Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Darrell Garwood Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: Undated
Creator: Garwood, Darrell
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0608
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Newspaperman and biographer of Grant Wood. This collection contains printer's typescripts with revisions for two of his works, Artist in Iowa: A Life of Grant Wood and Crossroads of America: The Story of Kansas City. Iowa Author Mss.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Darrell Garwood.

Preferred Citation: Darrell Garwood Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Darrell Garwood was born in Fort Wayne, Indiana, and his family moved to Des Moines, Iowa, when he was a young boy. He received a B.A. at the University of Iowa in 1933, financing his schooling by reporting for newspapers. After graduating from the University of Iowa, Garwood joined the International News Services, becoming manager of the Iowa Bureau in Des Moines. After this he transferred to Chicago and later to Washington, D.C.
 
He is the author of Artist in Iowa: A Life of Grant Wood and Crossroads of America: The Story of Kansas City.

This collection contains the printer's typescripts of two books by Darrell Garwood, Artist in Iowa: A Life of Grant Wood and Crossroads of America, the Story of Kansas City, as well as newspaper clippings.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CLIPPINGS
Series 2: MANUSCRIPTS

  • Series 1: CLIPPINGS
  • Box 1:
  • General
  • Series 2: MANUSCRIPTS
  • Box 1:
  • Artist in Iowa: A Life of Grant Wood
    Printer's typescript with revisions (2 folders)
  • Crossroads of America, the Story of Kansas City
    Printer's typescript with revisions (3 folders)

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Prose Writers