Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Marquis Childs Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1939-1978
Creator: Childs, Marquis (1903-1990)
Extent: 5.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0581
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Pulitzer prize-winning journalist with the St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Typescript drafts, galleys, proofs, and layouts for some of his books. Also general correspondence files, speeches, and newspaper clippings.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa over a period of forty years by Mr. Childs, and a final manuscript was donated by his son, Prentiss Childs in 1996.

Preferred Citation: Marquis Childs Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Marquis W. Childs (1903-1990) was born in Clinton, Iowa. He received his B.A. from the University of Wisconsin in 1923. After graduation he briefly worked for United Press in New York, Chicago, and other cities. Returning to school, he attended the University of Iowa and completed his M.A. in 1925. Childs was with the Saint Louis Post-Dispatch after 1926. He started as a feature writer but also worked as a foreign correspondent, chief Washington correspondent, and a columnist. With the exception of a few leaves of absence, Childs spent his entire career with the Post-Dispatch. In 1970 he was awarded the Pulizer Prize for journalism. Childs also wrote many books on political and economic matters as well as novels.

The papers of Marquis Childs date from 1939-1978 and measure over five linear feet. They primarily document the writing of many of his books. There are early notes, correspondence, typescripts, proofs, layouts, and galleys for America's Economic Supremacy, I Write from Washington, and Walter Lippmann and His Times, among other titles. There are also general correspondence files spanning over thirty years, speeches, newspaper clippings, and an assortment of press cards and passes.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence
  • 1937-1943
  • 1956-1958
  • 1959-1962
  • Undated
  • America's Economic Supremacy
  • Correspondence - 1947
  • Author's evaluation
  • Typescript, 54 pages, with corrections and revisions
  • Author's proof, June 10, 1947
  • Author's proof, July 23, 1947
  • Printer's copy with revisions
  • "Burial" Typescript with Corrections
    A 9-line poem.
  • The Cabin
  • Typescript with revisions
  • The Cabin. New York: Harper & Brothers Publishers (Inscribed) - 1947
  • Manuscript (On the shelf following the collection)
  • Eisenhower: Captive Hero
  • Correspondence - 1952-1960
  • Notes and Postcards
  • Early Manuscript (incomplete) with corrections and revisions
  • Typescript of preface, with corrections and revisions
  • Typescript (incomplete) with corrections and revisions
  • Page proofs
  • The Farmer Takes A Hand
  • Layouts of the title page (One typed and hand-printed.)
  • Layouts
  • Dummy proofs of front matter in different drafts
  • Publisher's proof
  • Galley proofs: First draft and revised draft
  • I Write From Washington
  • Correspondence - 1942
  • Synopsis and table of contents
  • Original typescript, with revisions
  • Box 2:
  • I Write From Washington (cont.)
  • Carbon typescript
  • Printer's copy with revisions
  • Madame Minister
  • Correspondence - 1939
  • Plot outline, with notes
  • Plot outline, with revisions
  • Reversed plot outline
  • Synopsis of Acts II and III
  • Typescript, with revisions and corrections
  • Carbon typescript
  • "Mass Man in a Technological Society"
    Commencement address, the University of Iowa. June 6, 1969.
  • Maud
  • Correspondence - 1941
  • Act I: Notes
  • Act I: Outline
  • Act I: Typescript (Scenes 1 and 2), with corrections and revisions
  • Act I: Typescript, with corrections and revisions
  • Act I: Typescript, with revisions
  • Act I: Carbon typescript (incomplete)
  • Act I: Carbon typescript
  • Act II: Notes
  • Act II: Typescript (Scenes 1 and 2), with corrections and revisions
  • Act II: Typescript (incomplete), with revisions
  • Act II: Typescript and carbon
  • Act III: Typescript (first draft), with corrections and revisions
  • Act III: Typescript (incomplete), with corrections and revisions
  • Act III: Typescript (second draft), with corrections and revisions
  • Act III: Carbon typescript
  • The Peacemakers
  • Correspondence - 1961
  • Typescript (incomplete) with corrections and revisions
  • Typescript, with corrections and revisions
  • Galley proofs
  • Page proofs
  • Dust jacket
  • First installlment in Saturday Evening Post, Oct. 14, 1961.
  • The Ragged Edge
  • Correspondence - 1954
  • Notes
  • Typescript, with corrections and revisions
  • Carbon typescript (incomplete)
  • Carbon typescript
  • Sweden: The Middle Way
  • Typescript, with corrections and revisions
  • Carbon typescript
  • This Is Your War
  • Layout of front matter
  • Box 3:
  • This Is Your War (cont.)
  • Typescript, with corrections
  • Walter Lippmann And His Times
  • Correspondence - 1959
  • Typescript of introduction: With corrections and revisions plus carbon typescript.
  • Corrections for Arthur M. Schlesinger, Jr. essay
  • Carl Binger, "The Early Years": Typescript with corrections and carbon typescript.
  • George F. Kennan, "Walter Lippmann, the New Republic, and the Russian Revolution": Typescript with corrections (2) and carbon typescript.
  • Iverach McDonald, "The Logic of Allied Unity": Typescript with corrections and carbon typescript.
  • Frank Moraes, "Interpreter of East and West": Carbon typescript
  • Allan Nevins, "Walter Lippmann and the World": Carbon typescript
  • Reinhold Niebuhr, "Democracy, Foreign Policy, and Education": Carbon typescript
  • Typescript, with footnotes and corrections
  • Typescript, with corrections
  • Galley proof with corrections
  • Galley proof
  • Clippings - 1959-1960
  • Miscellaneous
  • "Conference au Sommet des Journalistes" - 1959
  • Invitations, menus, press cards and passes, etc.
  • Newspaper clippings
  • Norton, Howard, Memo on living conditions in the USSR
  • Speeches - 1959-1961
  • Brooks Adams, America's Economic Supremacy - 1947
    With a new evaluation by Marquis W. Childs. Page proofs.
  • Mighty Mississippi: Biography of a River
  • Typescript draft: Sixteen chapters of early draft (Some photocopies)
  • Typescript draft: Fourteen chapters of draft (Photocopies)
  • Chapter 15, unmarked photocopy of typescript
  • Revisions of introduction and chapter sixteen: Typescript and carbon copies with corrections
  • Typescript draft: Seventeen chapters of draft (Photocopies)
  • Printer's copy
  • Box 4:
  • Sweden: The Middle Way on Trial
  • Correspondence - 1960-1978
  • Introduction, typescript carbon
  • Typescript draft
  • Sweden: The Middle Way
  • Typescript draft, with corrections
  • Sweden: The Middle Way. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press (Inscribed) - 1936
  • Sweden: The Middle Way on Trial
  • Page proofs
  • Printer's copy of indexes - 1979
  • Printer's copy
  • They Hate Roosevelt - 1936
    Pamphlet circulated by the Democratic National Committee.
  • This Is Democracy
  • Typescript of early draft
  • Typescript revisions of introduction to Chapter Three
  • "The Town I Like -- Clinton, Iowa"
    Undated essay by Marquis W. Childs.
  • Unidentified manuscript
    Typescript carbon and photocopy.
  • Witness to Power
  • Typescript with holograph revisions
  • Letter from Paul McCloskey, Jr. to Mrs. Jane Neylan Childs, May 19, 1982