Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the David Drake Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1979-2006
Creator: Drake, David (1945-)
Extent: 8.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0592
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Science fiction author. This collections contains many drafts of Drake's novels, essays, and short stories. Iowa Author Mss.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The core of this collection was given to the University of Iowa Libraries in May 2002 by Sandra Miesel. It is added to continuously by Drake.

Preferred Citation: Papers of David Drake, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

David Drake was born September 24, 1945 in Dubuque, Iowa. When he was ten, his family relocated to Clinton, Iowa. He graduated from the University of Iowa in 1967 with a BA in History (with honors) and Latin. While attending Duke Law School, he was drafted in 1969. He served in Viet Nam, part of the time as an interrogator, having learned Vietnamese. Upon returning from Viet Nam, he finished law school and went to work for the city of Chapel Hill as Assistant Town Attorney.
 
He had sold his first story while an undergraduate at the University of Iowa and continued to write during subsequent years. In 1980, he resigned his position as Assistant Town Attorney and drove bus while writing. In 1981 he quit driving bus to become a full time writer. While all his books are in the science fiction genre, he exercises quite a bit of latitude within this genre, writing military science fiction, fantasy, thriller, humor, sword and sorcery, epic and historical fiction. He lives in Chapel Hill with his wife, Jo.

This collection consists of original, computer-generated typescript manuscripts created by David Drake, with handwritten corrections and comments by the author. There are manuscripts of short stories, novels, introductions, and essays as well as notes on characters and books, and plot outlines (some for books which he did not write). Paperback and foreign language editions of Drake's books are kept in the manuscript collection as well, as are publicity materials, such as postcards, and book covers and dust jackets.
http://cts.vresp.com/c/?daviddrake.com/dfcab271f6/2146ebff38/66455a70d4

http://david-drake.com/

Archives for Drake's on-line newsletter can be found at http://david-drake.com/news.html

Baen Publications offers free downloads of some of their titles. David Drake is one of their authors.

http://www.webscriptions.net/

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.