Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Lewis Turco Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1957 -
Creator: Turco, Lewis (1934-)
Extent: 32.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0537
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Papers of the twentieth century poet and teacher. Includes manuscripts of poems, books, essays, book reviews, plays, short stories, and correspondence and bibliographies.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Boxes 2, 15, 18; Audiocassettes: Series 4, Boxes 1-6.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa by Mr. Turco in 2001, with addendae arriving periodically after that.

Preferred Citation: Lewis Turco Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Lewis Turco was born in Buffalo, New York on May 2, 1934. He received his BA from the University of Connecticut in 1959 and his MA from the University of Iowa in 1962. He taught at Fenn College (later Cleveland State University) where he founded the Cleveland Poetry Center, of which he was the director until 1964. He then served as Assistant Professor at Hillsdale College in 1964-65. From 1965 until 1996, he taught at SUNY-Oswego, where he was also Poet-in-Residence from 1995 until his retirement in 1996. At SUNY-Oswego he founded and directed the Program in the Writing Arts.

Turco began his publishing career in 1960, with the publication of First Poems. Sometimes using the pseudonym Wesli Court (an anagram of Lewis Turco), he has continued to publish poetry, books about poetry, such as the New Book of Forms and Visions and Revisions of American Poetry, and other works related to the writing arts. He has collaborated with other artists on such projects as While the Spider Slept, a ballet based upon his poem November 22, 1963, performed by the Swedish Ballet and the Royal Winnipeg Ballet; The Fog, a chamber opera with Dutch composer Walter Hekster; and Bordello: PoemPrints with printmaker George O'Connell.

He has received many awards, among them the Distinguished Alumnus Award from the Alumni Association of the University of Connecticut, the Bordighera Poetry Prize, an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters degree from Ashland University, and the John Ciardi Award for Lifetime Achievement in Poetry. He is now retired from University teaching and from operating an antiquarian bookshop in Maine.

Mr. Turco can be reached at e-mail jturco@adelphia.net

His blog is www.lewisturco.net

See: Klebba, Caryn E. Ed. Directory of American Scholars. Detroit: Gale Group, 2002. Vol. II, p. 511.

Included in this collection are many handwritten copies of Turco's poetry, plays, short stories and essays; extensive correspondence with other writers (some of these are photocopies); correspondence with publishers, agents, and periodicals; general correspondence; drafts and proofs of his books; some files from his years of teaching at colleges and universities, including some from Cleveland Poetry Center. Of particular interest is the Palmer Institute of Authorship instruction book and the accompanying assignment book. Also included is a collection of audiotapes of poetry readings, original recordings made at clubs and public poetry readings. Conrad Aiken, Marianne Moore, Robert Penn Warren, Mona van Duyn, Elizabeth Bishop, Howard Nemerov, Gwendolyn Brooks, and W. D. Snodgrass are only a few of the poets represented in this collection of over one hundred audiocasettes.
Items relating to the Cleveland Poetry Center are deposited at Cleveland State Univeristy. See the Lewis Turco Collection at Cleveland State.

The Lewis Turco and George O'Connell Christmas card collection at Smithsonian.

Interview (January 12, 2010) with Turco on Mike Chasar's Poetry and Popular Culture blog: http://mikechasar.blogspot.com/

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 3: WRITINGS
Series 4: BOOK REVIEWS
Series 5: ESSAYS
Series 6: MISCELLANEOUS PUBLISHED WORKS
Series 7: MISCELLANEOUS MANUSCRIPTS
Series 8: PLAY MANUSCRIPTS
Series 9: POEMS
Series 10: SHORT STORY MANUSCRIPTS
Series 11: AUDIO CASSETTE TAPES
Series 12: 2002 ADDENDUM
Series 13: 2003 ADDENDUM
Series 14: 2006 ADDENDUM
Series 15: 2007 ADDENDUM
Series 16: 2008 ADDENDUM
Series 17: 2009 ADDENDUM
Series 18: 2011 ADDENDUM
Series 19: 2011A ADDENDUM
Series 20: 2014 ADDENDUM

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Sub-Series: Annuals
  • Box 1:
  • Annual of 1952. Meriden High School
  • Sub-Series: Bibliographies
  • Box 1:
  • 2001
  • 1996
  • Undated
  • "Lewis Turco: A Bibliography of His Works and Criticism of Them." Bibliographies in Contemporary Poetry. Ann Arbor, MI: University Microfilm International, 1977, pp. 55-68.
  • Sub-Series: Clippings
  • Box 1:
  • Various clippings
  • Coursen, H. R. "A Certain Slant of Light: The Poetry of Lewis Turco." The Hollins Critic, Vol. xxvii:No.2 (April 1991). Roanoke, VA: Hollins College, pp. cover-9.
  • Sub-Series: Directories
  • Box 1:
  • Directory of American Scholars. Entry for Turco.
  • Sub-Series: Editorial Work
  • Box 1:
  • American Weave
    Includes correspondence with Loring Williams, David French, and Al Cahen
  • Sub-Series: Education
  • Box 1:
  • Palmer Institute of Authorship. Fiction Course. Instruction Book
  • Palmer Institute of Authorship. Fiction Course. Assignment Book - 1957
  • Worksheets from the Poetry Workshop at the University of Iowa - 1959-1960
  • Sub-Series: Faculty appointments
  • Box 1:
  • Fenn College/Poetry Center of Cleveland
    Includes correspondence with Alberta Turner
  • SUNY: Committee work: Joint Awards Committee - 1982-1982
  • SUNY: Committee work: Oswego Writing Arts Festival - Fall 1975
  • SUNY: Committee work: SUNY Writer's Festival - 1978
  • SUNY: Committee work: SUNY Writer's Festival - 1977
  • SUNY: Committee work: SUNY Writer's Festival - 1984
  • SUNY: Committee work: University Awards Committee - 1976-1977
  • SUNY: Committee work: University Awards Committee - 1980-1981
  • SUNY: Committee work: University Awards Committee - 1982-1983
  • SUNY: Committee work: University Foundation
  • SUNY: Committee work: University Wide Committee on the Arts - 1975-1976
    2 folders
  • SUNY: Correspondence and SUNY publications
  • Teaching: Freshmen Composition and Literature. Guidebook for Teaching: Independent Study
  • Teaching: Nature of Poetry. Class Anthology
  • Teaching: Verse Writing Workshop
  • Sub-Series: Grant applications
  • Box 2:
  • Varioius grant applications
  • John Simon Guggenheim Foundation
  • Sub-Series: Surveys
  • Box 2:
  • Jungian Type Survey
  • Sub-Series: Organizational Affiliations
  • Box 2:
  • American Civil Liberties Union
  • American Federation of Teachers
  • American Italian Historical Association
  • Association of Little Magazines of America
  • Associated Writing Programs
  • Chrysalis West Foundation
  • Citizens to Draft Gavin
  • Creative Artists Public Service
  • Cultural Council Foundation
  • Dresden Playhouse
  • New England Foundation for the Arts
  • New York Folklore Society
  • Poetry Society of New Hampshire
  • Poly Arts
  • Poly Arts Boston
  • Publisher's Publicity Association
  • Theodore Roethke Memorial Foundation
  • Sub-Series: Photographs
  • Box 2:
  • Informal portrait by Ray Stasweski, 1961
  • Informal portrait in front of pine tree
  • Looking at First Poems
  • Informal portrait in profile by William Stafford
  • Sub-Series: Publicity
  • Box 2:
  • Publicity
  • Sub-Series: Genealogy
  • Box 2:
  • Putnam Genealogy
  • Sub-Series: Interviews
  • Box 2:
  • Zeller, Gerhard. "The Anachronist: An Interview With Wesli Court." ELF (Eclectic Literary Forum), Vol. 8: No.1, Pp. 6-12
    Proof
  • Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence with agents
  • Box 2:
  • American Authors Associated Agency
  • Carl M.P Larrabee Agency
  • Curtis Brown, Ltd.
  • Del Walker
  • Eastman Boomer Management
  • Georges Borchardt, Inc.
  • International Editor's Company
  • Julian Bach Literary Agency
  • Lordly and Dame, Inc.
  • McIntosh and Otis, Inc.
  • Paul R. Reynolds, Inc.
  • Round Top Center for Arts
  • Scott Meredith Literary Agency, Inc.
  • Sobel Weber Associates, Inc.
  • W. Colston Leigh, Inc.
  • Writers Unlimited
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence, General
  • Box 2:
  • Abbott-Austin
  • Badach-Bryne
  • Campbell-Cushman
  • D’Allessandro-Dupre
  • Elwood-Evans
  • Fenn-Fulton
  • Gale-Gutmann
  • Box 3:
  • Hackett-Hyman
  • Jackson-Jusik
  • Katz-Kwasigroh
  • Langdon-Lutzker
  • Macchi-Myers
  • Natoli-Nutting
  • O'Connell-Owen
  • Pace-Pyke
  • Raby-Ryan
  • Salamon-Shek
  • Sheldon-Swerdferger
  • Talbot-TuttleUS Congress & Government
  • Valentine-Vitaliano
  • Waite-Wysocki
  • Yeh-Young
  • Zajai-Zubal
  • No names
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence with periodicals
  • Box 4:
  • Activist
  • Agni Review
  • Agora
  • Alaska Review
  • Alembic
  • Amelia Magazine
  • American Dialogue
  • American Historical Review
  • American Poetry Magazine
  • American Poetry Review
  • American Quarterly
  • American Review
  • American Weave
  • Andover Review
  • Animus
  • Antioch Review
  • Approach
  • Arena
  • Ark River Review
  • Arlington Quarterly
  • Arts in Society
  • Arts Journal
  • Ascent
  • Aspect
  • Aspen Leaves
  • Assembling
  • Audience
  • Aura Literary/Arts Review
  • Barnwood
  • Bartleby's Review
  • Beloit Poetry Journal
  • Berkeley Samisdat Review
  • Best Articles and Stories
  • Beyond Baroque
  • Bitterroot
  • Black Box
  • Blue Buildings
  • Book Week
  • Books Abroad
  • Boundary
  • Buckle
  • Buffalo Evening News
  • Buffalo Spree Magazine
  • Cafe Review
  • CAIM
  • Calapooya collage 19
  • California Quarterly
  • Carolina Quarterly
  • Castalia
  • Cedar Rock
  • Center for Writers & Mississippi Review
  • Chariton Review
  • Chicago
  • Chicago Choice
  • Chicago Review
  • Chirimo ( Rhodesia)
  • Choice Magazine
  • Cimarron Review
  • Clockwatch Review
  • Coastlines
  • Cold Drill
  • Colorado State Review
  • Colorado Quarterly
  • Colorado-North Review
  • Columbia
  • Commentary
  • Commonweal
  • Connecticut Quarterly
  • Conservationist
  • Contact
  • Contemporary Fiction
  • Contraband
  • Costerus
  • Cottonwood Review
  • Crazy Horse
  • Cream City Review
  • Critic
  • Croton Review
  • Cummings Journal
  • Dalhousie Review
  • Damascus Road
  • De Kalb Literary Arts Review
  • De Paul Literary Magazine
  • Denver Quarterly
  • Departure
  • Drama Survey
  • Dresden Miles Gazette
  • Edge City Review
  • ELF: Eclectic Literary Forum
  • Elizabeth
  • Encounter
  • Epoch
  • Escarpments
  • Experiment
  • Falcon
  • Fiction
  • Fiction International
  • Fiddlehead
  • FIELD: Contemporary Poetry and Poetics
  • Fine Arts
  • Fine Arts Calendar
  • Fine Arts Magazine
  • First Person
  • First Stage
  • Focus/Midwest
  • Formalist
  • Forum
  • Four Quarters
  • Fra Noi
  • Fragments
  • Gamut
  • Genesis West
  • Genre
  • Georgia Review
  • Golden Lion
  • Grecourt Review
  • Guabi
  • Hampden-Sydney Poetry Review
  • Harper's Magazine
  • Hartford Studies in Literature
  • Hawaii Review
  • Hiram Poetry Review
  • Hollins Critic
  • Horizon
  • Humanist
  • Idler
  • Illinois Quarterly
  • Indiana Writes
  • Intermuse
  • International University Poetry Quarterly
  • Iowa Alumni Review
  • Italian America
  • Italian Americana
  • Jeopardy
  • Journal of Popular Culture
  • Journal of the National Association of Student Personnel Administrators
  • Kamadhenu
  • Kayak
  • Kenyon Review
  • La Fusta
  • La Huerta
  • Laurel Review
  • L'Esprit
  • Listen
  • Literary Review
  • Little Magazine
  • Little Review
  • Location
  • Loon
  • Louisville Review
  • Lynx
  • Mad River Review
  • Mademoiselle
  • Madison Review
  • Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction
  • Maine Life
  • Maine Times
  • Maledicta
  • Manasses Review
  • Manhattan Poetry Review
  • Mediterranean Review
  • Michigan Quarterly Review
  • Michigan 's Voices
  • Micromegas
  • Mid-American Review
  • Mid-Century
  • Midwest
  • Midwest Quarterly
  • Midwest Review
  • Midwestern University Quarterly
  • Mikrokosmos
  • Minnesota Review
  • Missouri Review
  • Modern Occasions
  • Modern Poetry Studies
  • Monocle
  • Montparnasse Review
  • Monument
  • Morning Star
  • MSS
  • Mutiny
  • My Weekly Reader
  • NASPA Journal
  • Nation
  • National Forum
  • Neo-Formalist
  • NEW (American and Contemporary Poetry)
  • New Aurora
  • New College
  • New Criterion
  • New Departures ( England)
  • New England Quarterly
  • New England Review
  • Box 5:
  • New Letters
  • New Mexico Humanities Review
  • New Mexico Quarterly
  • New Orleans Poetry Journal
  • New Orleans Review
  • New Times
  • New Virginia Review
  • New Writer
  • New York Quarterly
  • New York Review of Books
  • New York Times
  • New York Times Magazine
  • New Yorker
  • Nit & Wit
  • North American Review
  • Northwest Review
  • Nosegay in Black
  • Oberlin Quarterly
  • Ohio Review
  • Omnibus
  • Oneota
  • Ontario Review
  • Oswego County Times
  • Outcry
  • Outposts
  • Outsider
  • Palladium Times
  • Parnassus
  • Patterns
  • Pebble
  • Phantasm
  • PJ Nights
  • Plain Dealer
  • Playboy
  • Ploughshares
  • Poem
  • Poesis
  • Poet Magazine
  • Poetics Journal
  • Poetry
  • Poetry ( Australia)
  • Poetry Dial
  • Poetry Eastwest
  • Poetry Miscellany
  • Poetry Newsletter
  • Poetry Review
  • Poetry Society
  • Poets & Writers
  • Polemic
  • Portland Review
  • Poultry: A Magazine of Voice
  • Prairie Schooner
  • Premiere
  • Preview
  • Prism
  • Prose
  • PTL
  • Punch
  • Quarterly Review of Literature
  • Quarterly West
  • Quartet
  • Quest
  • Quixote
  • Racoon
  • Radix
  • Rapport
  • Readers and Writers
  • Red Clay Reader
  • Redbook
  • Reporter
  • Review La Booche
  • Review of Science Fiction
  • Richmond Message
  • River Bottom
  • River City
  • Rocky Mountain Review
  • Rolling Stone
  • Salamander
  • Salmagundi
  • San Francisco Review
  • Satire Newsletter
  • Saturday Evening Post
  • Saturday Review
  • Scholastic Magazines
  • Scholia Satyrica
  • Scribe’s Quill
  • Search
  • Seattle Review
  • Seneca Review
  • Sewanee Review
  • Sewanee Writers’ Series
  • Southern Review
  • Sycamore Review
  • Syracuse New Times
  • Village Voice
  • Williwaw
  • Wooden Needle
  • Writer
  • Writer's Digest
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence with publishers
  • Box 5:
  • Addison-Wesley Publishing Company
  • ALDINE Publishing Company
  • alicejamesbooks
  • Allyn and Bacon, Inc.
