Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Medieval Manuscripts

Collection Overview

Date Span:
Creator: Medieval Manuscripts
Extent: 18.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0542
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: This collection brings together all Medieval Manuscripts held in the Special Collections Department of the University of Iowa Libraries.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Medieval Manuscripts, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

This description contains all Medieval Manuscripts held in the Special Collections Department of the University of Iowa Libraries. Most of the items in this collection are not cataloged in InfoHawk, but card catalog records may exist for them in the Special Collections Department. This inventory includes a few facsimiles of importance, but does not include all facsimiles in the rare books collection or in the main stacks of the library. Facsimiles are cataloged and can be searched on InfoHawk.

Indications of numbers in parentheses following an entry (3) are numbers assigned by previous cataloging efforts. Items from the De Ricci List of materials on permanent loan from the Davenport Public Library are noted in parentheses as (De Ricci 1), etc.

Collection materials have been digitized and are available at the Iowa Digital Library.

For further information about Medieval Studies, please see the Special Collections guide, Online Resources for Medieval Studies.
Books

Mystique of Vellum. Boston: Anne and David Bromer, 1984. SPEC XCOL FOLIO Z112 .M9 1984.

Olmsted, Duncan H. Parchment and Vellum. Orinda, CA: Press of the Golden Key, 1996.

SPEC XCOL 97-590.

Reed, R. Ancient Skins, Parchments and Leathers. London, New York: Seminar Press, 1972.

MAIN Library TS951 .R43 1972

Reed, Ronald. The Nature and Making of Parchment. Leeds: Elmete, 1975.

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS x-Collection FOLIO TS1165.R43

Reed, Ronald. Specimens of parchment. Los Angeles: Dawson's Book Shop, 1976. Provides specimens of parchment and accompanies The Nature and Making of Parchment. (See above).

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS x-Collection FOLIO TS1165.R43 Suppl.

Documents

Antiphonarium. Vel. (1720), 55 ff. (63 x 46 cm.). Written for a Spanish convent. Modern vellum binding (De Ricci 10)

Kalender, 1669. Fuhrman, Stephanus, d. 1683. Alt und neuer Schreib- Haus- und Kunst-Kalender, nebnst dem romischen, auch beygehorigem Prognostico und anderen mit zu nothigen Sachen; also verfasset, dass sich dessen ... Gelehrte, Ungelehrte ... Potentaten ... Officirer, Studenten, Soldaten, Kauffleute und Haussvater ... bedienen konnen. Uber das ... Jahr ... M.DC.LXIX. Durch Stephanum Fuhrmann. Published Franckfurt am Mayn, B.C. Wust [1668]. Almanac is bound in a manuscript fragment. SPECIAL COLLECTIONS x-Collection AY851 .F8 1669.

Antiphonal. 1901. Mexico. Gregorian Chant.

Facsimiles

Bible. Facsimile. Biblia de San Luis. Latin. Catedral de Toledo. Biblioteca. Manuscript. Barcelona : M. Moleiro Editor, 2000 -- . v. : col. ill., facsims. ; 49 cm. Title from descriptive letterpress mounted on cover (p [3]) of vol. 3 Facsimile reproduction of manuscript. 1-3, also called Tesoro 1-3, in the Biblioteca de la Catedral de Toledo. Composed in Paris between 1226 and 1234 under the direction of Guillaume d'Auvergne, Bishop of Paris (1228-1249), for King Louis IX of France and given by him to Alfonso X the Wise. The biblical text in Latin is accompanied on each folio by 2 columns each of 4 richly illuminated medallions, the whole surrounded by commentaries in Spanish that include historical allusions, allegorical tales, moral assertions and mystical references. Limited edition of 987 copies. Bound in tan calfskin with ornate brass clasps inlaid with gold and black coats-of-arms; each volume issued in a box. University of Iowa Libraries has copy no. 277. SPECIAL COLLECTIONS x-Collection FOLIO BS70 .C38 2000

