Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Christisen Railroad Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1880-1990
Creator: Christisen, D. M.
Extent: 6.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0548
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Records for the Milwaukee Road, Amtrak, and the B&O railroads, with some materials from the Elgin, Joliet and Eastern (EJ&E), the Central Railroad of New Jersey (CNJ), the Nickel Plate Railroad (NKP), and Acheson, Topeka and Santa Fe (AT&SF) lines from the 1880s to the early 1990s.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Series II

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by D. M. Christisen between 2002 and 2005. The collection was donated in memory of Locomotive Engineers H. L. Christisen and Glenn Linn, employees of the Milwaukee Road.

Preferred Citation: Christisen Railroad Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

This collection contains employee timetables, images of locomotives, instructional materials for the use and maintenance of locomotives, periodicals devoted to railroads, public timetables, union information, and some miscellaneous materials. The collection dates from the 1880s to the early 1990s.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.