Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Mary Ellen Evans

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1929-1975
Creator: Evans, Mary Ellen (1912-2000)
Extent: 4.75 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0598
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Personal and business correspondence of this Dominican tertiary and editor, this collection also includes manuscripts for two of Evans' published works, as well as some unpublished manuscripts. Iowa Author.

Alternate Extent Statement: Jacket copies by Evans in Map Case 12, drawer 2.

Access: Open for research with the exception of Boxes 9 and 10 (under review). Copyright belongs to the estate of Mary Ellen Evans until December 31, 2011, at which time it passes to the University of Iowa.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Mary Ellen Evans starting in 1973.

Preferred Citation: Mary Ellen Evans Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Mary Ellen Evans was born in 1912 in Dubuque. She attended the State University of Iowa, Columbia University, and the Catholic University of America. A Dominican tertiary, she worked as an editor and author at such publishers as P. J. Kennedy and Oxford University Press. She was an author in her own right, and this collection contains manuscripts of her published works as well as some works which have not found a publisher. She was also a member of the Catholic International Council and of the North American Liturgical Conference. She lived for many years in New York before moving back to Dubuque. She died there in 2000.

The Mary Ellen Evans Papers have been divided into four categories: personal correspondence, biographical material, editorial work (including business correspondence), and authorial material.

The personal correspondence is arranged in alphabetical order by correspondent. A large section of correspondence from friends and teachers at Clarke College has been left intact, as Ms. Evans' arrangement, which proceeds at times by the logic of association, and seems here appropriate.

The biographical material is arranged roughly chronologically.

Associated with this collection is a fairly large (approximately four feet) addendum concerning Eric Gill, which is currently unprocessed.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Prose Writers
Prose Writers