Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Osha Gray Davidson Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1987 -
Creator: Davidson, Osha Gray
Extent: 1.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0588
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Free-lance journalist and author of Broken Heartland and Under Fire. Correspondence, research notes, and preliminary drafts of his writings.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in box 2

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Mr. Davidson in 1995. He continues to add to the collection.

Preferred Citation: Papers of Osha Gray Davidson, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Osha Gray Davidson was born and educated in Iowa. He graduated from the University of Iowa in 1982 with a B.A. in English. He is married and has two daughters. A free-lance writer, Davidson's work has appeared in The Nation, The Progressive, the St. Louis Post - Dispatch, and others.

The papers of Osha Gray Davidson consist of 1.5 linear feet of manuscripts dating from 1987 to 1994. They deal primarily with the writing of his two books, Broken Heartland and Under Fire, and related articles. Included are research notes, correspondence, early drafts, printer's typescripts, and reviews.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Topics:
Authors, American
Gun control
Rural poor

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Journalists and Journalism