Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Alfred M. Bailey Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1949-1955
Creator: Bailey, Alfred M. (1894-1978)
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0561
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Naturalist and writer. Manuscripts of his books and articles, primarily about birds.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries over a period of years, beginning in 1949.

Preferred Citation: Alfred M. Bailey Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Naturalist Alfred Marshall Bailey (1894-1978) was born in Iowa City, Iowa. He graduated from the University of Iowa in 1916. As an undergraduate he took part in the government-sponsored experdition to Laysan Island, the first of many experditions he would take in his career. In 1919 he joined the U.S. Biological Survey in Alaska. Two years later, as a staff member of the Denver Museum of Natural History, he led expeditions to Siberia and Arctic Alaska. He returned to the Denver Museum of Natural History as its director in 1936 and remained there until his death at the age of 84. Bailey's specialty was ornithology, and he wrote a number of articles and books on the subject, including Birds of New Zealand and Birds of Colorado.

The Alfred M. Bailey papers reflect his work as a naturalist and ornithologist and are comprised of manuscripts of late professional publications. These date from 1949 to 1955 and include articles he wrote from the Denver Museum of Natural History's publication, Museum Pictorial. Each book or article includes rough drafts, typescripts, and proofs. Some also contain correspondence and published versions.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: CLIPPINGS

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Birds of Alaska Drafts of section about Branta Canadensis leucoporeia showing opinion change.
    Incomplete mss. Related correspondence.
  • Series 2: CLIPPINGS
  • Sub-Series: Denver Museum of Natural History, Museum Pictorials
  • Box 1:
  • No. 1: dated June 1950, but published February - 1951
    Nature photography with miniature cameras. Drafts, galleys, page and press proofs, published magazine, related ephemera.
  • No. 3: published October 15 - 1951
    Stepping Stones Across the Pacific. Published magazine.
  • No. 6: July - 1952
    Laysan and black-footed albatrosses. Drafts, galley, press proof, published magazine.
  • No. 9: September - 1953
    The red crossbills of Colorado. Drafts, press proof, published magazine.
  • No. 11: June - 1955
    Birds of New Zealand. Draft, page and press proofs, galley, published magazine.
  • List of titles, numbers 1-9
  • Sub-Series: Denver Museum of Natural History, Museum Publications. Popular Series
  • Box 1:
  • Catalog

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Denver Museum of Natural History

Topics:
Authors, American
Ornithology

Occupations:
Naturalists

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Drafts (Documents)

Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Prose Writers
Prose Writers