Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Confederate States of America Documents

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1861 - 1865
Creator:
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0540
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: A collection of bills, acts, reports and other documents printed by the Confederate States of America government.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Confederate States of American Documents, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

A collection of bills, acts, reports, and other documents produced by the government of the Confederate States of America from 1861 -- 1864. The documents are organized into categories established by T. Michael Parrish and Robert M. Willingham, Jr. in their Confederate Imprints: A Bibliography (Austin, Texas: Jenkins Publishing Co. and Ketonah, New York: Gary A. Foster, 1980). Only two items in this collection are not described in the bibliography; these are unnumbered and located at the end of the box contents list.

Parrish and Willingham provide a detailed citation for each item they describe. Consequently the items listed here are more briefly described; readers are advised to consult the bibliography for full citations. The bracketed number that begins each entry is the Parrish/Willingham number.

The Iowa copy of the bibliography is held in the General Reference Collection of the University of Iowa Libraries (call number: Main Reference Collection Z1242.5 P37 1980). It has been marked to indicate the holdings in this collection: "IaU" indicates that a copy of the document is present here.

The categories and item number ranges in which Iowa has documents include:

CONFEDERATE STATES OF AMERICA

OFFICIAL PUBLICATIONS

CONGRESS 23 -- 262

SENATE

Miscellaneous Publications 228 -- 252

Bills, resolutions, etc., 263 -- 444

Committees 253 -- 262 HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Bills, resolutions, etc.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Folder 1 (#59-598)
  • [59] An act relative to prisoners of war . . . Approved May 6th, 1861 [Montgomery, 1861] 1 p. May 21 - 1861
  • [78] An act to organize the forces to serve during the war. [Richmond, 1864] 6 p. February 17 - 1864
  • [85] An act to amend the tax laws. [Richmond, 1864] 3 p. - Undated
  • [94] An act to diminish the number of exemptions and details . . . [Richmond, 1865] 1 p. March 11 - 1865
  • [95] An act authorizing the Secretary of the Treasury to borrow specie to be applied to the redemption and reduction of the currency. [Richmond, 1865] 1p. March 16 - 1865
  • [100] A bill to increase the efficiency of the cavalry of the Confederate States. [n.p., 186-] 4 p. - Undated
  • [228] Address of the Congress to the people of the Confederate States. [Richmond, 1864] 8 p. - Undated
  • [257] Report of the Joint select committee appointed to investigate the condition and treatment of prisoners of war. [Richmond, 1865]17 p. March 3 - 1865
  • [259] Report of the Joint select committee appointed to investigate the management of the Navy Department. [Richmond, 1864] 7 p. - Undated
  • [291] (Secret) (Senate bill no. 11 . . . A bill to be entitled "An act to provide for the further issue of treasury notes and for other purposes." [Richmond, 1863] 7 p. February 11 - 1863
  • [295] Amendments. A bill to be entitled an Act to declare what person shall be exempt from military service. [Richmond, n.d.] 8 p. - Undated
  • [308] (Senate, no. 13) . . . A bill to be entitled An act in relation to the public printing. [Richmond,1863] 9 p. April 25 - 1863
  • [331] Letter from Gen. Wise. Headquarters 6th Military District, Department South Carolina, Georgia and Florida, January 3, 1864 . . .[endorsing and enclosing the memorial of Generals Hardee, Stevenson and other officers, dated December 17th, 1863. . .] [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. January 9 - 1864
  • [371] (Senate bill, no. 51) . . . A bill to provide supplies for the army and to prescribe the mode of making impressments. [Richmond, 1864] 5 p. June 2 - 1864
  • [379] (Senate bill, no. 109) . . . An act to amend an act entitled "An act to increase the efficiency of the army by employing free negroes and slaves in certain capacities", approved February 17th 1864. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. November 22 - 1864
  • [380] (Senate bill, no. 84) . . . A bill to construe and declare more explicitly the meaning of "An act to increase the compensation of the heads of the several executive departments, and the assistant Secretary of War and the Treasury, and of the assistant Attorney General and the Comptroller of the Treasury, and other officers therein named," approved June 14, 1864. [Richmond, 1863] 3 p. November 8 - 1864
  • [382] (Senate bill, no. 92) . . . A bill to exempt the cargoes of vessels owned by the states of the Confederacy from existing restrictions upon exports and imports. [ Richmond, 1864] 2 p. November 28 - 1864
  • [385] (Senate bill, no. 121) . . . A bill declaring the mode of ascertaining the value of the tithe deliverable to the government under existing laws. [Richmond, 1964] 1 p. November 29 - 1864
  • [387] (Senate bill, no. 119 - Secret) . . . A bill to suspend the privilege of the writ of habeas corpus in certain cases. [Richmond, 1864] 8 p. November 28 - 1864
  • [394] Amendment to Senate bill (S.129) to provide for the employment of free Negroes and slaves to work upon fortifications, and to perform other labor connected with the defences of the country. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. December 12 - 1864
  • [397] (Senate bill, no. 16) . . . Joint resolution defining the position of the Confederate States, and declaring the determination of the Congress and the people thereof to prosecute the war till their independence is acknowledged. [Richmond, 1864] 4 p. December 15 - 1864
  • [398] (Senate bill, no. 129) . . . A bill to provide for the employment of free Negroes and slaves to work upon fortifications and perform other labor connected with the defences of the country. [Richmond, 1864] 6 p. December 15 - 1864
  • [409] (Secret. Senate no. 157) . . . A bill to provide for the appointment of a directing general of the armies of the Confederate States. [Richmond, 1865] 1 p. January 9 - 1865
  • [417] Amendment proposed by the Committee on Finance, to the bill (H.R. 229) to provide more effectually for the reduction and redemption of the currency. [Richmond, 1865] 1 p. January 16 - 1865
  • [419] Resolution of the Legislature of the State of North Carolina in relation to the pay of disabled soldiers. [Richmond, 1865] 1 p. January 21 - 1865
  • [435] (Senate, no., 192) . . . A bill to amend the act entitled "An act to organize forces to serve during the war," approved February 17, 1864. [Richmond, 1865] 1 p. February 13 - 1865
  • [438] Resolution passed by the General Assembly of the State of Virginia, in relation to the Confederate States Impressment laws. [Richmond, 1865] 1 p. January 25 - 1865
  • [444] Amendment proposed by the Senate to the bill (H.R. 379) to levy additional taxes for the year eighteen hundred and sixty-five, for the support of the government. [Richmond, 1865] 8 p. March 6 - 1865
  • [459] (No. 18 - Secret) Report of the Committee on Finance on the bill (H.R., 92) to tax, fund, and limit the currency. [Richmond, 1864] 12 p. January 25 - 1864
  • [474] (House bill.) A bill to be entitled An act to facilitate the detection of frauds by the disbursing officers of the government, with the view to the discovery of frauds and peculations upon the government, and facilitate the conviction of offenders, under existing or future laws. [Richmond, 186-] 3 p. - Undated
  • [507] (House no. 4) . . . A bill to regulate the navigation of the Confederate States and to establish direct trade with foreign nations. [Richmond, 1862] 4 p. September 17 - 1862
  • [519] (House bill, no. 4) . . . A bill to be entitled An act making appropriations for the executive, legislative and judicial expenses of the government for the month of December, eighteen hundred and sixty-two. [Richmond, 1862] 8 p. October 2 - 1862
  • [523] A bill to be entitled An act to amend the existing acts for the exemption of persons from military service. [Richmond, 1862] 3 p. October 11 - 1862
  • [524] (House bill, no. 5) . . . A bill to be entitled An act making Confederate notes a legal tender and to prevent and punish extortion. [Richmond, 1862] 2 p. October 13 - 1862
