Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Bruce Bliven Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1952-1965
Creator: Bliven, Bruce (1889-1977)
Extent: 1.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0566
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Author, editor of The New Republic 1923-1953, and journalist. Typescript drafts, galleys, and page proofs for two books, Preview of Tomorrow and The World Changers.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Bruce Bliven in 1953 and 1968.

Preferred Citation: Bruce Bliven Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Bruce Bliven was born in Emmetsburg, Iowa, in 1889. He grew up there, attended the public schools, and graduated from high school in 1907. His family had fallen on hard times in Iowa and after he graduated from high school, the entire family moved to Los Angeles, California. A cousin offered to pay $40.00 each month for him to attend Stanford University. For extra money, Bliven, who had won prizes for writing in Emmetsburg, found a job as the campus correspondent on the San Francisco Bulletin. When he graduated in 1911, he moved to Los Angeles and began to write advertising copy for local businesses as well as teaching at the University of Southern California. In 1914 he became the director of USC's department of journalism. He continued working as the Southern California correspondent for a number of trade magazines including Printer's Ink. After attending an advertising convention where he met the publishers of Printer's Ink, he was invited to move East and join the staff as assistant managing editor. From there he moved to the New York Globe where he was the managing editor. In 1923, he moved to the The New Republic. Bliven became editor-in-chief in 1930, a position that he held until a heart attack forced his retirement in 1953.

Bruce Bliven freelanced articles for Harpers, Atlantic Monthly, American Heritage and other publications, along with writing books such as Preview for Tomorrow, The World Changers, Men Who Made the Future, and his autobiography Five Million Words Later. Bliven died on May 27, 1977, following a fall at his home.

The papers of Bruce Bliven consist of one box of manuscripts, which document the writing of Preview for Tomorrow and The World Changers. He gave these to the University of Iowa in 1953 and in 1968. Included are early typescripts, final typescripts, galley and page proofs, specimen illustrations, and more.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Sub-Series: Clippings
  • Box 1:
  • Clippings and publications about Mr. Bliven - 1954-1977
    Includes Mr. Bliven's obituary
  • Sub-Series: Preview for Tomorrow, published in 1953
  • Box 1:
  • Early typescript with corrections and revisions
    2 folders
  • Final typescript with revisions
    2 folders
  • Galley proofs with corrections and revisions - 1952
  • Specimen illustration, including copy, fine-screen halftone, and caption
  • Page proofs (first and second) with corrections - 1952
  • Sub-Series: The World Changers, published in 1965
  • Box 1:
  • Typescript with corrections
    3 folders
  • Galley proofs with corrections
  • Galley proofs