  • American Book Company
  • Andre Deutsch, Ltd.
  • Appleton-Century-Crofts, Inc.
  • Arco Publishing Company, Inc.
  • Arkham House
  • Ashland Poetry Press
  • Bantam Books, Inc.
  • Barnes & Noble, Inc.
  • Basic Books, Inc.
  • Bayberry Hill Press
  • Benjamin Blom, Inc.
  • Book Hunter Press
  • Brucolli, Clark, Layman, Inc.
  • Burning Deck Press
  • Burnt Earth Productions
  • Cambridge University Press
  • Candlelight Press
  • Castle Press Publications, Inc.
  • Charioteer Press
  • Chelsea House Publishers
  • Compad International Co., Inc.
  • Continuum Publishing Group
  • Cooper House
  • Crossing Press
  • Despá Press
  • Dial Press
  • Eakins Press
  • Elizabeth Press
  • F and W Publications
  • Frontier Press
  • Greenwood Publishers
  • Grey Heron Press
  • Harian Press
  • Hyperion Books, Inc.
  • IDG books
  • Ithaca House
  • Legas
  • Liveright Publishing Corporation
  • Livingston University Press
  • Louisiana State University Press
  • Lyle Stuart, Inc.
  • M.C. Hurtig, Ltd.
  • Macmillan Company
  • Marshall Jones Company (formerly the Golden Quill Press)
  • Maurice Girodias Associates, Ind.
  • McGraw-Hill Book Company
  • Mnemosyne Publishing Co., Inc.
  • Montparnasse Press
  • Moonbird Press
  • New American Library
  • New Directions
  • New Poets Series, Inc.
  • Noonday Press
  • October House
  • Odyssey Press, Inc.
  • Ohio University Press / Swallow Press
  • Orchises Press
  • Oxford University Press
  • Pace University Press
  • Pacific Books
  • Pegasus
  • Peter Smith, Publisher
  • Prairie Press
  • Revenant Press
  • Rock Society
  • Ronald Press Company
  • Seven Poets Press
  • Shadow Press USA
  • Sheep Meadow Press
  • Sixties Press
  • Slow Loris Press
  • Sparrow Press
  • Star Cloud Press
  • State Street Press
  • Story Line Press
  • Tundra Books of Northern New York
  • United Church Press
  • University of Arkansas Press
  • University of Michigan Press
  • University of Missouri Press
  • University of Rochester Press
  • University Press of New England
  • W.W. Norton & Company
  • Wesleyan University Press
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence with universities and colleges
  • Box 6:
  • Adelphi University
  • Adirondack Community College
  • American University
  • Amherst College
  • Antioch Centre for British Studies
  • Arizona State University
  • Auburn University
  • Baldwin-Wallace College
  • Bates College
  • Bennington College
  • Bentley College
  • Boise State University
  • Bowdoin College
  • Bowie State University
  • Brandeis University
  • Bread Loaf School of English
  • Brigham Young University
  • Brown University
  • Bucknell University
  • Burchfield Center - Buffalo
  • California State College at Hayward
  • California State University
  • Centenary College for Women
  • Central Connecticut State College
  • Chadron State College
  • CUNY ( City University of New York)
  • Cleveland State University
  • Colgate University
  • Colorado State University
  • Cuyahoga County Community College
  • Danbury State College
  • Defiance College
  • Delhi Agricultural and Technical College
  • Denison University
  • Fenn College
  • Frostburg State College
  • Georgia State University
  • Hagerstown Junior College
  • Hamilton College
  • Jefferson Community College
  • Johns Hopkins University
  • Lake Erie College
  • Lehman College
  • Miami University
  • Miami University - Dayton Campus
  • Middlebury College
  • Northeastern University
  • Old Dominion University
  • Orange County Community College
  • Paradise Valley Community College
  • PennState DuBios
  • Phillips Academy - Andover
  • Pomona College
  • Potsdam College
  • Rockland Community College
  • Sage Junior College at Alabany
  • St. Mary’s College of Maryland
  • State University at Brockport
  • State University of New York at Albany
  • State University of New York at Buffalo
  • State University of New York at Oswego
  • Staten Island Community College
  • The Australian National University
  • The University of Iowa
  • The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
  • The University of Texas at El Paso
  • United States Naval Academy
  • University of California at Santa Cruz
  • University of Connecticut
  • University of Delaware
  • University of Louisville
  • University of Maine at Augusta
  • University of Missouri-Kansas City
  • University of New Hampshire
  • University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • University of North Texas
  • University of Notre Dame
  • University of Oregon
  • University of Pennsylvania
  • University of Pittsburgh at Greensburg
  • University of Rochester
  • University of the South
  • Washington University in St. Louis
  • Sub-Series: Correspodence with writers
  • Box 6:
  • Abbe, George
  • Abbott, Lee
  • Abu-Jaber, Diane
  • Adams, Leonie
  • Adams, Nicole
  • Aiken, Conrad
  • Allardt, Linda
  • Allen, Dick
  • Allen, Ward
  • Allessia, Joseph
  • Allman, Jack
  • Ammons, A. R.
  • Anderson, Jack
  • Anderson, Joy
  • Andrews, Claudia Emerson
  • Angoff, Charles
  • Appleman, Philip
  • Appleton, Sarah
  • Atlas, James
  • Auden, Will
  • Austin, Paul
  • Awoonor, Kofi
  • Axelrod, D. B.
  • Bagg, Robert
  • Bain, David Haward
  • Baker, David
  • Baker, Russell
  • Barba, Harry
  • Baron, Alexander
  • Baron, Mary
  • Barth, Robert
  • Barth, John
  • Bartlett, Elizabeth
  • Bell, Marvin
  • Bellamy, Joe David
  • Benedikt, Michael
  • Bennett, Bruce
  • Ben-Tov, Sharona
  • Berg, Stephen
  • Berge, Carol
  • Berlind, Bruce
  • Bertolino, James
  • Black, Campbell
  • Bly, Robert
  • Bock, Frederick
  • Bond, Harold
  • Booth, Philip
  • Bradbury, Ray
  • Bradley, Sam
  • Braun, Richard Emil
  • Brock, Van K.
  • Brooks , Gwendolyn
  • Broughton, T. Allan
  • Brown, Roger
  • Brown, Rebecca
  • Brown, Wesley
  • Bruchac, Joseph
  • Buchanan, Brian
  • Buggs, George
  • Burgess, Charles
  • Burlingame, Robert
  • Burr, Ann
  • Busch, Fred
  • Butterick, George
  • Calisher, Hortense
  • Cahen, Al
  • Canzoneri, Robert
  • Carrier, Constance
  • Carruth, Hayden
  • Carter, Catherine
  • Carver , Ray
  • Casagrande, David
  • Casper, Leonard
  • Catto, Pat
  • Chandra, G. Sharat
  • Cheever, John
  • Chretien, Wendy
  • Ciardi, John
  • Citino, David
  • Claire, William
  • Clark, David R.
  • Clemente, Vince
  • Clitheroe, Terry
  • Cockrell, Amanda
  • Codrescu, Andrei
  • Cogswell, Fred
  • Coleman, Mary Ann
  • Conroy, Frank
  • Cook, Albert
  • Cooper, Jane
  • Cooperman, Stanley
  • Costanzo, Gerald
  • Box 7:
  • Coursen, Herbert
  • Cox, Brian
  • Coxe, Louis
  • Craig, Alexander
  • Creeley, Robert
  • Crenner, James
  • Crews, Harry
  • Crome, Nick
  • Crossgrove, Roger L.
  • Cunningham, J.V
  • Cuomo, George
  • Curnow, Allen
  • Dacey, Philip
  • Dana, Robert
  • Daniel, John
  • Daniels, Jim
  • Darling, Robert
  • Davis, Charles
  • Davison, Peter
  • De Paola, Tomei
  • Derleth, August
  • Devereaux , Kent
  • Diane, Di Prima
  • Dickinson, Louise
  • Dicky, James
  • Dicky,R.P.
  • Dicky, William
  • Dillard, Richard
  • Doll, Mary
  • Dorn, Alfred
  • Dorn, Edward
  • Doyle, Ben
  • Driskell , Leon
  • Droves, Paul Leslie
  • Duffany, Brett
  • Dunn, Millard
  • Dunn, Stephen
  • Eberhart, Richard
  • Engle, Hualing Nieh
  • Engle, Paul
  • Engles, John
  • English, Anthony
  • Eshelman, Clayton
  • Etter, Dave
  • Everson, William
  • Ewart, Gavin
  • Fandel, John
  • Farrell, James T.
  • Fatisha
  • Feiffer, Jules
  • Feirstein, Frederick
  • Feldman, Irving
  • Felix, Morton
  • Ferguson , Gordon
  • Field , Edward
  • Finch, Annie
  • Finch, Diana Delaney
  • Fioravanti, Joe
  • Fitzgerald, Barbara
  • Fitzgerald, Gregory
  • Fitzgerald, Robert
  • Flayton, Leigh
  • Fleming, Harold
  • Fletcher, Bramwell
  • Flint, Roland
  • Ford, J.H
  • Foster, Jean Robert
  • French, David (See American Weave in Biographical)
  • Friedman, Norman
  • Frost, Carol
  • Frost, Richard
  • Frost, Robert
  • Fugalli, Tom
  • Gale, Vi
  • Galli, Jonathan D.
  • Gardner, Isabelle
  • Gardner, John
  • Gardner, Warren F.
  • Garrett, George
  • Gast, Georgia B.
  • Gilbert, Jack
  • Gilgun, John
  • Gillman, Richard
  • Gioia, Dana
  • Gioia, Mary
  • Gioseffi, Daniela
  • Glass, Jesse
  • Glaze, Andrew
  • Goedicke, Patricia
  • Goldbarth, Albert
  • Goldberg, Lester
  • Goldstein, Larry
  • Golffing, Francis
  • Grau, John
  • Greenberg, Alvin
  • Gregor, Arthur
  • Gressani, Cheryl
  • Grumbach, Doris
  • Gullams, Chasi
  • Gunn, Thom
  • Gwynn, Sam
  • Hacker, Marilyn
  • Hadley, Trisha
  • Halas, Ed
  • Hall , Donald
  • Halpern, Daniel
  • Hamrin, Tina
  • Hansen, Pauline
  • Harnack, Curt
  • Harper, Michael
  • Harrison, Ruth
  • Harteis, Richard
  • Hartman, Charles O.
  • Haven, Stephen
  • Hazelton, Jon
  • Hazlewood, Roy
  • Hecht, Anthony
  • Hekster, Walter
  • Hemely, Elaine G.
  • Henderson, Gladys
  • Henley, Charles
  • Henley, Pat
  • Henri, Adrian
  • Herbert, Kristin
  • Herr, Paul
  • Herrmann, John
  • Herzing, Albert
  • Heyen, Bill
  • Hill , James
  • Box 8:
  • Hine, Daryl
  • Hoey, Allen
  • Hoffman, Daniel
  • Holmes, John
  • Honig, Edwin
  • Horovitz, Michael
  • Howard, Richard
  • Howes, Barbara
  • Huff, Robert
  • Hughes, James
  • Hummer, T. R.
  • Ignatow, David
  • Inez, Colette
  • Iodice, Ruth
  • Irion, Mary Jean
  • Irwin, John
  • Jerome, Judson
  • Justice, Donald
  • Kennedy, Joe
  • Kidson, Richard
  • Kirschten, Robert
  • Kumin, Maxine
  • Lacey, Robert
  • Landrigan, John
  • Langworthy, Christian
  • Lederer, Richard
  • Leeds, Stephen
  • Lehman, David
  • Levertov, Denise
  • Lockman, John
  • Logan, John
  • Londraville, Richard
  • Loomis, Linda
  • Losito, Leonardo
  • Lunde, David
  • Luvaas, William
  • Macauley, Robie
  • Mangione, Jerre
  • Marcus, Morton
  • Marston, Hope Irvin
  • Martin, Janette
  • Martz, Louis L.