Alfonso, X, King of Castile and Leon, 1221-1284. Cantigas de Santa Maria : edicion facsimil del codice B.R.20 de la Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale de Florencia, siglo XIII / Alfonso X el Sabio. Madrid : Edilan, 1989-1991. 2 v. : facsims., music ; 46 cm. + 1 sound disc (33 1/3 rpm ; 12 in.) Full-color facsimile of manuscript. of the Cantigas de Santa Maria in the National Library, Florence (B.R.20) written in the 13th cent. by the scribes of Alfonso el Sabio and illuminated by the artists at his court. Unacc. melodies; plainsong notation. Title from facsimile vol. "... 1.000 ejemplares numerados y autenticados..."--T.p. verso Commentary in Spanish. The commentary includes modern notation transcription of the staffless neums in the manuscript indicating the melodies. Galician words. Other titles Codice de Florencia de Las cantigas de Alfonso X El Sabio, Ms. B.R. 20 de la Biblioteca Nazionale Central. Contents [v. 1]. Cantigas de Santa Maria -- [v. 2]. El codice de Florencia de Las cantigas de Alfonso X El Sabio, Ms. B.R. 20 de la Biblioteca Nazionale Central / marco historico y texta por Agustin Santiago Luque ; las ilustraciones por Maria Victoria Chico Picaza y Ana Dominguez Rodriguez ; la musica por Agustin Santiago Luque; con un Apendice por Jordi Reguant. SPECIAL COLLECTIONS x-Collection FOLIO ML96.5.A44 C3 1989

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ANTIPHONAL
Series 2: BIBLE
Series 3: BOOK OF HOURS
Series 4: BREVIARY
Series 5: CHARTER
Series 6: DEVOTIONAL
Series 7: DOCUMENT
Series 8: GRADUAL
Series 9: HISTORY
Series 10: KORAN
Series 11: MISCELLANEOUS
Series 12: MISSAL
Series 13: NOTARIAL RECORDS
Series 14: PRAYERS
Series 15: PSALTER
Series 16: SERMON
Series 17: RESEARCH MATERIALS