  • [525] (House.) Amendment. Caption Title: Strike out the second section of the bill and insert the following:... [Richmond, 1863?] 2 p. - Undated
  • [527] (House, no. 21) . . . Joint resolutions expressing opinion of Congress in relation to the conduct of certain citizens of Louisiana within the lines, and in the presence of the enemy. [Richmond, 1863] 2 p. January 13 - 1863
  • [528] (House, no. 24) . . . Resolutions endorsing the recent proclamation and order of the President on the subject of retaliation. [Richmond, 1863] 3 p. January 13 - 1863
  • [529] (House, no. 25) . . . Joint resolutions on the pending war, and matters appertaining thereto. [Richmond, 1863] 7 p. January 13 - 1863
  • [532] (House, bill no. 8) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to amend an act entitled "An act to regulate the destruction of property under military necessity and to provide for the indemnity thereof." Approved the 17th day of March, 1862. [Richmond, 1863] 6 p. January 17 - 1863
  • [533] (House bill, no. 4) . . . A bill to be entitle An act to prohibit quartermasters and others from speculating. [Richmond, 1863] 2 p. January 19 - 1863
  • [534] (House bill, no. 2) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to declare what persons shall be exempt from military service. [Richmond, 1863] 2 p. January 20 - 1863
  • [535] Resolutions respecting the present war, and the causes leading thereto. [Richmond, 1863] 6 p. January 20 - 1863
  • [537] (House bill, no. 12) . . . A bill to be entitled 'An act to increase and strengthen the Army of the Confederate States." [Richmond, 1863] 3 p. January 22 - 1863
  • [538] (House bill, no. 8) . . A bill continuing in pay all discharged soldiers by reason of wounds and injuries received in the service. [Richmond, 1863] 3 p. January 23 - 1863
  • [549] (House bill no. 8) . . . Preamble and resolutions on the subject of taxes. [Richmond, 1863] 2 p. February 7 - 1863
  • [553] A bill to exempt certain persons from military duty, and to repeal the acts heretofore passed by Congress on the same subject. [Richmond, 1863] 8 p. February 13 - 1863
  • [555] Mr. Foster's amendment to bill to fund the currency. [Richmond, 1863] 3 p. February 18 - 1863
  • [556] (House bill no. __) . . . A bill to be entitled An act in relation to substitutes in the army. [Richmond, 1863] 2 p. February 19 - 1863
  • [559] (Secret) . . . Mr. Garnett's amendment to bill of the Senate "To provide for the further issue of treasury notes and for other purposes, "by striking out all after the enacting clause, and inserting in lieu thereof the following: . . . . [Richmond, 1863] 2 p. February 20 - 1863
  • [560] (House bill no. __) . . . A bill regulating the granting of furloughs and discharges in hospitals. [Richmond, 1863] 3 p. February 24 - 1863
  • [564] (House bill no. 3) . . . A bill to be entitled "An act to lay taxes for the common defense, and carry on the government of the Confederate States." [Richmond, 1863] 24 p. February 25 - 1863
  • [565] (House bill no. __) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to provide certain regulations for holding elections for representatives in the Congress of the Confederate States. [Richmond, 1863] 4 p. February 28 - 1863
  • [566] (House bill no. __) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to provide for holding elections for representatives in the Congress of the Confederate States, in states occupied by the forces of the enemy. [Richmond, 1863] 2 p. February 28 - 1863
  • [567] Amendment proposed by Mr. Kenner, from Committee on Ways and Means, to bill "to lay taxes for the common defense, and carry on the government of the Confederate States." [Richmond, 1863 2 p. March ? - 1863
  • [570] (House bill no __) . . . A bill to establish a Nitre and Mining Bureau. [Richmond, 1863] 2 p. March 9 - 1863
  • [571] Communications from G. Tochman, touching his memorial now before Congress. [Richmond, 1863] 3 p. March 10 - 1863
  • [572] (House, no. 1) . . . Joint resolutions on the subject of the war, and in regard to the free navigation of the Mississippi River. [Richmond, 1863] 3 p. March 10 - 1863
  • [575] (House bill no. 27) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to provide for the payment of officers acting under temporary appointment from the commander of any department, corps, division or brigade. [Richmond, 1863] 2 p. March 30 - 1863
  • [576] (House bill, no. 1) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to provide for keeping in repair the railroads of the Confederate States necessary for the transportation of troops and government supplies. [Richmond, 1863] 2 p. March 31 - 1863
  • [577] A bill to be entitled An act to provide for holding elections for representatives in the Congress of the Confederate States, in states occupied by the forces of the enemy. [Richmond, 1863] 5 p. April 4 - 1863
  • [578] (House bill no. 6) . . . A bill to regulate furloughs and discharges to soldiers in hospitals. [Richmond, 1863] 3 p. April 4 - 1863
  • [579] (House bill no. __) . . . A bill to distribute bounty, granted as a reward to the officers and men serving on board the Virginia, Patrick Henry, Jamestown, Raleigh, Beaufort and Terazert, for their gallantry and courage in the naval engagement with the enemy's vessels in Hampton Roads, on the 8th and 9th of March, 1862. [Richmond, 1863] 2 p. April 8, - 1863
  • [585] (House bill, no. __) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to prevent trading with the enemy or with persons resident in the United States. [Richmond, 1863] 1 p. December 10 - 1863
  • [586] House bill . . A bill to be entitled An act to provide payment for slaves impressed under state laws, and lost in the public service. [Richmond, 1863] 1 p. December 10 - 1863
  • [591] (House of Representatives) . . . A bill to raise a tax for the support of the government. [Richmond, 1863] 1p. December 11 - 1863
  • [593] (House of Representatives, no. 23) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to permit the funding of certain treasury notes not now fundable. [Richmond, 1863] 1 p. December 14 - 1863
  • [596] (House of Representatives no. 9) . . . Resolution on finance. [Richmond, 1863] 2 p. December 14 - 1863
  • [598] (House bill, no. 31) . . . A bill entitled An act to amend an act entitled "An act to provide for the funding and further issue of treasury notes, " approved March 23, 1863. [Richmond, 1863] 3 p. December 16 - 1863
  • Folder 2 (#600-799)
  • [600] (House bill, no. 15) . . . A bill to be entitled "An act to raise a revenue by direct taxation." [Richmond, 1863] 2 p. December 16 - 1863
  • [603] (House bill, no. 11) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to amend an act entitled "An act to prevent fraud in the Quartermaster's and Commissary's Departments, and the obtaining under false pretense transportation for private property, " approved May 1st 1853. [Richmond, 1863] 3 p. December 18 - 1863
  • [605] (House bill, no. __) . . . A bill continuing in pay all discharged soldiers by reason of wounds and injuries received in the service. [Richmond, 1863] 3 p. December 21 - 1863
  • [606] (House bill, no. __) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to amend the law in relation to substitutes. [Richmond, 1863] 2 p. December 21 - 1863
  • [607] (House of Representatives, no. 7) . . . Resolution directory of Select Committee on Finance. [Richmond, 1863] 1 p. December 21 - 1863
  • [608] (House of Representatives, no. 3) . . . Suggestions for financial relief. [Richmond, 1863] 2 p. December 21 - 1863
  • [609] (House bill, no. 3) . . . A bill to prohibit dealing in paper currency of the enemy. [Richmond, 1863] 2 p. December 22 - 1863
  • [610] (House bill, no. 4) . . . A bill to prevent trading with the enemy. [Richmond, 1863] 2 p. December 22 - 1863
  • [612] (House bill) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to allow commissioned officers of the army rations and the privilege of purchasing clothing from the Quartermaster's Department. [Richmond, 1863] 2 p. December 11 - 1863
  • [613] (House bill) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to grant a special copyright to W.J. Hardee and S.H. Goetzel, for Hardee's Rifle and infantry tactics. [Richmond, 1863] 1 p. December 22 - 1863
  • [614] (House bill) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to establish a Bureau of Foreign Supplies. [Richmond, 1863] 3 p. December 24 - 1863