  • Maruggi, Edward
  • Mason, David
  • Masterson, Dan
  • Mathews, William
  • Mazzaro, Jerry
  • McAdam, Rhona
  • McClatchy, J.D.
  • McCloskey, Mark
  • McCullough, Ken
  • McKee, Richard
  • McLean, Albert F.
  • McPherson, Sandra
  • McPhilips, Robert
  • Menaker, Daniel
  • Metcalf, Paul
  • Mezey, Robert
  • Miller, Matt
  • Moore, Marianne
  • Morgan, Frederick
  • Morrison, Toni
  • Morton, Dennis
  • Moss, Howard
  • Murabito, Stephen
  • Nemerov, Howard
  • Nester, Daniel
  • Nichols, Jeanette
  • Nims, John F.
  • Nobles, Edward
  • O’Connell, George
  • O’Connell, Richard
  • Oates, Joyce
  • Pack, Robert
  • Packard, William
  • Padgett, Ron
  • Parker, Mary Beth
  • Peacock, Molly
  • Pearson, Norman Holmes
  • Penn, W.M.
  • Pennington, Lee
  • Petersen, Donald
  • Piccione, Anthony
  • Pillin, W.M.
  • Plath, Eugene Robert
  • Polite, Frank
  • Pollack, Felix
  • Pomeroy, Ralph
  • Poster, Carol
  • Poulin, Al
  • Purvis, Dick
  • Putman, Clay
  • Putnam, Harold
  • Rago, Henry
  • Ramke, Bin
  • Ramsey, Jerry
  • Ransom, John Crowe
  • Rash, Ron
  • Rath, Roger
  • Ratner, Rochelle
  • Ray, David
  • Rees, Ennis
  • Reinfeld, Linda
  • Reum, Walter
  • Rich, Adrienne
  • Richards, Tad
  • Richman, Robert
  • Ricks, David
  • Ridland, John
  • Rikhoff, Jean
  • Rinaldi, Nick
  • Rios, Alberto
  • Ritchie, Elisavietta
  • Robbins, Martin
  • Robinson, Eric
  • Roma-Deeley, Lois
  • Rosenberg, Liz
  • Rudnik, Raphael
  • Russell, Sydney King
  • Rutsala, Vern
  • Safire, W.M.
  • Salamon, Russell
  • Salisbury, Ralph
  • Salter, Mary Jo
  • Saunders, Susan
  • Schevill, James
  • Schimel, Lawrence
  • Schulman, Grace
  • Seidman, Hugh
  • Sevareid, Eric
  • Sexton, Anne
  • Shapiro, Karl
  • Shelton, Richard
  • Shure, Robert
  • Silbert, Layle
  • Simic, Charles
  • Simmerman, James
  • Simpson, Louis
  • Siwarski, Linda
  • Skellings, Edmund
  • Skinner, Knute
  • Sklarew, Myra
  • Slesinger, Warren
  • Sloan, Bill
  • Sloan, Devillo
  • Smith, Dave
  • Smith, Larry
  • Smith, Steven
  • Smith, William Jay
  • Snodgrass, W.D.
  • Box 9:
  • Snyder, Gary
  • Sorrells, Helen
  • Soto, Monico
  • Speer, Laurel
  • Spender, Stephen
  • Spireng, Matt
  • Squires, Radcliffe
  • Stafford, William
  • Starbuck, George
  • Staszewski, Ray
  • Steele, Timothy
  • Stefanile, Felix
  • Steinbach, Roch
  • Steinkraus, Barbara
  • Stoloff, Carolyn
  • Stone, Ronald
  • Strempek, Bernard
  • Stuart, Dabney
  • Stuart, Jesse
  • Style, Lylee
  • Suk, Julia
  • Summers, Hollis
  • Sutton, Mary
  • Swain, Raymond
  • Swann, Brian
  • Sward, Robert
  • Swenson, May
  • Sylvester, William
  • Tagliabue, John
  • Tart, Indrek
  • Taylor, Alexander
  • Thompson, Phyllis
  • Tillinghast, Richard
  • Trow, Don
  • Trundell, Dennis
  • Tuchman, Barbara
  • Turner, Alberta (See Fenn College/Cleveland Poetry Center in Biographical)
  • Untermeyer, Louis
  • Vallone, Anthony
  • Van Duyn, Mona
  • Van Dyke, Henry
  • Van Sluys, Sharon
  • Van Troyer, Gene
  • Vas Dias, Robert
  • Vega Janine, Pommy
  • Vendler, Helen
  • Viereck, Peter
  • Vinal, Harold
  • Vinopal, Bob
  • Virgilio, Nicholas
  • Wade, Carol A.
  • Wade, James
  • Wadsworth, William
  • Waggoner, Hyatt
  • Wagner, Linda
  • Wagoner, David
  • Wakoski, Diane
  • Waldman, Anne
  • Walker, Hayes
  • Wallace, Robert
  • Walsh , Chad
  • Walzer, Kevin
  • Wampler, Marty
  • Wander, Keith
  • Waters, Michael
  • Weatherley, Tom
  • Werner, Maximilian
  • White, Milton
  • Whittemore, Reed
  • Wilbur, Richard
  • Willard, Nancy
  • Williams, Joan
  • Williams, Loring (See American Weave in Biographical)
  • Williams, Miller
  • Williams Russell
  • Williams, Thomas
  • Wills, P.J.
  • Wilson, Leigh
  • Winkelman, Donald
  • Witt, Harold
  • Woods, John
  • Wright, Carolyne
  • Zimmer, Max
  • Zimmer, Paul
  • Zivkovic, Peter
  • Miscellaneous correspondence
  • Series 3: WRITINGS
  • Sub-Series: Anthologies
  • Box 10:
  • One book, commercially bound containing the following:
  • The American Poetry Review - 1955
  • America Sings - 1957
  • EPOS Anthology - 1958
  • Sub-Series: The Book of Beasts
  • Box 10:
  • Typescript manuscript, carbon copies, and photocopies
  • Typescript manuscript. Photocopy with artwork. Bound in a notebook.
  • Sub-Series: The Book of Formss
  • Box 10:
  • Correspondence
  • Poems and definitions
  • Research for a new edition
  • Typescript manuscript. Some carbon copies.
  • Galley proofs with photocopied index
  • Proofs
  • General Index. Proofs
  • Corrected galley proof
  • Bound page proofs for the paperback edition
  • Sub-Series: The Book of Literary Terms
  • Box 10:
  • Correspondence
  • Galley proofs
  • Index. Typescript. Photocopy
  • Sub-Series: The Compleat Melancholick
  • Box 10:
  • Typescript manuscript. Carbon copy
  • Mimeographs
  • Sub-Series: Contemporary Poetry: The Book of Forms
  • Box 10:
  • Typescript manuscript. Bound
  • Sub-Series: The Devil's Disease
  • Box 10:
  • Typescript manuscripts
    Folders 1-2
  • Box 11:
  • Typescript manuscripts
    Folders 3-6
  • Typescript manuscript, bound, Volumes 1-3
  • Sub-Series: Dialogue: A Socratic Dialog on the Art of Writing Dialogue in Fiction
  • Box 11:
  • Computer printout. Photocopy
  • Sub-Series: Emily Dickinson: Woman of Letters
  • Box 11:
  • Computer printout. Photocopy
  • Printer's proof
  • Sub-Series: Essays in American Poetry
  • Box 12:
  • Typescript manuscripts
    Folders 1-2
  • Sub-Series: Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Poetry But Were Afraid to Ask
  • Box 12:
  • Typescript manuscript. Photocopy
    Folders 1-3
  • Sub-Series: The Fantasy Handbook
  • Box 12:
  • Typescript manuscript. Bound.
    This includes a typescript of "My Father and I," Turco's first published fiction, which won a prize at a local paper in 1949, when he was fifteen.
  • Sub-Series: First Poems
  • Box 12:
  • Introduction by Donald Justice.
  • Reviews
  • Sub-Series: Good Gray Poets
    Published under the titlel Visions and Revisionos
  • Box 12:
  • Handwritten manuscript
  • Typescript manuscript. Carbon copy.
  • Typescript manuscript. Carbon copy
  • Chapters 1-10. Typescript manuscript. Combined original and carbon copy
  • Chapters 11-14. Typescript manuscript. Combined original and carbon copy
  • Sub-Series: The Journal of Chalres Ally
  • Box 12:
  • Combined holograph, carbon copy, and typescript pasted into a record book
  • Sub-Series: Juvenalia
  • Box 12:
  • Newspaper clipping, photocopies, pages from books bound into a scrapbook
  • Sub-Series: The Life and Poetry of Manoah Bodman
  • Box 12:
  • Research materials
  • Typescript manuscript. Photocopy
  • Sub-Series: New and Selected Poems. Published under the title A Shifting Web: New and Selected Poetry?
  • Box 13:
  • Copyeditor's corrected copy
  • Sub-Series: New Book of Forms
  • Box 13:
  • Typescript manuscript
    3 folders
  • Typescript manuscript with cut-and-paste copies
    4 folders
  • Typescript manuscript. Photocopy
    2 folders
  • Typescript manuscript, combined with computer printouts and photocopies
    3 folders
  • Index of terms
  • Index of terms
  • Bibliographical index
  • Box 14:
  • Proofs with some photocopied pages
  • Miscellaneous
  • Sub-Series: The Oxford Handbook of Literary Forms
  • Box 14:
  • Correspondence
  • Field test
  • Computer printout. Photocopy
  • Drama sections
  • Pre-publications reader's reports
  • Sub-Series: Pocoangelini
    See also 2003 addendum
  • Box 14:
  • Typescript manuscript. Carbon copy
  • Sub-Series: Poetry:An Introduction Through Writing
  • Box 14:
  • Correspondence
  • Permissions
  • Proofs
  • Poetry project. Learning resources
  • Sub-Series: A Shifting Web: New and Selected Poetry
  • Box 14:
  • Front matter. Copyeditor's copy
  • Proofs
  • Sub-Series: True and Fictional Stories of the Supernatural
  • Box 14:
  • Holograph, typescript, carbon copies, drawings in a scrapbook
  • Sub-Series: Understanding Contemporary American Poetry
  • Box 14:
  • Computer printout
    Folders 1-3
  • Sub-Series: Visions and Revisions of American Poetry
  • Box 15:
  • Typescript manuscript with printers marks. Photocopy
  • Typescript manuscript. Photocopy
  • Typescript manuscript. Photocopy
  • Blue lines
  • Printer's proofs with revisions
  • Printer's proofs with authors corrections
  • Printer's proofs
  • Printer's proofs with corrections
  • Galley proofs with printer's and author's corrections
  • Signatures with printer's corrections
  • About the author
  • Photograph of Turco (photocopy), galley check, paging instructions
  • Front matter and works cited. Galley proofs. Revised. Photocopies
  • Index. Typescript manuscript
  • Index. Galley proof. Photocopy
  • Series 4: BOOK REVIEWS
  • Box 15:
  • The Aging Ghost by James Crenner
  • The Letters of F. Scott Fitzgerald by Andrew Turnbull
  • Madonna of the Cello by Robert Bagg
  • The Nesting Ground by David Wagoner, Progressions by Albert Cook, The Hungry Lions by Joanne de Longchamps
  • "Notices of Current Books." Poems About Love by Robert Graves.
  • "Of Laureates and Lovers." Omnibus review for Saturday Review.
  • Omnibus review of poetry books.
  • Poems About Love by Robert Graves. (Notices of Current Books)
  • "The Sad Tear I call 'Roquefort on Poultry, or Two Book Reviews and an Impeachment." Reviews of The Satirical Rouge on Poetry by Robert Francis and Digressions and Indiscretions by Richard Leighton Greene.
  • "Vision and Artifice." Review of Babel to Byzantium by James Dickey.
  • Series 5: ESSAYS
  • Box 15:
  • "Confession, Vision, and Artifice"
  • "Contemporary Novels: English and French"
  • "Corresponding with Conrad Aiken"
  • Essay on English poets
  • "A Fable for Journalists"
  • Fenn College Chapter of the American Association on University Professors stand on states' rights
  • Forms of poetry
  • "Ghost of Emerson"
  • Hillsdale college professors not respected by students
  • "The House of Mirrors." Midwest Review, Spring 1961. Reprint.
  • "Interview with Lewis Turco and Lewis Turco by A. Priori"
  • "Memo from the Muses' Unamerican Activities Committee"
  • "Notes on American Literary Figures Appearing in A Fable for Critics."
  • "Nothing Doing"
  • "Of Professionals, Amateurs, and Agonists"
  • "Pandarus: Courtly Love vs. Medieval Morality."
  • "Paris Leary"
  • "Priest of Passage"
  • "The Profession of Poetry"
  • Response to Professor Kirk
  • Response to Shapiro essay in Shenandoah
  • "Retrospectively"
  • "Sceptic Dialogue"
  • "A Statistical Study of Undergraduate writing Arts Programs in the USA"
  • "The Techniques of Versification of W.D. Snodgrass"
  • Term paper for philosophy
  • "Thoughts on Writing"
  • "Two Approaches to the Comedy of Manners: A Comparison of Barrie'sThe Admirable Crichton and Maugham'sThe Constant Wife"
  • "Two Poems: A Comparison"
  • "Verse Drama and the Void"
  • "Why the Humanities?"
  • Series 6: MISCELLANEOUS PUBLISHED WORKS
  • Sub-Series: Works published under his pseudonym, Wesli Court
  • Box 15:
  • "The Airs of Wales: Medieval Poems in Modern English." Poetry Newsletter, Vol. 53 (Fall 1981), pp. 1-18.
  • Murgatroyd and Mabel. (Children's book.) Ill. Robert Michaels. Oswego, New York: Mathom Publishing Company, 1978. Unbound signature.
  • Sub-Series: Works published under the name Lewis Turco
  • Box 15:
  • "The Agonisn and Existentity: Stevens." Concerning Poetry, Vol.6:no.1, pp. 32-44.
