Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the W.J. Young & Co. Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1855-1914
Creator:
Extent: 231.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0550
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Correspondence, letter books, estimates, order books, sales records, cashbooks, ledgers, daybooks, journals, payroll books, account books, invoices, freight bills, loading slips, time tickets, canceled checks, trial balances, balance sheets, statistics on purchases and output, contracts, towboat logs, a pine land register, a manifest, and other records of the home office in Clinton and select branch offices.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Floyd E. Risvold of Minneapolis gave materials, including logging contracts and correspondence, in 1958.The main body of records was given to the Univeristy of Iowa Libraries by Robert Evans, President of the W.J. Young Company, in 1969.

Preferred Citation: W.J. Young & Co. Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The following information about the collection is from a note in the bibliography of George Wesley Sieber, Sawmilling on the Mississippi, the J.W. Young Lumber Company, 1850 -1900. PhD dissertation, The University of Iowa, 1960:

The major source of information for this work was the W. J. Young & Company Collection in the Main Library at the State University of Iowa, Iowa City. Some of the items in the collection are not labeled; some letter books are without covers; pages are missing, as well as entire volumes; but on the whole the material is quite complete and well preserved, and consists approximately of the following: 186 Letter Press Books, averaging 1,000 pages, including estimates, invoices, other correspondence with customers, and letters touching upon the problems of obtaining sawlogs, manufacturing, and marketing lumber. Many of the letters are in Young's handwriting and quite readable to the practiced eye, although occasional pages are so indistinct as to make their reading impossible, or at best, an extremely slow process. Some of the volumes contain their original numbers on the bindings. Others are numbered inside the covers, or on the first page. The headings: General Letters; Estimates; or Invoices, are on numerous covers. Book 57 is particularly valuable for information on the administration of pine lands and logging and is in Box 173.

A second group of Letter Press Books, in chronological order on the same shelves with the others, consists of books not used at Clinton, but at the branch yards of Wheatland, Belle Plaine, Tama, Council Bluffs, and Omaha. These volumes are lettered inside the covers from A to U. Much of the branch yard correspondence was with the Clinton home office, and the same letters are in Box 56 of the firm's incoming correspondence.

The Incoming correspondence is spread among 174 boxes, average size being 6x6x24 inches. They are numbered and labeled only vaguely as to contents. The vast majority of the letters consist of dealers' orders for lumber. Some of the boxes contain nothing but freight bills, loading slips, time tickets, and cancelled checks. Boxes 42, 54, 64, 108, 109, and 153 contain some of Young's personal receipts and correspondence, including a few letters from Frederick Weyerhaeuser. Box 174 contains Young's family correspondence.