  • [616] (House resolution) . . . Joint resolution for the relief of Major W.F. Haines. [Richmond, 1863] 1 p. December 24 - 1863
  • [618] (House bill) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to provide for wounded and disabled officers and soldiers an asylum to be called "The Veteran Soldiers Home." [Richmond, 1863] 4 p. December 28 - 1863
  • [620] (House bill) . . . A bill to provide for the reduction of the currency. [Richmond, 1863] 3 p. December 30 - 1863
  • [624] (House of Representatives - Secret session) . . . A bill to be entitled "An act to tax, fund, and limit the currency." [Richmond, 1863] 5 p. December 31 - 1863
  • [625] (House of Representatives) . . . A bill to be entitled An act repealing existing and regulating future, exemptions from military service. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. January 4 - 1864
  • [627] (House of Representatives - Secret session) . . . Amendment by Mr. Swan. [Richmond, 1864] 4 p. January 5 - 1864
  • [628] (House bill) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to increase the efficiency of the army by the employment of free Negroes and slaves in certain capacities. [Richmond, 1864] 3 p. January 5 - 1864
  • [629] (House bill) . . . A bill to be entitled "An act to provide for disabled officers, non-commissioned officers, musicians, privates and seamen. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. January 6 - 1864
  • [632] (House bill) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to increase the effective force of the "Provisional Army of the Confederate States." [Richmond, 1864] 4 p. January 8 - 1864
  • [633] (House bill) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to provide additional compensation for the soldiers of the army of the Confederate States, and for the families of those who die in the service. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. January 8 - 1864
  • [635] (House bill) . . . A bill to be entitled "An act to make additional appropriations for the support of the government of the Confederate States of America, for the fiscal year ending June 30, 1864." [Richmond, 1864] 11 p. January 9 - 1864
  • [636] (House of Representatives - Secret session) . . . Financial proposition. [Richmond, 1864] 1 p. January 9 - 1864
  • [637] (House of Representatives - Secret session) . . . Resolutions of instructions. [Richmond, 1864] 1 p. January 9 - 1864
  • [639] Resolutions expressive of the determination of Georgia to prosecute the present war with the utmost vigor and energy. [Richmond, 1864. 2 p. January 11 - 1864
  • [641] (House of Representatives - Secret session) Mr. Chilton's amendments to the bill of the committee. [Richmond, 1864] 3 p. January 12 - 1864
  • [642] (House of Representatives) . . . Proposition of Finance. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. January 12 - 1864
  • [643] (House bill) . . . Substitute of Mr. Boteler for Mr. Wilcox" bill. An act for payment of horses killed, captured, lost or permanently disabled in the Confederate States service. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. January 12 - 1864
  • [644] (House bill) . . . Substitute of Mr. Burnett for Mr. Boteler's bill. An act to provide for the payment for horses disabled or lost in the Confederate States. [Richmond, 1864] 1 p. January 12 - 1864
  • [645] (House of Representatives - Secret session) . . A bill to regulate the currency. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. January 15 - 1864
  • [648] (House bill) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to suppress abuses in the Quartermaster and Commissary Departments of the army. [Richmond, 1864] 9 p. December 28 - 1863
  • [650] (House of Representatives) . . . A bill to be entitled An act extending the privilege of purchasing clothing at government cost, to all persons in its employment, who have been discharged for [sic] the army on account of wounds received or disease contracted whilst in the service. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. January 18 - 1864
  • [655] (House bill) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to authorize the impressment of meat for the use of the army, under certain circumstances. [Richmond, 1864] 3 p. January 26 - 1864
  • [657] A bill to be entitled An act amendatory of an act entitled "An act to put an end to the exemption from military service of those who have heretofore furnished substitutes," approved January 5, 1864. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. January 28 - 1864
  • [658] (House bill) . . . A bill to be entitled An act supplemental to the several acts relating to military courts. [Richmond, 1864] 3 p. January 26 - 1864
  • [664] [Resolution transmitted] to the Hon. Speaker of the House of Representatives, Decatur, Georgia, January 27, 1864. [Adopted at a meeting of noncommissioned officers and privates of Company B. Twentieth Artillery Battalion, Alabama Volunteers, called for the purpose of considering the subject of re-enlisting for the war. [Richmond, 1864] 1 p. February 3 - 1864
  • [670] (House of Representatives, no. 366) . . . A bill to be entitled "An act to provide the means to carry on the government." [Richmond, 1864] 3 p. February 10 - 1864
  • [673] (House bill) . . . A bill supplemental to the several acts in relation to public printing. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. February 12 - 1864
  • [674] Joint resolutions in reference to the treatment of colored troops. [Richmond, 1864] 4 p. February 15 - 1864
  • [692] (House of Representatives, no. 102) . . . An act to provide for the safe custody, printing, publication and distribution of the laws, and to provide for the appointment of an additional clerk in the Department of Justice. [Richmond, 1864] 4 p. May 15 - 1864
  • [693] Preamble and resolutions asserting the jurisdiction and sovereignty of the State of Virginia over her ancient boundaries. Adopted October 8, 1863. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. May 19 - 1864
  • [698] (House bill, no. 93) . . . A bill to be entitled An act for the organization of the Bureau of Conscription and the appointment of officers in said Bureau. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. May 16 - 1864
  • [700] (House bill, no. 120) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to compensate Charles E. Stuart, Israel C. Owings and J.H. Taylor for the use of an improvement in the instruments for sighting cannon. [Richmond, 1864] 1 p. May 26 - 1864
  • [701] (House bill, no. 121) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to provide for the settlement of certain matters of account growing out of purchases of property as alleged by the purchasers for the use of the government, by Payne & Co., in the State of Texas. [Richmond, 1864] 4 p. May 26 - 1864
  • [703] (House bill, no. 123) . . . A bill to be entitled An act making appropriations for the support of the government of the Confederate States of America from July 1 to December 31, 1864, and to supply a deficiency. [Richmond, 1864] 12 p. May 26 - 1864
  • [704] (House bill, no. 124) . . . A bill to be entitled An act making appropriations for the postal service of the Confederate States, for the year 1862 and 1863. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. May 26 - 1864
  • [705] (House of Representatives) . . . Joint resolutions requiring the settlement of the accounts of the Post-Office Department prior to the first day of July, 1863. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. May 26 - 1864
  • [706] Preamble and resolutions (suggesting the removal of the present Secretary of Treasury]. [Richmond, 1864] 4 p. May 27 - 1864
  • [707] Resolutions declaring the supremacy of the civil over the military law. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. May 27 - 1864
  • [708] (House bill, no. 135) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to provide for the settlement of claims against the Confederate States, for property lost, captured or destroyed, while in the military service of the Confederate States, or which has been taken or impressed for their use. [Richmond, 1864] 4 p. June 1 - 1864
  • [713] (House of Representatives) Amendment to the bill offered by Mr. J.M. Smith, to amend the act to organize forces to serve during the war. [Richmond, 1864] 4 p. - Undated
    This item is also similar to Parrish and Willingham no. 829; however, the item in question has no discernible date while the two citations indicate dates of June 7, 1864 and 16 March 1865, respectively.
