Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Lazarus Photographs

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1948
Creator: Lazarus, Julius (-2008)
Extent: 1.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0543
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Photographs from the 1948 Presidential campaign of Henry A. Wallace, running on the Progressive Party ticket.

Access: This collection is open for research. Mr. Lazarus's primary collection is at Rutgers University. The photographs in the collection at the University of Iowa were selected from Mr. Lazarus's private collection and are duplicated by the holdings at Rutgers, which administers copyright for these photographs. Patrons may look at the collection on-site at the University of Iowa Special Collections department, but requests for copies should be addressed to Mr. Albert King or Special Collections and University Archives, Rutgers University Libraries, Rutgerss, The State University of New Jersey, 169 College Avenue, New Brunswick, NJ 09801-1163; or to their web address http//www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rul/libs/scua/service_info/reference_services.shtml

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection is made up of a combination of gifts and purchases from Julius Lazarus in 1991.

Preferred Citation: Lazarus Photographs, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Julius Lazarus was born in raised in Europe and educated in Vienna. He became a blacksmith before emigrating with his parents to the United States in 1939. He joined the army in 1942, but a knee injury earned him an honorable discharge. He attended the New York Institute of Photography after his discharge. He supported himself doing freelance photography and photojournalism.
 
In 1948 Mr. Lazarus lived with his parents in New York City and took photographs for use in Henry Wallace's campaign for President on the Progressive Party ticket. He also took photographs for labor newspapers.
 
In 1968 he moved to Cape Cod and started Lazarus Photo. He did photography for brochures and post cards for the Cape and Islands.
 
After he retired, he distributed his archive to three Universities: Penn State, the University of Iowa, and Rutgers University. Mr. Lazarus died in Hyannis on August 8, 2008.

This collection consists of approximately two hundred images from the 1948 Presidential campaign of Henry A. Wallace on the Progressive Party ticket. Included are images of Henry A. and Ilo Wallace; Senator Glen Taylor (Idaho) and his wife and small children; Paul and Eslanda Robeson; Representative Vito Marcantonio and Leo Isacson (New York); Elinor Gimbel (related to the department store family); labor leaders Clark Foreman, Ben Gold, and Lee Pressman; O. John. Rogge (former U.S. Assistant Attorney General); Lillian Hellman; Helen Keller; Harlow Shapley (Harvard astronomer); Charles P. Howard (black attorney from Des Moines); Julius Lazarus; the oldest delegate at the convention, Michael Kennedy, 88, from Iowa; the youngest delegate at the convention, Jack Hester, Nebraska; Russian biochemist A. I. Oparin; the Right Reverend Hewlett Johnson (the "Red Dean" of Canterbury); Reverend William Howard Mellish; and a person wearing a Wallace t-shirt, Neville Lake of Queens.

Subjects and places include the North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Washington State delegations to the Progressive or Young Progressives conventions; the American Labor Party; the International Workers Order, Local 65; 39 Park Avenue (campaign headquarters); a Harlem meat market; Lucky Corner (campaign location, Spanish Harlem); garment district rally; Madison Square Garden; and Yankee Stadium. Issues in background posters include civil rights, inflation, and Israel.
Progressive Party, MsC 160

Henry A. Wallace Papers, MsC 177

The Lazarus archives at Rutgers University http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rul/libs/scua/lazarus/lazarus.shtml

