Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Eugene L. Burdick Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1962
Creator: Burdick, Eugene L. (1918-1965)
Extent: 2.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: MSC0574
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Author and co-author of such books as The Ugly American and Fail-Safe. This collection contains a manuscript for the book The Blue of Capricorn, and the serialized version of Fail-Safe, as well as clippings relating to Burdick. Iowa Author Ms.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The typescript of The Blue of Capricorn was given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Eugene Burdick in 1961.

Preferred Citation: Eugene L. Burdick Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The author and political scientist Eugene Burdick was born in 1918 in Sheldon, Iowa, and moved to Los Angeles at the age of 4. Burdick attended Stanford University and Oxford University where he earned a Ph.D. degree in psychology. In 1956 his critically acclaimed novel The Ninth Wave was published and in 1958 his controversial bestseller The Ugly American appeared, which he co-authored with William J. Lederer. In the following years Burdick continued to publish books and articles, including the 1962 Fail-Safe, co-authored with Harvey Wheeler. In 1965 he died of a heart attack at the age of 46.

This collection contains a typescript of Burdick's book The Blue of Capricorn and the serialized version of his story Fail-Safe that appeared in the Saturday Evening Post in 1962.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CLIPPINGS
Series 2: ESSAYS
Series 3: MANUSCRIPTS

  • Series 1: CLIPPINGS
  • Box 1:
  • Clippings
  • Series 2: ESSAYS
  • Box 1:
  • "The Bitter Cost of Sweet Charity." Reprint
  • Series 3: MANUSCRIPTS
  • Box 1:
  • The Blue of Capricorn
    Carbon typescript. (2 folders)
  • Fail-Safe, "Saturday Evening Post," serialized version, October - 1962

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Burdick, Eugene

Topics:
Authors, American

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Clippings (Information artifacts)
Novels
Typescripts

Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Novelists, Story Writers, & Poets