  • [714] (House of Representatives) . . . r. Simpson's amendment to impressment bill. A bill to provide for furnishing domestic supplies to the government. [Richmond, 1864] 4 p. June 7 - 1864
  • [717] (House bill, no. 191) . . . A bill to be entitled "An act to facilitate the settlement of claims of deceased officers and soldiers." [Richmond, 1864] 3 p. November 8 - 1864
  • [718] (House bill, no. 203] . . . A bill to be entitled "An act to protect the Confederate States against frauds and to provide remedies against officers and employees of the government committing them." [Richmond, 1864] 8 p. November 15 - 1864
  • [719] (House bill, no. 214) . . . A bill to be entitled "An act to define and punish conspiracy against the Confederate States." [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. November 18 - 1864
  • [722] (House bill, no. 230) . . . A bill to be entitled "An act to amend An act to provide revenue from commodities imported from foreign countries," approved May 21st, 1864. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. November 26 - 1864
  • [723] (House bill, no. 231) . . . A bill to be entitled "An act to exempt from taxation loans made on hypothecation of non-taxable bonds." [Richmond, 1864] 1 p. November 26 - 1864
  • [724] (House bill, no. 232) . . . A bill to be entitled "An act to exempt from taxation the capital bonds and certificates issued by the Confederate States." [Richmond, 1864] 1 p. November 26 - 1864
  • [725] (House bill, no. 233) . . . A bill to be entitled "An act to consolidate and amend the laws relative to impressments." [Richmond, 1864] 8 p. November 28 - 1864
  • [726] (House bill, no. 239) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to organize the Supreme Court. [Richmond, 1864] 4 p. November 29 - 1864
  • [727] (House bill, no. 240 - Secret session) . . . A bill to provide for the establishment of a Bureau of Special and Secret Service. [Richmond, 1864] 8 p. November 30 - 1864
  • [728] (House bill, no. 242) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to provide for sequestrating the property of persons liable to military service, who have departed or shall depart from the Confederate States without permission. [Richmond, 1864] 3 p. December 1 - 1864
  • [731] (House bill, no. 267 - Secret) . . . A bill to suspend the privilege of writ of habeas corpus, in certain cases, for a limited time. [Richmond, 1864] 6 p. November 10 - 1864
  • [734] (House of Representatives) . . . Amendment to the bill to provide more effectually for the reduction and redemption of the currency. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p., proposed December 13 - 1864
  • [736] (House bill, no. 274) . . . A bill to increase the pay of marines to that received by the infantry of the army. [Richmond, 1864] 1 p. December 13 - 1864
  • [737] (House bill, no. 275) . . . A bill to authorize the employment of instructors for the acting midshipmen of the navy, and to regulate their rank and pay. [Richmond, 1864] 1 p. December 13 - 1864
  • [738] (House bill, no. 276) . . . A bill making an appropriation to erect additional quarters for acting midshipmen at Drewry's Bluff. [Richmond, 1864] 1 p. December 13 - 1864
  • [739] (House of Representatives, no. 277) . . . A bill making appropriations for the removal of the naval rope walk and erection of the same. [Richmond, 1864] 1 p. December 13 - 1864
  • [740] (House of Representatives, no. 278) . . . A bill to increase the number of acting midshipmen in the navy, and to prescribe the manner of appointment. [Richmond, 1864] 1 p. December 13 - 1864
  • [741] (House of Representatives, no. 279) . . . A bill to provide for the transfer of certain mechanics, artizans, and other persons, from the army to the navy. [Richmond, 1864] 1 p. December 13 - 1864
  • [742] (House of Representatives, no. 280) . . . A bill to to be entitled "An act to impose a duty on tobacco and an additional duty on cotton exported from the Confederate States." [Richmond, 1864] 1 p. December 13 - 1864
  • [743] (House of Representatives) . . . Amendment to the bill to provide more effectually for the reduction and redemption of the currency. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. December 14 - 1864
  • [744] (House of Representatives) . . . Substitute for the bill (H.R. 229) to provide more effectually for the reduction and redemption of the currency. [Richmond, 1864] 4 p. December 14 - 1864
  • [745] (House of Representatives) . . . A resolution tendering negotiations for peace and a mitigation of the horrors of war. [Richmond, 1864] 1 p. December 16 - 1864
  • [746] (House of Representatives) . . . A resolution upon the subject of peace. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. December 16 - 1864
  • [747] (House of Representatives) . . . Resolutions relating to the war and negotiations for peace. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. December 16 - 1864
  • [748] (House of Representatives) . . . Amendment to bill to authorize the consolidation of companies, battalions and regiments. Richmond, 1864] 1 p. December 19 - 1864
  • [749] (House of Representatives) . . . Amendment to the bill to be entitled "An act to authorize the consolidation of companies, battalions and regiments." [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. December 19 - 1864
  • [750] (House of Representatives) . . . A resolution [relating to peace overtures]. [Richmond, 1864] 1 p. December 19 - 1864
  • [751] (House of Representatives) . . . A bill to be entitled An act more effectually to provide for the reduction and redemption of the currency. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. December 20 - 1864
  • [752] (House of Representatives, no. 285) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to lay a tax for revenue to provide for the common defence and carrying out the government of the Confederate States. [Richmond, 1864] 6 p. December 24 - 1864
  • [753] (House of Representatives, no. 286) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to levy and collect taxes for the common defence and for the support of the government for the year 1865, and to repeal certain tax laws. [Richmond, 1864] 6 p. December 24 - 1864
  • [754] (House of Representatives, no. 287) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to authorize the 2d Auditor of the Treasury, or a commissioner, to be appointed by the Secretary of the Treasury with the consent of the President, to take proof as to the expenditures of the State of Tennessee, in constructing military defences and the support of her army previous to its transfer to the Confederate government. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. December 24 - 1864
  • [755] A bill to be entitled An act to provide for organizing, arming and disciplining the militia of the Confederate States, and for governing such part of them as may be employed in the service of the Confederate States, and for calling them forth to execute the laws of the Confederate States, suppress insurrections and repel invasions. [Richmond, 1864] 14 p. Proposed December 24 - 1864
  • [756] Joint resolutions of the General Assembly of the State of Alabama, in relation to impressments and the schedule of prices fixed by Confederate commissioners. [Richmond, 1864] 1 p. December 24 - 1864
  • [758] A bill declaring the mode of ascertaining the value of the tithe deliverable to the government under the true construction of existing laws. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. December 5 - 1864
  • [759] (House bill, no. 303) . . . A bill to be entitled An act for the further organization of the field artillery of the Confederate States. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. December 29 - 1864
  • [760] (House of Representatives, no. 307) . . . A bill to be entitled An act authorizing the Secretary of the Treasury to borrow specie, to be applied to the redemption and reduction of the currency. [Richmond, 1864] 4 p. December 29, - 1864
  • [761] Amendments To the bill to be entitled An act to authorize the consolidation of companies, battalions and regiments. [Richmond, 1864] 5 p. December 30 - 1864
