Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the J. Gordon Chamberlin Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1930-1994
Creator: Chamberlin, J. Gordon (1914-)
Extent: 20.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0580
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Teacher, Methodist minister and writer on theological and educational subjects. Correspondence, course materials, sermons and speeches, with materials relating to his many books and articles.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: J. Gordon Chamberlin Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

J. Gordon Chamberlin was born March 18, 1914, in Blairstown, Iowa, to Alfred B. and Eunice Chamberlin. He attended Cornell College in Mt. Vernon, Iowa, and received his B.A. in History in 1935. He received his B.D. from Union Theological Seminary of New York City. His focus while there was Christian Ethics. In 1951, he received his Ed.D. degree from Teachers College at Columbia University. His thesis was "Revelation and Education."
 
In 1937, Chamberlin married Elna Challman. Together they had four children: John Stephen, Judith, Philip David, and Mark Andrew. In 1972, they divorced. Chamberlin married Mildred A. Eck in 1973.
 
Chamberlin was ordained a minister in the Methodist church in 1938. He has served as a minister in several congregations. He was a lecturer in religious education and psychology at Union Theological Seminary from 1953-1960. He served as a professor at Pittsburgh Theological Seminary from 1960-1979 and he and his wife, Mildred, moved to Greensboro, North Carolina.
 
Chamberlin has written many books during his long career in the religion and education fields. These include works such as The Church and its Young Adults, The Educating Act, A Phenomenological View, "I Don't Have No Education" and Other Reflections, and Churches vs. Education, A Battle Lost. He has contributed to Existentialism and Phenomenology in Education and Culture as Education. He has written numerous articles for magazines and newspapers.
 
In retirement, he continues to teach occasionally at Greensboro College, write books and articles, and participate in numerous organizations.

The papers of John Gordon Chamberlin consist of forty boxes of manuscripts dating from 1930-1994. The contents include articles and letters to the editor by Chamberlin, correspondence of business, personal, religious, and educational significance. The collection also includes information for courses which Chamberlin taught and organizations to which he belonged. His sermons and speeches are included, as are conference and convention materials from events in which Chamberlin participated.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: JUNE 1985 ADDENDUM
Series 3: DECEMBER 2003 ADDENDUM

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Audiotapes
    Childhood memories of Sadie Chamberlin McClish
  • Bishop's conference with Returned Veterans - 1946
  • Chicago, Illinois consultation on Youth - 1956
  • Childworld, N.Y. Sermons and talks - 1938
  • Christ Church (New York) - 1938-1942
  • Box 2:
  • Christ Church (New York) (cont.) - 1942-1943
  • Clark College Religious Emphasis Week - 1948
  • Cleveland conference, Federal Council of Churches, The Church and a Just Peace - 1944-1945
  • Coaching Conference, Summer Institute Staff - 1955
  • Columbia University Bicentennial - 1954
  • Community Church (New York) - 1936-1938
  • Conference, Adult Education Association - 1953
  • Conference at Teachers College, Religion and Education - 1955
  • Cornell College - 1933-1935
  • Box 3:
  • Cornell College (cont.) - 1932-1936
  • Correspondence respeaking - 1945-1949
  • Correspondence with Harold Ehrensperger - 1944-1952
  • Correspondence with Toru Matsumoto - 1941-1956
  • Correspondence with Bishop G. Bromley Oxnam - 1944-1952
  • Correspondence with Edward Sovik - 1960-1967
  • Correspondence with Raymondo Valenzuela - 1963-1972
  • Correspondence with Westminster Press - 1960-1961
  • Box 4:
  • Correspondence with Westminster Press (cont.) - 1961-1966
  • Course: The World's Conflicting Religions - 1939
