. January, pp. 26 -- 27. - 1944
  • "Oswald's Pet Dragon." Part Two Child Life. February,pp. 27 -- 29, - 1944
  • "The Pawn Shop." By Charles Glendon (pseudonym). Saucy Stories. December, pp. 31 -- 40. - 1920
  • "Pebbles." Vol. 2:no.3. Marshalltown, Iowa.
  • "The Perfumed Cigarette." Saucy Stories. Junes, pp. 109 -- 118. - 1921
  • "Pressed While You Wait." Detective Tales. February, pp. 161 -- 163. - 1923
  • "Protect Your Rights." The Writer. Carbon copy of typescript manuscript.
  • "Reckless Romance." (Fictionalization of a movie.) Movie Thrillers. January - 1925
  • "Rich Man, Poor Man." Part One. Junior World. Vol. LXII:no. 53 (December 31), pp. 492, 496. - 1939
  • "Rich Man, Poor Man." Part Two. Junior World. Vol. LXIII:no.1 (January 7), pp. 4,5. - 1940
  • "The Sawdust Trail." True. Correspondence.
  • "Shake Hands With the Dragon." Solidarity, Jr. February, p.3. - 1948
  • Short pieces published in magazines and newspapers.
  • "All That is Needed in Chinese Theatre." Christian Science Monitor. April 7. - 1944
  • "Autumn Jade." China Monthly, June - 1947
  • "Blackmail." 10 Story Book - 1924
  • "Boys' Clubs of New York Hold Tournament." Cleveland Town Tidings. May 14, p.23. - 1932
  • "Build on Success - Not Failure." Your Life. December. - 1951
  • "The Chinese Go to the Theatre." Bridgeport Life. p.8
  • "Confucious Say." Pageant. July. - 1949
  • "Congratulations." Your Life. September - 1949
  • "The Five Human Relationships."Your Life May. - 1947
  • "Footlight Fever." The Reader's Digest. February - 1937
  • "Give In and Win." Journal of Living. September - 1950
  • "The Healthiest Attitude for You." Your Life. November - 1949
  • "Hello." York Little Theatre Opens Its Tenth Season. York, Pennsylvania. p.12.
  • "Here is a Newspaper Office in Chinatown." Christian Science Monitor, February 3 - 1944
  • "Ho Sai Gui." Coronet. December, p. 21 - 1942
  • "The Home Life of a Philosopher." Short Story. March 6 -- 11 - 1944
  • "Is This Your Key to Happiness?" Your Life. June - 1951
  • "Kwong's Cure for Insomnia." Your Health. Fall Quarter
  • Los Angeles Junior College Semi-Professional Training in the Mechanics and Practice of the Dramatic Arts. Brochure quoting from The Republican of Springfield, Massachusetts.
  • "Lesson in Contentment." Christian Science Monitor. December 13 - 1951
  • "A Letter from Chinatown." The Philadelphia Enquirer. December 22 - 1948
  • "Letter to Santa." Story Digest. January - 1947
  • "A Letter to Santa Claus." Adventure Trails For Boys and Girls. Christmas - 1947
  • "Little Imperfections Can Be Enduring." Your Life . January - 1943
  • "Little Lies Breed Big Ones." Your Life. August - 1949
  • "Pleasant Companion." Woman. March - 1949
  • "Shake Hands With Fear." Your Life. January - 1949
  • "Take a Tip From a Chinese Boy on Writing to Santa." Cleveland Plain Dealer. December 4 - 1941
  • "To Entertain the Emperor." Christian Science Monitor. June 26 - 1944
  • "We All Have Ego Troubles." Your Life. October - 1954
  • "We Want the Living Theatre." Curtain Rises. October - 1939
  • "Why We Like to Be Actors." The New Current Digest. December - 1936
  • "Stalin and the Tiflis Story." Correspondence.
  • "The Subtle Stupidity of Li Tsang." This Week. November 20, pp. 19 -- 20. - 1938
  • "Swan's Feathers: A Novelette." Carbon copy of typescript manuscript.
  • "Theatre Handbook." Bernard Sobel, Ed. New York: Crown Publishers. Correspondence. - 1940
  • "There's Always Tomorrow." Pageant.
