Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Betty Anderson Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1952
Creator: Anderson, Betty (1908-1966)
Extent: 6.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: MSC0554
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Young adult fiction writer, journalist. Contains correspondence, manuscript, newspaper clippings, and obituary.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Betty Baxter Anderson in the 1950s.

Preferred Citation: Betty Anderson Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Mrs. Betty Baxter Anderson (1908-1966) was born in Cornell, Iowa and later moved to Iowa City where she graduated from Iowa City High School. Mrs. Anderson graduated of the University of Iowa and also earned a Master of Arts from the University of San Diego College for Women. Mrs. Anderson authored twenty books for teen aged readers including Powder Monkey, Alabama Raiders, and The Secret of the Old Books. Mrs. Anderson lived in La Jolla, California with her husband, Dr. Ernest W. Anderson, and two children, Anthony and Kay, until her death on June 17, 1966.

The Betty Baxter Anderson collection contains correspondence with her publisher, Thomas Nelson & Sons, and with the SUI Library. Drafts and publisher's copies of the 'The Secret of the Old Books' manuscript are included as well as the book jacket and the press proof of the title page. Newspaper clippings and Mrs. Anderson's obituary are also included.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Book jacket and title page proof for "The Secret of the Old Books"
  • Correspondence with publisher and SUI Library - 1941-1952
  • Manuscript, "The Secret of the Old Books"
  • Early Draft (unrevised)
  • Draft (with changes and corrections)
  • Revised Draft
  • Publisher's Copy and Carbon Copy
  • Galley Proof
  • Newspaper clippings and obituary

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.