Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Paul Corey Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1920 - 1992
Creator: Corey, Paul (1903-1992)
Extent: 26.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0585
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Writer Three Miles Square (1939), environmentalist, and animal activist. Correspondence, subject files, scrapbooks, and preliminary drafts of writings.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs Boxes 11 and b, 13-20, Yosemite; 22, 23, 30, 46,54

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Paul Corey Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Paul Corey was born in the family farmhouse near Marne in Shelby County, Iowa, on July 8, 1903. He was the youngest of seven children. His father died before he was two, but his mother, with the help of her older sons, continued to operate the one hundred-sixty acre farm. When he was fourteen, he moved to Atlantic, Iowa, with his mother and one brother. He graduated from high school there in 1921. Corey attended the University of Iowa, receiving his B.A. in journalism in 1925.
 
Corey's first job, after graduating, was as a reporter for a trade paper in Chicago. After only a few months there, he moved to New York City where he had a variety of jobs, including work for the Encyclopedia Brittanica and the Real Estate Record and Builder's Guide. While in New York City, Corey married the poet, Ruth Lechlitner. They spent a year in Europe (1928-1929) before moving back to Cold Spring-on-Hudson, New York. There Corey pursued his writing career, while he built their house, and raised chickens for profit. His farm trilogy: Three Miles Square (1939), The Road Returns (1940), and County Seat (1941) was written and published while building that house. The Corey's only child, Anne, was also born in Cold Spring, New York.
 
In 1947, they moved to Sonoma, California. Here Corey built another house, while continuing his writing. He published a number of how-to books and articles for amateur home builders. He also taught a home building class at Napa College.
 
Paul Corey was a serious environmentalist, animal activist, and political liberal. His most consuming interest was the preservation of the mountain lion in northern California. He was also active in local efforts to spay and neuter domestic pets. A cat lover, Corey published numerous articles, stories, and books regarding feline behavior. He advocated the non-intrusive observation of animals rather than controlled scientific or laboratory testing (which he deplored). His politics remained liberal throughout his life. His was a familiar name on petitions and letters to the editor in Sonoma, protesting local politics and national policies.
 
Active into his last year, Paul Corey died of a cerebral hemorrhage on December 17, 1992, at the age of 89.

Paul Corey began donating his papers to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1940, when he deposited the manuscript of his first novel, Three Miles Square. It was one of the first Iowa Author manuscripts received by the libraries and the director's letter of acknowledgment to Corey stated "we hope it will form the nucleus of a collection of manuscripts." Corey continued to deposit his papers (and those of his wife, poet Ruth Lechlitner) with the libraries throughout his lifetime. His daughter, Anne, made the final gift in 1993, less than one year after his death.

The papers of Paul Corey consist of twenty-six linear feet of records dating from 1920 to 1992. They document not only his literary accomplishments, but his personal, political, and environmental interests. The papers are organized into four series: Correspondence, Subject Files, Manuscripts, and Scrapbooks. The Correspondence Series dates from 1920 to 1992 and is arranged chronologically. It includes letters from: Clarence A. Andrews, Buel Griffith Beems, Jack Conroy, Phyllis Crawford, August Derleth, John T. Frederick, Philip Gerber, Granville Hicks, Darrell Huff, Ruth Lechlitner, Frank Luther Mott, and Jerre Mangione.

The Subject Files Series is arranged alphabetically. Here can be found biographical material about Corey; information about his European trip taken in 1928 -- 1929; financial records; classroom material relating to his home-building course taught at Napa College; research about mountain lions, etc.

The third series is made up of Manuscripts. These are arranged alphabetically within three subseries: A. Articles and book reviews; B. Short stories, plays, movies, and novellas; and C. Books and novels. This series documents Corey's literary career with typescript drafts, research, correspondence, galley proofs, reviews, etc., from his published and unpublished works.

The last series contains two Scrapbooks kept by Corey.
Although his correspondence with the University of Iowa is well documented in the papers, the many Corey and Corey-related articles published in the library's own publication, Books at Iowa, are not included. However, ever since depositing Three Miles Square in the Special Collections Department in 1940, Paul Corey and his works have been of continuing interest as noted by these articles:

1) "Paul Corey's Mantz Triology" by Robert A. McCown. No. 17, November 1972.

2) "Lurching Toward Liberalism: Political and Literary Reminiscences" by Paul Corey. No. 49, November 1988.

3) "'I Could Write a Book': Paul and Elizabeth Corey" by Philip Gerber. No. 52, April 1990.

4) "To Know Paul Corey: An Introduction" by Philip Gerber. No. 61, November, 1994.

5) "Becoming an Author ... 1930's Style" By Philip Gerber. No. 61, November, 1994.

6) "Iowa Farming During 1910-1930 as Seen Through Paul Corey's 'Mantz Triology'" by David E. Schob. No. 61, November, 1994.

7) "Rembering Paul Corey" by Jerre Mangione. No. 61, November, 1994.

8) "My Uncle Paul" by Margaret H. Nelson. No. 61, November 1994.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: SUBJECT FILES
Series 3: MANUSCRIPTS
Series 4: SCRAPBOOKS
Series 5: 2003 ADDENDUM
Series 6: JANUARY 2004 ADDENDUM
Series 7: INDEX TO PAUL COREY CORRESPONDENCE

