Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Don Farran Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1930-1978
Creator: Farran, Don
Extent: 15.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0600
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Writer, State Director Historical Records Survey. Collection includes drafts of poems and stories but consists largely of scripts for Navy and Coast Guard training films dating from the mid-1930s to the mid-1950s.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Boxes 8, 9; Slides in Box 8; Audio recording in Box 8.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The author left his book and manuscript collection to the University of Iowa upon his death in September 1986.

Preferred Citation: Don Farran Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The following index contains eight series. Included in these series are screenplays for instructional films for the Coast Guard and Navy, correspondence, poems and books written by Farran, TV and movie work completed by Farran, WPA work done by Farran, with a personal series which includes information about Farran as well as photographs.
See the Carroll Coleman Papers for correspondence with Farran

Browse by Series:
Series 1: COAST GUARD
Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 3: MOVIES/RADIO/TV/PLAYS
Series 4: NAVY
Series 5: PERSONAL
Series 6: POETRY
Series 7: SHORT STORIES AND BOOKS
Series 8: WPA AND THE FEDERAL THEATRE PROJECT

  • Series 1: COAST GUARD
  • Sub-Series: Instructional Films
  • Box 1:
  • "Aids to Navigation-Coast Guard"
  • "Boating Safety: Legal Requirements and Safety Equipment"
  • "Catalog of U.S. Coast Guard Films"
  • "Circumnavigation"
  • "Coast Guard Academy"
  • "Coast Guard Auxiliary"
  • "Coast Guard Cutter 'Abseca'"
  • "Coast Guard Cutter 'Azalea'"
  • "Coast Guard Cutter 'Courier'"
  • "Coast Guard Cutters Around the Continent"
    2 folders
  • "Coast Guard in Alaska"
  • "Coast Guard Lighthouses"
  • "Coast Guard Offshore Light Station"
  • "Conservation Planning for National Security"
    4 folders
  • "Firefighting Aboard Tankers"
  • Box 2:
  • "Ocean Station Vessel Crew Training in Search and Rescue"
    2 folders
  • "Operation of Ocean Station Vessels During Search and Rescue (Ditching)"
    2 folders
  • "Port Security-Explosives Loading"
  • "Roles and Missions: Cooperation with Other Agencies"
  • "Rules of the Road for Boatmen"
  • "Search and Rescue-Pleasure Craft"
  • "75-Foot Pusher Barge and Navigation System"
  • "Standardization of Crew Training in Lesser Craft for Search and Rescue"
    2 folders
  • "Story of the Great Rivers"
  • "United States Coast Guard"
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous
  • Box 2:
  • Administrative
    4 folders
  • Civilian Personnel
  • Compensation
  • Health
  • Personnel
  • Box 3:
  • Ratings and Awards
  • Travel Compensation
  • Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 3:
  • Albert, Eddie
  • Arnold, Edward
  • Blanding, Don
  • Block, Herb
  • Blotner, Fritz
  • Bodin, Ed
  • Bradley, Van Allen
  • Broidy, Steve
  • Bryan, Dorothy
  • Cameron, Betty
  • Chaddick, Henry
  • Child, Sargent
  • Coloring Books
  • CSS Publications
  • Cuyler, J.P.
  • Darling, Joe
  • Detroit Federal Theatre
  • Dodd, Mead, & Co.
  • Drake University
  • Dugan, Jimmy
  • Edwards Ralph
  • Evans, Ken
  • Evans, Luther
  • Evans, Maurice
  • Family
  • Farrar, John
  • Ford, Anson
  • Fowler, Robert
  • Gebhard, Charlie
  • Gill, Glenda
  • Gray, Eddie
  • Gurstein, Jacob
  • Hunter Enterprises
  • Kay, Ernest
  • Kidder-Smith, G.E.
  • Krock & Brentano
  • Ladies Home Journal
  • Lamont-Clemens Inc.