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PHOTOGRAPHS

  • Series 1: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 1:
  • 1. Harlem Chorus - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 2. Harlem, Goldengate Ballroom, Friday, October 29 - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 3. Harlem, Goldengate Ballroom, Friday, October 29 - 1948
    L. to R.: Henry Wallace and Dr. W.E.B. DuBois. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 4. Yankee Stadium Rally, September 10 - 1948
    New York City. Pete Seeger. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 5. Henry A. Wallace, Madison Square Garden
  • 6. October 31 - 1948
    Gideon's Army, page 850. Brooklyn New York Henry Wallace. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 7. Progressive Party, 39 Park Avenue, New York City. Staff gathering - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 8. Henry Wallace
  • 9. Hotel Waldorf-Astoria New York City. Wallace reports after visit to Israel - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 10. Yankee Stadium Rally, September 10 - 1948
    New York City. Paul Robeson. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 11. National Council of American Soviet Friendship, New York City. May 11 - 1948(?)
    Madison Square Garden. L. to R.: Wallace, H. Johnson, Rev. Melish, Paul Robeson. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 12. October 29 - 1948
    Noon rally at 29th Street between 7th and 8th Avenue. New York City. Garment and Fur Workers district. Wallace addressing the rally. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 13. L to R.: (3rd) Marcantonio, P. Robeson, Henry Wallace - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 14. October 31 - 1948
    Gideon's Army, page 850. Brooklyn, New York. Henry Wallace. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 15. Founding Convention, New York City. 19 Y.P.O. L. to R.: (3rd) H. Wallace, Seymour Linfield, Executive Secretary - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 16. October 31 - 1948
    Gideon's Army, page 850. Brooklyn, New York. L. to R.: Mrs. Wallace, Mr. Wallace, Elinor Gimbel, Chairman. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 17. L. to R.: Vito Marcantonio A.L.P. Congressman Harlem Glen Taylor Democrat Congressman, Leo Isacson, Henry Wallace - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 18. Progressive Party Headquarters, 39 Park Ave., New York City. Staff Gathering - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 19. Convention Hall, Philadelphia, July 23 to 25 - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 20. Harlem, Goldengate Ballroom, Friday, October 29 - 1948
    Lillian Helman speaking. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 21. Philadelphia Convention, July 23 to 25 - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 22. Philadelphia Convention, July 23 to 25 - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 23. L. to R. first row: Mrs. and Mr. Jerry O' Connell. Philadelphia Convention, July 23 to 25 - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 24. October 31 - 1948
    Gideon's Army, page 850. Brooklyn, New York. Mr. and Mrs. Wallace. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 25. October 31 - 1948
    Gideon's Army, page 850. Brooklyn, New York. Mr. and Mrs. Wallace. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 26. L. to R.: Henry A. Wallace, Lee Pressman, Paul Robeson, Jerry Vail, I.W.O.(?) Madison Square Garden - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 27. Philadelphia Convention, July 23 to 25 - 1948
    Delegates for Wallace. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 28. L. to R.: Oldest delegate: Michael Kennedy, 88, Davenport, Iowa. The youngest: Jack Hester, 16, of Omaha, Nebraska - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 29. Wallace is presented with Campaign Necktie, at 39 Park Avenue, New York - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 30. Wallace reception at Local 65 C.I.O., New York City - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 31. National Council of American Soviet Friendship, March 25 - 1948
    New York City. L. to R.: A. Oparin, USSR; F. Hercik, Czechoslovakia; Henry Wallace, USA. (Corn) World Peace Conference, Cultural and Scientific. Waldorf-Astoria Hotel. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 32. Wallace reception at Local 65 C.I.O., New York City - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 33. Wallace reception at Local 65 C.I.O., New York City, 13 Astor Place. L. to R.: (2nd) Julius Lazarus, staff photographer, Henry Wallace, Arthur Osman, President Local 65 - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 34. October 31 - 1948
    Gideon's Army, page 850. Brooklyn, New York. Henry Wallace with children. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 35. No identification available. Description of photograph: Henry Wallace with large group of people posed in front of a "We Want Wallace" sign and picture of Wallace.
  • 36. October 31 - 1948
    Gideon's Army, page 850. Brooklyn, New York. Mrs. Wallace at reception. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 37. National Council of American Soviet Friendship - 1948
    New York City. Paul Robeson. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 38. Paul Robeson at the Convention, July 23 to 25 - 1948
    Philadelphia. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 39. Harlem, Goldengate Ballroom, Friday, October 29 - 1948
    Paul Robeson. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 40. Yankee Stadium rally, September 10 - 1948