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Including letters from: John T. Frederick, Buel Griffith Beems, William Rose Benét, John C. Powys, and Frank Luther Mott. - 1920-1932
  •  Including letters from Granville Hicks and Jack Conroy. - 1933
  • Including letters from: Edward J. O’Brien, Jerre Mangione, Buel Griffith Beems, Granville Hicks, Weldon Kees, and John L. Lewis. - 1934-1937
  •  Including letters from: Whit Burnett, Granville Hicks, Jerre Mangione, and Buel Griffith Beems. - 1938-1939
  • Including letters from: Buel Griffith Beems, August Derleth, Ruth Lechlitner, Jerre Mangione, and Grant Wood. - 1940-1945
  • Including letters from: Buel Griffith Beems, Darrell Huff, and Elizabeth Clarkson Zwart. - 1946
  • Including letters from Virgil M. Hancher and Darrell Huff. - 1947-1949
  • Including letters from: Ruth Lechlitner, Jerre Mangione, and Buel Griffith Beems. - 1950-1955
  • Box 2:
  • Including a letter from Hubert H. Humphrey. - 1956-1959
  • Including a letter from Hubert H. Humphrey. - 1960 -- 1962
  • Including letters from: Ruth Lechlitner, Jerre Mangione, and Nelson Rockefeller. - 1963 -- 1964
  • Including letters from Ruth Lechlitner and Robert F. Kennedy. - 1965 -- 1967
  • Including letters from Ruth Lechlitner. - 1968 -- 1970
  • Including a letter from Merle Miller. - 1971 -- 1972
  • Box 3:
  • Including letters from Jerre Mangione and Jack Conroy. - 1973
  • 1974
  • Including letters from Buel Griffith Beems and Ruth Lechlitner. - 1975
  • 1976
  • 1977
  • 1978
  •  Including letters from Leo A. Hoegh. - 1979
  • Box 4:
  • Including a letter from Iduna Field. - 1980
  • January -- June - 1981
  • July -- December. Including a letter from Jerre Mangione. - 1981
  • January -- June including a letter from Jerre Mangione - 1982
  • July -- December - 1982
  • January -- June - 1983
  • Box 5:
  • July -- December - 1983
  • January -- June - 1984
  • July -- December  - 1984
  • January -- June - 1985
  • July -- December  - 1985
  • January -- June - 1986
  • Box 6:
  • July -- December - 1986
  • January -- May - 1987
  • June -- December - 1987
  • January -- June - 1988
  • July -- December  - 1988
  • January -- June - 1989
  • Box 7:
  • July -- December - 1989
  • Including a letter from Jerre Mangione. - 1990
  • January -- July Including letters from: Jerre Mangione, Philip Gerber, and Jeannette Eyerly. - 1991
  • August -- December. Including letters from Philip Gerber. - 1991
  • January -- September. Including letters from Philip Gerber and Darrell Huff. - 1982
  • October -- December. Including letters from Darrell Huff. - 1992
  • Box 8:
  • Including letters from Ruth Lechlitner. - Undated
  • Bird, Charles Sumner - 1942 -- 1943.
  • Corey, Ann and George Matthews - 1965 -- 1984, Undated.
  • Huff, Darrell - 1957 -- 1980.
  • Keith, Shirley - 1976 -- 1988
    4 folders
  • Box 9:
  • Rust, Lyn - 1979-1984
  • Ryan, Elizabeth - 1976-1979
    2 folders
  • Series 2: SUBJECT FILES
  • Box 9:
  • Biographical material.
  • California Mountain Lion Study, Research and final version. (4 folders) See also: Mountain lions. - 1970-1977
  • Cavedale Craftsmen - 1950 -- 1955
  • Box 10:
  • Clippings - 1933-1992
  • Commencement program -- State University of Iowa. Alumni honors. - 1947
  • European trip. Including correspondence, identity card, cruise list and menus, photographs, etc. - 1928-1929
  • Exotic Breeding Compound, Inc. - 1984-1991
  • Financial Ledger - 1953 -- 1961.
  • Financial Records -  1953 -- 1986.
  • “How to Build Your Home” Class taught by Corey at Napa Community College
  • Correspondence, receipts, etc. - 1974 -- 1976
  • “A-Frame” Copied pages from books, and pamphlet.
  • “Adobe” Copied pages from books, and pamphlet.
  • “Log Cabin” Copied diagrams from books and clippings.
  • Schedule. Including course outline, notes, photographs, etc.
  • Class #4. Pamphlets, articles, photographs, etc.
  • Box 11:
  • “How to Build Your Home” (cont.)
  • Class #7. Copied pages from books.
  • Class #8. Copied pages from books.
  • Class #10. Copied pages from books and building instructions from the Building Department, County of Sonoma.
  • Class #12. Copied pages from books, notes, blueprints, etc.
  • Class #14. Copied diagrams from books.
  • Class #16. Copied pages from books.
  • Class #18. Photographs, copied pages from books, and pamphlet.
  • Last Chance for Freedom by C. Michael Anderson and Peter L. Hochstein; read by Paul Corey. Typescript draft.
    2 folders
  • Military Service, Correspondence, certificates, and forms. Including letters from Eric Sevareid and Clyde L. Herring. - 1925, 1937 -- 1945.
  • Mountain Lions: See also California mountain lion study.
  • Clippings, research, newsletters, etc. - 1973 -- 1992, undated.
  • Correspondence - 1973 -- 1975
  • Box 12:
  • Mountain Lions (cont): See also California mountain lion study.
  • Correspondence - 1976 -- 1988
    4 folders
  • “Of Cats and Birds” by Shirley Keith; read by Paul Corey. Two drafts of a short story.
  • Pet Population Control Fund - 1985 -- 1992
  • Pets Lifeline.
  • Real Estate. Correspondence and contract relating to Cold Spring-on-Hudson property. - 1929 -- 1932
  • Research notes about animals.
  • Research notes on various subjects.
  • Sex Information and Education Council of the US (SIECUS). Correspondence and diary entries. - 1975 -- 1977
  • Travel documents. Including tickets, itineraries, receipts, etc. - 1968 -- 1971
  • University of Iowa Libraries. Correspondence. - 1945 -- 1990
  • Wixson, Douglas. Articles about Jack Conroy. - 1984 and 1990
  • Series 3: MANUSCRIPTS
  • Sub-Series: Articles and Book Reviews
  • Box 13:
  • “Adjustable-height barbeque grill” Workbench, July-August 1960. Typescript draft, notes, correspondence, photographs, etc.
  • “The American people can fight” Typescript outline.
  • “Axe rack” Country Gentleman, September. Typescript drafts, notes, correspondence, photographs, etc. - 1950
  • “Barbeque fireplace” Popular Science, April. Typescript draft, correspondence, receipts, etc. - 1953
  • “Barbeque table” Canadian Homes, July. Typescript draft, correspondence, etc. - 1962
  • “Barbeque table” Canadian Homes, July. Typescript draft, correspondence, etc. - 1962
  • “Benji the cat who liked happenings” Typescript draft, correspondence, and photographs.
  • “Board-and-batten walls with plywood” Typescript draft, correspondence, and photographs.
  • “A born gentleman” Cats, February. Typescript drafts, correspondence, etc. - 1975
  • “Build a chair that fits you” Popular Science, March. Typescript drafts, correspondence, photograph, etc. - 1960
  • “Build a laundry corner” Typescript draft with correspondence.