  • Series 1: ANTIPHONAL
  • xfMMs.An1 Second Nocturn, Matins. 16th or 17th C. Latin; 56 x 80.5mm . Single leaf. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • xMMs.An2 Advent. 14th or 15th C. Italy [?] . From Sanctorale portion of Ms. St. Lucy, Dec. 13; St. Thomas the Apostle, Dec?; St. Agnes, verso ; 29.3 x 38.4 mm . Single leaf. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • xMMs.An3 Chants for Nov. 1, Nov, 11. 15th C. Spain. Four vellum leaves; 47 x 66 mm . Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • xMMs.An4 Undated. Unidentified. Latin; 47.5 x 65.5 mm . Single leaf. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • Series 2: BIBLE
  • xMMs.Bi1 Single Leaf. First half of 13th C. England [?] Latin. (3); 20 x 27.5 mm. Single leaf. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • xMMs.Bi2 Ecclesiasticus. Later 13th C. France or England. (9); 23 x 32.8 mm. Single leaf. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • xMMs.Bi3 Book of Maccabees II, Chapters 2 - 4. 13th C. Latin gothic micro-miniscule script, ruled and written in brown ink, on vellum. Rubricated initials, titles and marginalia in red and blue. Gothic book hand in dark ink, 10 lines per inch. From a Bible produced in the workshop of William de Brailles, whose workshop was active in Oxford c. 1238 - 1252. De Brailles was the illuminator of the Oxford Bible, 1-.5 x 18.7 mm. Single leaf. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • xMMs.Bi4 Bible. Vellum. First half 13th c. England or France. Apocrypha? 12.3 x 11 mm. Single leaf. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • xMMs.Bi5 (a-c) Three leaves. Malachi/Kings IV 9-15. Double column, 49 lines, written in a tiny gothic book hand. double column, 49 lines, written in a tiny gothic book hand. Each leaf featuring capitals struck with red, headlines and verse numbers in blue and red, and one-line versal initials in red or blue. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • xMMs.Bi6 (a-d) Four leaves. Maccabees II, 5-12. Double column, 49 lines, written in a tiny gothic book hand. Each leaf featuring capitals struck with red, headlines and verse numbers in blue and red, and one-line versal initials in red or blue. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • xfBS389.O75 1943 (Superfolio) Bible. Vellum. France. ca. 1150. Carolingian book hand. 7 lines per inch. 18.5 x 26.3 cm. Part of Otto Ege's Original Leaves from Famous Bibles: nine centuries 1121-1935 A.D.
  • xfBS389.O75 1943 (Superfolio) Bible. Latin Vulgate. Vellum. ca.1240. Angular gothic script. 11 lines per inch. 12.6 x 19.3 cm. Part of Otto Ege's Original Leaves from Famous Bibles: nine centuries 1121-1935 A.D.
  • xfBS389.O75 1943 (Superfolio) Bible. Latin Vulgate. Vellum. ca.1310. Paris, France. Gothic script. 7 lines per inch. 13 x 18.6 cm. Part of Otto Ege's Original Leaves from Famous Bibles: nine centuries 1121-1935 A.D.
  • Series 3: BOOK OF HOURS
  • xMMs.Bo1 1485 Single Leaf. France (NM14); 13.2 x 17 mm. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • xMMs.Bo2 Lauds. Vellum. 15c. France. Lauds Benedicite used to replace a Psalm? 12.1 x 14.2 mm. Single leaf. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • xMMs.Bo3 Litany. 15c. France. Recto: end of Psalm V. Antiphon; 6 x 9.2 mm. Single leaf. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • xMMs.Bo4 [Book of Hours?] 14th C. Vellum. English. Hebrew names on verso: Moab; 10.6 x 11 mm. Single leaf. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • xMMs.Bo5 Horae. Vellum (ca. 1480), 190 ff (18 x 11 cm.), imperfect at end. Roman use. Written in France (Paris calendar). 2 miniature illuminated initials and borders, often mutilated. 18th century, red gilt morocco, lettered "Officium." N. 2500 in a catalogue. Obtained by Ficke in 1896. [Pink rough calf-skin binding by Pamela Spitzmueller] (De Ricci 4); 12 x 18 x 4.5 closed; 26 x 18 x 2 open. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • xMMs.Bo6; also xMs C36li Book of Hours of the Blessed Virgin Mary. Late 15th C. Franco-Flemish school. Illuminated Ms of Book of Hours, with calendar, for the use of Troyes. Liturgical black letters. Vellum. Bound in contemporary binding of blind stamped calf, with brass clasps. Illuminated initials and borders with 6 miniatures in colors, surrounded by illuminated borders. Includes a Dance of Death. (NM1); Notes on this text available in Research Materials Box 2; 14.5 x 20 x 5 mm closed; 29 x 20 x 3 mm open. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • Series 4: BREVIARY