  • Course: The Christian and Vocations - 1953
  • Des Moines, Iowa - 1933-1935
  • Federal Council of Churches Commission on Ministry to Returning Service Men and Women - 1945-1946
  • Hennepin Church, Minneapolis - 1949-1950
  • Box 5:
  • Hennepin Church, Minneapolis (cont.) - 1949-1950
  • Manuscripts of 2 plays - 1942, 1947
  • Minneapolis course at Hamline University - 1949-1950
  • National Council of Churches Committee on Cooperation in Latin America - 1959-1960
  • Nashville - 1943-1945
  • New York - 1935-1958
  • Ozone Park, New York Church - 1950-1951
  • Box 6:
  • Ozone Park, New York Church (cont.) - 1950-1951
  • Pittsburgh - 1960
  • Poughkeepsie - 1945-1959
  • Publications - 1936-1959
  • Box 7:
  • Publications (cont.) - 1960-1976
  • Box 8:
  • Revelation and the teaching church, unpublished manuscript - 1955
  • Riverside Church - 1951-1960
  • Box 9:
  • Riverside Church (cont.) - 1953-1960
  • Box 10:
  • Riverside Church (cont.) - 1958-1960
  • Riverside Church Sermons and talks - 1951-1954
  • Box 11:
  • Riverside Church sermons and talks - 1955-1960
  • Box 12:
  • Riverside Church Sunday bulletins - 1952-1957
  • San Francisco United Nations conference - 1945
  • Santiago, Chile sermons and talks - 1959
  • Sermons and talks - 1930-1938
  • Silver Bay, New York Missions conference - 1940-1942
  • Teachers college courses - 1950-1951
  • Box 13:
  • Teachers college courses (cont.) - 1950-1951
  • Teaching the Bible, unpublished manuscript - 1944
  • Union Theological Seminary - 1938-1964
  • Box 14:
  • Union Theological Seminary papers - 1935-1938
  • Union Theological Seminary Prof. Bennett course - 1951
  • Union Theological Seminary Prof. Sherrill course - 1951
  • U.S. Army Chaplain's Christian Leadership Development - 1960
  • Box 15:
  • U.S. Army Chaplain's Christian Leadership Development (2 volumes) - 1960
  • Young Churchman's Conference, Lakeside, Ohio - 1946
  • Box 16:
  • U.S. Army Chaplain's Christian Leadership Development (15 tapes)
  • Box 17:
  • U.S. Army Chaplain's Christian Leadership Development (14 tapes)
  • Box 18:
  • U.S. Army Chaplain's Christian Leadership Development (12 tapes)
  • Box 19:
  • Church/campus Study project (14 tapes) - 1961
  • Box 20:
  • Church/campus Study project (cont.) (14 tapes)
  • Box 21:
  • Church/campus Study project (2 tapes)
  • Two New York City Sermons (tape) - 1956, 1958
  • Interview on television program "The Way To Go" - 1958
  • Santiago, Chile lecture (tape) - 1959
  • New York City Farewell dinner (tape) - 1960
  • Consultation on church architecture (tape) - 1963
  • Series 2: JUNE 1985 ADDENDUM
  • Box 22:
  • Berkeley, California -- Conference on Religion in Higher Education - 1964-1965
  • Buck Hill falls, Pennsylvania -- Committee on Cooperation in Latin America - 1960-1964
  • Buena Vista, Iowa -- Conference on Adult Education - 1971
  • Buenos Aires, Argentina:
  • Consultant for the Facultad Evangelica de Telogia - 1965-1968
  • Journal of Ecumenical Studies - 1967-1969
  • Sabbatical - 1966-1967
  • Butler, Pennsylvania -- Covenant Presbyterian Church - 1972-1974
  • Cedar Rapids, IA -- consultation of Presbyterian Clergy - 1971-1973
  • Chicago, Illinois -- Conference on the Educational Mission of the church - 1970
  • Correspondence -- Westminster Press - 1967-1971
  • Jamestown, New York -- Congregational Self-Study of the First Presbyterian Church - 1971
  • Nashville, Tennessee
  • Board of Education -- Methodist Church - 1942-1945
  • Churchmanship Exchange - 1944-1946
  • Youth Work Conferences - 1944-1947
  • Box 23:
  • New York
  • Chi Alpha - 1956
  • Christ Church Activities - 1938-1953
  • Christ Church Youth - 1943
  • Christian Action - 1953-1959
  • Riverside Church: Community Youth Center - 1955-1960
  • Riverside Church: Printed Material - 1952-1960
  • New York City
  • Baptist Student work committee - 1954-1958
  • Changing Position - 1959-1960
  • Consultation on church design - 1962-1963
  • Doctoral Study Paper - 1950-1951
  • Protestant Foundation at Columbia University - 1955-1960
  • Box 24:
  • New York City (cont.)