  • “Build a Tea V Cart” Science and Mechanics, April. Typescript draft, correspondence, photographs, etc. - 1964
  • “Build a 2-position table” Typescript draft, correspondence, notes, etc.
  • “Build a vanity corner” Workbench, July-August. Typescript draft, correspondence, etc. - 1958
  • Build It. Articles including “Modern chair,” “That second bathroom,” and “Fold-away workshop.” Clippings.
  • “Build yourself a state hi-ball table” Popular Science, December. Typescript draft, etc. - 1953
  • “California mountain lion” Typescript draft, correspondence, photographs, etc.
  • “Camp without clamps” Canadian Homes. Correspondence, photographs, etc. - 1961
  • “Canvas panels for indoors or out” Popular Science, October. Typescript drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc. - 1960
  • “The case for a home guard” Typescript draft.
  • “Cat liars, jokers, and grudge holders” Cats, July. Typescript drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc. Became chapter 12 of Do Cats Think? - 1974
  • “A cat named Orange” Typescript draft.
  • “Cat-watching pictures” Correspondence, photographs, etc.
  • “Cat watching in the cybernetic age” Cats, July - 1971
  • Cats and snakes” Typescript draft with correspondence.
  • Box 14:
  • Cats birds and ecology” Typescript draft with correspondence.
  • Cats with latchkeys” Typescript draft with correspondence.
  • “Ceramic tile” Popular Science, July. Typescript drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc. - 1954
  • “Ceramic tile” Popular Science. Typescript drafts, notes, photographs, etc. - Undated
  • “Collaring the California cougar” Typescript draft, correspondence, photographs, etc.
  • “Demountable typewriter desk” Typescript drafts, correspondence, notes, etc.
  • “Difuse-a-light”[sic] Typescript draft, correspondence, etc.
  • “Don’t let flagstones scare you” Typescript draft, correspondence, and photograph.
  • “A door you can assemble” Typescript draft and correspondence.
  • “Double-duty door” Typescript draft, correspondence, photographs, etc.
  • “Drawing tools for your shop” Typescript drafts, correspondence, etc.
  • “Dress up you home with a new door” typescript draft, correspondence, photographs, etc.
  • “The Easter rabbit” Cats, April. Typescript drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc. (Became Chapter 8 of Do Cats Think?) - 1974
  • “Expand your porch or deck” Workbench, May -- June. Typescript draft, correspondence, photographs, etc. - 1962
  • “Farewell to a friend” Cats, March - 1976
  • “Fence-post shelves” Workbench, March -- April. Typescript draft, correspondence, photographs, etc. - 1963
  • “Fireplace log carrier” Typescript draft, correspondence, photographs, etc.
  • “Five steps to a good glue job” Typescript draft and photographs.
  • “A fold-away workshop” Typescript draft, correspondence, photographs, etc.
  • “Framing a picture the easy way” Typescript drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc.
  • Box 15:
  • “Furniture grows with kids” Science and Mechanics Typescript drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc. - Undated
  • “Get more light, more shelf space” Typescript drafts, correspondence, etc.
  • “Give your home a Hollywood door” Typescript draft, correspondence, notes, etc.
  • “Halo lamp” Typescript draft, correspondence, photographs, etc.
  • “Hand truck” Popular Mechanics, April. Typescript draft, correspondence, photographs, etc. - 1960
  • “Heating element fix it” Popular Science, December. Typescript drafts, notes, photographs, etc. - 1959
  • “Hell bent for power” Pacific Gas & Electric Progress, August. Typescript drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc. - 1971
  • “Hitler can invade America by air” Look, Sept. Correspondence and tear sheet. Including a letter from Jerre Mangione. - 1942
  • Home improvement projects - miscellaneous articles. Typescript drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc.
    2 folders
  • “Homemade clamps” Photographs.
  • Box 16:
  • “Hostess table” Typescript drafts, correspondence, photograph, etc.
  • “How power towers grow” Typescript draft, correspondence, tear sheets, etc.
  • “How to build a redwood ranch gate” Workbench, November-December. Typescript draft, correspondence, and tear sheets. - 1957
  • “How to build with stone” Popular Science, July. Typescript drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc. - 1956
  • “How to get a quick shelter” Typescript drafts, correspondence, and pamphlets.
  • How to Improve Your House Inside and Outside. Various articles -- photocopies.
  • “How to make a moke” American Home, June. Correspondence, sketch, tear sheets, etc. - 1956
  • “How to make a sliding Shoji wall” Family Handyman, July/August. Typescript drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc. - 1961
  • “How to make round tables that stack” Typescript drafts, correspondence, photograph, etc.
  • “How to repair stucco” Science and Mechanics, Summer. Typescript drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc. - 1960
  • “How to weave wood strips and plastic cord” Typescript drafts, correspondence, and photograph.
  • “I made swinging doors slide” Popular Science, Summer. Typescript drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc. - 1956
  • “If war comes” Typescript and holograph drafts.
  • “Inside a mountain powerhouse” Typescript drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc.
  • “Install your own brick hearth” Popular Science, December. Typescript drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc. - 1959
  • “Kitchen clock book shelf” Typescript draft, correspondence, photographs, etc.
  • “Leo and I” Holograph notes.
  • “A lesson in ‘feline’” Cats, July. Typescript drafts and published copy. - 1973
  • “Light shades” Typescript and holograph drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc.
  • Box 17:
  • “Louvres” Photographs and negatives.
  • “Magazine rack” Typescript drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc.
  • “Make yourself comfortable” Popular Science Typescript draft, correspondence, photographs, etc. - Undated
  • “Marlite bathroom wall” Typescript draft, correspondence, photographs, etc.
  • “Match-stick bamboo closet doors” Typescript draft, correspondence, photograph, etc.
  • “Mexico trip” Typescript draft, brochures, travel literature, etc.
  • “Miniature trees” American Home, September. Typescript draft, correspondence, notes, etc. - 1954
  • “A modern lounge chair” Typescript draft, correspondence, photograph, etc.
  • “Music center on wheels” Typescript draft and correspondence.
  • “My conversation with a mountain lion” Cat Fancy, February. Typescript drafts, correspondence, tear sheets, etc. - 1973
  • “My model Cats” Cats, February. Typescript draft, correspondence, and published copy. - 1973
