Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Childs Family Letters

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1849-1889
Creator: Childs Family
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0547
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Letters of the Childsfamily in Philadelphia , Pennsylvania and members of the family in Clinton County , Iowa , including the towns of Low Moor, Lyons, and Camanche. Though the correspondence is carried on during the Civil War, the letters have mostly to do with domestic affairs.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was purchasedby the University of Iowa Libraries in 2002.

Preferred Citation: Letters of the Childs Family, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

This collection is comprised entirely of letters between members of the Childs family in various places in Iowa, such as Mount Vernon, Camanche, Low Moor, and Lyons, and Philadephia, Pennsylvania. All are handwritten and some envelopes are included. Though the correspondence is carried on throughout the war years, there is very little mention of the war. Mostly the letters deal with farming and farm prices and domestic cares.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Letters - 1849-1850
  • Letters - 1857, 1859
  • Letters - 1860-1865
  • Letters - 1866-1870
  • Letters - 1871-1874
  • Letters - 1880-1889
  • Letters, undated or illegible

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Topics:
Agricultural prices
Agriculture

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Correspondence
Manuscripts (Document genre)
Sources
Sources

Family Names:
Childs family