    New York City. L. to R.: Paul Robeson and Vito Marsantonio A.L.P. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 41. L. to R.: Henry A. Wallace, Dr. H. Shapley, Roosevelt, Leon Davidson. Madison Square Garden, New York City
  • 42. L. to R.: Henry A. Wallace, Dr. H. Shapley, Zero Mostel, Roosevelt, Leon Davidson. Madison Square Garden, New York City
  • 43. L. to R.: Leon Davidson, Zero Mostel. Madison Square Garden, New York City
  • 44. National Council of American Soviet Friendship - 1948
    New York City. Elinor S. Gimbel, Chairman Progressive Party. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 45. L. to R.: C.B. Baldwin, Elmer Benson, Albert J. Fitzgerald. Philadelphia Convention, July 23 to 25 - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 46. Harlem Headquarters for Wallace and Taylor - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 47. No identification available. Description of photograph: Woman sitting on table, holding plate of shelled corn. Her dress appears to be designed from large squares of material that have "Work With Wallace and Taylor" in cursive stitch. A man is standing by the table, holding some of the corn in his hand. Large picture of Wallace (?) appears on the wall behind them.
  • 48. Vito Marcantonio, A.L.P. Congressman Harlem, Madison Square Garden, New York City
  • 49. L. to R.: Leon Isakson far right Lee Pressman with two members of the International Workers Order, New York City. Wallace and Taylor - 1948
  • 50. October 31 - 1948
    Gideon's Army, page 850. Brooklyn, New York. L. to R.: Julius Emspak, U.E.M.W. of America, Henry Wallace, Russell Nixon, U.E.W.
  • 51. Ada B. Jackson and Women for Wallace (Jewish), New York City.
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 52. Philadelphia Convention in 1948, young delegates, July 23 to 25 - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 53. Philadelphia Convention, July 23 to 25 - 1948
    Trio hitch-hiked from Phoenix, Arizona. The trip took six days. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 54. "Lucky Corner," 116th Street and Lexington Avenue, New York City. 18th District Vito Marcantonio. L. to R.: Henry Wallace, Marcantonio, Medina.
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 55. L. to R.: William Galemore, Henry Wallace, at end is Mr. Herman Harlem.
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 56. Wallace with child at headquarters, 39 Park Avenue, New York City.
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 57. No identification available. Description of photograph: Three young men playing instruments.
  • 58. No identification available. Description of photograph: People dancing.
  • 59. October 29 - 1948
    Noon rally at 29th Street between 7th and 8th Avenue. New York City. Garment and Fur Workers district
  • 60. Philadelphia Convention, July 23 to 25 - 1948
    Albert E. Kahn, Author. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 61. Delegates to Philadelphia Convention, July 23 to 25 - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 62. Philadelphia Convention, July 23 to 25 - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 63. Local 1227 UE Queens, New York, October - 1948
    L. to R.: Glen Taylor, Shirley Graham, Edward N. Washington, President Local 1227. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 64. Linden Henry, Fur Union, Member of IFLWU, Joint Board
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 65. Yankee Stadium rally, September 10 - 1948
    New York City. L. to R.: Charles P. Howard, Iowa. Judge Rainy Philly(?) Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 66. Henry Wallace at 39 Park Avenue Headquarters
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 67. Young Chinese delegation at Philadelphia Convention, July 23 to 25 - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 68. Staff worker, 39 Park Avenue, New York City
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 69. Staff worker, 39 Park Avenue, New York City
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 70. Hotel Waldorf-Astoria. Wallace reports after visit to Israel
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 71. Yankee Stadium Rally, September 10 - 1948
    New York City. L. to R.: (4th) Pete Seeger. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 72. Philadelphia Convention July 23 to 25 - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 73. PAC'S dinner, Hotel Waldorf-Astoria, New York City, after Wallace visit to Israel. L. to R: Mrs. Wallace, M.M. Nisselson PAC's Treasurer, Pres. Amalgamated Bank, Henry Wallace, Ira Hirschmann, Frank Kingdon, Leon Davidson. Standing in back: C.B. Baldwin
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 74. National Council of American Soviet Friendship, New York City. May 11 - 1948
    Madison Square Garden. L. to R.: Rev. Hewlett Johnson, Rev. William Howard Melish, Henry Wallace, William Gailmore. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 75. Lucky Corner
  • 76. Lucky Corner
  • 77. Paul Robeson with members of the Harlem Tenant Council, New York - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 78. October 31 - 1948
    Gideon's Army, page 850. Brooklyn, New York. L. to R.: 2nd left Linden Henry. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 79. Lucky Corner
  • 80. October 31 - 1948
    Gideon's Army, page 850. Brooklyn, New York. L. to R.: Elinor Gimbel, Lindon Henry, Mrs. Wallace, Henry Wallace, O. John Rogge, Viola Scott. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 81. Roosevelt. Madison Square Garden, New York City