INVENTORY

Letterpress Books

1. June 1855-May 30, 1860

2. May 30, 1860-April 10, 1862

3. April 10, 1960-January 27, 1863

4. January 28, 1863-October 19, 1863

5. October 20, 1863-July 7, 1864

6. July 8, 1863-March 13, 1865

7. March 14, 1865-JuIy 24, 1865

8. November 6, 1865-May 15, 1866

9. Novembe 6y, 1865-May 15, 1866

10. May 15, 1866-September 13, 1866

11. September 13, 1866-April 6, 1867

12. April 6, 1867-April 8, 1868

13. October 2, 1867-April 8, 1868

14. April 9, 1868-August 19, 1868

15. August 19, 1868-November 25, 1868

16. November 25, 1868-April 5, 1869

17. April 5, 1869-June 1, 1869

18. June 1, 1869-September 9, 1869

18a. Council Bluffs. May 3, 1869-August 1869

18b. Council Bluffs. Augut 20, November 9, 1869

19. September 9, 1869-January 8, 1870

20. Yards. July 1, 1869-October 7, 1870

21. January 8, 1870-May 25, 1870

22. May 26, 1870-October 28, 1870

22a Council Bluffs. July 16, 1870-October 28, 1870

G. Council Bluffs. October 29, 1870-April 5, 1871

23. October 28, 1870-January 10, 1871

F. Omaha. Augst 6, 1870-May 8, 1871

x-1: Yards. October 8, 1870-August 31, 1871

24. January 11, 1871-May 8, 1871

25. May 9, 1871-September 4, 1871

k. May 9, 1871-March 12, 1872

x-2. Council Bluffs. April 6, 1871-September 26, 1871

x-3. Council Bluffs. September 26, 1871-March 8, 1872

L. Council Bluffs. March 11, 1872-October 18, 1872

x-4. Omaha. March 12, 1871-October 24, 1872

27. September 5, 1871-December 30, 1871

28. Yards. September 1, 1871-November 8, 1872

29. Yards. November 9, 1872-January 31, 1874

30. May 30, 1872-September 26, 1872

31. January 3, 1872-May 30, 1872

32. September 26, 1872-December 7, 1872

M. Omaha. October 26, 1872-October 24, 1873

N. Council Bluffs. November 4, 1872-April 11, 1873

33. October 22, 1873-October 24, 1873

34. December 7, 1872-April 8, 1873

35. April 8, 1873-June 19, 1873

36. June 19, 1873-August 22, 1873

37. August 23, 1873-October 21, 1873

38. February 5, 1874-April 2, 1874

39. Apri1 3, 1874-May 30, 1874

40. June 1, 1874-August 8, 1874

41. August 10, 1874-November 18, 1874

42. November 19, 1874-March 29, 1875

43. March 30, 1875-June 24, 1875

44. June 25, 1875-September 21, 1875

45. September 21, 1875-December 31, 1875

O. Omaha. June 10,1874-March 4, 1875

P. Omaha. March 3, 1875-September 15, 1875

Q. Omaha. September 16, 1875-April 25, 1876

V. Omaha. October 25, 1873-June 9, 1874

46. January 1, 1876-April 22, 1876

47. April 24, 1876-July 11, 1876

48. July 12, 1876-October 9, 1876

49. October 9, 1876-January 30, 1877

50. January 31, 1877-April 13, 1877

51. April 14, 1877-June 26, 1877

52. June 27, 1877-October 9, 1877

53. October 9, 1877-February 18, 1878

54. February 19, 1878-July 4, 1878

55. July 5, 1878-October 31, 1878

R. Omaha. March 21, 1876-June 2, 1877

x-5. Omaha orders. April 26, 1876-March 12, 1877

x-6. Omaha orders. March 13. 1877-November 6, 1877

S. Omaha. June 5, 1877-December 18, 1877

T. Omaha. December 28, 1877-March 11, 1879

U. Omaha. May 20, 1878-August 11, 1879

56. October 30, 1878-March 26, 1879

57. March 26, 1879-June 11, 1879

58. June 12, 1879-August 30, 1879

59. August 30, 1879-November 1, 1879

60. November 1, 1879-February 13, 1880

61. February 13, 1880-April 23, 1880

62. April 24, 1880-June 22, 1880

63. June 23, 1880-August 6, 1880

64. August 6, 1880-September 30, 1880

65. October 1, 1880-November 26, 1880

66. November 27, 1880-January 22, 1881

67. January 24, 1881-March 31, 1881

68. March 31, 1881-May 7, 1881

69. May 7, 1881-June 13, 1881

70. June 13, 1881-July 9, 1881

71. July 9, 1881-August 9, 1881

72. August 10, 1881-September 5, 1881

73. September 5, 1881-October 5, 1881

74. October 5, 1881-November 2, 1881

75. November 3, 1881-December 3, 1881

76. December 3, 1881-January 16, 1882

77. January 17, 1882-February 23, 1882

78. February 23, 1882-April 8, 1882

79. April 10, 1882-May 25, 1882

80. May 26, 1882-July 8, 1882

81. July 10, 1882-August 25, 1882

82. August 24, 1882-September 21, 1882

83. September 22, 1882-October 24, 1882

84. October 25, 1882-November 23, 1882

85. November 23, 1882-January 16, 1883

86. January 17, 1883-March 13, 1883

87. March 13, 1883-April 16, 1883

88. April 16, 1883-May 22, 1883

89. May 22, 1883-June 25, 1883

90. June 25, 1883-July 31, 1883

91. August 1, 1883-September 5, 1883

