Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Marcus Bach Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1948-1995
Creator: Bach, Marcus (1906-1995)
Extent: 1.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0560
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Religion professor and writer. Early typescript drafts of six of his books, including The Dream Gate and Report to Protestants.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Marcus Bach gave these papers to the University of Iowa Libraries over a period of years.

Preferred Citation: Marcus Bach Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Marcus Bach (1906-1995) was born in Sauk City, Wisconsin. He trained for the ordained ministry at Mission House College and seminary in Plymouth, Wisconsin. After a pastorate in Kansas City, Missouri, Marcus Bach returned to school to pursue play writing . He received his M.A. (1937) and Ph.D. (1942) from the University of Iowa's School of Religion, and joined the faculty there, teaching about little known religious sects. He also presented the course in radio. In 1961, he resigned from the School of Religion to pursue lecturing and writing full time. He authored twenty-seven books, as well as numerous plays and articles.

The papers of Marcus Bach date from approximately 1948 to 1995 and consist of 1.5 linear feet of literary manuscripts for six of his books. There are early typescripts and printer's typescripts representing such works as The Dream Gate, Report to Protestants, and The Unity Way of Life. There is also a file of clippings about Bach.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Sub-Series: Clippings
  • Box 1:
  • Includes Mr. Bach's obituary and clippings concerning Lorena Bach, Mr. Bach's wife - 1947-1995
  • Sub-Series: Manuscripts
  • Box 1:
  • The Dream Gate - 1949
    Printer's typescript - with revisions (3 folders)
  • Let Life Be Like This! - 1963
    Original typescript - copyedited (2 folders)
  • Make It An Adventure - 1962
    Original typescript - copyedited (2 folders)
  • Report to Protestants - 1948
    Printer's typescript - with revisions (2 folders)
  • Strange Alters - 1952
    Early typescript - with corrections and revisions (2 folders)
  • The Unity Way of Life - 1962
    Original typescript - copyedited (2 folders)
  • Sub-Series: Pamphlet
  • Box 1:
  • Words to Live By
  • Sub-Series: Playbill
  • Box 1:
  • Production of "Haym Salomon" - 1942
    Includes six photographs from the production