  • 82. Harlem, Goldengate Ballroom, October 29 - 1948
    L. to R.: P. Robeson, Henry Wallace and ? Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 83. Harlem, Goldengate Ballroom. Rev. Ben Richardson speaking - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 84. October 31 - 1948
    Gideon's Army, page 850. Brooklyn, New York. L. to R.: Mrs. Wallace, Henry Wallace, O. John Rogge. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 85. National Council of American Soviet Friendship - 1948
    New York City. O. John Rogge, Former Attorney General. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 86. National Council of American Soviet Friendship - 1948
    New York City, Madison Square Garden. Henry Wallace and Press Secretary Soviet American Friendship. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 87. "These Sleepy Delegates," Philadelphia Convention, July 23 to 25 - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 88. Yankee Stadium Rally, September 10 - 1948
    New York City. L. to R.: C.B. Baldwin and Mrs. Lillian Baldwin. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 89. National Council of American Soviet Friendship - 1948
    New York City. Leon Davidson. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 90. National Council of American Soviet Friendship - 1948
    New York City. L. to R.: Rev. Hewlett Johnson, England, and Rabbi Newman. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • Box 2:
  • 91. Henry Wallace with children, entertained by Woody Guthrie and wife
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 92. No identification available. Description of photograph: Car mounted with sound system and large Wallace signs on a city street
  • 93. L. to R.: Paul Robeson and Henry A. Wallace backstage, Madison Square Garden
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 94. L. to R.: (9th) Jack Gilford, Actor, (11th) E. P. Connolly ALP, New York
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 95. No identification available. Description of photograph: Car mounted with sound system and large Wallace signs on a city street; singing group also on top of car
  • 96. Harlem, Goldengate Ballroom, Friday, October 29 - 1948
    Marbel Cooney, Amsterdam News (?) Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 97. No identification available. Description of photograph: Woman, two men
  • 98. Hotel Waldorf-Astoria, New York City. Wallace reports after visit to Israel. L. to R.: Mrs. Taylor, Eslanda Robeson
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 99. No identification available. Description of photograph: Couple on dance floor
  • 100. Lucky Corner, Paul Robeson
  • 101. October 31 - 1948
    Gideon's Army, page 850. Brooklyn, New York. Reception for Mr. And Mrs. Wallace. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 102. Progressive Party, 39 Park Avenue, New York City. Staff gathering
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 103. Progressive Party, 39 Park Avenue, New York City. Staff gathering
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 104. No identification available. Description of photograph: Large group of people on steps in front of building
  • 105. Y.P.A Convention at Local 65 C.I.O., 13 Astor Place, New York City, January - 1949
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 106. October 31 - 1948
    Gideon's Army, page 850. Brooklyn, New York. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 107. October 31 - 1948
    Gideon's Army, page 850. Brooklyn, New York. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 108. No identification available. Description of photograph: "Wall to wall people" on a city street, many of those in front are in military uniform
  • 109. Rev. Ben Richardson at Wallace Headquarters, Harlem - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 110. Y.P.A. Convention, Local 65 C.I.O., 13 Astor Place, New York City - 1949
    L. to R.: Hadassah Lienfield, Mr. McCann and Davit McCann, new elected Co-Chairman. Convention, January 1949. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 111. No identification available. Description of photograph: Wallace and large group of people on steps outside building
  • 112. No identification available. Description of photograph: Wallace and large group of people on steps outside building
  • 113. Uta Hagen puts Wallace campaign tie on staff member. 39 Park Avenue, New York
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 114. No identification available. Description of photograph: Young woman with Wallace pin outside building; sign reading "Progressive Party" on a plaque on the building's column
  • 115. No identification available. Description of photograph: Woman sitting on table, holding plate of shelled corn. Her dress appears to be designed from large squares of material that have "Work With Wallace and Taylor" in cursive stitch. A man is standing by the table, holding some of the corn in his hand. Large picture of Wallace (?) appears on the wall behind them. Slightly different pose than # 47.
  • 116. October 28 - 1948
    Hotel Commodore, New York City. L. to R.: ? Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 117. [Group of people sitting in a room]
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 118. October 29 - 1948
    Hotel Commodore, New York City. L. to R.: (Speaking) Henry Wallace, Lillian Hellman, I.F. Stone. Arts and Sciences for Wallace. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 119. No identification available. Description of photograph: Two women
  • 120. ["Cow" carrying sign about rally]