  • Seventeenth Quadrennial Conference - 1951-1956
  • Union Seminary Alumni Class of 1938 - 1952-1962
  • Union Theological Seminary Alumni Council - 1959-1964
  • United Church of Christ - 1961-1962
  • New York Conference -- United Methodist Church - 1946-1974
  • Ohio Valley Philosophy of Education society (OVPES) -- Meetings - 1969-1978
  • Philosophy of Education Society -- Meetings - 1970-1973
  • Box 25:
  • Philosophy of Education Society -- Meetings - 1974-1976
  • Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
  • Andrew Farley, Action Group - 1962-1963
  • Association of Professors and Researchers in Religions Education - 1970-1971
  • Christian Vocational Group - 1962-1963
  • Church Architecture Activities - 1960-1967
  • Church Education Study Group - 1968-1971
  • Church & Ministry Division Minutes - 1968-1972
  • Conference on Religion in Higher Education - 1962-1964
  • Consultations: Christian Education - 1968-1969
  • Consultations: Church Building - 1960-1972
  • Consultations: Church Design - 1963-1964
  • Consultations: United Methodist Church, Lost Creek, West Virginia (3 tapes) - 1974
  • Box 26:
  • Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
  • Consultation on Religion in Higher Education - 1961
  • Continuing Education Committee - 1968-1971
  • Danforth Conference - 1961
  • Downtown Apartment Ministry - 1964-1967
  • Education: Resources Center - 1971
  • Education: Search Committee - 1973
  • Episcopal Conference on Church Education - 1973
  • Faculty Meetings - 1971-1972
  • First Lutheran Church: Community Lay School of Theology - 1964-1965
  • First Lutheran Church: Education - 1963-1967
  • First Lutheran Church: Sunday Bulletins - 1963-1965
  • Full Professors Committee - 1970-1971
  • Graduate Professors of Christian Education - 1965-1969
  • Idea About Education - 1963-1979
  • Institute on Church Architecture - 1963-1967
  • Professors & Research Committee - 1963-1968
  • Box 27:
  • Pittsburgh Theological Seminary
  • Church & Ministry Division - 1960-1975
  • Curricular Committee - 1972-1974
  • Community Oriented Study Program - 1970-1971
  • Continuing Education - 1973
  • Curriculum Committee - 1973-1976
  • Doctor of Ministry Degree Program - 1970-1976
  • Editorial Committee - 1973-1974
  • Faculty: By- Laws Committee - 1972-1978
  • Faculty: Meeting Minutes - 1969-1973
  • Box 28:
  • Pittsburgh Theological Seminary (cont.)
  • Faculty Meeting Minutes - 1973-1979
  • Field Education Committee - 1960-1971
  • General Materials - 1960-1965
  • nstitute on Church Design - 1962-1965
  • Box 29:
  • Pittsburgh Theological Seminary (cont.)