  • [762] (House bill, no. 311) . . . A bill to provide additional clothing and privileges to troops in the field. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. December 30 - 1864
  • [763] Substitute for the bill (H.R.203) to protect the Confederate States against frauds, and to provide remedies against officers and employees of the government committing them. [Richmond, 1864] 8 p. December 31 - 1864
  • [767] (House of Representatives) . . . A bill to be offered as a substitute for the bill reported by the Committee on Military Affairs to consolidate companies, battalions, regiments and brigades. [Richmond, 1864] 3 p. - Undated
  • [768] Amendment to section 3rd of the bill to be entitled An act to authorise the consolidation of companies, battalions and regiments. [Richmond, 1865] 2 p. January 2 - 1865
  • [770] (House bill, no. 319) . . . A bill more effectually to prevent and punish absenteeism and desertion in the army. [Richmond, 1865] 2 p. January 3 - 1865
  • [774] (House of Representatives, no. 288) . . . A bill to be entitled An act authorizing the promotion of officers, noncommissioned officers and privates, for distinguished valor and skill or for peculiar competency and general merit. [Richmond, 1865] 2 p. December 24 - 1864
  • [775] (House of Representatives, no. 322) . . A bill to be entitled An act repealing certain abatements from the property tax and income tax, and amending the said tax laws. [Richmond, 1865] 2 p. January 5 - 1865
  • [776] (House bill, no. 323) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to provide payment for horses killed or lost in the service of the Confederate States. [Richmond, 1865] 2 p. January 5 - 1865
  • [778] An act to provide for the more efficient execution of conscription, and for the arrest of deserters and absentees from the armies. [Richmond, 1865] 4 p. January 10 - 1865
  • [780] (House of Representatives, no. 326) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to regulate the business of conscription. [Richmond, 1865] 4 p. January 10 - 1865
  • [783] Resolutions [in relation to peace and independence] [Richmond, 1865] 1 p. January 11 - 1865
  • [785] (House of Representatives, no. 183) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to consolidate the public debt. [Richmond, 1865] 2 p. November 9 - 1864
  • [786] (House of Representatives, no. 184) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to provide means to carry on the war. [Richmond, 1865] 3 p. November 9 - 1864
  • [787] (House of Representatives, no. 337 - Secret) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to levy additional taxes for the year 1865, for the support of the government. [Richmond, 1865] 4 p. January 18 - 1865
  • [788] Resolutions of the State of Texas, concerning peace, reconstruction, and independence. [Richmond, 1865] 3 p. January 19 - 1865
  • [789] (House bill, no. 338) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to levy and collect taxes for the common defence, and for the support of the government for the year 1865, and to repeal certain tax laws. [Richmond, 1865] 8 p. January 20 - 1865
  • [790] (House of Representatives, no. 342) . . . A bill to be entitled An act providing for the auditing and payment of properly authenticated claims. [Richmond, 1865] 1 p. January 20 - 1865
  • [792] (House of Representatives, no. 344) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to provide for auditing and paying for horses and equipments taken from dismounted cavalrymen for the use of the government. [Richmond, 1865] 1 p. January 20 - 1865
  • [793] (House of Representatives, no. 349) . . . A bill to amend An act to organize forces to serve during the war. [Richmond, 1865] 3 p. January 23 - 1865
  • [794] (Secret) . . . [Resolution concerning additional taxes for the year 1865.] [Richmond, 1865] 3 p. January 24 - 1865
  • [795] (House of Representatives, no. 282) . . . A bill to be entitled An act for the prevention of frauds on the revenues of the Postoffice Department, and prohibiting the transportation of mailable matter over the post routes of the Confederate States by unauthorized associations of persons. [Richmond, 1865] 6 p. December 13 - 1864
  • [797] (Secret) (House of Representatives, no. 361) . . . A bill to provide for the establishment of a Bureau for Special and Secret Service. [Richmond, 1865] 8 p. January 30 - 1865
  • [798] (Secret) (House of Representatives, no. 362) . . A bill to be entitled "An act to provide means to carry on the war." [Richmond, 1865] 7 p. January 30 - 1865
  • [799] Resolutions adopted by the officers and men of the 57th Virginia Regiment. [Richmond, 1865] 2 p. January 30 - 1865
  • Folder 3 (#800-938)
  • [800] Resolutions passed at a meeting of the Ninth Virginia Infantry -- January 25, 1865. [Richmond, 1865] 2 p. January 30 - 1865
  • [801] Resolutions passed at a meeting of the 14th Virginia Infantry -- January 24, 1865. [Richmond, 1865] 2 p. January 30 - 1865
  • [802] (Secret) . . . Resolutions concerning taxes and the new issue of treasury notes. [Richmond, 1865] 1 p. February 2 - 1865
  • [805] (House) . . . Resolutions adopted by Bratton's Brigade, South Carolina Volunteers, January 30th, 1865. [Richmond, 1865] 3 p. February 6 - 1865
  • [807] (House) . . . Resolutions adopted by Humphrey's [sic] Mississippi Brigade, Army of Northern Virginia, February 3, 1865. [Richmond, 1865] 1 p. February 3 - 1865
  • [808] (House) . . . Resolutions adopted by McGowan's Brigade, South Carolina Volunteers. [Richmond, 1865] 1 p. February 6 - 1865
  • [810] (House of Representatives, no. 367) . . . A bill to be entitled An act to increase the military force of the Confederate States. [Richmond, 1865] 2 p. February 10 - 1865
  • [811] Amendment to the negro soldier bill. [Richmond, 1865] 1 p. February 14 - 1865
  • [812] (Secret Session) (House bill, no. 370) . . . A bill to amend An act to organize forces to serve during the war. [Richmond, 1865] 3 p. February 14 - 1865
  • [813] (House bill) . . . A bill making appropriations to supply a deficiency in the appropriation for the Department of Justice for the half year ending December 31st, 1864. [Richmond, 1865] 1 p. February 16 - 1865
  • [814] Resolutions adopted by a meeting of the people of Powhatan, held in the courthouse on February Court Day, 1865. [Richmond, 1865] 1 p. February 16 - 1865
  • [815] (House of Representatives, no. 378) . . . A bill to provide for the immediate payment of arrears due to the army and navy. [Richmond, 1865] 1 p. February 17 - 1865
  • [817] Joint resolutions expressing the sense of Congress on the subject of the late Peace Commission. [Richmond, 1865] 4 p. February 20 - 1865
  • [818] (House bill) A bill to increase the efficiency of the cavalry of the Confederate States. [Richmond, 1865] 2 p. Approved February 23 - 1865
  • [820] (House of Representatives, no. 386) . . . A bill making further regulations for the taxation of banks and bank notes, and for the confiscation of such notes held by alien enemies. [Richmond, 1865] 6 p. February 24 - 1865
  • [821] (House bill, no. 379) . . . A bill to provide means to pay the army and navy, and carry on the war. [Richmond, 1865] 4 p. February 25 - 1865
  • [823] (House of Representatives, no. 341) . . . A bill requiring suit to be brought against persons connected with the Cotton Bureau and Cotton Office in Texas. [Richmond, 1865] 3 p. March 2 - 1865
  • [833] Calendar of the House of Representatives [Richmond 1862-65] v.p. : April 7, 1862; April 15, 1862; December 28, 1863; January 11, 1864; January 25 - 1864
  • 856] Majority report of the Committee on Foreign Affairs. [Richmond, 1862] 6 p.
  • [858] Minority report of the Committee on Foreign Affairs, presented by Mr. Smith of Alabama. [Richmond, 1862] 7 p.
  • [866] Report of Committee on Quartermaster and Commissary Departments on case of Major Frank G. Ruffin. [Richmond, 1863] 16 p.
  • [869] Report of the Committee on Rules of the House of Representatives [Richmond, 1865?] 3 p.
  • [875] Minority report of the Committee of Ways and Means on the tax bill. [Richmond, 1864] 4 p.
  • [885] Mr. Rogers' minority report [opposing placement of slaves in the army except as a last resort.] [Richmond, 1865] 1 p.