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 121. Philadelphia Convention, July 23 to 25 - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 122. No identification available. Description of photograph: Wallace and small group of men
  • 123. No identification available. Description of photograph: Large group of people, sitting
  • 124. Mr. and Mrs. Roosevelt, Dr. Harlow Shapley, Astronomer. Madison Square Garden, New York City
  • 125. Harlem Wallace Headquarters - 1948
    L. to R.: Rev. Ben Richardson and Co-worker. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 126. L. to R.: 1st row, Eslanda Robeson, 3rd Party Convention in Philadelphia. July 23 to 25 - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 127. Harlem Committee for Wallace and Taylor - 1948
    L. to R.: (2nd) Charles P. Howard, Iowa, and members of the Harlem Committee. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 128. L. to R.: Nathan Dambroff, M. Lurie, Cloude Yearwood, Linder Ross, Alvin Udell, E.P. Connolly A.L.P., Minnie Chancer, P. Robeson, M. Blinken, Leon Goldsmith C.R.C.
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 129. Harlem Businessmen for Wallace - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 130. Harlem Businessmen for Wallace - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 131. Harlem Wallace Committee - 1948
    Standing in back: Mr. Hermann, Chairman. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 132. Shirley Graham Wrider, rally in Queens, New York
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 133. October 28 - 1948
    Hotel Commodore, Lillian Hellman, (Dramatist). Arts, Sciences for Wallace. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 134. Broadway for Wallace - 1948
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 135. Members of Local 76 B. Furniture Workers, Local 65. Reception, 13 Astor Place. L. to R.: (2nd) Michael DeSico, ??
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 136. Wallace and Taylor in - 1948
  • 137. October 31 - 1948
    Gideon's Army, page 850. Brooklyn, New York. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 138. Yankee Stadium rally, September 10 - 1948
    New York City. L. to R.: Ernie Libermann and Betty Sanders. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 139. Yankee Stadium rally, September 10 - 1948
    New York City. Lee Pressman, A.L.P. Candidate, New York. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 140. Taping a campaign message on T.V. PIX 11, New York. L. to R.: Ralph Powe, Comptroller; Karen Morley, Lt. Governor; John T. McManus, Governor; George W. Fish, Atty. Gen. ALP Candidates
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 141. Local 1227 UE Queens L.I., New York. L. to R.: ALP Eugene P. Connelly, (4th) Glen Taylor
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 142. Philadelphia Convention, July 23 to 25 - 1948
    L. to R.: Benito Hernandes, National Maritime Union; Abraham Pena, UGT, friends for Wallace; Jose Luis com. Puertoricans for Wallace
  • 143. Yankee Stadium Rally, September 10 - 1948
    New York City. Eugene P. Connelly, Secretary A.L.P., New York. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 144. No identification available. Description of photograph: Wallace and large group of people posing on steps outside of building (see photograph number 146)
  • 145. No identification available. Description of photograph: Wallace and large group of people posing on steps outside of building (see photograph number 146)
  • 146. Progressive Party Headquarters, 39 Park Avenue, New York City. Staff gathering
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 147. Henry Wallace with William Polk, brother of the late George Polk, correspondent for CBS
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 148. Progressive Party, 39 Park Avenue, New York City. Staff gathering. Left: Holly Folksinger
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 149. No identification available. Description of photograph: street full of people
  • 150. No identification available. Description of photograph: Wallace speaking outdoors
  • 151. Wallace reception at Local 65, C.I.O., New York City, 13 Astor Place. L. to R.: Wallace and Osman, President, Local 65, in conversation
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 152. Wallace reception at Local 65, C.I.O.
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 153. L. to R.: Rexford G. Tugwell, Clark Forman, C.B. Baldwin, Albert J. Fitzgerald, U.E., Glen Taylor, Henry Wallace, Paul Robeson
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 154. Wallace reception at Local 65 C.I.O., New York City. L. to R.: Leonard Goldsmith, Civil Rights Congress, Henry Wallace, Arthur Osman, President, Local 65 C.I.O.
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 155. A.L.P. Conference, New York City. L. to R.: Vito Marcantonio; Leon Strauss, Fur Workers; Arthur Schutzer, A.L.P.
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 156. James Garry, Business Manager, Local 1227 U.E. 1947 Queens
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 157. Wallace reception at Local 65, New York City
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 158. Sidney Gilbert, Business Agent, Local 1227 UE Queens, New York, and Lee Presman, ALP
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 159. October 28 - 1948
    Hotel Commodore, New York City. L. to R.: Leon Davidson; Mrs. Wallace; speaking, Paul Draper(?); Lillian Hellman; Henry Wallace. Arts and Sciences for Wallace. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 160. Manhattan Center, New York City, 1948. Doctors for Wallace(?)