  • "They Build Their Own." The Humanities Review. May - 1947
  • "The Third Act First." The Writer. Vol. 60:n0.2 (February), pp. 38 -- 41. - 1947
  • "The Third Mr. Hopper." Parisienne. December, pp. 89 -- 98. - 1920
  • "To EAAHNIKON OEATPON." Little Theatre's Own Curtain Call. Vol. 1:no.1 (June), pp. 20 -- 23. - 1956
  • "The Underside of Respectability." 10 Story Book. [June], pp. 52 -- 57. - 1919
  • "Under Heaven One Family." Correspondence.
  • "The Unhappy Lady." Shadowland. Vol. VII:no.4 (June), pp. 26, 72. See also box 6 for magazine. - 1923
  • "The Unspoiled Girl." By John Herrick (pseudonym). Parisienne. October , pp. 120 -- 126. - 1920
  • "Unto the Weak." (Fictionalization of a movie.) By John Carey (pseudonym for Carl Glick?) Photoplay Magazine. March, pp. 128 -- 140. Includes the marquee movie poster for the 1913 film. - 1914
  • "Victim Number Seven." London Daily News. November 29 -- 30. - 1947
  • "Wai Ling in the Trees." Northwestern University Alumni News. January - 1939
  • "What They Don't Know." New Parisienne. March 19, pp. 47 -- 57. (See Glick book.) - 1921
  • "What's Your Treatment?" The Writer. Vol. 59:no.8 (August), pp. 251 -- 253. - 1946
  • "Who Sent You?" Coronet. January, pp. 75 -- 78. Also typescript manuscript and carbon copy. - 1945
  • "Whose Fault Is It?" The Rotarian. August - 1949
  • "Why We Like to Be Actors." Delineator. November, pp. 10. 59. See box 6. - 1936
  • "The Woman of Gold." With Edward Condlon. New Parisienne. March, pp. 63 -- 90. (See Glick book.) - 1926
  • "Words, Just Words." Carbon copy of typescript manuscript.
  • "Writing Plays." Chapter in book How to Write for Pleasure and Profit. Warren Bower, Ed. Correspondence.
  • "Year of the Monkey." Collier's Magazine. June 11. Chapter 16 in Shake Hands With the Dragon. See also box 6 for magazine. - 1937
  • "Young Adonis." Breezy Stories. Correspondence.
  • "Your Little Book." (From I'm A Busybody.) Omnibook Magazine. July, pp. 93 -- 95. - 1949
  • Box 8:
  • USIA essays
  • United States Information Agency. Magazine Branch. Correspondence.
  • "The Baby Parade." Carbon copy of typescript manuscript.
  • "The Chinese Society of America." Carbon copy of typescript manuscript.
  • "The Chinese Community." Carbon copy of typescript manuscript.
  • "A Chinese Dinner at Home." Carbon copy of typescript manuscript, mimeograph copy.
  • "Chinese Farmers in the United States." Carbon copy of typescript manuscript.
  • "Chinese Newspapers in the United States." Carbon copy of typescript manuscript.
  • "A Day in the Life if Lily Chu." Carbon copy of typescript manuscript.
  • "Everybody's Friend." Carbon copy of typescript manuscript.
  • "The Great Oriental Library at Princeton University." Carbon copy of typescript manuscript.
  • "Gilbert Chin's Wedding." Carbon copy of typescript manuscript.
  • "He Knew Dr. Sun Yat Sen." Carbon copy of typescript manuscript.
  • "His Own Shop." Carbon copy of typescript manuscript.
  • "Madame Lee Sun -- Fashion Designer." Carbon copy of typescript manuscript, mimeograph copy.
  • "The New England Drama Festival." Carbon copy of typescript manuscript.
  • "A Small Town Newspaper." Carbon copy of typescript manuscript.
  • "Sou Chan's Cookie Jar." Mimeograph copy.
  • "Suy Git, Fashion Illustrator." Carbon copy of typescript manuscript.
  • "Thomas H. Lee." Carbon copy of typescript manuscript, mimeograph copy.
  • "The Tiffin Tea Company." Carbon copy of typescript manuscript. Four Seasons. No.9, p. 15. Mimeograph copy.
  • "Twenty Questions About the Coming Election." Carbon copy of typescript manuscript.
  • 'Two Architects." Carbon copy of typescript manuscript.
  • Book Reviews
  • Miscellaneous book reviews.
  • Coleman, Elizabeth. Chinatown, USA. Philadelphia Enquirer. September 22 - 1946
  • Fairbank, John King. The United States and China. Carbon copy of typescript manuscript.
