Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Curtis Companies Inc. records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1869-1948
Creator:
Extent: 60.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0551
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Founded in 1866 and dissolved in 1938, the Curtis Companies were a conglomerate of associated sash, door, and millwork companies that eventually consolidated into a single corporation. Includes correspondence, ledgers, journals, cashbooks, stockbooks, and minute books, with correspondence of U.S. Representative George M. Curtis.

Alternate Extent Statement: Inc.

Arrangement: Companies

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by George Curtis in 1959.

Preferred Citation: Records of the Curtis Companies Inc., The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The bulk of the collection consists of financial ledgers, cashbooks, stock books, and similar detailed financial records. The following inventory of the ledgers is as they are arranged on the shelf. They are not in chronological or alphabetical order.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.