  • "Amiguphobia: The Fear of Puns." (Poem.) American Literary Review Special Poetry Issue. Vol.1:No.1 (Spring 1994), p. 89.
  • "Amnesiophobia: The Fear of Forgetting." (Poem.) American Literary Review Special Poetry Issue. Vol.1:No.1 (Spring 1994), p. 88.
  • "Arachnophobia: The Fear of Spiders." (Poem.) Southern Humanities Review. Vox.XXVII:No.4 (Fall 1993), p. 378.
  • "Book of the Black Heart." Carolina Quarterly. Vol.xvi:no.3 (Summer 1964), pp 27-36.
  • "Curt." (Memoir.) North Atlantic Review. Number 2 (Summer 1990), pp. 48-57.
  • "Defining the Poet." Concerning Poetry. Vol.1:no.2, pp. 7-15.
  • "Dialogue." (Essay.) In Dibell, Scot Card, and Turco, How to Write a Million. London: Robinson Publishing, Ltd., 1991.
  • Box 16:
  • "Frances Pullen, 1744-1779," "Patience Pullen, 1880-1885," "Patience Cobb Pullen, 1749-1789." (Poems). The Bridge. Summer-Fall 1993, pp. 6-8.
  • "How to Read Hopkins." Letter to the Editor The New York Times Book Review. September 24, 1989.
  • "Howard Nemerov's Cosmos of the Ordinary." (Essay). ELF: Eclectic Literary Forum. Vol.4:No.2 (Summer 1994), pp. 54-56.
  • "I Remember. Big Ed" (Memoir) Yankee, May 1991, p.30.
  • "Phalacrophobia: The Fear of Balding." (Poem.) The Poet's Page. July/August/September 1994, p. 34.
  • "Poetry by Turco." Iowa Alumni Review.Vol.18:no.2 (February 1965), p. 16-17.
  • "Postmodernist Academic Style." (Essay.) The Poet's Page. July/August/September 1994, pp. 11-25.
  • "The Pro-Am Tournament." (Essay) Michigan Quarterly Review. 1978, pp. 84-91.
  • "November 22, 1964." (Poem.) Al-Hayat Fi America.No. 32. In a booklet between pages 22 and 23. In Arabic.
  • "Sonnets to an Old Professor." Fine Arts Magazine. Vol.IV:No.1 (April 1959), pp. 8-9.
  • "Villanelle of the First Day." ELFL: Eclectic Literary Forum. Vol.5:No.3 (1995), p. 26.
  • Series 7: MISCELLANEOUS MANUSCRIPTS
  • Box 16:
  • AAUP at Fenn College
  • American Verse: From the Beginning to 1900. Proposed table of contents
  • Aspects: At Home and Others. Dedication, permissions, forenote, and index to titles.
  • Beginning of a story of Bob Fennerly
  • "Fixing the World." Speech before the Ohio Poetry Society, November 26, 1960.
  • Hillsdale epistles. Letters. Mimeographs
  • Letters written by Turco to various people
  • List of poems
  • List of poets
  • Miscellaneous writings
  • "Not-me/knock-knee" controversy
  • Notepad, including "What is the purpose of a liberal arts college?," "Some People Call me
  • Turk," "I am the Bay," "Last of All," "See the Christian," "The Milkman," "Warrior," "Resumé"
  • Notepad, including"The Long Night"
  • Notepad, including review of The Satirical Rogue and Digressions and Indiscretions, list of poems, "The Good Man," letter to Bill
  • Notepad, including an untitled short story, "The Rock," and untitled poems with the following first lines: The scent of lilac, mint's breath, golden rue; The afternoon bores; Sparrow, space; Our hero, Hugh of Harrow; As I read my good friend's book; The snow is falling into the night
  • Notepad, including a list: Tools needed, tools owned; and an unidentified short story
  • Notepad, 1963, including "Odds Bodkin on Love," "Poetry Center of Cleveland," "Elegy in a Watermelon Patch"
  • Notepad 1964/65, including "Pocoangelini, Grundy," "Cell of the Celibate," "Drowning in the Wind," "Aureole of the Automobile," "Sherried Artichoke Chicken," "Goober Beef Casserole," "Friday Night Scallop," "Zucchini ala Parmigiana"
  • Notepad, 1965, including letters to [Arny?], "Back-to-Wall," "The Goodly Squire," "Ouvertures Academiques," "Letter to Senator Dirksen"
  • Notepad, 1965, including "Fabulous Creatures: A Bestiary: Hippo, Jackal, Rhinoceros;" "The Garden of Odd Seeds," "The Names of Places," "Woodbane," "Angels," "Back-to-Wall," "Burning the News," review of The Poems of Richard Wilbur, "An Old Acquaintance," "Lives for Mr. Stevenson."
  • Notes for a proposed story
  • Notes for a proposed story about Henry Corway
  • Pages of a notebook with items on both sides. Mostly poetry, including "Ferdinand Feghoot," "Gone Are the Merry Men," "Mutter in the Morning Wind," "The Man in a Chamber," "Once in the Long Moon," "In a Summer Season," "This is the City," and the "Shiftlessness of Things."
  • Pages of a notebook. Mostly poems including "The Hallway," "The Glider," "The Door," "The Mirror," "The Pillow," "Sight," "This," "The Portrait of a Clown," "The Playroom (2)," "The Study," "The Basement," "The Desk," "The Photo in a Gilt Frame," "The Hallseat," "Jermyn's River," "The Test," and "The Mathom Shop."
  • Response to a performance by Joy Parker and Paul Scofield
  • Series 8: PLAY MANUSCRIPTS
  • Box 16:
  • Case in Hand
  • Chemistry Characters. A Play in One Act
  • The City Masque
  • Dreams of Stone and Sun
  • Spider
  • The Stellar Cavalier. A Kinda Medium-Light Opera in Three Acts
  • The Witch Trial. A Play in One Act
  • Series 9: POEMS
  • Sub-Series: Titled poems
  • Box 16:
  • Arras Tapestry
  • Art de la Poesie-The Art of Poetry
  • Automobiles
  • Awaken, Bells Falling
  • Banjo
  • Bathroom
  • Beaches Caught in Glass
  • Bedtime Story
  • Bellwether
  • Bordello
  • But the Door Sighing
  • Byelow the cold, cold wind
  • Captain Hood
  • Carnival Evening
  • Cat
  • Chantade for Brigs in Bottles
  • Christmas Poems
  • Clarence and the Pope
  • Collection of poems
    Dancing is Social Too, The Garden, Muses' Bell
  • The Death of the Astronaut
  • Communal Swimming
  • Concerning An Arrogance of Power
  • Concrete Castle
  • Couch
  • Darby Dan and Lily
  • Demeter & Persephone
  • Dialogue at Some Length
  • Dick deTraviale
  • Didactic Poem
  • Down Low, the Clamshell Night
  • Eclogue
  • Elegy Composed in a Watermelon Patch
  • End of Term
  • Englyn Penfyr. The Formalist
  • Epigrams
  • Epigrams for a Poetry Workshop
  • Epistle to a Sleeper
  • Epitaph on Scholars
  • Eunuch Cat
  • Explanation for J.S.
  • The Face in the Stone
  • Fit the Eleventh, Fit the Twelfth
  • Fit the Seventh
  • Floorplan
  • The Fog Drifts
  • Foliage
  • For a Dark Man
  • For All It's Worth
  • For the Baby
  • From Fabulous Creatures
  • From the Sketches
  • Garden
  • Gargoyle
  • Gene
  • Getting Too Important
  • Gergrundehyde the Good
  • Gravir-Jacques Dupin
  • [Grow Weary Weary]
  • Harvest Song, #1, #2, #3
  • He Who Feeds Pigeons
  • Headstone and Croneweed: A Dialogue
  • Heraldic Encounter (2)
  • Holy Man Whose Thoughts Travel in High Circles
  • Hook, Line and Sinker
  • Hornpipepithalamion
  • House
  • If I Were Pan's Wife
  • Image of an Old Man
  • In Defense of Absurd Gestures
  • In the Graves of Academe: or the Graffiti of Tilbury College (2)
  • In the Volcanoes of Your Eyes
  • An In-Law Rime
  • Innocence
  • Instead of a Sparrow
  • It is Quiet Now
  • January 23, 1997 (For Jessima Siti Ranney)
  • Jason Potter
  • Just Like That
  • The Knight in Shining Burlap
  • A Lady of Love
  • Lamp, the Sleeper, and The Art of Poetry
  • Libretto in White
  • Linen Calendar
  • Linguistics
  • Little O. Annie Likes Ike
  • Long Will's Vision of Piers the Plowman
  • Luigi
  • Madrigal of Simples: Maine
  • Mathus, Be Kind; Term Registration (one side); Poems 1953-1963 (list, on the other side of the page)
  • Measures: In Defense of Certain Gestures
  • A Meeting of the Minds
  • Melora, My Daughter
  • Melora
  • Memory
  • Minister
  • Ma Coeur
  • Mole Lived on a Mountain
  • Moment Before
  • Monologue in Silence
  • Morbid Man Singing
  • Narcissus to His Fleshly Shadow
  • Necromanteion
  • Nightly Owl Broods
  • No Reflection on You, But. . .
  • Notepad 1962
    The Blackbird and the Honey Bee, Little Old Ladies, Odds Bodkin, Untitled (arranged by first line), Now Let Us Talk of Fire, The wind saild high and cool
  • Notepad 1967
    What is poetry? (Essay), Botany, Death Rides a Blue Horse, Untitled, There was a man named Appleware, The rose window glows
  • Nymph's Reply to the Shepherd
  • Occasional Ballad for a Class Reunion
  • 24-Oct-62
  • Odds Bodkin
  • Odds Bodkin on the Town
  • Odds Bodkin's Strange Thrusts and Travel
  • Ode on the Intimation of Immortality (2)
  • The Old Professor and the Sphinx
  • Oliver's Speech From Six Feet of Sod
  • On Having Been Fired
  • An Ordinary Evening in Cleveland
  • The Parade
  • Pegasus, Honey, and Hershey, Pa.
  • Phonograph
  • Picture on the Wall
  • The Pilot
  • Pity the Prurient Rose, Poor Dear
  • Pocoangelini
  • Poem About Fishing
  • Poet Thinking About Editors (and other Readers, If Any)
  • Poetry Sampler
  • Pompeii
  • Pop Poem #1
  • Pop Poem #2
  • Prime of Night
  • Prologue to The Dark Man
  • Rain
  • Recipe for a Vichyssoise
  • Recollections XII (Birds of the Early Night)
  • Reilly's Rannaigheart
  • Relative Rimes
  • A Riddle
  • River
  • Road
  • Rock
  • The Rodent of Hours
  • Rolling Among Sparks
  • The Room
  • Roundel: Bitters for This Age
  • Box 17:
  • Roundelay
  • Runes for May's Day After
  • Savage and Innocent
  • Scarecrow
  • Scythe
  • Seascape with Treasure
  • Season
  • Seed
  • 22-Sep-63
  • Sestet for Two Mothers-to-Be
  • Sexton Rings the Kookie Bells
  • Sheaf
    Some Food for Thought, Nursery Rime, Untitled: First line: He'd sworn to see it and one day, What do you think about the world: The fingernail of God, Denuded by the, A fable for journalists (essay), Letter to the Editor
  • The Ship
  • Simone Signoret
  • Sir Orfeo (John Masefield Rime Royal contest)
  • Sketch # 1 (15)
  • The Sketches
  • Sketches, Book 2
  • Snow Devil
  • Some Kind of a Thing
  • Still Lives
  • Still Life with Surf (by Wesli Court)
  • Storm
  • Stranger
  • The Stroller
  • Summer
  • Summer Prime of Night
  • Summerhouse
  • Terzanelle Decadenza on Turning Thirty
  • The Book of Things. Sheaf One
  • The Manticore Having Married
  • The Stars Rattle
  • The Voyagers
  • There Will Be Hailstones
  • They
  • Three poems
    Untitled, arranged by first line: The houses are settling into their foundations, In the pastures the wind walks, The pond at the edge of town
  • Three Voices in a Castle
  • To a Woman Shoveling Snow
  • To Smoke a Pipe
  • Toad
  • Tomke Chain II
  • Trees
  • Two poems
    Untitled, arranged by first line: Like a silence of hearts Death, The moon is hollow
  • Two poems
    The Clock, The student
  • Two poems
    Words, My Wife of the Town
  • Two poems
    A Family Celebration, Timestruck to Valencia he will go
  • Two poems
    To Aunt Annie Who Must Die, The Auctioin
  • Two poems found among Turcon's mother's possessions
    Thanksgiving Sonnet, To My Mother on her Birthday
  • Two Songs
    Uncle Franks & Aunt Harriet
  • Valley
  • Vaughn
  • Voyagers
  • Wake
  • Wesli
  • When You Come In
  • Whispers in a Windmill
  • Will Somers
  • World Enough and Time
  • Words for the Book of Sand
  • Words for White Weather
  • Writing from Experience
  • Written with Asperity
  • Yard
  • You
  • Sub-Series:
  • Box 17:
  • Untitled; arranged by first line
  • A cube of fluid quivers on my desk
  • A lot of cold water's flowed over the dam
  • A table turned aslant the door
  • An egg that must give hatch to death
  • And so the school year's finished
  • As my blood has run
  • At last to end his great distress
  • At noon time on a June day
  • Bob came down with a rumbledum
  • But to eulogize
  • Come as the wind comes, Love
  • Dear Classmates and Mates Thereof
  • Demoiselle, those white limbs genuflecting
  • Desire today is a cavern of snow
  • Destitute of sound, I rely upon the room
  • The dim, sweet barn has wings
  • Do you hear the voice made of wine?
  • Do you hear the voice of the dog?
