Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Hazel E. Brown Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1926-1973
Creator: Brown, Hazel E. (1893-)
Extent: .75 linear foot.
Collection Number: MSC0573
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Writer and friend of both Grant Wood and Marvin Cone. The collection contains research notes and manuscripts for the book, as well as clippings about Brown herself. Iowa Author Mss.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Hazel E. Brown in 1974.

Preferred Citation: Hazel E. Brown Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Hazel E. Brown was born in August 1893 in Lowell, Massachusetts, but later moved to Cedar Rapids, Iowa, where she became friends with her fellow students Grant Wood and Marvin Cone. In 1971 her book, Grant Wood and Marvin Cone - Artists of an Era, was published.

C. Pummer and J. Roethler, August 2004.

Hazel E. Brown's manuscripts regarding her book Grant Wood and Marvin Cone - Artists of an Era. Various clippings.
Published copies of Grant Wood and Marvin Cone: Artists of an Era can be found in the following locations:

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Iowa Authors Collection No call number

ART Library, call number ND236 .B74

MAIN Library, call number ND236 .B74

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CLIPPINGS
Series 2: MANUSCRIPTS

  • Series 1: CLIPPINGS
  • Box 1:
  • Clippings about Brown
  • Series 2: MANUSCRIPTS
  • Sub-Series: Grant Wood and Marvin Cone - Artists of an Era
  • Box 1:
  • Background material, i.e. brochures - 1965-1973
  • Correspondence - 1965-1970
  • Newspaper clippings - 1926-1970
  • Notes and early typescript drafts
    3 folders
  • Box 2:
  • Notes and early typescript drafts
  • Typescript -- miscellaneous pages with revisions
  • Typescript
  • Typescript -- with corrections and revisions
    2 folders