  • Macmillan Publishers
  • McCown, Robert
  • McGee, John
  • McGuire, Marian "Mac"
  • McLaughlin, Lilian
  • Meyer, Edith
  • MGM
  • Mirisch, Walter
  • Moe, Henry Allan
  • Murphy, Pat
  • Murray, Jesse George
  • Navy
  • Nyuttens, Pierre
    2 folders
  • Orner, Faustina
  • Paluka, Frank
  • Roland Reed Productions
  • Royal Typewriter Company Inc.
  • Sardy/Sunny
  • Saturday Evening Post
  • Schlosser, Winifred
  • Seibert, Edgar
  • Shelton, William
  • Simson, Alec Buckingham
  • Smith, Kallie
  • Smith, Muriel
  • Theatre Guild
  • Tudie/Tom
  • Van Wormer, Grace
  • Vaughn, Harry
  • Wagner, Fernando
  • Wanger, Walter
  • Wheelock, John
  • Whit
  • Writers' Guild of America
  • Young, Harold
  • Young, Mike
  • Zara, Louis
  • Series 3: MOVIES/RADIO/TV/PLAYS
  • Sub-Series: Movies
  • Box 3:
  • "American Heritage Series"
  • "Build Me a Road"
  • "Founding Fathers"
  • "Freedom Fair"
  • Motion Picture Program for LOOK Magazine
  • "Plan for Improving Management-Employee Relationship Through Production of Motion Pictures"
  • "Ribbon to the Sun"
  • "Sesquicentennial"
  • Box 4:
  • Simon Bolivar
    5 folders
  • "They Went Away"
  • Sub-Series: Radio
  • Box 4:
  • "Headquarters Calling"
  • "Stormy Seas"
  • Sub-Series: TV
  • Box 4:
  • "The Power and The Glory"
    Additional materials located in Oversized Box 1
  • Sub-Series: Plays
  • Box 4:
  • "Dirt"
  • "No Angels Singing"
  • "Pan America"
  • "Protective Custody"
  • "Snows of Yester-Year"
  • "South-South-East"
  • Series 4: NAVY
  • Sub-Series: Instructional Films
  • Box 4:
  • "Amphibious Marines"
  • "Command of the Seas-Arctic"
  • "Command of the Seas-Pacific"
  • "Command of the Seas-Atlantic"
  • "Command of the Seas-United States"
  • "Command of the Seas"
    2 folders
  • "David Taylor Model Basin"
  • "Engineering Design and Construction of Navy Shore Establishments"
  • Box 5:
  • "Food Sanitation-Food Poisoning on Shipboard"
  • "Hydrographic Surveying Operation of the Navy Part I: Establishing Primary Control"
  • "Hydrographic Surveying Operation of the Navy Part II: Secondary Control and Hydrographic Development"
  • "Interviewing-Principles and Techniques"
  • "Introduction to the Preparation of Navy Correspondence"
  • "The Marine Rifle Platoon"
  • "Navy Port Terminal Management and Operation"
  • "Navy Relief"
  • "Pictorial History of U.S.M.C."
