Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Warren African Slide and Videotape Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1970-1990
Creator: Warren, Dennis Michael
Extent: 6.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0538
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Slides and video tapes made by an Africanist scholar in West Africa, primarily Ghana and Nigeria, recording daily life, medicine, palm oil production, chiefs and elders, women's activities, religion, house construction, and other activities.

Alternate Extent Statement: Videos: Boxes 1-6; Slides: Boxes 7-10.

Access: This collection is open for research. Requests to use Warren materials in commercial projects must be approved by Mariam and Medina Warren.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The Warren Collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1998 by Mariam and Medina Warren, wife and daughter, respectively, of the late Professor Dennis Michael Warren.

Preferred Citation: Warren African Slide and Videotape Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Professor Dennis Michael Warren was an anthropologist and leading Africanist scholar who taught at Iowa State University from 1972 to1997. Professor Warren was especially interested in indigenous knowledge and rural development in Africa. His interest in indigenous knowledge led him to the study of art, culture, the rural economy and traditional healing in Ghana and Nigeria and to comparative studies of other societies. Professor Warren worked closely with many faculty at the University of Iowa and other institutions of higher education in the United States and abroad. Mrs. Warren was a life-long partner and contributor to Professor Warren's work and research.

Using slides and video Professor Warren documented the rich cultural heritage and indigenous knowledge of Africa. A small selection of Professor Warren's slides has been digitized and made available on the CERAS web site. A catalog of Professor Warren's slides and videos has been prepared and is available as a PDF file.

The Warren Collection at the University of Iowa Libraries is the product of more than three decades of scholarly work.

The collection includes 95 videos and 3,738 slides. The videos are arranged in the order in which they appear in the PDF catalog. The slides are organized by subject areas created by Professor Warren. The 2006 addendum is a file f oversized material, including illustrations and explanations for designs on Adinkra cloth, Akan drums and stools, and maps of the city of Techiman in 1961 and 1971.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: VIDEO COLLECTION
Series 2: SLIDE COLLECTION
Series 3: 2006 ADDENDUM