  • Search Committee - 1975-1976
  • Special Committee on Organization, - 1975-1976
  • Task Force on women - 1973
  • Pittsburgh
  • Pennsylvania Council of Churches, Education Division - 1968-1969
  • Philosophy of Education Society Meetings - 1975-1976
  • Preparation of Book Existentialism & Phenomenology in Education - 1950-1973
  • Presbyterian Consultations on Christian Education - 1964-1966
  • Report to Christ Church, New York - 1965
  • Research Project: Churches near Campus - 1960-1962
  • Sabbatical Planning - 1965-1966
  • Safety Communications Foundation: Financial Records - 1968-1972
  • Safety Communications Foundation: General - 1967-1969
  • Safety Communications Foundation: Turnpike Radio, Presentation Manual - 1967-1973
  • Box 30:
  • Pittsburgh (cont.)
  • Sermons, Speeches, Writing - 1960-1964
  • Box 31:
  • Pittsburgh (cont.)
  • Sermons, Speeches, Writing (cont.) - 1965-1971
  • Box 32:
  • Pittsburgh (cont.)
  • Southern Association of Colleges, Evaluation Committee - 1968
  • Poughkeepsie, New York
  • Christian Nurture Exchange - 1947-1948
  • Ecumenical Conference - 1947
  • Methodist Committee on Veterans Affairs - 1945-1946
  • Youth Committee, Methodist church - 1945-1948
  • Youth Restudy - 1945-1948
  • Published Articles - 1943-1959
  • Saltsburg, Pennsylvania, Consultation of Ministry - 1972-1973
  • Scranton, Pennsylvania, Central City Churches Consultation - 1966
  • Sewickley, Pennsylvania, Ministers Consultation on Education - 1971
  • Society for Phenomenology & Existential Philosophy, Meeting - 1973
  • Box 33:
  • Society for Phenomenology & Existential Philosophy, Meeting - 1974
  • Washington Conference: Christian Education Professors - 1960-1961
  • Washington, DC
  • Conferences of Professors of Church Education, Mid-Atlantic States - 1961-1970
  • March on Washington, Newspaper clippings - 1963
  • Wheeling, West Virginia: Consultation with Methodist Clergy - 1971
  • Box 34:
  • Articles: Published articles and letters to the editor written by Chamberlin and articles about Chamberlin - 1950-1993
  • Books
  • The Church and its Young Adults, Royalty Statements - 1950-1958
  • Church vs. Education: A Battle Lost  - 1994
  • Courses
  • Administration of Christian Education, Princeton Theological Seminary - 1960
    Includes some correspondence.
  • Appropriation, Pittsburgh Theological Seminary - 1962
  • The Bible in Church Education, Pittsburgh Theological Seminary - 1976
  • Campus Christian Ministry, Union Theological Seminary - 1953
  • Christian Education, Pittsburgh Theological Seminary - 1968
  • Christian Eduaction Among Adults, Garrett Seminary, Evanston, Illinois
    Includes some correspondence.
  • Christian Education in Cultural Context, Pittsburgh University - 1969
  • Church and Education, Pittsburgh Theological Seminary - 1964
  • Church and Ministry III: Education Portion, Pittsburgh Theological Seminary - 1963
  • Church and Ministry VI: Education and Administration, Pittsburgh Theological Seminary - 1965
  • Box 35:
  • Courses (cont.)
  • Church Education Programming, Pittsburg Theological Seminary - 1973
  • Churches and Public Eduction, Pittsburgh Theological Seminary - 1979
  • Contemporary Concerns in Christian Education, Lutheran Theological Seminary, Gettysburg, PA - 1968
    Includes some correspondence.
  • Current Developments in Christian Education, Pittsburgh Theological Seminary - 1960
  • Current Views of How We Learn, Pittsburgh Theological Seminary - 1977
  • The Discussion Method: Theory and Practice, Pittsburgh Theological Seminary - 1973
  • Doctoral Seminar on Education, Pittsburgh Theological Seminary - 1976
  • Education and Liberation, Pittsburgh Theological Seminary - 1974
  • Education and Ministry, Union Theological Seminary, Richmond, VA - 1969
  • Education in the Local Church, Christ United Presbyterian Church, Lay program, Canton, OH - 1969
  • Education Laboratory, Pittsburgh Theological Seminary - 1975
  • Education Seminar, Pittsburgh Theological Seminary, Extension Doctoral Program - 1975
  • Educational Foundations, Greensboro College - 1981
  • Box 36:
  • Courses (cont.)