  • Each morning he would enter
  • The elephant in the box
  • Even in prose
  • Fathers, fathers, come home, come home
  • Ferdinard Feghoot, the science galoot
  • For as many nights as there are days
  • For thirty years we lived together
  • For to descryve the ros to most pleasance
  • Go down Adam, wastrel reaper
  • Go longing, air voice
  • Gone are the merry men
  • Hark! Hark! The lark
  • Having come this far, prone on your particolored
  • Having shifted in my
  • He and his go to the springs, have gone
  • He is the mandarin of silence
  • Here, alone in the old house, reading
  • His fingers brush through the cast-off thing
  • Hundreds of yards of woodlands
  • I am a morbid man: I sit and sing
  • I am Peter
  • I call upon the Muses Mine
  • I call you death, you mouse
  • I dream of death
  • I fell out of the shadows
  • I have here a little ditty
  • I may change
  • I shall get up and go
  • I shall raise you up, Lazarus, with a hand
  • I thought, at first, I saw through a yellow eye
  • I walked into the auditorium
  • I, too, admire the work of Mr. Dickey
  • In prayer and penance
  • In this foul den I am still with God
  • "Is one supposed to hope?"
  • It cost me 3 bucks
  • It is dark here in this room
  • It is midnight of a summer night
  • It is morning. Brother Night
  • It is winter in this grim house of stone
  • It was a quiet June evening
  • Itinerary - Jacques Dupin
  • Its blood has run
  • John Eagle stands and regards the trail
  • Just beyond the shadow of the blue spruce
  • The land goes as time goes
  • Let me sit here now
  • Like a fleet thief, this sparrow
  • Lily is my name Lily Vale
  • Living then will be child's play
  • Mamby, the nimble mouse
  • Man's follies firsthand
  • Mary of the charms, Mary Belle
  • The mill grinds the night
  • My black heart
  • My flesh shall be fertile
  • My God! Another winter's gone to hell
  • My irises are seas where sailors drown
  • My students move or settle in
  • Next, sirs, if you choose
  • None see. Come follow me.
  • Nor you, nor I may call the weather dumb
  • O . . . Orpheus
  • Odds says, Egad
  • "Oh for heaven's sake," Grace said
  • On the morning of the first day he awoke and went out
  • Out of doors, at night she came and sang (includes fit the Fourth, Fit the Fifth, and Fit the Sixth)
  • Play this game: paint
  • A progression of cuts
  • The rain, like a mouse, scurries about the house
  • Ralph Waldo's Aunt Mary
  • Redhead in the vine desolate
  • Rue would go where she could to
  • She is caught in her frail house
  • She sighed as she saw the nightbird rise
  • So long, folks, until tomorrow
  • Softly out of the old moon
  • Still, still, the darkness of night
  • That restlessness is strange which visits men
  • The children suckle at the wolf
  • The clown to the woman said
  • The couch is enjoying the chair
  • The crabapples are blue
  • The immense mossy head rose steaming
  • The lamp is standing in the center of
  • The old lady and the bull
  • The ravages of the worm are slow
  • The sun! To hear you think that you'd been making love to him
  • The sun is on her garments
  • The terms comes to snow and
  • The trees today are a shiver of snow
  • The wind revels in the weed, the beads of snow
  • Their tongues sprawl among their cheeks
  • There among my books, Lucrezia
  • There is a lamp in the corner
  • There is a song in the rock
  • There is no mercy here
  • There once was a poet named Ciardi
  • There was a woman on our block
  • There was an end of things
  • There's a branch with no tap root
  • Thimble and Tumble went out to the well
  • This is a true October
  • This is an old house made of wood
  • Time is fluid
  • Tonight the world dies
  • Twist the busses on the street, desirous
  • Uncle Ed and Aunt
  • Uncle Skull is hunting home, home
  • Upside down in a world of bitters
  • The urchin swims in my brow
  • Was it the sound a blue spruce makes
  • We wandered long and gently, Dorothy
  • The well of holy heaven has gone sec
  • What do you think of reduction, sir?
  • When I came out of the bunting hive
  • When I saw, golden in the turning earth
  • Witness be hanged from a cherry tree
  • You live with me, now where's your love?
  • You need not fear the fall
  • "You'd better see her now."
  • Series 10: SHORT STORY MANUSCRIPTS
  • Box 17:
  • "Barrow Yard"
  • "The Battle of the Primaries"
  • "The Book of the Black Heart. Sheaf One: The City"
  • "The Book of the Black Heart. Sheaf Three: The Ship"
  • "Episode in Brewster Heights"
  • "Game"
  • "The Instructor"
  • "Leonora"
  • "Living Metal"
  • "Master of Cerements"
  • "Milk Route Mystery"
  • "A Pipe Dream" (2)
  • "The Rain"
  • "The Sated Satyr. The New Satirycon"
  • "Scent of Honeysuckle"
  • "Scot on the Rocks"
  • Sheaf Five. "Shit City"
  • "Three on a Match"
  • "Tontine"
  • Untitled [Gail Adams]
  • "Wind and Red Moss"
  • Series 11: AUDIO CASSETTE TAPES
  • Sub-Series: Poetry Readings
  • Box 1:
  • Tape 3, part 1: Expresso Club. Nicholas Lindsay.
  • Tape 3, part 2: Nicholas Lindsay.
  • Tape 4: Expresso Club. R. V. Cassill.
  • Tape 5, part 1: SUCO Fine Art Festival. Expresso Ship.
  • Tape 5, part 2: Expresso Shop.
  • Tapes 6 and 7: Brockport, Int. Library of Congress tape.
  • Tape 8: Conrad Aiken. Marianne Moore. Yale Poets #1.
  • Tape 9, part 1: R. Lowell. Stanley Kunitz. Yale Poets #2.
  • Tape 9, part 2: Yale Poets #2. R. Lowell. Stanley Kunitz.
  • Tape 9, part 3: Yale Poets #2. R. Lowell. Stanley Kunitz.
  • Tape 10, part 1: Yale Poets #3. Louis Simpson. George Starbuck.
  • Tape 10, part 2: Yale Poets #3. Louis Simpson. George Starbuck.
  • Tape 11: Yale Poets #4. Vernon Watkins. Louis MacNeice.
  • Tape 12, part 1: Yale Poets #5. Allen Tate. Robert Penn Warren.
  • Tape 12, part 2: Yale Poets #5. Allen Tate. Robert Penn Warren.
  • Tape 13: Yale Poets #6 Yvor Winters. Lee Anderson. Winfield Townley Scott. R. P. Blackmor.
  • Tape 14: Yale Poets #7. Louise Borgan. Dudley Filts.
  • Tape 15: Yale Poets #8: John Hollander. C. Day Lewis.
  • Tape 16, part 1: National Poetry Festival #1.
  • Tape 16, part 2: National Poetry Festival #1.
  • Tape 17, part 1: National Poetry Festival #2.
  • Tape 17, part 2: National Poetry Festival #2.
  • Tape 17, part 3: National Poetry Festival #2.
  • Tape 18, part 1: National Poetry Festival #3.
  • Tape 18, part 2: National Poetry Festival #3.
  • Tape 19, part 1: National Poetry Festival #4.
  • Tape 19, part 2: National Poetry Festival #4.
  • Tape 20, part 1: National Poetry Festival #5.
  • Tape 20, part 2. National Poetry Festival #5.
  • Tape 21, part 2: National Poetry Festival #6.
  • Tapes 22, 23, 24: Project Discovery. Expresso Club 2/16/66.
  • Tape 25, part 1: Expresso Club 2/17/66 and 2/18/66.
  • Tape 25, part 2: Expresso Club 2/17/66 and 2/18/66.
  • Box 2:
  • Tape 25, part 3: Expresso Club 2/17/66 and 2/18/66.
  • Tape 26, part 1: Expresso Club 2/17/66 and 2/18/66.
  • Tape 26, part 2: Expresso Club 2/18/66.
  • Tape 27, part 1: SUCO Fine Arts Festival. Expresso Shop 2/19/66.
  • Tape 27, part 2: SUCO Fine Arts Festival. Expresso Shop 2/9/66.
  • Tape 28, part 1: Fine Arts Festival. 2/19/66.
  • Tape 28, part 2: Fine Arts Festival 2/19/66.
  • Tape 29: FSCA. James L. Weil. 4/17/61.
  • Tape 30: FSCA. Lewis Turco. 6/26/61.
  • Tape 31: FSCA. Robert Huff. 10/5/62.
  • Tape 32: FSCA. Paul Engle. 11/13/62.
  • Tape 33: FSCA. Paul Engle. Evening Program at Fenn College 11/13/62.
  • Tape 34: FSCA. X.V. Kennedy. Ohio Versewriters Conference, 1963.
  • Tape 35: FSCA. Dr. Ernest Simmons. 1/28/63.
  • Tape 36: FSCA. Atkin and Hammond. Turner and Williams. 4/26/63.
  • Tape 37: FSCA. Ohio Versewriters Conference 1963. James Crenner, Irving Feldman, Miller Williams, Lewis Turco. 4/27/63.
  • Tape 38: FSCA. Richard Wilber. 5/24/63.
  • Tape 39, part 1: FSCA. Nicholas Lindsay reading the poetry of Vachel Lindsay. 11/15/63.
  • Tape 39, part 2: FSCA. Nicholas Lindsay reading the poetry of Vachel Lindsay. 11/15/63.
  • Tape 40, part 1: FSCA. Introduction '64. Jan Billara, Fay Fox, Dave French, Russell Salamon, Julie Suk.
  • Tape 40, part 2: FSCA. Introduction "64. Jan Billara, Fay Fox, Dave French, Russell Salamon, Julie Suk.
  • Tape 41: FSCA. Howard Nemerov 2/21/64.
  • Tape 42: FSCA. Morton Marcus 3/7/64.
  • Tape 43. Ohio Versewriters Conference 4/17/64. Vonna Adrian, P. L. Sabo, William Sylvester.
  • Tape 44: FSCA. Richard Frost. Donald Petersen. 4/18/64.
  • Tape 45, part 1: FSCA. Ohio Versewriters Conference 1964. James Weil, "Devices of Poetry." Round table discussion. 4/18/64.
  • Tape 45, part 2: FSCA. Ohio Versewriters Conference 1964. James Weil, "Devices of Poetry." Round table discussion. 4/18/64.
  • Tape 46: FSCA. Ohio Versewriters Conference. Hollis Summers. 4/18/64.
  • Tape 47: FSCA Richard Eberhardt. 5/22/64.
  • Tape 48: FSCA. Karl Shapiro. 12/4/64.
  • Tape 49, part 1: William Dickey. e e cummings.
  • Tape 49, part 2: William Dickey. e e cummings.
  • Tape 50, part 1: Fenn Poetry Center. W.D. Snodgrass 5/14/65.
  • Tape 50, part 2: Fenn Poetry Center. W. D. Snodgrass 5/14/65.
  • Box 3:
  • Tape 51, part 1: FSCA. William Golding.
  • Tape 51, part 2: FSCA. William Golding.
  • Tape 52, part 1: FSCA. Jazz Poetry Festival
  • Tape 52, part 2: FSCA. Jazz Poetry Festival.
  • Tape 54: FSCA. Miss H. Collister Hutchinson.
  • Tape 55: Dylan Thomas. e e cummings, Vachel Lindsay, W. H. Auden.
  • Tape 56: FSCA. John Crowe Ransom.
  • Tape 57: FSCA. Robert Huff.
  • Tape 58: Hall-Turco. Conference of Midwestern Poets.
  • Tape 59: Conference of Midwestern Poetry. Loring Williams. John Woods.
  • Tape 60: 1963 Maryland Writers' Festival. Edward Skellings. Arnold Kenseth.
  • Tape 61: 1963 Maryland Writers' Festival. Robert Wallace. Joseph Langland.
  • Tape 62: Muriel Rukeyser. 4/16/64.
  • Tape 63: Muriel Rukeyser. 4/16/64.
  • Tape 64, part 1: University of Montana. Charles Tomlinson. Muriel Rukeyser 4/16/64.
  • Tape 64, part 2: University of Montana. Charles Tomlinson. Muriel Rukeyser 4/16/64.
  • Tapes 65 and 66: Charles Tomlinson. William Heyen.
  • Tape 67: VTQ 008 Cut #2. Richard Frost.
  • Tape 68, part 1: New Voices in American Poetry (Selection from FSCA) William Faulkner, Wallace Stevens, Conrad Aiken, Elizabeth Bishop, Nicholas Lindsay.
  • Tape 68, part 2: New Voices in American Poetry (Selections from FSCA) William Faulkner, Wallace Stevens, Conrad Aiken, Elizabeth Bishop, Nicholas Lindsay.
  • Tape 69, part 1: Sandberg, MacLeish, Yeats, Auden, Sitwell, Graves, MacNeice, Auden.
  • Tape 69, part 2: Auden, Friedman, MacNeice, Stein, Moore, Empson, Spender, W. E. Williams.
  • Tape 70, part 1: Eric Robertson on John Clare OWAW, 8/28/67. Mark McCloskey OWAW, 8/30/67.
  • Tape 70, part 2: Eric Robertson on John Clare OWAW, 8/28/68. Mark McCloskey OWAW, 8/30/67.
  • Tape 71, part 1: T. S. Eliot. Robert Frost. Steven Vincent Benet.
  • Tape 71, part 2: T. S. Eliot. Robert Frost. Steven Vincent Benet. Edmund Skellings.
  • Tape 72. Frost. Meredith.
  • Tape 73, part 1: John Ciardi, "State of Poetry Now." 4/11/60. Thomas Hornsby Ferrill 1954.
  • Tape 73. part. 2: John Ciardi. "State of Poetry Now." 4/11/60. Thomas Hornsby Ferrill 1954.
  • Tape 74:William Golding.
  • Tape 75, part 1: Richard Hugo 10/14/64. David Wagoner 4/5/67.
  • Tape 75, part 2: Richard Hugh 10/14/64. David Wagoner 4/5/67.
  • Tape 76: Ohio Versewriters. Richard Frost, Donald Petersen, "The Unconscious in Verse Composition."
  • Box 4:
  • Tape 77: Marcus Morton, Oswego 12/15/70. Lewis Turco, "The Living Arts" Interview. SUC, Potsdam, 1969.