  • xMMs.Br1 Hymn for Sext. Ordinary for Office. 14c. Recto: either a pocket breviary or antiphonary. Verso: Hymns for Compline and Vespers; 12.8 x 17.6 mm. Single leaf. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • Series 5: CHARTER
  • xfMMs.Ch1 Contract. 1520. Latin ; 51 x 43 mm. Single leaf. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • xMMs.Ch2 Charter of Robert Maleson of Oxnoll. 1 Nov, 1328. pendent [English?]; 26 x 15.5 mm. Single leaf. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • xMMs.Ch3 Charter of John Adam, of Methelwold, Norfolk. 21 May 1313. Seal, Latin. 19 x 11.7 mm. Single leaf. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • xMMs.Ch4 Carta Ejectuoria de Nobleza. 1588. Spanish. Vellum. Illuminated frontispiece and initials, including coat of arms for the beneficiary's family. Document tracing the nobility of the family and exempting them from taxes. 23 x 31. 3 x 3 mm closed, 46.5 x 31.3 x 11 mm open. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • xMMs.Ch5 Executoria contra la ciudad de Cuenca.Manuscript on paper, limp vellum binding, front cover with date 1432 [?]. A judicial decision handed down against the city of Cuenca, probably over a question of territory. Last leaf of text with date 1616 [?]. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • xMMs.Ch6 Manuscript on paper. Limp vellum binding. 165 numbered pages, last leaf with date 1647. One leaf laid in, 2 pages, with date of 1646. Indentures in English. Page 1--"This indenture made the tenth day of September in the thirteenth year of the reign of our sovereign lord Charles by the grace of god . . . King" ca. 1630.19.5 x29.5 x2 closed, 39 x 29.5 x 1 mm open
  • xMMs.Ch7 Charter. Single leaf with seal on vellum. Signed "Jacobus R." King James I, King of Great Britain from 1603 - 1625. 1513[?].
  • Series 6: DEVOTIONAL
  • xMMs.De1 Anonymous devotional treatise. About 1350, Italy. Tiny Gothic script (11 or 12 lines to the inch), replete with abbreviations. Rubricated throughout, with captions and many initials in red. Written in two columns on ruled leaves. Uterine vellum, 4 x 3 inches. No 3. Latin manuscript leaf; 8.5 x 11.5 mm. Single leaf. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • xMMs.De2 Anonymous devotional treatise. [ca. 1200?] A similar leaf but with 14 or 15 lines to the inch. No 4. ; 8.2 x 1.5 mm. Single leaf. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • Series 7: DOCUMENT
  • xfMMs.Doc1 Indenture on vellum. Dated "eighteenth day of September in the seventh year of the reign of our most gracious sovereign Lady Anne...1708" With two red wax seals. On verso of the document is a pencil annotation: ENGLISH 17th Century SUI 1953 . Single leaf.
  • xMMs.Doc2 A will/testament, 1699. Manuscript on paper, limp vellum binding. Particion De los Vienes del Sr. Don Franco Munoz Carillo. Front cover with date "17 de Jul del ano de 1699."
  • xfMMs.Doc3 Parchment. Calf skin vellum by Jesse Meyer, parchment maker, Montgomery, N.Y.
  • xfMMs.Doc4 Goat skin vellum by Jesse Meyer, parchment maker, Montgomery, N.Y.
  • Series 8: GRADUAL
  • xfMMs.Gr1 Introit. Antiphon for Cyriacus Largus et Smaragdus Martyrs. 16th or 17th century. Verso, calligraphic initials from 15th century;43.4 x 65 mm. Single leaf. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • xfMMs.Gr2 1540. Single leaf. Italy (Rome). Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • xfMMs.Gr3 Small Gradual. Vellum. 1230. English book hand. Written between 4 lines; early bass and treble clefs. 9 staves per page. Some blue and red decoration. Recto: near end of Credo. Verso: Processional? Marginalia: cantrix ; 12 x 18.3 mm. Single leaf. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • Series 9: HISTORY