  • Series 1: VIDEO COLLECTION
  • Box 1:
  • 1. Daily Life -- Nigeria
  • 2. Nigeria Tape 3A
  • 3. Women's Activities in West Africa
  • 4. Religion in West Africa 1
  • 5. Religion in West Africa 2
  • 6. Religion -- Ghana
  • 7. Religion -- Nigeria
  • 8. Government -- Traditional and Modern 1
  • 9. Government -- Traditional and Modern 2
  • 10. F. Soils -- West Africa 1
  • 11. Soils of West Africa 2
  • 12. Soils of West Africa edited
  • 13. Daily Life -- Ghana
  • 14. Tape 3 Tonoboase, Ghana, July 20; Krobo, Ghana, July 24 - 1991
  • 15. Daily Life in West Africa
  • 16. Living in Iowa; Building on Traditions, Race and IQ, October 27 - 1994
  • Box 2:
  • 17. Ibadan: September 21; Jos: October 21 - 1991
  • 18. Nigeria Tape 2A
  • 19. Daily Life Nigeria 1
  • 20. Daily Life Nigeria 2
  • 21. Daily Life in West Africa
  • 22. Lydia Olulore -- Female Circumcision
  • 23. Nigeria, May 23 and July 2 - 1994
  • 24. Tape 2 Warren. Tanoboase?
  • 25. Daily Life in West Africa
  • 26. Daily Life in West Africa 3
  • 27. Ibadan, Ara, and Osogbo, June - 1991
  • 28. Tape 4. August 2-September 21 - 1991
  • 29. Tape 7. Shagamu: November 15-December 27 - 1991
  • 30. Ara: May 31 and June 11 - 1993
  • 31. Ara: July 13-July 31 - 1993
  • 32. Ara: July 26-January 10 - 1994-1995
  • Box 3:
  • 33. Tape 11. February 22-March 30 - 1992
  • 34. Tape 12. March 30-April 21 - 1992
  • 35. Tape 13. May 6-July 11 - 1992
  • 36. May 17-May 31 - 1993
  • 37. Tape 6. Jos and Ara: October 22-November 15 - 1991
  • 38. Tape 8. December 28-January 5 - 1991-1992
  • 39. Tape 9. January 5-February 8 - 1992
  • 40. Tape 10. February 8-February 16 - 1992
  • 41. Philippines/Indonesia
  • 42. State of the Union: February 4; O.J. Simpson: February 4; Intern Opportunity at ISU; Egungun at Iseyin: August 1 - 1997, 1996
  • 43. 60 Minutes -- Nigeria; DARCI - Ara; 60 Minutes February 25 - 1995, 1996
  • 44. 10 minute version Aso Oke; The Chinampas; Iseyin: August - 1996, 1990
  • 45. Women's Activities in Ara; Palm Oil Production - 1992
  • 46. July 2-July 4 - 1994
  • 47. "Bono Medicines"
    [Note: This is a commercially available documentary, Healers of Ghana, distributed by Films for the Humanities & Sciences. The University of Iowa Libraries owns a copy of this work, located in the Media Department, which can be charged out or requested via interlibrary loan. Warren's copy, however, cannot be copied in light of the copyright status of the title].
  • 48. Baba Sala in Agba Man
  • Box 4:
  • 49. Surprise Sunny Roe
  • 50. Royal Naming Ceremony, Ejigbo - 1993
  • 51. Mosque Development in Ara, Osun State, Nigeria
  • 52. Ara Day Care, Summer, Library Opening, Better Life, Ara House - 1993
  • 53. Ara, Osun State, Nigeria. Central Mosque; renovated oldest small mosque - 1993
  • 54. Ara. Parents' funeral remembrance, Warren installation - 1990
  • 55. Visit to Ara by District Governor and Osogbo Rotary President, July 26 - 1996
  • 56. Ejigbo
  • 57. The Promise of the Land: Sustainable Agriculture (compares chemical and natural farming); Impact of the Green Revolution on Crop Genetic Diversity
  • 58. The Politics of Food: Parts I and II. Part I: Loss of Farms in US, Model of Agriculture on Brazil. Part II: Food production compared for India and Bangladesh: Food aid versus self sufficiency through local control
  • 59. Divine Horsemen: The Living Gods of Haiti; Voudou in Haiti, US Botanic Gardens and Makah, Ind - 1947-1951, 1996
  • 60. A Window to the Past: Hanford's Cultural Resources Laboratory, October; Slash and Burn Agriculture - 1993
  • 61. Voudou in Haiti; Strange Powers, February 3 - 1996
  • 62. Healing and the Mind: 1) The Mystery of Chi; 2) the Mind-Body Connection
  • 63. Healing and the Mind: Part 2: Meditation, February 23
  • 64. Healing and the Mind: The Art of Healing; Wounds and Healers, February 24
  • Box 5:
  • 65. Man Made Famine
  • 66. Zimbabwe: A Small Story of Success
  • 67. Nigeria: Journey to Nationhood
  • 68. Struggle to Save the Soil or Will We Starve? (Deals with the problem of soil erosion/deforestation); The Desert Doesn't Bloom Here (Problems of desertification and irrigation/desert agriculture)
  • 69. Nigeria - 1992
  • 70. Nigeria, parts 3,4,5
  • 71. Nigeria: Journey to Nationhood
  • 72. Bolanle Wahab -- CIKARD lecture, October 22 - 1996
  • 73. 11:30-12:30, October 22 - 1996
  • 74. 12:30-1:30, Lance Foster, October 22 - 1996
  • 75. Matthew Fitjunker, October 23 - 1996
  • 76. The Role of the Performance Arts in Yoruba Health and Well-Being; Frank Fairfax, October 23 - 1996
  • 77. 12:30-1:00, October 23 - 1996
  • 78. 12:00-12:30, October 23 - 1996
  • 79. 1:30-2:00, Lily Auliffe, October 23 - 1996
  • 80. T1 3
  • Box 6:
  • 81. Omaladi
  • 82. Ogboni Elemosho
  • 83. Agbelebu
  • 84. Orogun Adedigba
  • 85. Ahon
  • 86. Koseegbe
  • 87. Baba Agba
  • 88. LAK AL
  • 89. Ti Oluwani 1
  • 90. Ti Oluwani 2
  • 91. Traditional and Modern Government
  • 92. Ara: June-July 5 - 1997
  • 93. Ilobu: July 11-ARA August 5 - 1997
  • 94. Ara: August 6 - 1997
  • 95. Dedication of the Dennis Michael Warren Collection, The University of Iowa Library, April 16 - 2001
  • Series 2: SLIDE COLLECTION
  • Box 7:
  • Techiman -- maps and charts
    (Negatives, slides, and prints)
  • Africa, West Africa, Ghana
  • Techiman State
  • Techiman Town
  • Disease Charts
  • Drum, stool, Adinkra Charts
    (these are not slides, but rather 8 1/2 x 11 negatives)
  • Priests, posed
  • Priests and deities
  • Priests, action
  • Shrines
  • Medicine
  • Box 8:
  • North Ghana
  • South Ghana
  • Nigeria
  • East Africa
  • French Africa
  • Asia Trip
  • Oregon to Accra
  • Kweku Andrews
    (empty)
  • Kumasi-Usaid
  • Prneth Prog.
  • Shango
    (empty)
  • Beads
    (empty)
  • Brass-Kumasi
    (empty)
  • Ames, Iowa
  • Navajo
  • Box 9:
  • Rites of Passage
  • Market
  • Fatima
  • Yaa
  • Compound Scenes
  • Arts and Crafts
  • Islam
  • Palms/Pito/Beer
    (empty)
  • Field Methods
  • Butchers/Leather
  • Churches
  • Construction
  • Games
  • Political Rallies
  • Chiefs/Elders
  • Chiefs -- action
  • Festivals -- general
  • Punnua
  • Box 10:
  • Techiman -- general
  • Flowers/Fruits
  • Farms/Produce
  • Schools/Universities
  • Friends/Mary
  • Tohiscan. Yearbook for Toppenish High School, Toppenish, Washington - 1939
    Inscribed to Mary
  • Series 3: 2006 ADDENDUM
  • Map Case:
  • Adinkira cloth. An explanation of the meanings of design used on Adinkira cloth, with drawings
  • Adinkira Symbolism. Illustrated
  • Akan "Ntumpame" (Atumpan) Talking Drum. Names, uses, dimensions, and drawings
  • Traditional Akan Stools, Ghana
  • Blueprint maps of Techiman - 1961
  • Blueprint maps of Techiman - 1971

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.