  • Tape 78: Hayden Carruth. Elliott Coleman. Josephine Jacobson. Henry Rogo.
  • Tape 78: Hayden Carruth, Elliott Coleman. Josephine Jabobson. Henry Rogo.
  • Tape 79, part 1: J. R.R. Tolkien. Robert Shure's "Twink." Of Poetry and Power.
  • Tape 79, part 2: J. R. R. Tolkien. Robert Shure's "Twink." Of Poetry and Power.
  • Tape 81, part 1: The Elections Last Fall. Salisbury, Turco, Eberhart.
  • Tape 81, part 2: The Elections Last Fall. Salisbury, Turco, Eberhart.
  • Tape 81, part 3: The Elections Last Fall. Salisbury, Turco, Eberhart.
  • Tape 82: Thomas Kinsella, 10/22/70. Michael Harper, SUCO 4/22/70.
  • Tape 83, part 1: George Garrett 10/15/68. William Stafford, Oswego 11/13/69.
  • Tape 83, part 2: George Garret 10/15/68. William Stafford, Oswego 11/13/69.
  • Tape 84, part 1: Dylan Thomas, talk and reading. Complete recorded poetry.
  • Tape 84, part 2: Dylan Thomas, talk and reading. Complete recorded poetry.
  • Tape 84, part 3: Dylan Thomas, talk and reading. Complete recorded poetry.
  • Tapes 85 and 86: Oppenheimer. Foreign language.
  • Tape 87: Richard Hugo 10/14/64.
  • Tape 88, part 1: Vern Rutsala, SUCO 1/11/66. George Garrett, SUC, Potsdam 10/12/68.
  • Tape 88, part 2: Vern Rutsala, SUCO 1/11/66. George Garrett, SUC, Potsdam 10/12/68.
  • Tape 89: Edward Field, Reading, OWAW 8/23/67. Gwendolyn Brooks, Interview.
  • Tape 90: 1963 Maryland Writers' Festival. W. I. Snodgrass.
  • Tape 91: 1963 Maryland Writer's Festival. Lewis Turco. William Faulkner, Wallace Stevens, Conrad Aiken, Elizabeth Bishop.
  • Tape 92: Fenn Poetry Center. Karl Shapiro 12/4/64.
  • Tape 93: John Woods 11/6/64.
  • Tape 94: John Logan reading poems at Cornell University 4/18/61.
  • Tapes 95 and 96: Robert Frost. Bill Knott "It Takes Two to Make a Murder."
  • Tape 97. Jan Billera reading with drum accompaniment for his book Purgatory and Carousels.
  • Tapes 98 and 99: FSCA. X.J. Kennedy. "The Last Days of Hart Crane." WBAI FM, NY.
  • Tape 101: Macleish, Sandburg, Yeats.
  • Tape 102: FSCA. John Tagliabuc, Bates College, Lewiston, Maine 1959.
  • Tapes 103 and 104: FSCA. W. D. Snodgrass, Address at State University, Oneonta 8/2/61. Milton Kessler 9/18/62.
  • Tape 105: FSCA. Vern Rutsala, Lewis and Clark College, Portland, OR 10/62.
  • Tape 106: FSCA. Richard Frost 8/24/62.
  • Tapes 107 and 108: FSCA. Louis Williams, Fenn 10/20/62 (Choral background and accompaniment). David Ignatow 10/26/62.
  • Tapes 109 and 110: FSCA. James Crenner 11/1/62. Paul Engle, Fenn College 11/13/62.
  • Box 5:
  • Tapes 111 and 112: FSCA Rhymers Club. Mr. Carr Leggett 1/24/63. Judson Jerome 4/27/63.
  • Tape 113: FSCA. Donald Justice 3/15/63.
  • Tape 114. FSCA. Robert Mezey 10/25/63.
  • Tape 115: FSCA. George Abbe.
  • Tape 116: FSCA. A. R. Ammons.
  • Tape 117: FSCA. Charles Angoff.
  • Tape 118: FSCA. Sam Bradley.
  • Tapes 119, 120, 121: FSCA. Charles Burgess. Constance Carrier, Leonard Casper.
  • Tape 122: FSCA. William Eversion (Brother Antonimus)
  • Tapes 123 and 124: FSCA. Donald Finkel. Paul Herr.
  • Tape 126: FSCA. Sam Hudson, "A Light to Lighten."
  • Tapes 127 and 128: FSCA. Judson Jerome. Donald Justice.
  • Tapes 129 and 130: FSCA. Ralph Kinsey. Nicholas Lindsay.
  • Tape 131: FSCA. Morton Marcus.
  • Tape 132: FSCA. E. L. Mayo.
  • Tapes 133 and 134: FSCA. Nicholas Lindsay, poetry of Vachel Lindsay. Mark Strand.
  • Tapes 135 and 136: FSCA. Hollis Summers. Discussion. Lewis Turco and Ray Stascewski.
  • Tapes 137 and 138: FSCA. Alberta Turner. Mona van Duyn.
  • Tape 139: FSCA. Chad Walsh
  • Tapes 140 and 141: FSCA. Loring Williams. Miller Williams.
  • Tape 142: FSCA. John Woods.
  • Tape 143: Seawell, O'Connell, Sullivan
  • Tape 144. Nancy Willard.
  • Tape 145: G Brooks Poetry Workshop 2/20/84.
  • Tape 146: G Books Poetry Workshop 2/20/84.
  • Unnumbered: Turco SUCO 1984.
  • Sub-Series: Turco lectures
  • Box 6:
  • Tape 1: "The Nature of Poetry." Interview with a Split Personality.
  • Tape 2: "The Nature of Poetry." Interview with S. Spender.
  • Tape 2: "The Nature of Poetry." Lecture #2.
  • Tape 3: "The Nature of Poetry." Interview. The Poetry of George Garrett.
  • Tape 3: "The Nature of Poetry." Lecture #3.
  • Tape 4: "The Nature of Poetry." Lecture #4.
  • Tape 5: Turco - Lecture #5.
  • Tape 6: Turco - Lecture #6.
  • Tape 7: Turco - Lecture #7.
  • Tape 8: Turco - Lecture #7. "The Nature of Poetry."
  • Tape 9: Turco - Lesson #9.
  • Tape 10: Turco - Lesson #10.
  • Tape 11: Turco - #11. "The Nature of Poetry."
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous tapes
  • Box 6:
  • Tape 40: The Economic Paradox. W. H. Ferry
  • Tape 41: Alienation and Freedom. R. Lichtman
  • Tape 44: Authoritarian Democratic Techniques. Momford and Rickover.
  • Tape 45: Technology and Democracy.
  • Tape 47: The Elite & the Electorate. W. J. Fulbright, etc.
  • Unnumbered: Leighninger. Soc. 180. Dr. John Funk. The Legal Rights of Mental Patients.
  • Unnumbered: Salisbury Bio. I. Unit 13. Evolution.
  • Unnumbered: Lewis Turco Writers Forum Interview. 9/27/79.
  • Use Copies: Tape 75, parts 1 and 2; Tape 87
  • Series 12: 2002 ADDENDUM
  • Sub-Series: Book manuscripts
  • Box 18:
  • The Craft So Hard To Learn: Essays in Postmodern American Poetry and Poetics
    Typescript manuscript. Carbon copy
  • The Green Maces of Autumn. Dresden Mills, ME: The Mathom Bookshop, 2002.
  • Series 13: 2003 ADDENDUM
  • Sub-Series: Biogoraphical and personal materials
  • Box 18:
  • Book collections
  • Clippings (3 folders)
  • Contemporary Authors. Pps. 446-448
  • Contemporary Literary Criticism. 1979, pps. 549-552; 1991, pps. 428-433
  • Faculty appointments: Hillsdale College
  • Faculty appointments: SUNY-Oswego:Committee work: Sub-dvisional merit committee - 1982-1983
  • Faculty appointments: SUNY-Oswego:Committee work: Sub-dvisional merit committee - 1984
  • Faculty appointments: SUNY-Oswego: Committee work: Henry Cuyler Bunner Awards - 1977
  • Faculty appointments: SUNY-Oswego: Correspondence with Virginia Radley and Donald Mathieu
  • Faculty appointments: SUNY-Oswego: Faculty dataforms
  • Faculty appointments: SUNY-Oswego: Faculty exchange
  • Faculty appointments: SUNY-Oswego: Faculty fellowships
  • Faculty appointments: SUNY-Oswego: Faculty interest profile
  • Faculty appointments: SUNY-Oswego: Grants
  • Faculty appointments: SUNY-Oswego: Institute for the creative arts
  • Faculty appointments: SUNY-Oswego: Oswego Writing Arts Workshop
  • Faculty appointments: SUNY-Oswego: Penfield Library
  • Faculty appointments: SUNY-Oswego: Smoking policy
  • Faculty appointments: SUNY-Oswego: Television - ETV
  • Faculty appointments: SUNY-Oswego: University Federation of Teachers-Oswego chapter
  • Faculty appointments: SUNY-Oswego: Writers Festival - 1980
  • Faculty appointments: SUNY-Oswego: Writers Festival - 1981
  • Genealogy of the Putnam family
  • Lawsuit
  • Listings in various reference sources
    Folder 1-2
  • Organizational Affiliations: Academy of American Poets
  • Organizational Affiliations: Cleveland Center for the Arts
  • Organizational Affiliations: Coalition of American Writers
  • Organizational Affiliations: College English Association
  • Organizational Affiliations: Committee for Public Higher Education
  • Organizational Affiliations: Institute of Soviet American Relations
  • Organizational Affiliations: Miscellaneous organizations
  • Organizational Affiliations: National Writers Union
  • Organizational Affiliations: Poetry Book Club
  • Organizational Affiliations: Poetry Center of San Francisco State College
  • Organizational Affiliations: Poetry Society of America
  • Organizational Affiliations: Poets and Writers, Inc.
  • Organizational Affiliations: Poets for Peace
  • Photographs
  • Public Engagements
  • Testimonials
  • Turco, Jean (includes photographs)
  • Turco, May
  • Turco, Melora
    Folders 1-2
  • Box 19:
  • Turco, Lewis - 1934-1961
  • Turco, Lewis - 1965-1976
  • Turco, Lewis - 1976-1977
  • Turco, Lewis - 1977-1978
  • Turco, Lewis - 1978-1979
  • Turco, Lewis - 1979
  • Turco, Lewis - 1980
  • Turco, Lewis - 1981
  • Turco, Lewis - 1982-1983
  • Turco, Lewis - 1983-1984
  • Turco, Lewis - 1984-1985
  • Turco, Lewis - 1986-1986
  • Turco, Lewis - 1986-1987
  • Turco, Lewis - 1987-1988
  • Turco, Lewis - 1988-1989
  • Turco, Lewis - 1989-1990 (2 folders)
  • Turco, Lewis - 1990
  • Turco, Lewis - 1991
  • Turco, Lewis - 1991-1992
  • Turco, Lewis - 1992-1993
  • Turco, Lewis - 1993-1994
  • Box 20:
  • Turco, Lewis: Curriculum vitae: Short version
  • Turco, Lewis: Curriculum vitae: The "megavita"
  • Turco, Lewis: Curriculum vitae: Turco/Court vita
  • Turco, Rev. Luigi: Clippings and correspondence
  • Turco, Rev. Luigi: Spiritual Autobiography of Luigi Turco
  • Turco, Rev. Luigi: Writings of Luigi Turco
  • University of Iowa Placement Office file
  • Wesli Court
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence with agents
  • Box 20:
  • Author Aid Associates
  • International Creative Management
  • Miscellaneous agents
  • Sub-Series: General correspondence
  • Box 20:
  • American Antiquarian Society
  • Brand, Paul
  • Briarwood Writers' Alliance
  • Brinnan, John
  • British Information Services
  • British Museum
  • Committee on Higher Education of Minorities
  • Cifelli, Ed
  • Clay, Henry
  • Elias [Bolton?], Karen
  • Essex Institute
  • Federal Communications Commission
  • Fox, Bill
  • Gall, Sally M.
  • Garrett, George
  • Harder, Kelsie
  • Haskins, Merle
  • Maine Writer's Workshop
  • New York Times Book Review
  • Reid, George M.
  • Ross, Jean
  • Seawells, Thomas
  • Sternlicht, Sanford
  • Texas Reading Council
  • Syracuse Stage
  • State of New York Court of Appeals
  • Triplett, James
  • Trusky, Tom
  • Wilbur Crane Library (University of Connecticut)
  • Weber, Stephen L.
  • Winslow, Dave
  • No last names
  • Sub-Series:
  • Correspondence with periodicals
  • Box 20:
  • Amarylis Review
  • Ameila
  • American Literature
  • American Poetry
  • American Scholar
  • Antaeus
  • Antioch Review
  • Arizona Quarterly
  • Altantic Monthly
  • Bellingham Review
  • Bits
  • Bennington Review
  • Bloomsbury Review
  • Boston Review
  • Canal Lines
  • Carleton Miscellany
  • Centennial Review
  • Chelsea
  • Choice
  • College English
  • Concerning Poetry
  • Confrontation
  • Contemporary Literature
  • Cream City Review
  • Criticism
  • Crosscurrents Quarterly
  • Davidson Miscellany
  • December
  • Early American Literature
  • Eidos
  • English Record
  • Esquire
  • Etc.