  • MacDonald, Elizabeth. Undercover Girl. Excerpt from review quoted in advertisement. Herald Tribune, December 2, New York Times, December 1, San Francisco Chronicle, December 7 - 1947
  • Meadowcraft, Enid LaMonte. China's Story. Philadelphia Enquirer,. Carbon copy of typescript manuscript.
  • Peck, Graham. Two Kinds of Time. Philadelphia Enquirer. Carbon copy of typescript manuscript.
  • Sugrue, Thomas. Trio of Successful Revolutionists. New York Times Book Review, March 11 - 1945
  • Yutang, Lin. The Gay Genius. Philadelphia Enquirer. November 30 - 1947
  • "Cap'n Noah's Ark: A Play for Puppets." ccTMS.
  • "The Dragon Zne Zee." First draft. ccTMS.
  • "The Dragon Zne Zee." Prompt copy. ccTMS.
  • "The Dragon Zne Zee." Revised. TMS.
  • "The Dragon Zne Zee." Correspondence.
  • "An Evening at Home." ccTMS.
  • "Everyman." Correspondence.
  • "The Fourth Mrs. Phillips." Parisienne. October - 1918
  • "The Fourth Mrs. Phillips." Correspondence.
  • "The Girl in Question." (Originally "An Old Fashioned Mother.") Comedy in
  • One Reel. Screenplay ccTMS. - 1914
  • "The Immortal." Correspondence. (For text of play, see Poet Lore in box 6.)
  • "It Isn't Done." Correspondence. Copy of the play dedicated "For Bobbie (Margaret Grimditch Ebert). Happy Birthday - 1940. Sincerely, Carl Glick."
  • "Little Girls." (Later "Just Make Believe.") TM.
  • "Make Believe." Correspondence.
  • "An Old Fashioned Mother." Correspondence.
  • "The Police Matron." ccTMS.
  • "The Police Matron." Correspondence.
  • "Prologue." Title changed to "It Isn't Done." Correspondence.
  • "Suncold: A Play in One Act." Poet Lore. Summer, pp. 280 -- 283. - 1925
  • "Suncold." Correspondence.
  • "Ten Days Later." Correspondence.
  • "Two Bad Men." Correspondence. (Also titled Outclassed?)
  • Plays
  • "The Book of Job." ccTM, correspondence, program, photographs.
  • "The Book of Job." TM, photographs, program, music.
  • "Coast to Coast" and "Down South." Correspondence.
  • "The Devil's Host." ccTM.
  • "The Devil's Host." Second draft. TMS
  • "The Devil's Host." Copy with notes for stage production. ccTMS.
  • "The Devil's Host." Prompt copy. ccTMS.
  • "The Devil's Host." Revision. ccTMS.
  • "The Devil's Host." First draft. ccTMS.
  • "The Devil's Host." New York production. Correspondence. - 1931
  • "The Devil's Host." Financial statements, box office receipts.
  • "The Devil's Host." Fan mail, reviews.
  • "The Devil's Host." Book and amateur rights. Correspondence. - 1934-1936, 1947
  • "The Devil's Host." Correspondence with Alice Kauser for English rights.
  • "The Devil's Host." Walker Whiteside. Correspondence.
  • "The Devil's Host." German rights. Correspondence. - 1929-1930
  • Box 9:
  • Plays, continued.
  • "Enemies at Home." ccTM, photographs
  • "Enemies at Home." ccTM, program, photographs from the Melting Pot Theatre production, December - 1932
  • "Enemies at Home." Correspondence.
  • "Every Thursday Evening." (Earlier title: "The Oyster." Correspondence.
  • "Free Women." ccTM. - 1930
  • "Free Women," TM
  • "Free Women." Correspondence.
  • "Hands Up." TM.
  • "The Learned Ladies" by Moliere. Adapted by Carl Glick. TM, ccTM for production as presented by the Players Club of California Western University, San Diego, California, February 28, March 1,2,8,9 - 1957
  • "Mr. Old Nobody." (Earlier title: "Treadway.") Correspondence.
  • "One of the Family." TM.
  • "One of the Family." Correspondence.
  • "The Oyster." Final draft. ccTM.
  • "The Oyster." Second to last draft. ccTM.
  • "Spooks." ccTM.
  • "The Unconquered." ccTM. Federal Portable Theatre production.
  • "The Unconquered." ccTM. Stage version done in New York. Personal copy with stage directions.
