Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Jeanette Eyerly papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1925-1994
Creator: Eyerly, Jeanette (1908-2008)
Extent: 12.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0599
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Author of books for young adults from More Than a Summer Love, (1962), with a special concern for mental health. Correspondence, notes, various drafts, promotional material, etc., of her many books for adolescents.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Boxes 3, 5, and 7.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was given to the University of Iowa by Jeannette Eyerly over the years 1970 to 1993.

Preferred Citation: Jeanette Eyerly Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Jeannette Hyde Eyerly was born in Topeka, Kansas in 1908. Her family moved to Des Moines, Iowa when she was still a youngster. There she attended Drake University, although she transferred to the University of Iowa in her senior year and graduated in 1930. In 1932, she married Frank Eyerly, a newspaperman for the Des Moines Register and Tribune. Although she had her first publication at the age of eight, her first novel was not published until 1962. She had, however, published short stories and articles for many years, writing under her own name and a number of pseudonyms. Her first novel, More Than a Summer Love, was written after her daughters had made some rather uncomplimentary remarks about contemporary books aimed at teenagers. Thus began Jeannette Eyerly's career writing for young adults. In her nearly twenty novels, she dealt with such serious topics as drug abuse, juvenile delinquency, and abortion. Her books have been translated into many languages. Ms. Eyerly died on August 18, 2008, at the age of 100.

The papers of Jeannette Eyerly consist of six boxes (approximately 12.5 linear feet) of manuscript material dating from 1925 to 1994. Given to the University of Iowa by Jeannette Eyerly over a period of years (1970-1993), each subsequent year's addition has been appended to the earlier gifts. The collection of papers is made up of research, correspondence, notes, early drafts, page proofs, galleys, publicity, and reviews for many of her novels. Included are Drop-Out, Gretchen's Hill, More Than a Summer Love, See Dave Run, The Seeing Summer, and The Leonardo Touch. There is also biographical material, correspondence from school children, and other writings by Eyerly. Correspondence from other writers include letters from: Paul Corey, John T. Frederick, Lee Hadley, Annabelle Irwin, MacKinlay Kantor, Julie Jensen McDonald, Mary Kay Phelan, and others.
The manuscript for Disaster Dog is held by the Kerlan Collection at the University of Minnesota.
Frank Eyerly's papers are at Iowa State University http://www.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/index.html
See also Eyerly's talk, The Lay of a Lay Librarian, from Books at Iowa.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.