  • Explicator
  • Fiction Network
  • FM Five
  • Formalist
  • Free Lance
  • Galley Sail Review
  • GOER News
  • Hampden-Sydney Poetry Review
  • Hellas
  • Hollins Critic
  • Hudson Review
  • Iowa Review
  • Jeopardy
  • Journal of Modern Literature
  • Kansas Quarterly
  • Kennesaw Review
  • Kentucky Poetry Review
  • Kenyon Review
  • Lake Effect
  • Laurel Review
  • Literary Review
  • Maatstaf
  • Massachusetts Review
  • Mid-American Review
  • Miscellaneous periodicals (7 folders)
  • Mississippi Review
  • Nation
  • New College
  • New Criterion
  • NER/BLQ
  • New Orleans Review
  • New Republic
  • North Atlantic Review
  • Ontario Review
  • Oribs
  • Oswego County Times
  • Paris Review
  • Partisan Review
  • Box 21:
  • Perspective
  • Ploughshares
  • PMLA
  • Poetry (Chicago)
  • Poetry Northwest
  • Potato Eyes
  • Raritan
  • Saturday Review of Literature
  • Sewanee Review
  • Shenandoah
  • Silverfish Review
  • Signal
  • The Sixties
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence with publishers
  • Box 21:
  • Albert Whitman
  • Alfred A. Knopf, Inc.
  • AMS Press, Inc.
  • Apple Wood Press
  • Ashland Poetry Press
  • Atheneum Publishers
  • Atlantic Monthly Press
  • Bellevue Press
  • The Benjamin and Matthew Book Company
  • Bieler Press
  • Blackwells
  • Boa Editions
  • Bobbs-Merrial Company, Inc.
  • Bond Wheelwright Company
  • Broken Moon Press
  • Bruccoli and Clark
  • Casa Editrice Nord
  • Charles E. Tuttle Company
  • Charles Scribner's Sons
  • Cleveland State University Poetry Center
  • Coastal Ridge Research and Education Center
  • Cooperhouse Publishing, Inc.
  • Core, George
  • Cornell University Press
  • D.C. Heath and Company
  • David R. Godine
  • Delacorte Press
  • Dodd, Mead and Company
  • Doubleday and Company
  • Dragon Gate
  • Editions Rodopi
  • E. P. Dutton and Company
  • Faber and Faber, Ltd.
  • Farrar, Strauss, and Giroux, Inc.
  • Fiction Collective
  • Ford-Brown Publishers
  • Gage Educational Publishing, Ltd.
  • G and C Merriam Company
  • G. P. Putnam's Sons
  • Gale Research Company
  • George Allen and Unwin, Ltd.
  • George Braziller, Inc.
  • Ginn and Company
  • Golden Quill Press
  • Grove Press
  • Hallmark Cards, Inc.
  • Harcourt, Brace, and World, Inc.
  • Harper and Row, Inc.
  • Harvard University Press
  • Hill and Wang
  • Holt, Rinehart, and Windston
  • Houghton Mifflin Company
  • Houghton Anthology
  • Indiana University Press
  • Instituto Italiano
  • Ion Books, Inc.
  • Iowa State University Press
  • Japan Public Trading Co.
  • J. B. Lippincott Company
  • Johns Hopkins University Press
  • Kayak Publishing
  • Little, Brown, and Company
  • Liveright
  • Livingston University Press
  • Louisiana State University Press
  • Longman, Inc.
  • Lynx House Press
  • The Macmillan Company
  • Macmillan Educational Corporation
  • Mammouth Press
  • Miscellaneous
  • Miscellaneous Publishers - 1992-1999
  • Miscellaneous Publishers - 1994-1995
  • Monitor Book Company, Inc.
  • New South Company
  • New York State English Council
  • Northeastern University Press
  • Ohio State University Press
  • Ohio University Press
  • Ontario Review Press
  • Penguin Books, Inc.
  • Prentice-Hall, Inc.
  • Princeton University Press
  • Pushcart Press
  • Putnam Publishing Group
  • Random House
  • Reston Publishing Company, Inc.
  • Robert L. Barth
  • Robinson Publishing, Ltd. (London)
  • Rutgers University Press
  • St. James Press
  • St. Martin's Press
  • Salem Press
  • Scarecrow Press
  • Scott, Foresman, and Company
  • Signpost Press
  • Simon and Schuster
  • Southern Illinois University Press
  • SUNY Press
    Folders 1-2
  • Box 22:
  • Swallow Press
  • Symposium Press
  • Syracuse University Press
  • Tamarack Editions
  • Teachers and Writers Collaborative
  • Texas Review Press
  • Thomas Y. Crowell
  • Ticknor and Fields
  • Time Being Press
  • Toothpaste Press
  • Twayne
  • University Microfilm
  • University of Alabama
  • University of Arizona
  • University of Arkansas (2 folders)
  • University of Georgia
  • University of Hawaii
  • University of Illinois
  • University of Iowa
  • University of Massachusetts
  • University of Michigan
  • University of Minnesota
  • University of Missouri
  • University of Nebraska
  • University of North Carolina
  • University of Pennsylvania
  • University of South Carolina
  • University Press of Kansas
  • Vanderbilt University Press
  • Vangard Press
  • Viking Press
  • Virginia Commonwealth
  • W. J. Gage, Ltd.
  • Walker and Co.
  • W.W. Norton
  • Wayne State University Press
  • Wesleyan University Press
  • William Morrow
  • World
  • Writer's Digest Books
  • Yale University Press
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence with universities and colleges
  • Box 22:
  • Amherst
  • Ashland University
  • Colby College
  • Colorado State University
  • Columbia University
  • Cornell University Library
  • Franklin and Marshall College
  • Franklin Pierce College
  • Goddard College
  • Hampshire College
  • Harvard University
  • Indiana University
  • Rochester Institute of Technology
  • St. Michael's College
  • Salem State College
  • San Diego State University
  • Southern Connecticut State College
  • State University College, Albany
  • State University College, Brockport
  • State University College, Cortland
  • State University College, Freedonia
  • State University College, Geneseo
  • State University College, New Paltz
  • State University College, Oneonta
  • State University College, Old Westbury
  • SUNY, Binghamton
  • SUNY, Central
  • SUNY, Plattsburgh
  • SUNY, Purchase
  • SUNY, Stony Brook
  • SUNY, Washington Office
  • SUNY-Center for International Studies
  • Suffield Academy
  • Susquehanna University
  • Syracuse University
  • Tufts University
  • University of Hartford
  • University of Hawaii
  • University of Idaho
  • University of Minnesota
  • University of Vermont
  • Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Box 23:
  • Willimantic State College
  • Williams College
  • Wright State University
  • Yale University
  • Youngstown University
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence with writers
  • Box 23:
  • Alfonsi
  • Braun, Richard
  • Dickinson-Brown, Richard
  • Eliot, T. S.
  • Engle, Huah-Ling
  • Felton and Fowler
  • Ferlinghetti, Lawrence
  • Fox, Fay
  • Frank, Bernhard
  • French, David
  • Frear, Kimon
  • Gilman, Dugan
  • Gold, Herbert
  • Gross, Harvey
  • Hay, Sara Henderson
  • Hekster, Walter (composer)
  • Henry, Joseph (composer)
  • Herman, Stephen
  • Herrick, Delda
  • Hollander, John
  • Hudson, Sam
  • Hughes, Ted
  • Jauss, David
  • Johnson, Geoffrey
  • Pound, Ezra
  • Riding, Laura
  • Roethke, Theodore
  • Sarton, May
  • Schwartz, Delmore
  • Scully, James
  • Sellars, John L.
  • Small, Kalen
  • Staszewski, Ray
  • Tomlinson, Charles
  • Tuchman, Barbara
  • Tucker, Robert
  • Turby, Russell
  • Wickham, Fred
  • Wilson, Edmund
  • Yevtushenk, Yevgeny
  • Zeller, Gerhard
  • Zucker, Jack
  • Sub-Series:
  • Box 23:
  • Miscellaneous correspondence
  • Burchfield Center
  • Form Letters (publicity for books)
  • Generics (Barbershop) Quartet
  • Ideas
  • Literary Studies
  • Miscellaneous
  • Notes
  • Patterson Society
  • PEN
  • Publishers' Central Bureau
  • Radio Stations
  • Rare books
  • Reviewers
  • Rome Arts and Community Center
  • Royal Winnipeg Ballet
  • Rural reading
  • W.C. Williams
  • Walt Whitman
  • Witchcraft
  • World Order of Narrative Poets
  • YM/YWHA-New York
  • YM/YWHA-Philadelphia
  • Sub-Series: Writings: Anthology
  • Box 23:
  • Poetry and Power. LP recording
    Correspondence
  • Various anthologies
  • Sub-Series: Writings: Books
  • Box 23:
  • American Still Lifes
    Publicity and correspondence
  • Awaken, Bells Falling
    Photocopy, correspondence, publicity, reviews
  • The Book of Beasts
    Poems, illustrations, and front matter. Combined originals and photocopies
  • Book of Charms
    (Turco edited) TMs and correspondence
  • Compleat Melancholick
    Publicity and correspondence
  • Courses in Lambents
    Review
  • A Craft So Hard to Learn
    Correspondence
  • Day After History
    Written under the pseudonym Wesli Court. TMs. Unpublished?
  • The Devil's Disease
    Correspondence
  • Emily Dickinson, Woman of Letters
    Correspondence and reviews. Folders 1-2
  • Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Poetry
    Correspondence
  • Family Album
    Correspondence, publicity, reviews
  • How To Write a Million
    Correspondence and publicity
  • The Inhabitant
    Correspondence and reviews
  • Box 24:
  • Legend of the Mists
    Reviews
  • Murgatroyd and Mabel
    Correspondence
  • New Book of Forms. Appendix
    Photocopy
  • Pocoangelini
    Correspondence, publicity, paperback cover, reviews
  • Sarrazinois. Illustrations
    Photocopies from a tarot deck
  • Seasons of the Blood
    Correspondence and reviews
  • The Shifting Web
    TMs, acknowledgements, correspondence, reviews. Folders 1-2
  • Understanding Postmodern American Poetry
    Permissions
  • Unicorn Hunter
    Combination TMs, ccTMs, and pcTMs
  • Visions and Revisions of American Poetry
    Correspondence, publicity, and reviews
  • Voices in an Old House
    Publicity and reviews
  • The Weed Garden
    Correspondence and reviews
  • Sub-Series: Essays
  • Box 24:
  • "Corresponding with Conrad Aikin." In Spivey, Ted R. and Arthur Waterman. Conrad Aikin: A Priest of Consciousness. New York: AMS Press, 1990, pp. 265 --270. Photocopy. 2 copies
  • "Curt." North Atlantic Review, No. 2 (Summer 1990), pp.48-57.
    Photocopies of tear sheets
  • "Does It Scan? Does It Scan Too Well?" Hellas, Vol.1:No.1 (Spring 1990), pp. 126-130.
    Photocopy
  • Essays on stanza forms for the Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, Third Edition, Completely Revised.
    TMs and correspondence
  • "The Fantaseers."
    TMs
  • "Hoffman's 'As I Was Going to Saint Ives.'" Poesis, Vol. 7:No.1 1986, pp. 54 --58.
    Photocopy
  • "Literary Figures in A Fable for Critics."
    TMs with holographic corrections
  • "Meter in English." Two versions.
    pcTMs
  • "Miller Williams." The Hollins Critic, Vol.XXVI:No.2 (April 1989), pp. Cover-9.
    Photocopy
  • [On the writing of poetry] n.d., n.p.
    Photocopy
  • "Remarks in Vacuo"
  • "The University of Iowa Writers' Workshop Golden Jubilee, 23 - 25 May 1986," Dictionary of Literary Biography, 1986.
    Offprints
  • "Verse Versus Prose : What American Poets Have Forgotten." n.p., n.d.
    Photocopy
  • "Weeks Short Quiz"
  • "The Year in Poetry." Dictionary of Literary Biography - 1983
    Paste-ups, mimeograph and correspondence
  • "The Year in Poetry." Dictionary of Literary Biography - 1985
    pcTMs, correspondence
  • "The Year in Poetry." Dictionary of Literary Biography - 1986
    Offprints
  • Sub-Series: Plays
  • Box 24:
  • "The Stellar Cavalier."
    Holograph manuscript with photocopies
  • Sub-Series: Poems
  • Box 24:
  • "Birdsong Blues." Hellas, Vol.1:No.1 (Spring 1990), p. 59
  • "Bordello." Correspondence and sheet music
  • "Cage of Creatures." Correspondence, publicity
  • "Fading Things." The New York Quarterly, No. 41 (Spring 1990), unnumbered
  • "Fixing This World" and "The Sketches and Livelil." Reviews
  • "Oswego Fugues." TMs, correspondence
  • "The Sketches and Livelil." Review
  • Sub-Series: Short stories
  • Box 24:
  • "Kelly and Frida." From Just a Moment: A Collection of Short Stories and Poems. Jamesville, New York: Pine Grove Press, 1990, pp. 18-24.
    Photocopy
  • "Little God's Eye."
    TMs
  • "The Shambling Man." North Atlantic Review, Vol.1, Issue 1 (Summer 1989), pp.21 --28.
    Photocopy
  • "Vincent." Newsday, October 23, 1983.