  • History of Christian Education, University of Pittsburgh - 1962
  • A History of Education Conducted by Churches, Greensboro College - 1979
  • Images and Issues of Ministry, Pittsburgh Theological Seminary - 1970
  • Introduction to Religious Education, University of Pittsburgh - 1971
  • Methodist History, Doctrine and Polity, Pittsburgh Theological Seminary - 1974
  • The Minister of Christian Education, Pittsburgh Theological Seminary - 1968
  • The Ministry in Higher Education, Princeton Theological Seminary
  • Box 37:
  • Courses (cont.)
  • Religion and Public Education, Pittsburgh Theological Seminary, Continuing Education, Canton, OH - 1969
  • Theology and Education, University of Pittsburgh - 1964
  • Course Evaluations, Pittsburgh Theological Seminary (Spring semester) - 1973
  • Demobilization Activities, World War II, Nashville, TN - 1944-1945
  • Correspondence, demobilization bulletins, seminar information, newspaper clippings
  • Greensboro College, Correspondence
  • Hobbies
  • Orientation and Art: photographs of artwork, art show programs - 1972-1976
  • Architecture: architectural plan, photographs, correspondence - 1965-1987
  • Greensboro Civic Orchestra - 1982-1986
    Cello workshop information, executive board minutes for GCO, and performance programs.
  • Organizations and Projects Orientation - 1951-1988
  • Organizations
  • Citizens for Justice and Unity: Orientation
  • Citizens for Justice and Unity: Member, Greensboro, NC - 1979-1983
  • Citizens for Justice and Unity: Member, Greensboro, NC - 1982-1983
  • Citizens for Justice and Unity: Unity Project on "Understanding Racism," director - 1982
  • Box 38:
  • Organizations (cont.)
  • Consultant on Urban Crisis for Church Federation, Dayton, OH - 1965, 1966, 1968
  • Covenant United Presbyterian Church, Butler, PA. Consultant, Congregational Self-Study - 1973
  • Evangelica de Teologia: Consultant, Facultad, Buenos Aires, Argentina - 1966-1968
  • First Lutheran Church, Pittsburgh, PA. Teacher for Education Program - 1963-1965
  • Greensboro Visions Program Housing Taskforce - 1985-1990
  • Methodist Consultations on Christian Education, Participant - 1978
  • Methodist Consultations on Church Education, Participant - 1975-1977
  • Morningside Heights, Mental Health Committee, New York - 1955
  • National Council of Churches: Latin America Dept., New York - 1966
  • Box 39:
  • Organizations (cont.)
  • National Council of Churches: Dept. of Pastoral Services, New York - 1951-1957
  • Orange County Community College Enrichment Program for Gifted High School Students - 1960-1973
  • Pennsylvania Council of Churches: Member, Board of Directors, Harrisburg, PA, Meeting minutes - 1966-1967
  • Pennsylvania Council of Churches: Chairman, Dept. of Education, Harrisburg, PA - 1966-1970
  • Pennsylvania Council of Churches, Dept. of Education, minutes and memos - 1967-1970
  • Pennsylvania Council of Churches: Member, Study Committee, Harrisburg, PA - 1968-1969
  • Religious Education Study Group, Pittsburgh, PA - 1968-1970, 1995
  • Safety Communications Foundation, Pittsburgh, PA - 1967-1970
  • School Human Relations Exchange Group, Greensboro, NC - 1982
  • Box 40:
  • Organizations (cont.)
  • School Human Relations Exchange Group - 1983
    Regarding corporal punishment of North Carolina school district students.