  • xMMs.Hi1 LUCANUS, MARCUS ANNAEUS. Pharsalia. Manuscript on paper. A complete text of the poem in 10 books, the first three of which are minutely annotated in the margins and between the lines. Elaborately decorated and illuminated initial letters in gold, red, green and white on a blue background. Binding of stamped leather over wooden boards. The manuscript opens with a summary of the poem in rhyming hexameter verses and concludes with a useful colophon: "Hoc opus scriptum fuit p me Tomam domini baldinocti de baldinoctis Anno dni Mcccclxv mensis ianuarii." [This book was written by me Tomas (scribe?) of the Nobleman Baldinocti de Baldinoctis in the year of 1465 in the month of January.] A CD ROM image of the entire manuscript is available in the collection's research materials;21 x 30.5 mm closed, 43 x 30 x 2.3 mm open. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • xMMs.Hi2 Cronica der Statt Nurmberg. German, ca. 1575. This work was created in about 1561 and written until 1575. It was originally bound in leaves of a parchment book, printed with movable type between 1450 and 1455, only a few years after printing with movable type was invented. Parchment leaves are in a cloth portfolio entitled "Parchment Folio from Incunabular Missal. Perhaps printed by Georg Stuchs of Nuremberg." Both are shelved with the Medieval Manuscripts Collection; 52.5 x 37 mm leaves, 21.2 x 33.2 x 4.5 mm closed, 45 x 33.2 x 3.6 mm open. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • Series 10: KORAN
  • xMMs.Ko1 Single leaf. 1200. Kufic hand. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • Series 11: MISCELLANEOUS
  • xMMs.Misc1 Cicero (Attributed). Ad Herennium14th c. A treatise on rhetoric in four books. With scholia. Written in Italian charter hand, a script widely used in official documents in Italy. Name of scribe and date are rendered illegible by bookworms. Marginal and interlinear glosses on first few pages. Old limp vellum with flaps and leather loops. Shelved with Medieval Manuscripts; 17.5 x 21 x 2 mm closed, 41.5 x 21 x 1 mm open. [formerly also classified as xMs R472 1361]. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 1.
  • xMMs.Misc2 Pio Antonio Olivieri, Sanctorum et virorum Dei atque sapientium astrologorum vaticinia de pontificibus et prophetiae de statu regnorum mundi. Pap. (late 16th c.), 68 ff. (24 x 16 cm.), stated to have contained originally 74 ff. Written in Germany (?). 30 miniatures, chiefly of popes with their symbols. Modern vellum binding. The compiler (named only in a modern note on f. I v.) remarks (f. 3r.): Est notandum quod in hoc libro intendo rescribere omnes prophetias et omnia vaticinia extracta hinc inde, et quae habere potui a fide dignis. His list includes: Rabanus abbas Fuldensis, Joachim abbas, Rainerius eremita, Merlinus, Bernardinus, Reginaldus Orotensis, Theosebius Mechlinensis astrologus, Simon de Holandia, Consalvus Helvetius, Georgius Transtetter Viennensis 1524, Michael de Petra, O.P., and many others. [Papal manuscript, hand-colored; Pamela Spitzmueller binding] (De Ricci 8) Notes on this text available in Research Materials Box 2; 1 7.7 x 24.5 x 3 mm closed, 36 x 24.5 x 1 mm open. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 2.
  • xMMs.Misc3 1608. IN CHRISTI NOMINE AMEN. Contract (?) Bound with seal.
  • xMMs.Misc4 15th c. "Fragment de virtutibus". Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 2.
  • xfMMs.Misc5 A leaf from De vita contemplativa by Julianus Pomerius (previously attributed to Prosper of Aquitaine). Italy, 15th century. This leaf contains (from Book 3 of De vita contemplativa) the end of chapter 27, all of chapter 28 (beginning with the rubricated l of "lustitia"), and the beginning of chapter 29 (beginning with the decorated P of "Prudentia"). The manuscript is written on paper in a humanistic book script. This particular leaf came from a manuscript originally in the collection of Ernst Detterer (1888-1947), a Chicago typographer, Art Institute instructor, and later the inaugural custodian of the Newberry's John M. Wing Foundation. De Ricci's Census (v. 1, p. 605, item 31) records Detterer as acquiring this manuscript from James Tregaskis in 1912 or 1913, number 396 in one of his catalogs, and originally consisting of 29 unbound leaves. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 2.