  • [886] Report of the Special Committee on the Charge of Corruption made in the Richmond Examiner, January 7, 1864. [Richmond, 1864] 1 p. January 25 - 1864
  • [887] (House of Representatives -- Secret session) . . . Minority report on the currency. [Richmond, 1863] 4 p. December 30 - 1863
  • [888] Report of Special Committee on the Pay and Clothing of the Army. [Richmond, 1865] 5 p. February 11 - 1865
  • [889] Report of the Special Committee on the Payment of Claims. [Richmond, 1864] 7 p. May 26 - 1864
  • [899] Special message, from the President of the Confederate States, to the Congress, with accompanying documents. [Montgomery, 1861] 7 p. Dated May 8 - 1861
  • [902] President's message. [Richmond, 1861] 8 p. Dated: November 18 - 1861
  • [910] [Message to the President of the Congress, transmitting communications from all the departments, except the War Department.] [Richmond, 1862] 18 p. Dated: February 15 - 1862
  • [917] Message of the President. [Richmond, 1863] 16 p. Dated: January 12 - 1863
  • [918] Message of the President [transmitting communications from the Secretary of the Treasury and the Attorney General, in regard to the sequestration of real estate belonging to alien enemies.] [Richmond, 1863] 7 p. Dated February 25 - 1863
  • [919] Message of the President [transmitting a copy of an act of the Legislature of South Carolina, offering a guaranty by that state of bonds of the Confederate States.] [Richmond, 1863] 2 p. Dated: March 5 - 1863
  • [921] Message of the President. [Richmond, 1863] 1 p. Dated: April 16 - 1863
  • [925] President's message. [Richmond, 1863] 29 p. Dated: December 7 - 1863
  • [928] Veto message. [Richmond, 1864 2 p. Dated: February 11 - 1864
  • [929] President's message. [Richmond, 1864] 5 p. Dated May 2 - 1864
  • [931] President's message. [Richmond, 1864] 7 p. Dated: May 28 - 1864
  • [932] Message of the President. [Richmond, 1864] 5 p. Dated May 30 - 1864
  • [933] Message of the President. [Richmond, 1864] 13 p. Dated: November 7 - 1864
  • [938] Message of the President, [transmitting a communication from Hon. Howell Cobb, former President of the Provisional Congress, relative to the preparation of copies of the journals of that body, and proceedings of the Convention.] [Richmond, 1865] 4 p. Dated: January 14 - 1865
  • Folder 4 (#1234-2098)
  • [1234] Resolutions of the Texas Brigade. [n.p., 1865] 4 p. January 24 - 1865
  • [1346] Memorial . . . . To the congress of the Confederate States [concerning the retention and procurement of troops]. . . . [Richmond?, 1863?] 2 p. December 17 - 1863
  • [1598] Resolutions of Forsberg's Brigade, Wharton's Division. [Richmond, 1865] 2 p.
  • [1639] Decisions of Hon. James D. Halyburton, judge of the Confederate States District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia, in the cases of John B. Lane and John H. Leftwich, in relation to their exemption, as mail contractors, from the performance of military service. Richmond: Ritchie & Dunnovant, Printers, 1864. 14 p.
  • [1664] Attorney General's Report . . . February 26th, 1862. [Richmond, 1862] 7 p.
  • [1667] Communications from Attorney General . . . Dec. 15, 1863, [transmitting additional estimates for the expenditures of the Department of Justice]. [Richmond, 1863] 4 p. December 16 - 1863
  • [1668] Communications from the Attorney General . . . January 9, 1864, [containing an estimate of an additional sum required by the Department of Justice]. [Richmond, 1864] 1 p. January 11 - 1864
  • [1675] Report of the Attorney General . . . April 25, 1864. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p.
  • [1677] Report of vessels sunk and burnt in the Pamunkey River, by Captain Chas. S. Carrington, A.Q.M., under the orders of General Joseph E. Johnston and others. [Richmond, 1863] 5 p. March 10 - 1863
  • [1681] Communications from Secretary of Navy . . . March 9th, 1863, [submitting the claim of Mr. Daniel J. Turner for a steam dredge machine, sunk is Dismal Swamp Canal, by order of Commander Thomas T. Hunter, Confederate States Navy]. [Richmond, 1863] 4 p. March 10 - 1863
  • [1684] Communications of Secretary of the Navy . . . Jan. 31st, 1864 [i.e., 1865], [covering copies of his correspondence with the Governor of North Carolina relative to "coals of the steamer 'Advance'".] [Richmond, 1865] 12 p. February 3 - 1865
  • [1685] Communications from the Secretary of Navy . . . Feb. 15, 1865, [conveying copies of the remainder of his correspondence with the Governor of North Carolina, relative to coals belonging to the steamer Advance.] [Richmond, 1865] 3 p. February 17 - 1865
  • [1731] Annual report of the Commissioner of Patents, January 26, 1865. [Richmond, 1865] 9 p. January 26 - 1865
  • [1732] [Report of the Commissioner of Patents, January, 1862.] [Richmond, 1862] 17 p.
  • [1733] Report of the Commissioner of Patents . . . January, 1863. [Richmond, 1863] 12 p.
  • [1734] Report of the Commissioner of Patents . . . Jan. 1864. [Richmond, 1864] 15 p.
  • [1756] Report of the Postmaster-General to the President, April 29, 1861. [Richmond, 1865] 44 p. February 10 - 1865
  • [1763] Report of the Postmaster General . . . May 2, 1864. [Richmond, 1864] 19 p.
  • [1764] Report of the Postmaster General . . . November 7, 1864. [Richmond, 1864] 21 p.
  • [1778] Report of the Superintendent of Public Printing . . . April 26, 1864. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p.
  • [2006] Abstract of drafts of members of the C.S. House of Representatives, paid by E.C. Elmore, Treasurer CS, during the recess of Congress, after April 18th, 1863, under authority of act of April 16th, 1862. [Richmond, 1863] 2 p.
  • [2007] Additional estimates for support of the government. [Richmond, 1864] 14 p. February 11 - 1864
  • [2017] Circular instructions. Regulations in relation to the issue of certificates for bonds and registered stock. [Richmond, 1863] 4 p. February 25 - 1863
  • [2030] Communications from the Secretary of the Treasury . . . Feb. 25, 1863, [in reference to the amount of funds paid into the Treasury under the operation of the sequestration act.] [Richmond, 1863] 1 p. February 25 - 1863
  • [2036] [Communications from the Secretary of the Treasury . . .May 2, 1864, submitting estimates of addition appropriations required for the support of the government.] [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. May 5 - 1864
  • [2037] Communications from the Secretary of the Treasury . . .May 10, 1864, [submitting estimate in favor of George P. Evans & Co.] [Richmond, 1864] 1 p. May 18 - 1864
  • [2041] Communications from Secretary of the Treasury . . . May 25, 1864, [submitting estimate of appropriations for the purchase of cotton, for the purpose of procuring the means of paying, in coin, the interest on certificate of indebtedness.] [Richmond, 1864] 1 p. May 30 - 1864
  • [2043] Communication of Secretary of Treasury, . . . November 23, 1864, [concerning change of old issue of treasury notes for new.] [Richmond, 1864] 1 p. November 25 - 1864
  • [2044] Communication of Secretary of Treasury . . . November 28, 1864, [covering estimates for additional appropriations required by the Navy Department. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. November 29 - 1864
  • [2045] Communication from Secretary of Treasury . . . December 7, 1864, [submitting the report of second auditor relative to amount of claims from each of the states paid, or allowed, under the act of June 14, 1864, "to provide for the establishment and payment of claims for certain descriptions of property taken or informally impressed for the use of the army."] [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. December 8 - 1864
  • [2050] Communication of the Secretary of Treasury . . . January 5th, 1865, [relative to unpaid requisitions upon the Treasury, drawn by the Quartermaster General and the Commissary General.] [Richmond, 1865] 5 p. January 6 - 1865
  • [2051] Communication from the Secretary of Treasury . . . Jan. 28, 1865, [concerning an estimate for an additional appropriations required by the Navy Department.] [Richmond, 1865] 2 p. February 8 - 1865
  • [2052] Communication from Secretary of Treasury . . . Feb. 1st, 1865. [Richmond, 1865] 4 p. February 3 - 1865
  • [2053] Communication from Secretary of Treasury . . . February 1, 1865, [transmitting an estimate for an additional appropriation required to meet the expenses of the Department of Justice during the six months ending June 30, 1865.] [Richmond, 1865] 2 p. February 8 - 1865
  • [2054] Communication of Secretary of Treasury . . . February 8th, 1865, [transmitting estimate for an additional appropriation required by the Navy Department.] [Richmond, 1865] 3 p. February 11 - 1865
  • [2055] Communication of Secretary of Treasury . . . February 11th, 1865, [covering an estimate for an additional appropriation by the Department of Justice "for printing, ruling and binding."] [Richmond, 1865] 2 p. February 15 - 1865
  • [2056] Communication of Secretary of Treasury . . . Februray [sic] 20, 1865. [Richmond, 1865] 7 p.
