Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Mary Huiskamp Calhoun

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1964-1968
Creator: Calhoun, Mary Huiskamp (-1926)
Extent: 2.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: MSC0577
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Well-known children's author. This collection consists of several versions of her manuscript for Magic in the Alley. Iowa Author Ms.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Mary Huiskamp Calhoun, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Mary Calhoun was born in Keokuk, Iowa, in 1926, where she grew up in a large red brick house on a bluff above the Mississippi. Her Welsh mother told her stories of fairies, witches, and magical doings. She decided at the age of seven that she wanted to be a writer, and she wrote poetry and fantasies and became a storyteller. As a teenager, she worked in the local public library conducting their story hour. In 1948 she earned a B.A. degree in Journalism at the University of Iowa. She worked for the Omaha World-Herald in 1948 and for the Gresham Outlook in Gresham, Oregon, as a society editor in 1948 -- 1949.

Calhoun wrote more than forty children's books, as well as stories for children's magazines. An avid student of folklore, she wrote many stories based on folklore. A cat-lover as well, many of her books feature cats.

C. Pummer and J.

Four progressive and dated manuscript drafts of Magic in the Alley, published in 1970.
http://special.lib.umn.edu/clrc/kerlan/index.php

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.