  • “Napoleon of the South Pacific” Cat Fancy, June. Typescript draft, correspondence, tear sheet, etc. - 1973
  • “Only the best people snore” Typescript drafts and correspondence.
  • “Photographer, make your own portable light stand” Typescript drafts, correspondence, and photograph.
  • “Picture projects” Typescript draft, correspondence, photographs, etc.
  • “Planning center for your shop” Workbench, May -- June. Typescript draft, correspondence, sketches, etc. - 1959
  • “Plastic drawers fill hard-to-reach cabinet space” Typescript draft, photographs, and negatives.
  • “Play pool” Mechanics Illustrated, and Workbench, July -- August.Typescript draft, correspondence, photographs, etc. - Undated, 1959
  • “Plywood beams” Workbench, May -- June. Typescript drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc. - 1963
  • Box 18:
  • Popular Science: Tested, Easy-to-Build Plywood Projects. Two articles -- photocopies.
  • “Porch or patio table” Workbench. Typescript draft, correspondence, photographs, etc. - 1966
  • “Put utility room storage on wheels” Workbench, November -- December. Typescript drafts, correspondence, and tear sheets. - 1957
  • “Put your snacks on wheels” (written with Darrell Huff) Woman’s Day. Typescript drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc. - 1952
  • “Radial arm saws are not alike” Typescript draft, correspondence, photographs, etc.
  • “Roger’s story” Cats, March. Typescript draft, correspondence, tear sheets, etc. - 1977
  • “Rolling patio server” Popular Mechanics, July. Typescript drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc. - 1961
  • “The secret of building a western patio” Woman’s Home Companion, May. Typescript draft, correspondence, tear sheets, etc. - 1956
  • “Separate the outdoors with light weight concrete” Typescript drafts, correspondence, notes, etc.
  • “Service room organizer” Typescript draft, correspondence, and notes.
  • “Servicing spray-type kitchen faucets” Popular Science, June. and Workbench, September-October 1961. Typescript drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc. - 1958
  • “Seven ways to build a garden walk” Popular Science, April. Typescript drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc. - 1960
  • “Shelby County history” Typescript draft, correspondence, and research materials.
  • Short articles sold to various publications. Typescript drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc. (2 folders)
  • “Should you buy a water softener?” Popular Science, January. Correspondence, photographs, tear sheets, etc. - 1959
  • “60-minute picnic table” Workbench, July -- August 1961. Typescript drafts, correspondence, notes, etc.
  • “Sky troops attack America” Typescript draft and carbon.
  • “Slanting cupboard doors” Typescript draft, correspondence, photographs, etc.
  • “Sonoma in the Valley of the Moon” Ford Times. Typescript drafts, correspondence, brochures, etc. - Undated.
  • “Step-stool-desk-chair” Canadian Homes. Typescript drafts, correspondence, sketches, etc. - 1966
  • “Stick your home back together” Typescript drafts, correspondence, and photographs.
  • Box 19:
  • Stone Masonry (published in book by Ken Kern) Typescript draft, correspondence, and photographs.
  • “Strawberry pyramid” Sketch, photographs, and negatives.
  • “Survival syndrome” Typescript draft, correspondence, photographs, etc.
  • “Tahiti trip” Correspondence, photographs, brochures, etc.
  • “Tame that light glare anywhere” Typescript drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc.
  • “That second bathroom” Typescript drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc.
  • “These horses will work for you” Typescript draft and correspondence.
  • This bench doubles as a snack table” Typescript draft, correspondence, and receipts.
  • “This chair is easy to build” Typescript draft, correspondence, and sketch.
  • “This chair is easy to make” Typescript draft, correspondence, photograph, etc.
  • “3-in-1 furniture” Popular Science, April. Typescript drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc. - 1959
  • “Tiled cheese server” Typescript draft, correspondence, proofs, etc.
  • “Trap” All Cats, October. Typescript draft, correspondence, photographs, etc. - 1978
  • “2-in-1 table and shelves” Typescript draft, correspondence, photographs, etc.
  • “Vacation cabin” Mechanix Illustrated, August. Typescript draft, correspondence, photograph, etc. - 1960
  • “Vacation cabin trailer” How to Build It. Photocopies.
  • “A wall with hidden doors” Typescript draft, correspondence, photographs, etc.
  • “Walls that set your house apart” Canadian Homes, April. Typescript drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc. - 1964
  • “Want a desk?” Typescript draft and correspondence.
  • “Wanted: a new homestead act” Pageant, November. Typescript drafts, correspondence, and research material. - 1946
  • “Water fountain for thirsty chickens” Workbench, May -- June. Typescript draft, correspondence, and tear sheet. - 1959
  • “We bought an acre” Typescript draft, correspondence, and outline.
  • “We need a home guard” Typescript outline and carbon.
  • Box 20:
  • “When this time comes” Cats, March. Correspondence and medical research materials. - 1976
  • “Which electric pump for your well? Popular Mechanics. Typescript draft, correspondence, photographs, etc. - Undated
  • “Who knows what a cat thinks?” Typescript draft and correspondence.
  • “Wood putty” Popular Science, October 1959 and Workbench, May -- June 1962. Typescript drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc.
  • “Wordless workshop” Popular Science, December 1956, June 1959, and January 1963. Typescript draft, correspondence, tear sheets, etc.
  • Workshop Projects. Multiple articles -- photocopies.
  • “Yosemite Vacation”
  • Correspondence - 1953-1969
  • Photographs.
  • Negatives.
  • Typescript captions for photographs
  • Typescript descriptions for photographs.
  • “Cricket and I” Typescript draft.
  • “See the High Sierra on a mountain canary” Typescript draft.
  • “Six days on a mule” Typescript draft.
  • The Brother by Feike Feikema. New York Herald Tribune Book Review, November. Review and correspondence. - 1950
  • The Chokecherry Tree by Feike Feikema. New York Herald Tribune Book Review. - Undated
  • Count Luckner, the Sea Devil by Lowell Thomas. New York Evening Post. Review. - Undated.
  • Country Jake by Charles B. Driscoll. New York Herald Tribune Weekly Book Review, November. Review and correspondence. - 1946
  • The Giant by Feike Feikema. New York Herald Tribune Book Review, December. Review and correspondence. - 1951
  • No Greener Meadows by Martin Yoseloff. New York Herald Tribune Weekly Book Review, September. Review and correspondence. - 1946