  • [2057] Communication from Secretary of Treasury . . . February 20, 1865, [submitting papers in relation to certain instructions issued from this department, to carry into execution the tax laws.] [Richmond, 1865] 8 p. February 22 - 1865
  • [2058] Communication of Secretary of the Treasury . . . February 28th, 1865 [asking a further appropriation for the redemption of a temporary loan made in 1861.] [Richmond, 1865] 1 p.
  • [2060] [Communications from the Secretaries of the Treasury and of War relative to the amount of money forwarded to the Trans-Mississippi Department since the adjournment of Congress, and to the adjustment of claims for articles illegally impressed.] [Richmond, 1864] 14 p. Febuary [sic] 5, 1863 [i.e. 1864].
  • [2074] The following regulations and instructions for carrying into effect the act of February 17, 1864, "to reduce the currency and to authorize a new issue of notes and bonds" . . . . [Richmond, 1864] 8 p.
  • [2075] The following regulations are established in relation to the receipt of four per cent. bonds and certificates offered in payment for taxes. [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. March 23 - 1864
  • [2091] [Letter to] the commissioners appointed to receive subscriptions to the produce loan . . . October 15th, 1861. [Richmond, 1861] 6 p.
  • [2094] [letter from Secretary of Treasury to the President and Directors of the Bank of __________ regarding 4 per cent. bonds.] [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. March 14 - 1864
  • [2098] Letter of the Secretary of the Treasury . . . Jan. 12, 1863, [enclosing an estimate of the amount required for the telegraphic service, to June 30th, 1863.] [Richmond, 1863] 4 p. January 15 - 1863
  • Folder 5 (#2100-2395)
  • [2100] Letter of the Secretary of the Treasury . . . December 10, 1863, [covering estimates of sums needed for the public service among the Indian tribes.] [Richmond, 1863] 4 p. December 11 - 1863
  • [2101] Letter of Secretary of Treasury . . . December 10, 1864, [showing the additional amount necessary to meet the estimated additional expenses of the Bureau of Public Printing and the Department of Justice for the half year ending June 30, 1865.] [Richmond, 1865] 4 p.
  • [2102] Letter of Secretary of Treasury . . . December 12, 1864, [transmitting statement showing certain transfers of appropriations required for the service of the Treasury Department.] [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. December 15 - 1864
  • [2125] [Regulations prescribed for the government and directions of all officers of the revenue, to carry into effect the provisions of the act to prohibit the importation of luxuries, or of articles not necessary or of common use, approved February 6th, 1864.] [Richmond, 1864] 6 p. March 12 - 1864
  • [2130] [Report of the Secretary of the Treasury to Congress submitting information from the various state governments in regard to the value of the property, the revenue system, and the amount collected during the last fiscal year in each of the Confederate States.] [Richmond, 1861] 7 p. July 24 - 1861
  • [2137] Report of the Secretary of Treasury . . . May 2, 1864. [Richmond, 1864] 13 p.
  • [2139] Response of the Secretary of the Treasury to the resolution of the Senate of the 5th December 1864, respecting operations under the act to impose regulations upon the foreign commerce of the Confederate States . . . December 12, 1864. [Richmond, 1864] 7 p.
  • [2148] Special report of the Secretary of the Treasury on the subject of the finances . . . January 9th, 1865. [Richmond, 1865] 4 p.
  • [2153] [Tabular statement . . . showing the rates of duty upon merchandise under the tariff act of 1857, of the United States, as amended by the Provisional Congress of the Confederate States of America; the rates under the proposed tariff bill now pending before the said Provisional Congress; and the rates under the act of Congress of the United States of 1861.] [Montgomery, Ala., 1861] 47 p. April 22 - 1861
  • [2154] Treasury circular, no. 1-25. [Montgomery, etc., 1861-64] v.p. Nos. 1 and 2 dated March 6, 1861 and March 8, 1861 entitled Circular instructions. Nos. 10-25 issued at Richmond. Holdings for Iowa include: 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, 14, 19.
  • [2197] Report on the condition of government cotton, contiguous to the Mississippi and its tributaries . . . May 16, 1864. [Richmond, 1864] 7 p. May 17 - 1864
  • [2247] Communications of the Secretary of War . . . January 27, 1863, [enclosing an estimate of funds required by the Ordnance Bureau. [Richmond, 1863] 3 p. January 27 - 1863
  • [2251] Communication of the Secretary of War . . . Feb. 3, 1863, [covering reports from the Surgeon General and the Chief of Engineers.] [Richmond, 1863] 6 p. February 4 - 1863
  • [2254] Communication from the Secretary of War . . . Feb. 5, 1863, [covering an estimate of the amount required for the remuneration of additional clerks in the War Department.] [Richmond, 1863] 2 p. February 7 - 1863
  • [2257] Communication from the Secretary of War . . . Feb. 14, 1863, [transmitting the report of General John H. Winder, listing the civilians in custody, under authority of the War Department, in the city of Richmond.] [Richmond, 1863] 8 p. February 16 - 1863
  • [2258] Communication from the Secretary of War . . . Feb. 17, 1863, [enclosing a report from the Quartermaster General, with regard to the number of quartermasters on duty in Richmond.] [Richmond, 1863] 4 p. February 19 - 1863
  • [2262] Communication from the Secretary of War . . . February 27, 1863, [enclosing a list of the civilian prisoners in custody at Salisbury, North Carolina, under military authority.] [Richmond, 1863] 7 p. February 27 - 1863
  • [2263] Communication from the Secretary of War . . . March 3, 1863, [transmitting estimate of additional funds required for the service of the Ordnance Bureau, for the period ending 30th June, 1863.] [Richmond, 1863] 2 p. March 4 - 1863
  • [2264] Communication from the Secretary of War . . . March 11, 1863, [transmitting claims for vessels seized for public use.] [Richmond, 1863] 4 p. March 12 - 1863
  • [2268] Communication from the Secretary of War . . . Dec. 14, 1863, [relative to the exemption of mail contractors under the act of April 14, 1863.] [Richmond, 1863] 6 p. December 16 - 1863
  • [2271] Communication from Secretary of War . . . December 19, 1863, [covering a list of the officers of the artillery in the provisional army, for the performance of ordnance duty, appointed since the 16th day of September, 1862, and the roll of merit reported by the Board of Examiners. [Richmond, 1863] 4 p. December 22 - 1863
  • [2278] Communication of the Secretary of War . . . Jan. 27, 1864, [relative to the "domestic passport system" enforced upon citizens travelling in some parts of the Confederate States outside of the lines of the armies.] [Richmond, 1864] 9 p. February 8 - 1864
  • [2279] Communication of the Secretary of War . . . January 28, 1864, [covering an estimate of an additional sum needed by the Engineer Bureau.] [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. February 1 - 1864
  • [2280] Communication from the Secretary of War, January 28, 1864, stating that the records of his office do not contain any authority to raise troops of conscript age, except in localities where the operation of the conscript law has been suspended.] [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. February 8 - 1864