  • xMMs.Misc6 (formerly xMs H811c). Horace. Carminum II/Odes II, Odes 3-9. Two leaves on vellum; some initials and capitals in red. Lacks the first line of Ode 3, but otherwise complete through Ode 9. Heavily worn and illegible in many places. Both leaves have been bound in backwards and should be read in the following order: 1v, 1r, 2v, 2r. Acquired from Erich von Sherling in 1932 for 36 gulden. A laid-in bookseller's description, likely Scherling's (item no. 1395) describes this as 11th- or 12th-century and "Written in a small neat caroline hand," though this statement should be verified and the geographic place of production established. The leaves were formerly used as covering material in a binding, but were later interleaved with paper and then pamphlet-stitched together, probably in the early 19th century (note lack of shadows along chain lines in the added paper). A few lines of Horace have been transcribed in an early hand on the interleaved paper. Number 4 in De Ricci's Census, which cites Scherling's Rotulus II.28.
  • Series 12: MISSAL
  • xfMMs.Miss1 Missale Romanum. Vellum. (ca. 1400), 298 ff. (44 x 30 cm.). Written in Italy. In the calendar, S. Orantus, 5 March; S. Onofrius, 11 June; SS. Nicantrus and Martinianus, 17 June; S. Cesidius, 31 Aug.; S. Reparata, 8 Oct.; S. Germanus Capuanus episcopus, 29 Oct. Illuminated initials and borders (miniatures all removed). Rebound (1896) in vellum. Coat-of-arms (f. 7 r.) : azure a bend or (Bruni, Capizucchi, etc.). In the calendar, 27 Feb.: Anno Domini MCCCLXXXVII obit magnificus vir Rogerius Celani, comes, indelendae memoriae, in castro Galiani, decimae indictionis, luna octava, sistente in signo cancri, paulisper post horam nonam, in die Mercurii. [Celano Missal] (De Ricci 2); ; 32 x 45.5 x 12 mm closed, 63 x 45.5 x 5.7 mm open. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 2.
  • xfMMs.Miss2 Missale. Vellum. (15th c.), 83 ff. only (17 x 10 cm.), imperfect at end. Written in Italy (?). 2 large and many small illuminated initials; border with the figure of a crane. Some musical notation. 19th c. mottled paper boards. N. 31 and n. 1498 in catalogues; last owned by F. Casella, Naples. [Orange goat-skin binding by Mark Esser] (De Ricci 3); 11.5 x 18 x 4 mm closed, 26 x 18 x 2 mm open. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 2.
  • xfMMs.Miss3 Gradual and Introit. Single leaf of Missal. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 2.
  • xMMs.Miss4 15th c. Kyrie and Gloria. Single leaf of Missal. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 2.
  • Series 13: NOTARIAL RECORDS
  • xMMs.NoR1 (Catasticho) in many hands, of a Monastery of San Lorenzo at Venice. Vel. (1478-1520), 118 ff. (24 x 16 cm.), with 5 prefixed ff. containing an almost contemporary index in Italian. Original red stamped calf with traces of metal ornaments. (De Ricci 5). Includes a historical model of the Catasticho's binding, in red goatskin over wooden boards, created by Melissa Moreton in 2009 under the guidance of Gary Frost. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 2.
  • xMMs.NoR2 1556-1708. Register of a Venetian Confraternity dedicated to the Virgin. Italy (Venice). Vellum (parchment). 16th to 18th C. Writing in some begins in 1556; leather cover tooled in gold is of that period. In various hands, with texts dated 1556, 1626, 1640, 1641, 1658, and 1708. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 2.
  • Series 14: PRAYERS
  • xMMs.Pr1 Chain of Psalms/Prayers. Vellum. 1190. France. Transitional Book Hand, marginal annotations in same hand. Recto first line Job xxxviii. Pricking marks; 15.5 x 21.3 mm. Single leaf. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 2.
  • xMMs.Pr2 Book of Prayers/Psalter? Vellum. 1180. France. Typical book hand. 21 rubrics. Note: 2 ds used, a. First lines written above top lines, possibly c. 1200. Pricking marks. Illuminated B; 15.3 x 22.2 mm. Single leaf. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 2.