  • Piper Tompkins by Ben Field. New York Herald Tribune Weekly Book Review, February. Review and correspondence. - 1946
  • The Primitive by Feike Feikema. New York Herald Tribune Weekly Book Review, September. Review and correspondence. - 1949
  • Three Wives by Beatrice Kean. New York Evening Post. Review. - Undated
  • Way of Revelation by Wilfred Ewart. New York Evening Post. Review. - Undated
  • Sub-Series: Short Stories, Plays, Movies, Novellas
  • Box 20:
  • “American guerilla” Typescript summary of movie.
  • “At the feet of giants” Typescript draft and correspondence.
  • “Aunt Birdie’s cookies” Hinterland, October-November. Multiple typescript drafts and correspondence. - 1936
  • Box 21:
  • “Barn crazy” Capper’s Farmer, May and The Star Weekly, Summer. Typescript drafts, correspondence, photocopy, etc. - 1952
  • “Belly bumper” Blue Book Magazine, July. (Working titles: “The bridge at Grand Vallat” and Before mimosas bloom again”) Typescript drafts and correspondence. - 1951
  • “The blowup” (Alternate title: “Duel in August”) Typescript drafts and correspondence.
  • “Bones of dead dogs” (Working titles: Bones of six dead dogs” and “The dog woman of the Riviera”) Typescript drafts and correspondence.
  • “A cat with a simple ear” Correspondence, holograph and typescript notes.
  • “Cause for celebration” typescript drafts with correspondence.
  • “The Cigarette”
  • First and second typescript drafts with correspondence.
  • Typescript draft.
  • “Descriptions and conversations” Holograph notes.
  • “The farmer and the gold stone” Direction. Typescript drafts and correspondence. - 1935
  • “Feedback point”:
  • Typescript drafts, correspondence, and notes.
  • Later typescript drafts.
  • “A few goats” Typescript drafts, correspondence, etc.
  • “The fire template” Typescript draft.
  • “For a rainy day” Typescript drafts and correspondence.
  • Box 22:
  • “For want of a nail” (Alternate title: “Mr. Bundy’s horror story”) Typescript draft -- carbon.
  • “Full moon over six four” (Working title: “Pansy”) Typescript draft and correspondence.
  • “George and the s-bomb” Typescript drafts and correspondence.
  • “The golden horse” Typescript draft.
  • “Graduation” Typescript draft and correspondence.
  • “Green lumber” Outlander, Summer. (Working title: “I fought the redskins”) Typescript drafts and correspondence. - 1933
  • “If you’re so smart” Typescript draft, correspondence, and research materials.
  • “Kiln cured” (Alternate title: “Out of the kilns”) Typescript drafts and correspondence.
  • “The land can’t be stopped” Typescript draft and correspondence.
  • “The line fence” Typescript draft and correspondence.
  • “The little snowplow helps a friend” Typescript drafts, correspondence, photographs, etc.
  • The loyalist Typescript draft of a one-act play with holograph notes.
  • “The mail-carrier” Typescript draft.
  • “The make-up box” Typescript drafts and correspondence.
  • “Martian energy council” Typescript draft.
  • “Meatballs on the house” Caper, 1960 and Gent. Yearbook. Typescript drafts, correspondence, and receipts. - 1963
  • “The mid westerner” Esprit Typescript draft and correspondence. - 1946
  • “Middle-West on the Rhine” (Working title: “Package from the Rhine”) Typescript draft, correspondence, and clipping.
  • “Mott’s daughters” Incomplete typescript draft and notes.
  • Box 23:
  • “Name your handicap” Graffiti, Spring. Typescript drafts, correspondence, photocopy. - 1975
  • The New Caravan (Norton & Co., 1936). Three stories. Typescript drafts and correspondence.
  • “The new uniform” Typescript draft and correspondence.
  • “New York 51 mi.” Typescript draft and notes.
  • “Nine pennies” Blast, May -- June. (Working titles: “Just pennies” and “The candy-bar man”) Typescript drafts and correspondence. - 1934
  • “No dinner for bobcat” Typescript draft.
  • “Not made of wood” Typescript draft.
  • “Number two head-saw” Typescript drafts, correspondence, and photographs.
  • “The ocean and crackers too” Typescript drafts and correspondence.
  • “The old way was better” Multitude. (working title: “Balancing clay”) Typescript drafts and correspondence. - 1976
  • “One mile from pavement” Typescript draft and correspondence.
  • “One without a dream” Typescript draft and correspondence.
  • “Onlookers” Typescript draft.
  • “Operation survival” New Worlds. Typescript drafts and correspondence. - Undated
  • Box 24:
  • “Pepper plants ready” (Alternate title: “They drive too careful”) Typescript drafts and correspondence.
  • “Perfect target” Typescript drafts and correspondence.
  • “Perhaps the uniform” Prose, Typescript drafts and correspondence. - 1934
  • “Post road inn” Typescript draft and correspondence.
  • Pownel’s law” Typescript drafts and correspondence.
  • “The problem” Typescript draft.
  • “Red carpet treatment” The Diversifier, November. Typescript draft, correspondence, and published copy. - 1977
  • “Riviera types: the shepherd of Bandol” Typescript draft.
  • “Run rabbit” The Frontier, November. Typescript drafts, correspondence, tear sheets, etc. - 1933
  • “Save the chiren” Typescript drafts and correspondence.
  • “Screaming for carpenters” Typescript draft and correspondence.
  • “The secret hostage” Typescript draft and correspondence.
  • “Sentences and ideas” Holograph notes.
  • “The seven commandments” Notes and correspondence.
  • “Siblings” Typescript drafts and correspondence.
  • “The sinner box” Typescript drafts and correspondence.
  • “So democratic” Typescript draft and correspondence.
  • Box 25:
  • “Soft pine” Typescript drafts with notes.
  • “A son of my bone” The Magazine, March -- April. (Working title: “Sin no more”) Typescript drafts, correspondence, and notes. - 1935
  • “A start in life” (Story excerpted from The Road Returns.) Typescript drafts and correspondence.
  • “Steam shovel for Tommy” Typescript draft and correspondence.
  • “Sudden Autumn” Esquire, July. Typescript draft, correspondence, tear sheets, etc. - 1947
  • Story ideas
  • Holograph notes.
  • Cat subjects. Typescript notes.
  • Fiction. Typescript and holograph notes.
  • Science fiction. Typescript notes and clippings.
  • “Strange harvest” Typescript drafts and correspondence.
  • “The strike is settled” Typescript draft.
  • “Strumpet’s call” Typescript drafts, correspondence, notes, etc.
  • “That precocious Professor Twig” Typescript draft.
  • “Their beautiful friendship” Typescript draft and correspondence.
  • “Their forefathers were presidents” Story, June. Typescript drafts and correspondence. - 1934
  • “There’s always an accident” The Magazine, November. Typescript drafts and correspondence. - 1936