  • [2283] Communication of the Secretary of War . . . Feb. 4, 1864, [relative to the delivery of the "tax in kind" at the government depots by the producers.] [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. February 12 - 1864
  • [2284] Communication from the Secretary of War . . . February 11, 1864, [transmitting papers relating to the trial and conviction of W.E. Coffman by a military court, and to a writ of habeas corpus issued from the circuit court of Rockingham County, Va., to prevent the execution of said Coffman.] [Richmond, 1864] 10 p. February 13 - 1864
  • [2287] Communication of the Secretary of War . . . Feb. 15, 1864, [conveying information relative to general hospitals in and around Richmond.] [Richmond, 1864] 23 p. February 16, - 1864
  • [2288] Communication from the Secretary of War . . . May 26, 1864, [covering a list of those who have been retired from the military service, in accordance with the provisions of the act for ridding the army of ignorant, disabled and incompetent officers.] [Richmond, 1864] 3 p. May 28 - 1864
  • [2289] Communication from the Secretary of War . . . November 14, 1864, [submitting an estimate for the steamer Phoenix.] [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. November 15 - 1864
  • [2290] Communication from the Secretary of War . . . Nov. 17, 1864, [relative to the act of June 14, 1864, to provide and organize a General Staff.] [Richmond, 1864] 7 p. November 21 - 1864
  • [2291] Communication from the Secretary of War . . . Nov. 21, 1864, [relative to the special exchange of prisoners of war by the Commissioner of Exchange.] [Richmond, 1864] 4 p. November 25 - 1864
  • [2292] Communication from Secretary of War . . . Nov. 28, 1864, [relative to the recent impressment of slaves in the State of Virginia.] [Richmond, 1864] 4 p. November 29 - 1864
  • [2293] Communication from Secretary of War . . . Dec. 3, 1864, [conveying information relative to the arrangements which have been made "for the relief of our soldiers who are prisoners of war in the hands of the enemy."] [Richmond, 1864] 8 p. December 7 - 1864
  • [2294] Communication from Secretary of War . . . Dec. 3, 1864, [relative to the appointments under an act approved June 14, 1864, providing for establishment and payment of claims for a certain description of property taken or informally impressed for the use of the army.] [Richmond, 1864] 4 p. December 7 - 1864
  • [2295] Communication from Secretary of War . . . Dec. 6, 1864, [submitting an estimate of funds needed to meet a deficiency in the appropriations to pay the officers and employees of the department.] [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. December 8 - 1864
  • [2296] Communication from Secretary of War . . . December 7, 1864., [submitting an estimate of funds required to meet our treaty obligations to the Indian nations for the period ending June 30th, 1865.] [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. December 8 - 1864
  • [2301] Communication of Secretary of War . . . January 5, 1865, [conveying information relative to the impressment of brandy.] [Richmond, 1865] 8 p. January 10 - 1865
  • [2302] Communication of Secretary of War . . . January 6, 1865, [covering an estimate for an additional appropriation by the Bureau of Engineers.] [Richmond, 1865] 2 p. January 6 - 1865
  • [2303] Communication of the Secretary of War . . . Jan. 11, 1865, [relative to the passports which have been issued to certain youths to leave the Confederate States.] [Richmond, 1865] 4 p. January 17 - 1865
  • [2305] Communication of Secretary of War . . . Feb. 7, 1864 [i.e. 1865], [ covering a list of quartermasters and assistant quartermasters now in the service. [Richmond, 1865] 4 p. February 8 - 1865
  • [2306] Communication from Secretary of War . . . Feb. 14, 1865, [conveying information relative to the number of iron furnaces and forges worked by agents of the government or by contractors, during the year 1864.] [Richmond, 1865] 15 p. February 17 - 1865
  • [2307] Communication from the Secretary of War . . . Feb. 15th, 1865, [transmitting an estimate for an additional appropriation required by the department.] [Richmond, 1865] 2 p. February 22 - 1865
  • [2308] Communication from Secretary of War . . . Feb. 18th, 1865, [conveying information relative to the non-destruction of the cotton in the city of Savannah, before its evacuation by our military forces.] [Richmond, 1865] 2 p. February 22 - 1865
  • [2311] Communication of Secretary of War . . . Feb. 22, 1865, [relative to the number of able-bodied men between in the ages of eighteen and forty-five, claimed to be exempt from conscription by the Governor, laws and resolutions of the state of George.] [Richmond, 1865] 3 p. February 22 - 1865
  • [2330] Letter from the Secretary of War . . . March 31, 1862, [communicating copies of the official reports, on file in this department, of the battle of (Big) Bethel, on the 10th of June, 1861.] [Richmond, 1862] 31 p. - 1865
  • [2336] Letter of the Secretary of War . . . Dec. 8, 1864, [conveying information relative to the amount of money expended in the payment of the Army of the Trans-Mississippi since the assignment of Gen. E.K. Smith to the command.] [Richmond, 1864] 4 p. December 12 - 1864
  • [2337] Letter of Secretary of War. . . Dec. 13, 1864, [requesting that the amount required to pay for horse of volunteers be increased to four millions of dollars.] [Richmond, 1864] 2 p. December 15 - 1864
  • [2395] Report of the Secretary of War . . . 14th Dec., 1861. [Richmond, 1861] 11 p.
  • Folder 6 (#2403-5491, Unumbered)
  • [2403] Report of the Secretary of War . . . November 3, 1864. [Richmond, 1864] 36 p.
  • [2404] Report of Thomas W. Wagner of the sinking of the stone fleet at the entrance of Charleston Harbor. [Richmond? 1862] 2 p. February 12 - 1862
  • [2429] General orders. Adjutant and Inspector-General's Office. [Richmond, 1862] v.p. Nos. 1 -- 112; 1 January -- 30 December 1862. Holdings for Iowa include: 1, 100.
  • [2430] General orders. Adjutant and Inspector-General's Office. [Richmond, 1863] v.p. Nos. 1 -- 164; 3 January -- 30 December 1863. Holdings for Iowa include: 1, 3, 4, 10, 16, 24, 101, 102, 103, 105, 106, 107, 109, 110, 111, 129, 139, 140, 145.
  • [2431] General orders. Adjutant and Inspector-General's Office. [Richmond, 1864] v.p. Nos. 1 -- 87; 4 January -- 30 December 1864. Holdings for Iowa include: 27, 29, 30, 40, 49, 51, 52, 53, 55, 56, 57, 58, 82, 83.
  • [2432] General orders. Adjutant and Inspector-General's Office. [Richmond, 1865] v.p. Nos. 1 -- 11; 6 January -- 18 March 1865. Holdings for Iowa include: 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11.
  • [2487] [Circulars from CS Laboratory, (Ordn.).] [Macon, Ga., 1864.] v.p. 30 April - 1864
  • [4672] Resolutions of Wise's Brigade. [n.p., 1865] 3 p. Dated: Headquarters Wise's Brigade, trenches near Petersburg, Va., February 1st - 1865
  • [5334] De Jarnette, Daniel C. The Monroe Doctrine. Speech of Hon. D.C. De Jarnette, of Virginia, in the Confederate House of Representatives, January 30th 1865, pending negotiations for peace. [Richmond? 1865] 20 p.
  • [5491] Henry, Gustavus A. Speech of Hon. Gustavus A. Henry, of Tennessee, in the Senate of the Confederate States, November 29, 1864. [Richmond, 1864] 13 p.
  • Message of the President, conveying "to the Congress information of the state of the Confederacy...." [[Richmond, 1862]? 4 p.
  • Revenue Depots, referred to at page 4. n.p., n.d. Appears to be an addendum to another document.