  • "Rehabilitation-The Patient"
  • "Sea Power for Freedom"
    2 folders
  • "Sea Power in the Atlantic"
  • "Seven Seas"
  • "Seventh Fleet"
    6 folders
  • Box 6:
  • "Seventh Fleet"
    1 folder
  • "Sixth Fleet"
  • "Small Boat Disaster Prevention"
  • "Standardization"
    3 folders
  • "Standardization-Engineering Planning"
    3 folders
  • "Waves at Work"
  • "Utilities Conservation-Steam Generation"
    3 folders
  • Sub-Series: "Your Job in the Navy" instructional film
  • Box 6:
  • "The Way Selection Works"
  • "Aviation Ratings"
  • "Communication and Detection Ratings"
  • "Construction and Mechanical Ratings"
  • "Deck Ratings"
  • "Engine Room Ratings"
  • "Unclassified Ratings"
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous
  • Box 7:
  • Accession List
  • Administrative
    6 folders
  • Appointment
  • Civilian Personnel
  • Contracts
    2 folders
  • Correspondence Courses
    6 folders
  • Naval Instructional Film Handbook
  • Photo Center
  • Proposals
  • Script Evaluation
  • Series 5: PERSONAL
  • Sub-Series: Articles
  • Box 7:
  • "A Conversation with a Poet," by Don Farran - 1981
  • "Don Farran: An Impression of Iowa's Romany Poet," by Elmer Sandfrid Osberg - 1927
  • "The Rise and Fall of Horse Grove," by R.E. Lee Aldrich - 1958
    Contains notation concerning Farran's birthplace
  • "Standing on the Corner," by Ken E. Berg - 1965
  • "What Has Happened to Them" - 1971
  • "Who's Who In America" - 1978-1979
  • Sub-Series: General
  • Box 8:
  • Biographical Sketch
  • Cabin of John Rowen-Slides
  • International Instructional Film Offers
  • Interview-Federal Theatre Project
    includes audio recording
  • Journals
  • Newspaper Clippings
    12 folders
  • Box 9:
  • Newspaper Clippings
    2 folders
  • Photographs
  • Readings: Books-Including works by F. Scott Fitzgerald and Air Sea Safety Books
  • Readings: Magazines
    5 folders
  • Readings: Pamphlets
  • Box 10:
  • Red point tokens
  • Resume
  • Retirement
  • Writers' Guild of America
    2 folders
  • Miscellaneous: Signed Book "Herblock on All Fronts" by Herbert Block - 1980
  • Miscellaneous: Diamond Ring Translator
  • Series 6: POETRY
  • Box 10:
  • "A Scarlet Saddle for Pegasus"
  • "Ballad of the Silver Ring"
    2 folders
  • "Between the Rivers"
  • "Brasilian Afternoon"
  • "Cabot"
  • "Collected Poems of Don Farran"
    5 folders
  • "From Among the Published Poems of Don Farran"
  • "Overmantle"
  • "Prairie Saga"
  • "Three Baby Cyclones"
    2 folders
  • "Iowa Poets"
  • Series 7: SHORT STORIES AND BOOKS
  • Sub-Series: Short stories
  • Box 10:
  • "Always and Always"
  • "Another Sunday Afternoon"
  • "Bahia to Pernambuco"
  • "Bomb-Sight"
  • "The Catalytic Agent"
  • "Cicade Mulher"
  • "Gaucho Grande"
  • "Grandma Goes to Paris"
  • "Hollywood Sailor"
  • "If You Knew Didi"
  • "Incident in Foggy Bottom"
  • "The Last Novel"
  • "The Last Rebel"
  • "Little Nell"
  • "Meet Me at the Mayflower"
  • "Million-Dollar Patients"
  • "No Heroes"
  • "Passage to Para"
  • "Prairie Saga"
  • "Talking Pictures"
  • "Tico-Tico"
  • "Turismo Do Rio"
  • "When the Mutum Calls"
  • "Whistle Stop"
  • "The World Belongs to Doctors"
  • Sub-Series: Books
  • Box 10:
  • "Curtain Rising"
  • "Fragments of Splendor"
  • Box 11:
  • "Nazareth"
    3 folders
  • "Nic Jenson"
  • "Richard Bennett Memoirs"
    4 folders
  • "Snarl Street"
  • "Those Were the Days"
  • "Wings for Words"
    2 folders
  • Series 8: WPA AND THE FEDERAL THEATRE PROJECT
  • Sub-Series: Federal Theatre Project
  • Box 11:
  • "Chicago Headlines on Parade"
  • "The Emperor's New Clothes"
  • Federal One
  • General Information
  • Interview
  • "The Nineteen-Thirties"
  • Sub-Series: Works Project Administration
  • Box 11:
  • "American Imprints Inventory"
    3 folders
  • Box 12:
  • Bicentennial - 1976
    2 folders
  • Depository
  • General Information-WPA
  • Historical Records Survey
    2 folders
  • Joint Committee on Materials for Research of the Social Science Research Council and the American Council of Learned Societies
  • "What is Past is Prologue"