  • Scranton Central City Churches, Scranton, PA. Exploratory Study - 1966
  • St. John's Episcopal Church, Memphis, TN - 1969-1971
  • University of Calgary (Canada), External Examiner for Doctoral Dissertation - 1978
  • Papers presented at Philosophy of Education meetings - 1971-1994
  • Pittsburgh Theological Seminary financial arrangements - 1960-1979
  • The Riverside Church
  • Orientation Material - 1951, 1960
    Includes correspondence, history of Riverside Church pamphlet, and dedication programs for south wing.
  • Practical Arrangements - 1951-1960
    Includes correspondence.
  • Speeches and articles
  • Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania - 1950s-1960s
  • General - 1970s
    Includes correspondence.
  • General - 1980s
  • United Methodist Church. New York Conference - 1945-1948
    Includes worksheets and minutes of meetings of the Board of Education and Missions.
  • University of Pittsburgh. - 1954-1988
    Arrangement for Adjunct Status, Correspondence, Writing and speaking orientation listing.
  • Series 3: DECEMBER 2003 ADDENDUM
  • Box 41:
  • Academic certificates
  • Bishop's Conference With Returned Veterans (July 4-7) - 1946
  • Chamberlin genealogy
  • Chamberlin's copy of God's Trombones by James Weldon Johnson
  • Christian Leadership Program - 1960
  • Crossing Boundaries: First National Council of Urban Issues (November 11-13) - 1994
  • Designs for Education
    Class assignment at Pittsburgh Theological Seminary. (Draw a design which expresses your view of Christian education)
  • Educational devices, Pittsburgh Theological Seminary
  • Exploration and Replication, Coalition Addressing Systemic Poverty - 1992-1993
  • House at Ridgecrest Drive, Greensboro, North Carolina
  • Installation services (Audio casette tape)
  • Latin American Foundation - 1959
  • Log of building a house in Poughkeepsie, New York
  • Mildred Eck Chamberlin
    Includes audio casette tape of her memorial service
  • Mortgage deed, Johnson County, Iowa, Signed by Jas. Chamberlin - 1866
  • Negro poetry, transcibed by Chamberlin into a small notebook for recitations
  • North Carolina Poverty Project
    See Box 42
  • Book 1 - 1971-1994
    Presented at meetings of Philosophy Education Society, Ohio Valley Philosopy of Education Society, South Atlantic Philosophy of Education Society.
  • Philosophy of Education Society: "An Educational Occasion: A Preliminary Phenomenological Analysis" - 1971
  • Philosophy of Education Society: "Expectations in Education" - 1972
  • Ohio Valley Philosophy of Education Society: "On Understanding" - 1973
  • Ohio Valley Philosophy of Education Society: "Authority and Approriation in Education" - 1974
  • Ohio Valley Philosophy of Education Society: "'I Don't Have No Education' or What is Your Paradigm?" - 1975
  • Ohio Valley Philosophy of Education Society: "How Green Was Your Valley?" - 1977
  • Philosophy of Education Society: "The Ehtical Dilemma of Trying to Help Someone Learn Something" - 1977
  • South Atlantic Philosophy of Education Society: "Considering An Educator's Ultimate Concern" - 1980
  • South Atlantic Philosophy of Education Society: "Teacher or Educator: Problems in Context in Teacher Education" - 1981
  • South Atlantic Philosophy of Education Society: "Is Education a Business?" - 1982
  • South Atlantic Philosophy of Education Society: "New Directions in Philosophy of Education" - 1983
  • South Atlantic Philosophy of Education Society: "Some Problems with Norms" - 1984
  • South Atlantic Philosophy of Education Society: "What is Schooling?" - 1985
  • South Atlantic Philosophy of Education Society: "The Buber Model, Reconsidered" - 1986
  • South Atlantic Philosophy of Education Society: "Reconsidering Moral Education" - 1987
  • South Atlantic Philosophy of Education Society: "Teaching as Threat" - 1988
  • South Atlantic Philosophy of Education Society: "It is Possible to be Philosophical About Poverty?"