  • “They could do something big” (Working title: “The big Swede” and “The big Swede laughs.”) Typescript drafts and correspondence.
  • Box 26:
  • “Tombstone of straw” The Magazine, January -- February. Typescript drafts and correspondence. - 1935
  • “Uncle Roger” Typescript drafts and correspondence.
  • Unpublished stories. Four stories. Typescript drafts and correspondence.
  • “Washington slept here” Typescript draft and correspondence.
  • “Water in the hills” Farm Journal, August and Family Herald, March. Typescript draft and correspondence. - 1942, 1948
  • The water’s fine” Typescript draft and correspondence.
  • “We are Americans” (Novella)
  • Holograph notes.
  • Early typescript draft.
  • Typescript draft.
  • “When farmers sang” Story, August. (working title: “January thaw”) Typescript drafts and correspondence. - 1935
  • “When ‘Mother’ became a dirty word” Life, April. Typescript draft, notes, clippings, etc. - 1971
  • “White overalls” Typescript draft, correspondence, and research materials.
  • “The young bulls” Typescript drafts and correspondence.
  • Sub-Series: Books and Novels
  • Box 26:
  • Acres of Antaeus
  • Including letters from: Upton Sinclair, Marshall A. Best, Whit Burnett, Granville Hicks, Jack Conroy, William James Fadiman, Meridel LeSueur, and Dale Kramer. - 1936-1942
  • Including letters from Phyllis Crawford and Buel Griffith Beems. - 1944-1952
  • Box 27:
  • Acres of Antaeus (cont.)
  • Incomplete early typescript draft with holograph notes -- carbon. (Working title: Chain Farm) (2 folders)
  • Typescript draft of first version -- carbon. (Working title: Chain Farm) (2 folders)
  • Typescript draft of second version with holograph notes -- carbon. (Working title: Giant in the Land) (2 folders)
  • Second typescript draft of second version with holograph notes. (Working title: Chain Farm) pp. 1 -- 190.
  • Box 28:
  • Acres of Antaeus (cont.)
  • Second typescript draft of second version with holograph notes. (Working title: Chain Farm) pp. 191 -- 574. (2 folders)
  • Third typescript draft of the second version -- carbon. (Working title: Chain Farm) (2 folders)
  • First typescript draft of the third version with holograph notes. (Working titles: Chain FarmGiant in the Land, and Only the Best Land) pp. 1 -- 440. (3 folders)
  • Box 29:
  • Acres of Antaeus (cont.)
  • First typescript draft of the third version with holograph notes. (Working titles: Chain FarmGiant in the Land, and Only the Best Land) pp. 441 -- 500.
  • Incomplete later typescript draft -- carbon. (Working title: Chain Farm) pp. 1 -- 21.
  • Incomplete later typescript draft with holograph notes -- carbon. (Working title: The Way of Giants) pp. 1 -- 14.
  • Incomplete later typescript draft -- carbon. (Working titles: The Way of Giants and Mid-West Empire) pp. 1 -- 120.
  • Typescript of final draft -- carbon. (Working title: Mid-West Empire) (2 folders)
  • Printer’s typescript with holograph revisions. (Working title: Mid-West Empire) (3 folders)
  • Box 30:
  • Acres of Antaeus (cont.)
  • Galley proofs.
  • 2 Contracts and legal documents, - 1941 -- 1946
  • 3 Dust jacket.
  • 4 Reviews - 1946 -- 1947, 1972
  • Are Cats People?
  • Correspondence and photographs - 1979 -- 1982
  • Miscellaneous typescript pages.
  • Typescript draft. (Working title: Cats We Have Lived With)
  • Typescript of final draft, with carbon. (2 folders)
  • Reviews - 1970-1980
  • Bachelor Bess: My Sister
  • Typescript draft.
  • Typescript of later draft. pp. 1 -- 114.
  • Box 31:
  • Bachelor Bess: My Sister
  • Typescript draft. (2 folders)
  • The Brass Cannon
  • Research for the proposed book.
  • Excerpts to be sent to prospective publishers.
  • Typescript draft.
  • Build a Home
  • Correspondence. Including a letter from Louis Bromfield. - 1944 -- 1955, 1973
  • Typescript of final draft with original drawings -- carbon. (Working title: Build a House)
  • Reviews - 1946
  • Buy an Acre
  • Correspondence and contracts. Including letters from: Ruth Lechlitner, John T. Frederick, and Jerre Mangione. - 1943 -- 1950, 1971
  • Box 32:
  • Buy an Acre
  • Typescript of first draft with working notes.
  • Typescript of final draft with cover drawing.
  • Reviews - 1944, 1948
  • Carlena Parrish
  • Incomplete typescript draft. (Working title: The Graceful White Swan) pp. 1 -- 87.
  • Typescript of first draft -- carbon. (2 folders)
  • Typescript draft. (3 folders)
  • Box 33:
  • Corn Gold Farm
  • Correspondence and royalty statements - 1945 -- 1963
  • Box 34:
  • Corn Gold Farm cont.
  • Typescript draft showing cuts for serialization -- carbon. (Working title: Broken Man Farm; Serialized title: Green Hands) (2 folders)
  • Reviews - 1948
  • County Seat
  • Correspondence, . Including letters from: John Selby, Jerre Mangione, Raymond Kresensky, John T. Frederick, and August Derleth. - 1940 -- 1944
  • Typescript of first draft with holograph notes. (Working title: County Seat Town) (3 folders)
  • Typescript of final draft with holograph notes and criticism for final reviewing -- carbon. (Working title: County Seat Town) pp. 1 -- 133.
  • Box 35:
  • County Seat
  • Typescript of final draft with holograph notes and criticism for final reviewing -- carbon. (Working title: County Seat Town) pp. 134 -- 577. (2 folders)
  • Typescript of final draft. (3 folders)
  • Reviews - 1941 -- 1942
  • Do Cats Think?
  • Correspondence and royalty statements. Including a letter from Charlton Laird. - 1973 -- 1977
  • Box 36:
  • Do Cats Think? cont.
  • Correspondence and royalty statements:
  • Including a letter from Clarence A. Andrews. - 1978 -- 1981
  • 1982 -- 1990
  • Early typescript draft with numerous holograph corrections and revisions. (Working title: Cat-Watching and the Cybernetic Age) (2 folders)
  • Typescript draft with corrections. (Working title: Cat-Watching and the Cybernetic Age) (2 folders)
  • Reviews - 1976 -- 1979
  • Box 37:
  • Five-Acre Hill
  • Correspondence, contracts, and royalty statements - 1944 -- 1959, 1974
  • Typescript of first draft with holograph notes and sketches. (2 folders)
  • Typescript of second draft -- cut for serialization. (2 folders)
  • Typescript of final draft -- carbon.
  • Published installments. Girls Today, November-December - 1945
  • Reviews - 1946
  • Holiday
  • Research materials.
  • Typescript notes of character descriptions, etc.
  • Early typescript draft with holograph notes.
  • Typescript draft.
  • Box 38:
  • Holiday Homes
  • Correspondence - 1964 -- 1973
  • Legal documents - 1964 -- 1973 and undated
  • Typescript draft with holograph notes, outline, maps, and diagrams. (2 folders)
  • Galley proofs with sketch of title page
  • Page proofs.
  • Dust jacket and published excerpt.
  • Reviews - 1967 -- 1970
  • Homemade Homes