  • xMMs.Pr3 Preces piae, in German, many translated expressly from Latin; including special prayers for S. Joergen and S. Otilia. Vel. (15th c.), 104 ff. (10 x 7 cm.). 2 illuminated Initials. 18th c. black morocco, gilt, lettered Gebethbuch MSS Sc. XV. A modern hand has added on f. 103 v. an index, in German; on f. 1 r., a modern monogram F G; n. 2812, n. 45, and n. 2001-13, in various catalogues. [Dark blue goat-skin binding by William Anthony] (De Ricci 6) Notes on this text are available in Research Materials, Box 1; 99 x 11 x 4 mm closed, 19.5 x 11 x 3 mm open. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 2.
  • xMMs.Pr4 Summa Confessionum Book of Prayers. 1389-1459. Formerly Ms A632sc. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 2.
  • Series 15: PSALTER
  • xMMs.Ps1 Manuscript Leaf. England. c. 1400. Vellum, 12 x 8 3/4. Latin, Gothic Script. Music on 4 line stave; 38 x 47.5 mm. Single leaf. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 2.
  • xMMs.Ps2 Undated, unidentified. Latin; 46.5 x 65 mm. Single leaf. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 2.
  • xMMs.Ps3 Psalterium cum antiphonis. Vel. (15th c.), 161 ff. (27 x 20 cm.), imperfect at end. Written in Italy. Illuminated initials. Musical notation. 18th c. mottled calf, gilt. A later owner has filled into the calendar such names as Sigismundus rex (2 May), S. Johannes Gualbertus abbas (12 July and 10 Oct.), Gandericius (14 Oct.), Donatus Scottus ep. et conf. (23 Oct.), dedicatio Sanctae Crucis de Vicio [?] (10 Dec). A note indicates that the ms. once contained 174 ff. [Iowa oak boards, tawed goat-skin binding by William Anthony] (De Ricci 9); 21.5 x 28.5 x 6.5 mm closed, 44 x 28.5 x 3 mm open. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 2.
  • xMMs.Ps4 Manuscript leaf. ca. 1400. England, in Latin. Vellum. Music on 4-line stave. Latin, Gothic script. Single leaf. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 2.
  • xMMs.Ps5 Psalter with commentary. About 1175. Northern France. Single leaf. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 2.
  • Series 16: SERMON
  • xMMs.Se1 Postillae of Albert of Padua. Undated. Vellum and paper. Original boards covered with protective paper and binding by Pamela Spitzmueller, 1998; 16.5 x 21 x 7 mm closed, 33 x 21.5 x 5 mm open. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 2.
  • xfMMs.Se2 [Lessons? Sermons?] Undated. Vellum. Single leaf. Verso: Feria 3; 11.5 x 14.5 mm. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 2.
  • xMMs.Se3 Theological treatise, in Latin, touching on “gula” (f. 17 r.) and other vices (ff. 2 r.-69 r.). S. Augustinus, Oratio (ff. 69 v.-72 r.: Domine Deus omnipotens, qui es trinus et unus…); similar prayers and treatises (ff. 72 r.-100 r.); Orationes seu contemplativae meditations XV gaudiorum gloriosae Virginis Mariae (ff. 100 r.-124 v., incomplete at end); S. Augustinus (?), Meditationes X (ff. 125 r.-178 v., imperfect at beginning and end). Vel. (14th c.), 178 ff. (10 x 8 cm.). Written in Italy. Illuminated initials. Modern vellum binding, with an old cover of vellum from a 13th c. ms. of the Psalms with marginal commentary (Ego autem in Domino speravi et exultabo…Proteges eos in tabernaculo tuo a contradictione linguarum). [“Book of Meditations”; maroon goat-skin binding by William Anthony] (De Ricci 1); 8.5 x 11 x 4.5 mm closed, 20 x 11 x 3 mm open. Comments, June 5, 2008: Karen Jolly, Matt Hussey, Elaine Treharne: front fly leaf page (fol. 1); verso main text identified as Psalm 30. Marginal text appears to be psalter commentary. Phrase identified as Augustine of Hippo, commentary on the Psalms (PL electronic search on "iam non secundum adam"). Could be Glossa Ordinaria or early variant. Hand of main text appears to be late Carolingian (no later than c.1160). Marginal hand of similar date. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 2.
