Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Irving Brant Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1962-1972
Creator: Brant, Irving (1885-1976)
Extent: 1.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0569
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Writer and journalist. Manuscripts for four of his books, including The Bill of Rights.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Irving Brant from 1962-1972.

Preferred Citation: Irving Brant Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

A native of Walker, Iowa, Irving Brant (1885 -- 1976) graduated from the University of Iowa in 1909. He became a reporter for the Iowa City Republican in 1909 and later served as a reporter and editor with the Clinton Herald and the Des Moines Register and Tribune. In 1918 he joined the St. Louis Star as an editorial writer. He left in 1923, to try playwriting. His works were performed in regional theaters but never made Broadway. During this time he also wrote poetry, short stories, children's novels, and magazine articles. Brant returned to newspaper work in 1930 as editorial page editor of the St. Louis Star-Times. After 1938 (except for a two year stint with the Chicago Sun), Brant pursued writing on a full-time basis. His monumental biography of James Madison is now the standard reference work and is generally considered to be one of the most important historical biographies of our time.

The papers of Irving Brant date from 1962 to 1972 and consist of the literary manuscripts for four of his books. Arranged alphabetically, the books include: The Bill of Rights, The Fourth President, Friendly Cove, and Impeachment. There are typescript drafts of each book, while some (such as The Bill of Rights) also include correspondence and galley proofs.

The bulk of Brant's papers are in the Library of Congress, and his manuscripts of the Madison biography are held by Princeton University.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Topics:
American literature
Authors, American

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Drafts (Documents)

Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Journalists and Journalism