92. Delivered Price Lists. August 11, 1883-June 15, 1885

93. September 5, 1883-October 8, 1883

94. October 8, 1883-November 7, 1883

95. November 8, 1883-December 10, 1883

96. December 11, 1883-February 14, 1884

97. February 15, 1884-April 7, 1854

98. April 8, 1884-May 13, 1884

99. May 13, 1884-June 14, 1884

100. June 14, 1884-July 19, 1884

101. July 21, 1884-August 27, 1884

102. August 27, 1884-October 2, 1884

103. October 2, 1884-November 3, 1884

104. November 4, 1884-December 29, 1884

105. December 29, 1884-March 17, 1885

106. March 18, 1885-Apri1 21, 1885

107. Estimates. February 13, 1885-March 29, 1886

108. Invoices. April 21, 1885-June 4, 1885

109. April 22, 1685-July 8, 1865

110. Invoices. June 4, 1885-July 21, 1885

111. Invoices. July 22, 1865-September 18, 1885

112. July 8, 1885-September 18, 1885

113. Invoices. September 3, 1885-October 12, 1885

114. September 18, 1885-November 21, 1885

115. Invoices. October 12, 1885-November 18, 1885

116. Invoices. November 18, 1885-March 5, 1886

117. November 21, 1885-March 27, 1886

118. Invoices. March 6, 1886-May 11, 1886

119. March 27 1886-July 19, 1886

120. Invoices. May 11, 1886-July 6, 1886

121. Invoices. July 6, 1886-September 4, 1886

122. July 19, 1886-October 26, 1886

123. Invoices. September 4, 1886-October 16, 1886

124. Invoices. October 18, 1886-November 26, 1886,

125. October 27, 1886-February 18, 1887

126. Invoices. November 27, 1886-March 10, 1887

127. Invoices. March 10, 1887-May 10, 1887

128. February 18, 1887-May 12, 1887

129. [missing]

130. Invoices. May 11, 1887-July 2, 1887

131. Estimates. April 2, 1886-July 11, 1887

132. May 12, 1887-August 18, 1887

133. Invoices. July 2, 1887-August 30, 1887

134. Invoices. August 30, 1887-October 18, 1887

135. August 18, 1887-October 20, 1887

136. Invoices. October 19, 1887-December 9, 1887

137. October 21, 1887-December 14, 1887

138. [missing]

139. December 14, 1887-March 5, 1888

140. Invoices. December 9, 1887-April 18, 1888

141. March 5, 1888-May 28, 1888

142. Invoices. April 19, 1888-July 20, 1888

143. Estimates. July 13, 1887-September 4, 1888

144. May 28, 1888-September 7, 1888

145. Invoices. July 21, 1888-October 9, 1888

146. September 7, 1888-November 23, 1888

147. Invoices. October 8, 1888-December 13, 1888

148. November 24, 1888-March 8, 1889

149. Invoices. November 11, 1888-April 10, 1889

150. March 8, 1889-June 8, 1889

151. Invoices. April 10, 1889-July 8, 1889

152. June 8, 1889-September 5, 1889

153(a). Invoices. July 8, 1889-September 13, 1889

153(b). Invoices. September 13, 1889-November 4, 1889

154. Invoices. November 4, 1889-February 20, 1890

155. September 6, 1889-October 31, 1889

156. October 31, 1889-January 10, 1890

157. [missing]

158. January 11, 1890-April 5, 1890

159. Invoices. May 9, 1891-September 11, 1891

160. April 5, 1890-June 18, 1890

161. Invoices. May 20, 1890-July 28, 1890

162. June 18, 1890-September 8, 1890

163. Invoices. July 28, 1890-October 8, 1890

164. Delivered Price Lists. August 3, 1880-July 27, 1881

Estimates. September 1, 1881-February 11, 1885

165. Estimates. September 6, 1888-November 15, 1889

166. Estimates. November 16, 1889-December 31, 1890

167. September 8, 1890-January 15, 1891

168. Invoices. October 8, 1890-January 22, 1891

169. Estimates. January 3, 1891-September 23, 1892

170. January 15, 1891-May 29, 1891

171. May 29, 1891-November 9, 1891

172. November 9, 1891-April 5, 1892

173. Invoices. September 12, 1891-March 5, 1892

174. Estimates/Price Lists. May 14, 1892-June 16, 1892

175. April 5, 1892-August 17, 1892

176. Annual Stock Inventory. December 1891-December 1900

177. Invoices. March 5, 1892-August 15, 1892

178. Invoices. March 5, 1892-December 16, 1892

179. Invoices. December 16, 1892-June 9, 1893

180. August 17, 1892-January 27, 1893

181. Estimates. September 24, 1892-December 17, 1896

182. January 27, 1893-August 24, 1893

183. August 25, 1893-November 20, 1894

184. Invoices. December 12, 1893-December 15, 1894

185. Invoices. February 21, 1890-May 20, 1890

186. Invoices.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
W.J. Young and Company

Topics:
Lumber trade

Geographic Names:
Mississippi River Valley

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Accounts
Business records
Letterpress copies
Sources
Correspondence