Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Dorothy Garlock Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1980-1989
Creator: Garlock, Dorothy (1942-)
Extent: 3.25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0607
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Romance novelist from Love and Cherish (1980), a career started to avoid the boredom of retirement.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 2

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Dorothly Garlock over the years, beginning in 1982.

Preferred Citation: Dorothy Garlock Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Though a Texas native, Dorothy Garlock now makes her home in Clear Lake, Iowa. At the age of forty-nine, she gave up a career as a journalist to engage in writing full-time. She is known in romance fiction circles as the "undisputed grand mistress of the frontier novel." (Taken from her home page http://www.geocities.com/Athens/Forum/8078/garlock.html, however this page no longer exsists). She has written more than thirty-eight books.

This collection contains unpublished material by Garlock, as well as foreign editions of her works.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BOOKS AND MANUSCRIPTS
Series 2: OTHER ITEMS RELATED TO GARLOCK'S BOOKS

  • Series 1: BOOKS AND MANUSCRIPTS
  • Sub-Series: Almost Eden
  • Box 1:
  • German edition
  • Sub-Series: Ana Come Home
  • Box 1:
  • Typescript
    3 folders
  • Sub-Series: Beneath the Midnight Sun
  • Box 1:
  • Clippings of story published as a part of "Daydreams," a Universal Press syndicated column, undated
  • Sub-Series: Bluemoon Desire
  • Box 1:
  • Italian
  • Sub-Series: Forever, Victoria
  • Box 1:
  • German, Norwegian, and Russian editions
  • American paperback
  • Sub-Series: Gentle Torment
  • Box 1:
  • Italian edition
  • Sub-Series: Glorious Dawn
  • Box 1:
  • Norwegian, Taiwanese editions
  • American paperback
  • Sub-Series: The Hell Raiser
  • Box 1:
  • Italian, Portuguese (Brazil), and Swedish editions
  • Sub-Series: High on a Hill
  • Box 1:
  • Polish edition
  • Sub-Series: Interlude at Big Bend
  • Box 1:
  • Clippings of story published as a part of "Daydreams," a Universal Press syndicated column, undated
  • Sub-Series: Larkspur
  • Box 1:
  • German edition
  • American paperback
  • Sub-Series: Listening Sky
  • Box 1:
  • Chinese and Italian editions
  • Sub-Series: Love and Cherish
  • Box 1:
  • Italian edition
  • Sub-Series: Marriage to a Stranger by Dorothy Phillips (pseudonym of Dorothy Garlock)
  • Box 1:
  • Manuscript of Dutch translation - 1982
  • Dutch edition
  • Sub-Series: Midnight Blue
  • Box 1:
  • Typescript with revisions and printer's marks
    2 folders
  • Box 2:
  • Typescript with revisions and printer's marks
    2 folders
  • Sub-Series: Nightrose
  • Box 2:
  • Typescript with corrections and revisions
    3 folders
  • Sub-Series: Passion's Song
  • Box 2:
  • Dutch and Swedish editions
  • Sub-Series: The Planting Season
  • Box 2:
  • Danish, serialized; Finnish, Norwegian
  • Sub-Series: Ribbon in the Sky
  • Box 2:
  • Norwegian
  • American paperback
  • Sub-Series: River of Tomorrow
  • Box 2:
  • Norwegian
  • Sub-Series: The Searching Hearts
  • Box 2:
  • Dutch edition
  • Sub-Series: She Wanted Red Velvet
  • Box 2:
  • Dutch
  • Sub-Series: Sing Softly to Me
  • Box 2:
  • German
  • Italian
  • Sub-Series: Sins of Summer
  • Box 2:
  • Spanish edition
  • Sub-Series: Strange Possession
  • Box 2:
  • Italian edition
  • Sub-Series: Tenderness
  • Box 2:
  • Chinese, Norwegian, and Spanish editions
  • Sub-Series: This Loving Land
  • Box 2:
  • Russian edition, paperback and hardback
  • Sub-Series: Wind of Promise
  • Box 2:
  • Russian
  • Sub-Series: With Heart
  • Box 2:
  • Polish edition
  • Sub-Series: With Hope
  • Box 2:
  • Polish edition, paperback and hardback
  • Sub-Series: Yesteryear
  • Box 3:
  • German and Italian editions
  • Series 2: OTHER ITEMS RELATED TO GARLOCK'S BOOKS
  • Box 3:
  • Book Reviews of Garlock's novels - 1983-1989
  • Clippings - 1980-1989
  • Correspondence - 1986-1989
  • Photographs
  • Programs - 1986
  • Publicity Posters for novels

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Novelists, Story Writers, & Poets