  • Correspondence - 1944-1948
  • January-March - 1949
  • Box 39:
  • Homemade Homes (cont.)
  • Correspondence (cont.):
  • April-December - 1949
  • Drawings and sketches with holograph notes.
  • Typescript of first draft with numerous corrections and revisions. (4 folders)
  • Box 40:
  • Homemade Homes (cont.)
  • Typescript of second draft with numerous revisions. (4 folders)
  • Editorial notes.
  • Reviews - 1950
  • How to Build Country Homes on a Budget
  • Correspondence, dust jackets, clippings, etc. (This is the second edition -- first published as: Homemade Homes). - 1973 -- 1980
  • The Little Jeep
  • Correspondence and contracts - 1945-1951
  • Typescript drafts with holograph revisions.
  • Milk Flood
  • Correspondence and contracts. Including a letter from Rockwell Kent. - 1945 -- 1961, 1971
  • Box 41:
  • Milk Flood cont.
  • Typescript of first draft with holograph notes. (Working title: Emery Crane Dairyman) (2 folders)
  • Early typescript draft. (Working title: Emery Crane Dairyman) (2 folders)
  • Early typescript draft.
  • Early typescript draft with holograph revisions. (2 folders)
  • Mr. Do-It-Yourself and Son
  • Correspondence and notes - 1956 -- 1964
  • Box 42:
  • Mr. Do-It-Yourself and Son cont.
  • Typescript draft. (Working title: Jerry and the Workshop) (2 folders)
  • The Phoenix Womb
  •  Correspondence: 1968-1976
  • Correspondence: 1977-1983
  • Typescript of synopsis, sample chapters, etc.
  • Typescript draft. (Working title: Second of Nine)
  • Typescript draft.
  • Box 43:
  • The Planet of the Blind
  • Correspondence - 1962 -- 1989
  • Early typescript draft with holograph revisions. (2 folders)
  • Typescript of later draft with holograph notes. (2 folders)
  • Typescript of later draft with holograph revisions. (2 folders)
  • Box 44:
  • The Red Tractor
  • Correspondence, contracts, royalty statements, etc. - 1943 -- 1971
  • Reviews - 1944
  • The Road Returns
  • Correspondence and royalty statements:
  • Including letters from: Buel Griffith Beems, John T. Frederick, Granville Hicks, Frank Luther Mott, Jerre Mangione, August Derleth, and Weldon Kees. - 1939 -- 1941
  • Including letters from Clarence A. Andrews. - 1942 -- 1947, 1968 -- 1980
  • Typescript of first draft with work pages and holograph notes. (Working titles: Land Boom and The Road Between) (3 folders)
  • Typescript of second draft with holograph revisions. (Working title: The Road Between) pp. 1 -- 350.
  • Box 45:
  • The Road Returns (cont.)
  • Typescript of second draft with holograph revisions. (Working title: The Road Between) pp. 351 -- 697.
  • Typescript of final draft -- carbon. (Working title: The Road Between) (2 folders)
  • Typescript of printer’s copy with holograph notes. (Working title: The Road Between) (3 folders)
  • Reviews - 1940
  • Box 46:
  • Shad Haul
  • Correspondence, contracts, and photographs - 1946-1958
  • Incomplete typescript of first draft with holograph notes.
  • Typescript of second draft. (2 folders)
  • Typescript of third draft with holograph revisions. (2 folders)
  • Typescript of printer’s copy with holograph revisions.
  • Galley proof.
  • Soft Paw Animal Training
  • Typescript draft, correspondence, and research.
  • Box 47:
  • Tall in the Saddle
  • Typescript drafts of outlines, correspondence, and research material. (Working title: Daddy, Buy Me a Horse)
  • Three Miles Square
  •  Correspondence.Including letters from: Granville Hicks, Lewis Mumford, Jerre Mangione, Grant Wood, and August Derleth. - 1933-1938
  • Correspondence. Including letters from: Wilbur L. Schramm, Frank Luther Mott, and John T. Frederick. - 1939-1941
  • Correspondence. - 1942 -- 1952, 1975 -- 1976, 1984, undated
  • “Auction” Typescript of first and second drafts.
  • “A barn dance” Typescript draft.
  • “Big pigs go to market” Typescript draft.
  • “A bridge is built” Various typescript drafts with holograph revisions.
  • “Chattel mortgage” Typescript draft.
  • “Death in the valley” Various typescript drafts with holograph revisions. (Working title: “Lightning”)
  • “A dozen dolls” Various typescript drafts. (Working title: “Touch” and “Touch-me-not”)
  • “The dredge” Typescript draft.
  • “The dredge: three” Typescript draft.
  • “Duck flying high” Typescripts of first and second drafts. (Working title: “Mallard”)
  • “Dust” Typescripts of first and second drafts.
  • “Election” Typescript draft.
  • “The fat does not burn” Typescripts of first and second drafts. (Working title: “Hog colery”)
  • “Hayfield” Typescript draft.
  • “His punishment” Typescripts of first and second drafts. (Working title: House divided”)
  • “Horses and mules” Typescript draft.
  • “Ice pond” Typescripts of first and second drafts.
  • Box 48:
  • Three Miles Square (cont.)
  • “The key vote” Typescript draft with holograph notes and revisions.
  • “Land o’love” Typescript draft.
  • “Man about the place” Typescripts of first and second drafts.
  • “March morning” Typescript draft.
  • “Meat ring” Typescript of first and second drafts.
  • “Retiring” Typescript draft.
  • “Revival” Typescript draft.
  • “Saving the mother” Typescript draft.
  • “The school teacher” Typescript draft.
  • “Squaw Creek family. Typescript draft.
  • “Thanksgiving” Typescript draft.
  • “Too much church” Typescript draft with holograph notes.
  • “The widow and the fatherless” Typescript draft.
  • Typescript of second draft. (2 folders)
  • Typescript of fourth draft. (2 folders)
  • Box 49:
  • Three Miles Square (cont.)
  • Typescript of fifth draft -- carbon. (3 folders)
  • Typescript of fifth draft -- printer’s copy. (4 folders)
  • Box 50:
  • Three Miles Square (cont.)
  • Material deleted from book.
  • Reviews - 1939 -- 1942
  • Tractor
  • Correspondence. (Alternate title: The Green Jackrabbit) - 1937 -- 1938
  • Upon This Rock
  • Correspondence - 1947 -- 1954
  • Research materials.
  • Typescript of first chapters with holograph notes.
  • Typescript of first draft with holograph notes. (2 folders)
  • Typescript of second draft with holograph notes. pp. 1 -- 225.
  • Box 51:
  • Upon This Rock
  • Typescript of second draft with holograph notes. pp. 226 -- 456.
  • Typescript draft. (Working title: With My Own Two Hands) (2 folders)
  • Typescript of a later draft.
  • Typescript of final draft.
  • Series 4: SCRAPBOOKS
  • Box 52:
  • Scrapbook.
  • Scrapbook.
  • Box 53:
  • Correspondence with Nita Harrell - 1974 -- 1975
  • Series 5: 2003 ADDENDUM
  • Box 53:
  • "Looking for Paul Corey: Memory's Loss and the Fall of Self-Reliance." North American Review, Vol.288:No. 3-4 (May-August 2003), pp.62 -- 70.
  • Series 6: JANUARY 2004 ADDENDUM
  • Box 54:
  • Correspondence
  • Photographs
  • Miscellaneous
  • Sonoma first house