  • xMMs.Se4 JOHANNIS HALGRINUS DE ABBATISVILLA (ca. 1180--1237). Sermones de Tempore. Postillae, or commentaries on the Gospels of the Church year. Manuscript on vellum, 77 leaves, 296 x 222 mm. Twelve gatherings of eight folios, except gathering seven with three folios, and gathering twelve with six folios; twelve folios missing from the manuscript. Pricking marks present. Usually 51 lines per page. Composed ca. 1200--1225 (?). John of Abbeville was Archbishop of Besancon and Cardinal of Saint Sabine, and served as legate to Pope Gregory IX. On the rear paste-down is a manuscript question, or theological problem, dated MCCII [?], involving the Dominican brothers Thomas de Aquino, Bartholomeo, Brandoma, and Gilberto. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 2.
  • xMMs.Se5 Pope Gregory the Great. Homilies. Northern Italy, ca. 1450. Manuscript leaf on vellum. 1 leaf, 11 x 8 inches. Double columns, Gothic hand, rubrication in red and blue. Floriated borders (inner and lower margins) drawn in red, blue, gold (not illuminated) and green with white highlighting. Faint horizontal crease and four pin-holes provide evidence that this leaf was once folded and used as an endpaper in a later manuscript or early printed book. No glue residue, one small natural hole in outer margin. Single leaf. Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 2.
  • xBT430.T4 Sermo de Passione Christi. Sermon with Gregorian chant cover (manuscript fragment in a book).1486? Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 2.
  • Series 17: RESEARCH MATERIALS
  • Box 1:
  • Miscellaneous Documents and labels
  • Nancy Mortensen, Curatorial Project
  • Curatorial Worksheets, Nancy Mortensen
  • Paper by Katherine A. Krick: "Surviving New Technology: Books of Hours and Their Odyssey." xMMs.Bo6 and one other manuscript edition (Durham University, Durham, England) plus two printed editions of Books of Hours (xBX2080.A2 1502 in Special Collections at the University of Iowa; a printed edition at Durham University).
  • xfMMs.An1 research material
  • xMMs.An2 research material
  • xfMMs.An3 research material
  • xfMMs.An4 research material
  • xMMs.Bi1 research material
  • xMMs.Bi2 research material
  • xMMs.Bi3 research material
  • xMMs.Bi4 research material
  • xMMs.Bo1 research material
  • xMMs.Bo2 research material
  • xMMs.Bo3 research material
  • xMMs.Bo4 research material
  • xMMs.Bo5 research material
  • xMMs.Bo6 research material
  • xMMs.Br1 research material
  • xfMMs.Ch1 research material
  • xMMs.Ch2 research material
  • xMMs.Ch3 research material
  • xMMs.Ch4 research material
  • xMMs.Ch5 research material
  • xMMs.De1 research material
  • xMMs.De2 research material
  • xfMMs.Gr1 research material
  • xfMMs.Gr2 research material
  • xMMs.Gr3 research material
  • xMMs.Hi1 research material
  • xMMs.Hi2 research material
  • xMMs.Ko1 research material
  • xMMs.Misc1 research material
  • Box 2:
  • CD Rom, Pharsalia, Lucan, 1465. Created by UIL Preservation Imaging 6/12/2003
  • xMMs.Misc2 research material, including thesis: Hagin, Charles M. "A Latter Sixteenth Century Reader's Digest of Prophecy: Analysis of Manuscript xMMs.Misc2." Completed in fulfillment for course requirements for Professor Kathleen Kamerick, Book in the Middle Ages, December 2004. Includes CD ROM of images.
  • xMMs.Misc4 research material
  • xfMMs.Misc5 research material
  • xfMMs.Miss1 research material, including thesis by Jennifer Dunlap
  • xMMs.Miss2 research material
  • xfMMs.Miss3 research material
  • xMMs.Miss4 research material
  • xMMs.NoR1 research material
  • xMMs.NoR2 research material
  • xMMs.Pr1 research material
  • xMMs.Pr2 research material
  • xMMs.Pr3 research material
  • xMMs.Pr4 research material
  • xMMs.Ps1 research material
  • xfMMs.Ps2 research material
  • xMMs.Ps3 research material
  • xfMMs.Ps4 research material
  • xMMs.Ps5 research material
  • xMMs.Se1 research material
  • xMMs.Se2 research material
  • xMMs.Se3 research material
  • xMMs.Se4 research material
  • xMMs.Se5 research material
  • xBT430.T4 Sermo de Passione Christi. Sermon with Gregorian chant cover (manuscript fragment in a book).1486? Related materials can be found in Research Materials Box 2.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.