    Newsprint mounted on paper
  • Sub-Series: Mathom Bookshop
  • Box 24:
  • Bookbinding
  • Booksellers
  • Cantwell Estate
  • Form letters
  • Sub-Series: Writers' conferences, poetry festivals, poetry awards, reading, invited lectureships, and the like
  • Box 24:
  • Book-of-the-Month Club
  • Bread Loaf
  • Conference of Midwestern Poets
  • Corn Island Storytelling Festival
  • A Jubilation of Poets
  • New England Writers' Conference
  • Northwest Poetry Circuit
  • Ohio Versewriters' Conference
  • Pemaquid Seminar
  • Philadelphia Writers' Conference
  • Poetry Festival -- SUCO
  • Portland Poetry Festival
  • The Public Poet
  • Saratoga Springs Writers' Conference
  • State of Maine Writers' Conference
  • SUNY Plaza Gallery
  • TALAS
  • Upstate New York Poetry Circuit
  • Series 14: 2006 ADDENDUM
  • Sub-Series: Biographical
  • Box 25:
  • Grants and awards
  • Miscellaneous biographical pieces
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 25:
  • Correspondence with individuals: A-F
  • Correspondence with individuals: G-L
  • Correspondence with individuals: M-Z
  • Correspondencw with periodicals
  • Correspondencw with publishers
  • Correspondencw with universities, colleges, and institutions
  • Correspondence: no last names, no names
  • Sub-Series: Writings
  • Box 25:
  • Fearful Pleasures: The Complete Poems, 1959-2006: Proof copy
  • Fearful Pleasures: The Complete Poems, 1959-2006: Correspondencne
  • Box 26:
  • Miscellaneous other writings
  • Sub-Series: Mathom Bookshop
  • Box 26:
  • Miscellaneous
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous
  • Box 26:
  • Miscellaneous
  • Sub-Series: Writers' conferences, poetry festivals, poetry awards, reading, invited lectureships, and the like
  • Box 26:
  • Readings
  • Writer's conference
  • Westchester Writing Festival
  • Series 15: 2007 ADDENDUM
  • Sub-Series: Biographical materials
  • Box 26:
  • "Author Brings Memories of Youth to Life." Record-Journal, Meriden, Connecticut, Tuesday, April 19, 2005
  • Blurb from The Collected Lyrics of Lewis Turco/Wesli Court
  • Sub-Series: General correspondence
  • Box 26:
  • Alice and Walt
  • Annunz, Anthony
  • Barone, Dennis
  • Coleman, Jeffrey
  • Daniela
  • Downes, Alan
  • Doyle, Michael for Olympia Snowe
  • Family
  • Goodwin, Renne
  • Gwynn, R. S.
  • Herrmann
  • Kennedy, Joe
  • Lauretano, Nancy
  • Mekis, Mort and Donna
  • Murabit, Stephen
  • National Geographic
  • Parry, Katie
  • Patz, Jerrold
  • Putnam, Ed
  • Robert, Renne Magriel
  • Romano, John
  • Rutsala, Vern
  • Senft, Tim
  • Sherman, Sarah
  • Swerdfeger, Steven
  • Thomas, Erin
  • Ven Deventer, George
  • Unknown
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence with periodicals
  • Box 26:
  • Aroostock Review
  • New York Quarterly
  • New York Review
  • Off the Coast
  • Ploughshares
  • Poetry Renewal
  • Poetry Review
  • Prospect Street Magazine
  • Sewanee Review
  • Voices in Italian Americana
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence with publishers
  • Box 26:
  • Marquis Who's Who
  • Oxford University Press
  • Star Cloud Press
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence with universities and colleges
  • Box 26:
  • Queens College
  • University of Iowa
  • Sub-Series: Writings
  • Box 26:
  • Bibliography of 22 of Turco's books, with descriptions
  • Cover trials for The Museum of Ordinary People
  • Review of A Sheaf of Leaves
  • "Vern Rutsala's Surreal World." The Hollins Critic, October 2006
  • Sub-Series: Writers' conferences, poetry festivals, poetry awards, reading, invited lectureships, and the like
  • Box 26:
  • Collaboration: Prints and Tests. George O'Connell, Printmaker / Lewis Turco, Poet. Tyler Art Gallery, State University of New York, Oswego. November 9 -- December 9, 2001.
  • Meriden Public Library, May 2, 2007
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous
  • Box 26:
  • Drawing
  • Gwynn, R. S. Poetry: A Pocket Anthology. Description and Table of Contents
  • Langworthy, Christian. "Reflections on a War: An Ameriasian Childhood in Da Nang"
  • Series 16: 2008 ADDENDUM
  • Sub-Series: Biographical materials
  • Box 26:
  • Interview for The Aroostock Review by Geraldine Cannon Becker
  • Materials for Contemporary Authors
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
    Note: Correspondence with those people or entities who already had a file in the collection was filed in those files. Letters to new correspondents are filed alphabetically in a new folder in the addendum.
  • Box 26:
  • Anderson-McKay
  • Navin-unknown
  • Sub-Series: Writings
  • Box 26:
  • Stories and poems posted to internet sites
  • Writing and artwork by others based on Turco's works
  • Series 17: 2009 ADDENDUM
  • Sub-Series: Biographical materials
  • Box 27:
  • "Lewis Turco: The Per Contra Interview with Mirian N. Kotzin." Summer 2008.
  • Scholars and Professionals Research Project. Correspondence regarding Turco's entry
  • "The Sullen Art of Lewis Turco." A Radio interview by David Ossman. Transcript of interview done in the early 1960s
  • Who's Who entry
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence with publishers
    Note: Correspondence with those people or entities who already had a file in the collection was filed in those files. Letters to new correspondents are filed alphabetically in a new folder in the addendum.
  • Box 27:
  • Book Surge
  • Cooperhouse Publishing
  • Fairlight Dickinson University Press
  • First Things
  • Fordham University Press
  • Georgia Poetry Society
  • Per Contra
  • Trellis Magazine
  • University of Iow Press
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence with individuals
  • Box 27:
  • Badach, Ann
  • Berson, Bernard
  • Bontil, Mike
  • Bridges, Bryan
  • Burton, Michael P.
  • Clawson, Bob
  • Cotrona, John
  • Espaillat, Rhina
  • Euroformat
  • Gronlund, Lena B.
  • Harnack, Curtis
  • Henrickson, Vicki
  • Hermann
  • Houdini, Hannah
  • PJ
  • Kahn, Ian J.
  • Keillor, Garrison
  • Loe
  • Maddi, Michael
  • McAuley, Thomas
  • McDowell, Robert
  • McGandy, Michael J.
  • Michelini, Christine
  • Nadile, James
  • O'Grady, Ron
  • Parisi, Gene
  • Peich, Michael
  • Powers, Ellen
  • Rediger, Nancy
  • Rieck, John
  • Sineni, Carole
  • Slaby, Scot
  • Stewart, Vivian
  • Strickland, Sherri
  • Teeter, Alice
  • Teeter, Carroll
  • Turco, Chris
  • Warren, Deborah
  • Williams, Don
  • Willis, Charles
  • Wiseman, Christopher
  • Yahraus, Bonnie
  • Yaseen, Abdulkareem
  • Young, C. Dale
  • No last names
    A hand-drawn birthday card from Georgie, Miriam, Kathie & Alice, Ray
  • Sub-Series: Writings
  • Box 27:
  • Satan's Scourge
    Correspondence; copies of the dust jacket on the verso of an announcement for the book
  • Poetry: "Break In"
  • Poetry:"The Falcon Carol"
  • Poetry:"Golden Oak"
  • Poetry:"Memento Mori"
  • Poetry:"Passing the Time" (By Wesli Court)
  • Sub-Series: Writers' conferences, poetry festivals, poetry awards, reading, invited lectureships, and the like
  • Box 27:
  • 40th Anniversary of the Creative Writing Program [at Oswego?]
  • Robert Fitzgeral Prosody Award
  • Lewis Putman Turco Formal Poetry Award
  • Newburyport Literary Festival
  • Yaddo
  • Series 18: 2011 ADDENDUM
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence with individuals
  • Box 27:
  • A-H
  • I-R
  • S-Z
  • Sub-Series: Essays
  • Box 27:
  • The Beetle, the bat and the Pork-pie Hat. November - 1977
  • Burns: A Memoir. September 22 - 2013
  • Ed Skellings, A Remembrance. October 3 - 2012
  • The Impresario. August 10 - 2009
  • Maine Governor Tells N.A.A.C.P. to "Kiss My Butt!" January 14 - 2011
  • Paren(t)hesis
  • A Statistical Study of Unergraduate Writing Arts Programs in the U.S.A.
  • In warm weather . . .
  • Sub-Series: Poetry
  • Box 28:
  • Ailment and Age, Grief, Catarrh.
  • Attic, Shed, and Barn
  • The Boston Marathon. April 18 - 2013
  • Cathedral
  • The Children of Rome
  • The City: A Poemoir
  • The Day We Bombed the Moon, a Sestina. September 11 - 2010
  • A Dedication
  • The Door
  • Elegy for John - 2011
  • Gathering of the Elders. June 2 - 2010
    Signed proof copy
  • Genethliacum for George O'Connell. October 16 - 2012
  • A Great Grey Fantasy
  • From The Hero Enkidu, Canto III: Erech
  • Jays. November 25 - 2010
  • John
  • Maine. December 26 - 2013
  • The Moonlite Café. August 17 - 2009
  • The Morbid Man
  • 22-Nov-63
  • Ode Lang Syne for George
  • An Old Acquaintance
  • R.I.P. Walter Hekster
  • Reading a Lost Friend's Old Poems
  • The Return of Power
  • Sleeping and Waking
  • State Penn Impending
  • Summer Beach Scene
  • Sweet Jean
  • Three Recipes
  • Turning Time: A Winter Suite
  • White for Weather Words: A Poemoir
  • Yearsend
  • Combination book
    This is a spiral bound book that combines essays, poetry,and short stories.
  • Sub-Series: Reviews
  • Box 28:
  • Dialects of the Tribe: Postmodern Poets and Poetry In the Hollins Critic February - 2014
  • Series 19: 2011A ADDENDUM
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence with writers
  • Box 29:
  • Abbate, Robert
  • Abel, Richard M.
  • Albrecht, Carol
  • Albrecht, Jeanne
  • Appleman, Philip and Marjorie
  • Atkins, Russell
  • Austin, Paul
  • Axelrod, David B.
  • Badach, Ann
  • Balbo, Ned
  • Barone, Dennis
  • Becker, Geraldine
  • Becker, William
  • Behm, Richard
  • Berner, Robert
  • Black, Campbell
  • Blissert, Julie
  • Blue, Beau
  • Boivin, J. Ivan
  • Bonaffini, Luigi
  • Bontil, Mike
  • Bos, Zachary
  • Boulter, Maryann
  • Boyce, Fred
  • Bray, Sharon
  • Brooks, Gwen
  • Buggs, George Edward
  • Cantalupo, Barbara
  • Carter, John & Rachel
  • Chaser, Mike
  • Clark, Ellen
  • Clawson, Bob
  • Coale, Sam
  • Cockrell, Amanda
  • Coursen, Herb
  • Cummings, Darcy
  • Davis, Charlene
  • De Paola, Tomie
  • Derby, Rex
  • Dickerson-Brown, Roger
  • Egan, Moira
  • Endicott, Daniel
  • Espaillat, Rhina P.
  • Fallon, Tom
  • Fandel, John
  • Feeler, William
  • Feldman, Irving
  • Finch, Annie
  • Finch, Margaret
  • Foley, Jack
  • Frank, Ken
  • Friedman, Norman
  • Frost, Richard
  • Galassi, Johnathan
  • Gill, Caroline
  • Gillman, Tersea
  • Gioia, Dana
  • Graff, Marni
  • Greland, Jere
  • Griffin, Kendra L.
  • Griffith, Robert
  • Gust, Georgia Bradley
  • Gutmanns, Max
  • Gwynne Harries, David
  • Hammil, Joanne
  • Harrison, Ruth F.
  • Hastings, Katherine
  • Herman, Stephen J.
  • Herrmann, John
  • Hill, David
  • Hoffman, Daniel
  • Hofreiter, Karen
  • Hunt, Steve
  • Huttner, Sidney F.
  • Jenkins, Taylor
  • Juster, Mike
  • Justice, Jean
  • Keillor, Garrison
  • Kennedy, X.J.
  • Kerrigan, Thomas
  • Ketchum, Pierce Stith
  • Knott, Bill
  • Korbesmeyer, Bill
  • Kotzin, Miriam
  • Kroemer, Nils
  • Lake, Paul
  • Lasahn, Jacqueline
  • Leavitt, Michele
  • Linstrom-Young, L. Adrienne
  • Loe, Thomas
  • Loschiavo, Linda Ann
  • Lydon, Kate
  • Mali, Marie-Elizabeth
  • Manns, Robert
  • Masterson, Jim
  • Mazzato, Jerry
  • Mazzucchelli, Chiara
  • Meischen, David
  • Messina, Leonard
  • Mezey, Robert
  • Morgan, Suzanne
  • Moriarty, Kathleen Sheahan
  • Morton, Dennis
  • Murphy, Diane
  • Navin, Victoria
  • Nester, Daniel
  • Nichol, Alfred
  • Nicholas, Lewelyn Hugh
  • O'Connell, George
  • Ogbuji, Uche
  • Ottley, John K.
  • Palma, Michael
  • Peich, Michael
  • Penton, Jonathan
  • Pincus, Gregory
  • Popoff, Georgia
  • Preston, Douglas
  • Putnam, Laura
  • Randolph, Nancy E
  • Rasso, Pamela
  • Richards, Tad
  • Rowley, Rosemarie
  • Rutsala, Vern
  • Salamon, Russel & Susan
  • Salemi, Joseph S.
  • Sico, Joyce
  • Sinderwahl, Frances
  • Slaby, Scot
  • Slesinger, Warren
  • Sloan, William
  • Smith, Katherine
  • Smith, Shirley Lutz Reuter
  • Stevens, Paul
  • Sullivan, Mary Ann
  • Swauger, Amy
  • Swerdfeger, Steven
  • Tamburri, Anthony
  • Tariq, Sadia
  • Teeter, Alice
  • Turco, Scott J.
  • Turco, Steven
  • Wang, Lucy
  • Warren, Deborah
  • Weatherford, Charles L.
  • Weems, Mary
  • Wilbur, Richard
  • Wilson, Joyce
  • Wilson, Leigh
  • Wiseman, Christopher
  • Yezzi, David
  • Yurick, Christine
  • Zimmer, Max
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence with periodicals
  • Box 30:
  • A-Z
  • Sub-Series: Correrspondence with publishers
  • Box 30:
  • A-Z
  • Sub-Series:
  • Box 30:
  • A-Z
  • Sub-Series: General correspondence
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence with universities and colleges
  • Box 30:
  • A-Z
  • Sub-Series: Clippings
  • Box 30:
  • Clippings
  • Sub-Series: Reviews, critics
  • Box 30:
  • Reviews, critics
  • Series 20: 2014 ADDENDUM
  • Sub-Series: Writings
  • Box 30:
  • Writings

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Novelists, Story Writers, & Poets