  • Sonoma house
  • Working with stone
  • Yosemite pack trip and a panoramic view
  • Subject files
  • Cavedale Craftsman. Ad brochure
  • Clippings
  • "The Jerre Mangione Archives." Booklet. Inscribed to the Coreys by Mangione
  • Real estate (3 folders)
  • Scrapbooks
  • Scrapbooks with photographs used in how-to articles. Scrapbool #1
  • Box 55:
  • Scrapbook, cont.
  • Scrapbooks with photographs used in how-to articles. Scrapbook #2
  • Writings
  • Articles
  • "Class 20: Bathrooms." Includes photogrpahs
  • "Conversation With A Mountain Lion." Defenders of Wilderness News, June, p. 305. - 1973
  • "Gluing." Popular Mechanics Illustrated Home Handyman, #6, p. 934. They used Corey's photographs.
  • "How To Glue It."
  • "Lurching Toward Liberalism." TMs, correspondence
  • "Post and Beam Construction"
  • Tear sheets of articles
  • "Adding a Hearth to a Prefab Fireplace"
  • "All About Glues and Gluing"
  • "All Play and No Work Built This Barbecue" (Also Huff, Darrell. "Nine Fancy Finishes Transform Plywood.")
  • "Beaver Airlift."
  • "Black Sunshine Keeps Us Warm"
  • "Brighten a wall with a magazine rack"
  • "Building a Giant Powerhouse 500 Feet Underground"
  • "Cabana"
  • "Canvas Panels for Indoors or Out"
  • "Centering Jig for Woodwork"
  • Ceiling-High Light Stand from Aluminum Tubing"
  • "Ceramic Tile"
  • "Contact Cement"
  • "Corner Unit Houses Washer"
  • "Drawing Power from Nature's Steam Boiler"
  • "Easy Does it with this TABLE"
  • "Easy-to-Built Diffuser for Your Overhead Lights"
  • "Egg-Crate Construction Cuts Shelf-Space Cost"
  • "The Facts Aobut Power Sanders"
  • "Flagstone Patio"
  • "Frost Your Own"
  • "Gate Built of Redwood"
  • "Hardboards"
  • "He Runs a Shipyard for Amateurs"
  • "Heating Elements"
  • "Hints for the Home Owners"
  • "Home Uses for Urethane Foam." Uses Corey's photographs
  • "How to Apply Industrial Woodatpe Plywood Edging"
  • "How to Build 3 Tables"
  • "How to Build With Stone"
  • "How to Glaze Without Climbing"
  • "How to glue up a wall"
  • "How to Install a Plastic Skylight"
  • "How to Make Doors from Stock Lumber and Glass-Fiber Panels:
  • "How to Use Green Lumber"
  • "If Your House Were A-Bombed"
  • "It's Like Sun Heat"
  • "Laminate Trims Tile Joint"
  • "The Little House That Routs Loneliness"
  • "Look What You Can do with New Plastic Foam"
  • "Make a Portable Grill"
  • "Mail-Order Stone Makes Anyone a Mason"
  • "Meet the Author"
  • "Miter Faces for C Clamp"
  • "Mobile Toy Boxes"
  • "More Plywood for Less Money"
  • "Movable screen extends your outdoor season"
  • "My Valley of the Moon"
  • "Now You, Too, Can be a Craftsman"
  • "Now's the Time to Weatherstrip Your House"
  • "Plastic drawers dress up simple cabinet"
  • "Plywood Beams"
  • "Plywood Tiles Dress Up Dull Walls"
  • "Portable Blower Squirts Insulation"
  • "Pre-scored Tiles Are East to Fit"
  • "Reflective Sign from Glass Chips"
  • "Rolling Storage Bin"
  • "Rubber Heats my Workshop"
  • "The secret of building a western patio"
  • "7 Uses for Putty"
  • "Shop Drawing Tools"
  • "Should You Buy a Water Softened?"
  • "Show Place Furniture"
  • "Signs with a Chuckle Liven Up Bare Garage Doors"
  • "Sliding-Door Trick Gives Us More Space"
  • "Sometimes It's Better Not To Do It Yourself"
  • "Sprinkling a Lawn the Easy Way"
  • "Strip Out Weather"
  • "Stucco Repairs"
  • "These Hinges Solve Problems"
  • "Timely Facts About Automatic Faucet Sprays"
  • "Using the New Man-Made Boards"
  • "Water Fountain for Thirsty Chickens"
  • "We Built a Swimming Pool for $300"
  • "Weatherstripping"
  • "Weatherstripping"
  • "What You Should Know About Wood Putty"
  • "Wooden Jig Clamps Miter Joints"
  • "Wordless Workshop" 2
  • "Workshop on a Wall"
  • "Woven Cabinet Doors"
  • "The Why, What, Where and How of Home Insulation"
  • "You Can Build A Three-Purpose Nursery Unit"
  • "Your Home Can Pay You An Annuity"
  • Miscellaneous and fragments
  • Articles by Darrell Huff
    Huff and Corey collaborated on many projects, and Corey appears in photographs used in some of Huff's articles. Corey may also have contributed some photographs to Huff articles
  • Books
  • Are Cats People? Correspondence and contracts
  • Cat Watching. Correspondence
  • Planet of the Blind. Correspondence
  • Royalty statements and correspondence for several books
  • Series 7: INDEX TO PAUL COREY CORRESPONDENCE
  • Key: Box Number=I, Folder Number= (i), Number of letters=(1)
  • Andrews, Clarence A.: XXXVI i (1);XLIV iv (12)
  • Beems, Buel Griffith: I i (2);I iii (1);I iv (2);I v (7);I vi (1); I viii (2);III iii (1);XXVI xv (2); XLIV iii (2)
  • Benet, William Rose: I i (1)
  • Best, Marshal A.: XXVI xiv (2)
  • Bird, Charles Sumner: VIII ii (entire folder)
  • Bromfield, Louis: XXXI vi (1)
  • Burnet, Whit: I iv (2);XXVI xiv (1)
  • Conroy, Jack: I ii (1); III i (1);XXVI xiv (1)
  • Corey, Anne: VIII iii (entire folder)
  • Crawford, Phillis: XXVI xv (16)
  • Derleth, August: I v (5);XXXIV iv (2);XLIV iii (1);XLVII ii (1)
  • Eyerly, Jeannette: VII iii (1)
  • Fadiman, William James: XXVI xiv (1)
  • Field, Iduna: IV i (1)
  • Frederick, John T.: I i (6);XXXI ix (1);XXXIV iv (3);XLIV iii (1);XLVII iii (1)
  • Gerber, Philip: VII iii (4);VII iv (3),VII v (1)
  • Hancher, Virgil M.: I vii (2)
  • Herring, Clyde L.: XI x (1)
  • Hicks, Granville: I ii (1);I iii (5); I iv (2);XXVI xiv (3);XLIV iii (1);XLVII ii (2)
  • Hoegh, Leo A.: III vii (2)
  • Huff, Darrell: I vi (16);I vii (7);VII v (5);VII vi (2);VIII iii (entire folder)
  • Humphrey, Hubert H.: II i (1);II ii (1)
  • Kees, Weldon: I iii (1);XLIV iii (1)
  • Keith, Shirley: VIII v,vi,vii,viii (four folders)
  • Kennedy, Robert F.: II iv (1)
  • Kent, Rockwell: XL x (1)
  • Kramer, Dale: XXVI xiv (1)
  • Kresensky, Raymond: XXXIV iv (2)
  • Laird, Charlton: XXXVI vii (1)
  • Lechlitner, Ruth: I v (1);I viii (3);II iii (4);II iv (4);II v (2);III iii (6);VIII i (7);XXXI ix (1)
  • LeSueur, Meridel: XXVI xiv (3)
  • Lewis, John L.: I iii (1)
  • Mangione, Jerre: I iii (15);I iv (19);I v (6);I viii (5);II iii (2);III i (2);IV iii (1);IV iv (1);VII ii (1);VII iii (1);XV viii (1);XXXI ix (1);XXXIV iv (1);XLIV iii (1);XLVII ii (1)
  • Matthews, George: VIII iii (entire folder)
  • Miller, Merle: II vi (1)
  • Mott, Frank Luther: I i (1);XLIV iii (1);XLVII iii (1)
  • Mumford, Lewis: XLVII ii (2)
  • O’Brien, Edward J.: I iii (2)
  • Powys, John C.: I i (2)
  • Rockefeller, Nelson: II iii (1)
  • Rust, Lyn: IX i (entire folder)
  • Ryan, Elizabeth: IX ii, iii (two folders)
  • Schramm, Wilber: XLVII iii (1)
  • Sevareid, Eric: XI x (1)
  • Shelby, John: XXXIV iv (2)
  • Sinclair, Upton: XXVI xiv (1)
  • Wood, Grant: I v (1);XLVII ii (1)
  • Zwart, Elizabeth Clarkson: I vi (1)