  • "The Unconquered." Correspondence.
  • Correspondence with publishers regarding multiple plays.
  • Cornhill Company. Correspondence regarding one act plays.
  • Gorham Press.
  • Miscellaneous correspondence about plays.
  • Possible plays for Shadowland Magazine.
  • Royalties from one act plays.
  • Samuel French.
  • Swartout, Norman Lee. Correspondence regarding one act plays.
  • Radio plays
  • "The Apple of Everlasting Youth." Radio play adapted from Shake Hands with the Dragon. ccTM.
  • "Buried Treasure." Audition script for radio play based on short story of the same name. ccTM.
  • Bound volume of multiple radio plays and other materials
  • The Amateur Script Writer's Hour, WINDEX
  • And How
  • The BlasŽ Mrs. Dade
  • Buried Treasure
  • En Evening at Home
  • The God with the Hollow Head
  • Margot and the Bored Young Man
  • One Day in April
  • Wanted: A Detective
  • Youth Bread
  • Correspondence with Radio Events
  • Correspondence with Florence Osborn.
  • Theatre reviews
  • Community theatres. Columns
  • Daily Hotel Reporter. Reviews of concerts and plays. - 1922-23
  • Miscellaneous plays
  • "Crowns"
  • "The Exciters"
  • "La Tendresse"
  • 'The Love Child"
  • "On the Great White Way." By Peter Holbrook (pseudonym). Theatre reviews for the Parisienne.
  • "Plays of the Month." - 1934 -- 35.
  • Shaw, Irwin. "The Gentle People."
  • Unpublished items
  • "The American Drama." Autograph manuscript. Senior essay, Marshalltown High School - 1909
  • "Bagatelles."
  • Biography of General Li Tsung Jen. Prospectus.
  • "Fundamentals of Drama." Proposed book. Correspondence
  • "Murder Without a Clue"
  • Proposed books: My Song Yankee Doodle and It's Your Birthday.
  • Proposed books. Correspondence.
  • Proposed pamphlet on the Chinese in America.
  • "Seven Basic Plots."
  • Unpublished writings:
  • "The Americanization of P. C. Lee." Prospectus.
  • "The Great Seal of China." Prospectus.
  • Happily Ever After." Typescript manuscript
  • "It's Your Birthday." Prospectus.
  • "Merrily We Roll Along." Typescript manuscript
  • "Mrs. Brown's Magic Garden. A Short Story for Children." Carbon copy of typescript manuscript.
  • Murder Walks Alone. Sample chapter and outline.
  • "My Theme." Mimeograph and carbon copy of typescript manuscript
  • "Nothing is Sacred" or "Is Nothing Sacred?" typescript manuscript
  • Box 10: Scrapbooks
    Glick numbered his scrapbooks himself. Of those he numbered, we have volumes two through seven. The sequence is started, therefore, with a scrapbook, unnumbered by Glick, of his letters home "being something of a diary," according to Glick. The sequence then progresses through the six numbered scrapbooks and continues with numbering assigned by staff at Special Collections, being roughly chronological. The early scrapbooks contain clippings and photographs, mostly having to do with his acting and university careers; the later ones deal mostly with his books and little theatre experiences.
  • "Letters Home. Being Something of a Diary of Carl C. Glick" January 16, April 26 - 1911
  • Book Two - 1909
  • Book Three - 1909-1910
  • Book Four - 1911-1915
  • Book Five. (April) - 1914-1918
  • Book Six. May, September - 1918, 1923
  • Book Seven. September - 1923
  • Book Eight. Clippings of small items and filler.
  • Box 11: Scrapbooks Continued
  • Book Nine - 1920, 1934 -- 1935.
  • Book Ten - 1928 -- 1935
    Devil's Host
  • Book Eleven - 1938 -- 1939
  • Book Twelve - 1937 -- 1941
    The Laughing Buddha, Curtains Going Up, magazine articles, Shake Hand With the Dragon
  • Book Thirteen - 1941 -- 1943
    Shake Hand With the Dragon, Three Times I Bow, Oswald's Pet Dragon
  • Book Fourteen - 1945 -- 1948
  • Book Fifteen - 1947 -- 1949
  • Book Sixteen - 1950
    Incomplete
  • Book Seventeen - 1960
  • Book Eighteen - 1961 -- [1967?]

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Novelists, Story Writers, & Poets