  • South Atlantic Philosophy of Education Society: "Sports and the Culture" - 1992
  • South Atlantic Philosophy of Education Society: "Schools and the Students' Worlds" - 1994
  • Book 2 - 1963-2000
    Presented at various meetings.
  • "Protestantism and Higher Education." Philosophy of Education Society, - 1963
  • "Four Reports, Re-evaluation Program." Facultad Evangelica de Teologia, Buenos Aires - 1967
  • "The Evaluation of an Educational Institution in Another Culture." Professors of Christian Education, Middle Atlantic States - 1968
  • "What War?" Meeting of Executive Directors, Departments of Social Services, Durham, North Carolina - 1991
  • "Dimensions of Poverty." Meeting of faculty and students, Departments of Education and Social Work, Buffalo State College, New York - 1994
  • "Education of the Urban Poor." Meeting of faculty and students, Departments of Education and Social Work, Buffalo State College, New York, - 1994
  • "Structured Ambiguities and Four Undones." Southern Sociological Society Meeting, Atlanta, Georgia - 1998
  • "Curiosities in Our Culture and The Other View of Poverty." Annual meetings, American Education Studies Association, Detroit, Michigan - 1999
  • "Further Reflections on Addressing Poverty." Board of Directors Meeting, Poverty Coalition, Atlanta, Georgia - 2000
  • "Choosing What: Process or Product." South Atlantic Philosophy of Education Society, Fayetteville, North Carolina - 2001
  • Book 3
  • "Contemporary Art and Christian Education"
  • "Protestantism and Higher Education"
  • "Discipleship in Academia"
  • "What War?"
  • "Dimensions of Poverty"
  • "Curiosities in Our Culture and the Other View of Poverty"
  • "On Addressing Poverty"
  • "Choosing What: Process or Product?"
  • Photographs
  • Birthplace, Blairstown, Iowa
  • Family reunion, Princeton, Iowa. Photographed by Allen Chamberlin - 1919, 1929
  • Ozone Park church
  • Pictures from India (Missionaries) - 1905-1910
  • "A Plea for Cuba"
    Speech given by Senator John M. Thurston in the U.S. Senate, used by Chamberlin in oratorical contests.
  • "Program on Understanding Poverty." Poverty Coalition
  • First Report. Compiled by J. Gordon and Mary N. Chamberlin - 2000
  • Second Report: "A Multi-Discipline Approach" - 2003
  • Riverside Church (New York). Miscellaneous
  • Slate and Paint
  • Upon Whom We Depend. Brochure for the book by Chamberlin
  • Box 42: The North Carolina Poverty Project
  • Correspondence
  • Poverty Study Packet
  • Publications
  • 19 Reasons for Being in Poverty
  • Causes of Poverty
  • Community Action in North Carolina
  • Finding Out About Poverty in North Carolina
  • Finding Out About the Other North Carolina
  • The General Plan
  • Helping Students Study Poverty
  • How We Feed the Poor
  • I Have Walked
  • North Carolinians Write About Poverty
  • The Poor Among Us
  • Poverty and Civic Responsibility
  • Poverty in the East
  • Poverty Project Exploration
  • Poverty Project Exploration: Preparing for the Workshop
  • Replication Handbook
  • Sector Council Members
  • Superintendents Discuss Impacts of Poverty on Public Schools
  • Thinking About Poverty
  • Underlying Issues For the Rural Summit
  • Box 43:
  • Daily Suggester (Appointment diaries)
  • - 1936-1937
  • - 1943-1966
  • - 1968-1989
  • Pastor's record of funerals (partial) - 1940-1960
  • Pastor's records of weddings - 1938-1956, 1956-1971
  • Box 44:
  • Blueprints for house at 911 Ridgecrest Drive, Greensboro, North Carolina