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 161. Hotel Waldorf Astoria, New York City - 1948
    William Gilmore, Radio Reporter, fund raiser for Wallace Campaign. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 162. Johannes Steele, Radio Commentator - 1948
    New York City. Manhattan Center(?) Speaker and fundraiser. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 163. Manhattan Center, New York City - 1948
    Doctors for Wallace(?) Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 164. No identification available. Description of photograph: group of people sitting in a room
  • 165. No identification available. Description of photograph: woman posing on a stairway
  • Box 3:
  • 166. Hotel Waldorf-Astoria, New York City. Wallace reports after visit to Israel. L. to R.: Mrs. Wallace; M.M. Nisselson, PAC Treasurer; Pres. Amalgamated Bank; Henry Wallace; Ira Hirschmann; Frank Kingdon; Leon Davidson
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 167. Dr. Harley Shapley, Howard University Astronomer, Madison Square Garden
  • 168. Lucky Corner, 116th Street and Lexington Avenue, 18th district (Marcantonio.) L. to R.: Ben Davis, Marcantonio
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 169. Lucky Corner, Marcantonio and Wallace
  • 170. Lucky Corner, Paul Robeson
  • 171. Y.P.A. Convention, Local 65 C.I.O. 13 Astor Place, New York City, January - 1949
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 172. Y.P.A. Convention, Local 65 C.I.O. 13 Astor Place, New York City, January - 1949
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 173. Y.P.A. Ruth Jett looks on as Judy Holliday signs membership application, Y.P.A. back stage - 1949(?)
    Judy Holliday in "Born Yesterday"
  • 174. Y.P.A. Convention, Local 65 C.I.O. 13 Astor Place, January - 1949
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 175. October 31 - 1948
    Gideon's Army, page 850. Brooklyn New York. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 176. No identification available. Description of photograph: large group of people sitting on chairs and floor
  • 177. No identification available. Description of photograph: Woman sitting on table, holding plate of shelled corn. Her dress appears to be designed from large squares of material that have "Work With Wallace and Taylor" in cursive stitch. A man is standing by the table, holding some of the corn in his hand. Large picture of Wallace (?) appears on the wall behind them.
  • 178. National Council of American Soviet Friendship - 1948
    New York City. Mrs. Henry Wallace. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 179. National Council of American Soviet Friendship - 1948
    New York City. Henry Wallace. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 180. Henry A. Wallace back stage, Madison Square Garden
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 181. Y.P.A. Convention, Local 65 C.I.O. 13 Astor Place, New York City, January - 1949
    Vito Marcantonio, 18th District, New York. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 182. Founding Convention, New York City. 19 Y.P.O. L. to R.: (3rd) Henry Wallace, Seymour Linfield, Executive Secretary
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 183. Founding convention, New York, 19 Y.P.O. Henry Wallace, speaking
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 184. October 29 - 1948
    Noon rally at 29th street between 7th and 8th Avenue, New York City. Garment and Fur Workers district. Ben Gold, President, Furriers Joint Council, addressing the rally. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 185. Y.P.A. Convention, Local 65, 13 Astor Place, New York City, January - 1949
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 186. No identification available. Description of photograph: six [young] people at a table
  • 187. No identification available. Description of photograph: Wallace and group of young people
  • 188. Lucky Corner, Paul Robeson
  • 189. October 31 - 1948
    Gideon's Army, page 850. Brooklyn, New York. Reception for Mr. and Mrs. Wallace. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 190. October 31 - 1948
    Gideon's Army, page 850. Brooklyn, New York. Henry Wallace. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 191. No identification available. Description of photograph: Wallace greeting people
  • 192. October 31 - 1948
    Gideon's Army, page 850. Brooklyn, New York. Henry Wallace. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 193. No identification available. Description of photograph: group of [young] people
  • 194. Y.P.A. Convention, Local 65 C.I.O., 13 Astor Place, New York City, January - 1949
    L. to R.: Murray Portnoy, UE Local 430; Dick Lindheim, new State Exec. Dir.; Dave McCann. Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 195. Lucky Corner
  • 196. No identification available. Description of photograph: group of [young] people
  • 197. No identification available. Description of photograph: three men, two women outside building
  • 198. No identification available. Description of photograph: group of people in room
  • 199. Progressive Party, 39 Park Avenue, New York City. Staff gathering. Jerry J. O'Connell, Democrat, Montana, visiting
    Wallace and Taylor in 1948
  • 200. October 31 - 1948
    Gideon's Army, page 850. Brooklyn, New York. L. to R.: Henry Wallace, O. John Rogge, and Viola Scott, secretary to Henry Wallace. Wallace and Taylor in 1948

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Lazarus, Julius, 1918-2008
Wallace, Henry A. (Henry Agard), 1888-1965

Topics:
Elections

Occupations:
Presidents

Genre/Form of Materials:
Photographs
Archives